نظرة عامة

تحدث الإصابة بالمتلازمة السرطاوية عندما يقوم أحد الأورام السرطانية النادرة المعروف باسم الورم السرطاوي بإفراز مواد كيميائية معينة في مجرى الدم لديك، مما يتسبب في ظهور مجموعة من العلامات والأعراض. تشيع الإصابة بالأورام السرطاوية بصورة أكبر في القناة الهضمية أو الرئتين.

عادةً ما تحدث الإصابة بالمتلازمة السرطاوية بين الأفراد المصابين بالأورام السرطاوية المتطورة. عادةً ما يتضمن علاج المتلازمة السرطاوية علاجًا للسرطان. ولكن، نظرًا لأن معظم الأورام السرطاوية لا تؤدي إلى الإصابة بالمتلازمة السرطاوية حتى تصل إلى مرحلة متطورة، ربما لا يكون الشفاء ممكنًا. في الحالات المذكورة، ربما تؤدي الأدوية إلى التخفيف من أعراض المتلازمة السرطاوية التي تعاني منها وتجعلك تشعر بقدر أكبر من الارتياح.

الأعراض

تعتمد علامات وأعراض المتلازمة السرطاوية على المواد الكيميائية التي يفرزها الورم السرطاوي في مجرى الدم. وتتضمن أعراض وعلامات المتلازمة السرطاوية الأكثر شيوعًا ما يلي:

  • تورد الجلد. تشعر بأن الجلد على وجهك وأعلى الصدر ساخن ويتغير لونه — حيث يتراوح بين اللون الوردي واللون الأرجواني. قد تستمر نوبات التورد من بضع دقائق حتى بضع ساعات أو أكثر.

    قد يحدث التورد دون سبب واضح، ولكنه قد يحدث أحيانًا بسبب التوتر أو التمارين الرياضية أو شرب الكحول.

  • الآفات الجلدية على الوجه. قد تظهر مناطق أرجوانية للأوردة العنكبوتية على الفم والشفة العليا.
  • الإسهال. قد يحدث أحيانًا براز مائي وبشكل متكرر مصحوبًا بتشنجات في البطن لدى الأشخاص المصابين بالمتلازمة السرطاوية.
  • صعوبة في التنفس. قد تحدث علامات وأعراض تشبه أعراض الربو، مثل صوت صفير وضيق في التنفس، في نفس الوقت الذي تعاني فيه تورد الجلد.
  • خفقان القلب السريع. قد تكون فترات سرعة معدل ضربات القلب علامة للمتلازمة السرطاوية.

متى تزور الطبيب

حدد موعدًا مع الطبيب إذا كنت تعاني علامات وأعراضًا تثير قلقك.

متى يجب الذهاب إلى طبيب

احجز موعدًا مع طبيبك إذا كان لديك أي علامات أو أعراض تثير قلقك.

الأسباب

تحدث المتلازمة السرطاوية بسبب ورم سرطاني يفرز السيروتونين أو مواد كيميائية أخرى في مجرى الدم. تحدث الأورام السرطاوية غالبًا في القناة الهضمية، بما في ذلك المعدة، والأمعاء الدقيقة، والزائدة الدودية، والقولون والمستقيم، أو في رئتيك.

فقط نسبة صغيرة من الأورام السرطاوية تفرز المواد الكيميائية التي تسبب المتلازمة السرطاوية. في معظم الحالات، يعمل الكبد على تحييد المواد الكيميائية بفاعلية قبل أن تتاح لها فرصة الانتقال عبر الجسم وتتسبب في الأعراض.

مع ذلك، عندما ينتشر الورم المتقدم (ينتقل) إلى الكبد نفسه، قد تفرز هذه الأورام مواد كيميائية لم يتم تحييدها قبل الوصول إلى مجرى الدم. معظم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من المتلازمة السرطاوية لديهم سرطان متقدم الذي قد انتشر في الكبد.

بعض الأورام السرطاوية لا يجب أن تتطور لتسبب المتلازمة السرطاوية. على سبيل المثال، إن الأورام السرطاوية في الرئة التي تفرز مواد كيميائية في الدم تفعل ذلك بشكل بعيد عن الكبد — وليس مباشرة في الكبد، حيث تتم معالجة المواد الكيميائية والتخلص منها.

على الجانب الآخر، تفرز الأورام السرطاوية الموجودة في الأمعاء المواد الكيميائية في الدم الذي يجب أن يعبر أولاً من خلال الكبد قبل الوصول إلى باقي الجسم. يحيّد الكبد عادةً المواد الكيميائية قبل أن تؤثر على باقي الجسم.

ما يُسبب الأورام السرطاوية غير واضح.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن تسبب الإصابة بالمتلازمة السرطاوية المضاعفات التالية:

  • مرض القلب السرطاوي. يصاب بعض المرضى الذين يعانون من المتلازمة السرطاوية من مرض القلب السرطاني. فالمتلازمة السرطاوية تؤدي إلى ثخانة صمامات القلب؛ مما يصعِّب عملها بشكل مناسب. ونتيجة لهذا، قد تؤدي صمامات القلب إلى التسريب.

    وتتضمن علامات وأعراض مرض القلب السرطاني الإرهاق وقصور النفس أثناء ممارسة الأنشطة البدنية. يمكن أن يؤدي مرض القلب السرطاوي في النهاية إلى فشل القلب.

    وقد ينصح الطبيب المريض بتناول أدوية لعلاج القلب. وقد يكون العلاج الجراحي أحد الخيارات المطروحة في حالات مرض القلب السرطاني المتقدمة.

  • انسداد الأمعاء. يمكن أن يؤدي السرطان الذي ينتشر إلى العقد الليمفاوية المجاورة للأمعاء الدقيقة إلى تضييق الأمعاء والتوائها؛ مما يؤدي إلى انسداد الأمعاء.

    وتتضمن علامات وأعراض انسداد الأمعاء الشعور بألم شديد وتشنجات بالبطن وقيء. قد تكون الجراحة ضرورية لتخفيف الانسداد.

  • الأزمة السرطاوية. تؤدي الأزمة السرطاوية إلى حدوث حالة حادة من التبيغ وانخفاض ضغط الدم والاختلال وصعوبة التنفس.

    ويمكن أن تحدث الأزمة السرطاوية لدى المرضى المصابين بالأورام السرطانية عندما يتعرّضون لأنواع معينة من المحفزات، بما يتضمن التخدير أثناء الجراحة. يمكن أن تكون الأزمة السرطاوية مميتة. ويمكن أن يصف الطبيب أدوية قبل الخضوع للجراحة لتقليل مخاطر حدوث الأزمة السرطاوية.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the endocrine system. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  2. Feldman M, et al. Gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors (gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors) and the carcinoid syndrome. In: Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2010. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  3. Goldman L, et al. Carcinoid syndrome. In: Goldman's Cecil Medicine. 24th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2012. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  4. Goldfinger SE, et al. Treatment of the carcinoid syndrome. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 12, 2015.

Overview

Carcinoid syndrome occurs when a rare cancerous tumor called a carcinoid tumor secretes certain chemicals into your bloodstream, causing a variety of signs and symptoms. Carcinoid tumors occur most commonly in the gastrointestinal tract or lungs.

Carcinoid syndrome typically occurs in people who have carcinoid tumors that are advanced. Treatment for carcinoid syndrome usually involves treating the cancer. However, because most carcinoid tumors don't cause carcinoid syndrome until they're advanced, a cure may not be possible. In those cases, medications may relieve your carcinoid syndrome symptoms and make you more comfortable.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of carcinoid syndrome depend on which chemicals the carcinoid tumor secretes into your bloodstream. The most common signs and symptoms of carcinoid syndrome include:

  • Skin flushing. The skin on your face and upper chest feels hot and changes color — ranging from pink to purple. Flushing episodes may last from a few minutes to a few hours or longer.

    Flushing may happen for no obvious reason, though sometimes it can be triggered by stress, exercise or drinking alcohol.

  • Facial skin lesions. Purplish areas of spiderlike veins may appear on the nose and upper lip.
  • Diarrhea. Frequent, watery stools sometimes accompanied by abdominal cramps may occur in people who have carcinoid syndrome.
  • Difficulty breathing. Asthma-like signs and symptoms, such as wheezing and shortness of breath, may occur at the same time you experience skin flushing.
  • Rapid heartbeat. Periods of a fast heart rate could be a sign of carcinoid syndrome.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have signs and symptoms that concern you.

Causes

Carcinoid syndrome is caused by a carcinoid tumor that secretes serotonin or other chemicals into your bloodstream. Carcinoid tumors occur most commonly in your gastrointestinal tract, including your stomach, small intestine, appendix, colon and rectum, or in your lungs.

Only a small percentage of carcinoid tumors secrete the chemicals that cause carcinoid syndrome. In most cases, the liver effectively neutralizes the chemicals before they have a chance to travel through your body and cause symptoms.

However, when an advanced tumor spreads (metastasizes) to the liver itself, these tumors may secrete chemicals that aren't neutralized before reaching the bloodstream. Most people who experience carcinoid syndrome have an advanced cancer that has spread to the liver.

Some carcinoid tumors don't have to be advanced to cause carcinoid syndrome. For instance, carcinoid lung tumors that secrete chemicals into the blood do so farther upstream from the liver — not directly into the liver, where the chemicals are processed and eliminated.

Carcinoid tumors in the intestine, on the other hand, secrete their chemicals into blood that must first pass through the liver before reaching the rest of the body. The liver usually neutralizes the chemicals before they can affect the rest of the body.

What causes carcinoid tumors is unclear.

Complications

Having carcinoid syndrome can cause the following complications:

  • Carcinoid heart disease. Some people with carcinoid syndrome develop carcinoid heart disease. Carcinoid syndrome causes a thickening of the heart valves, making it difficult for them to function properly. As a result, the heart valves may leak.

    Signs and symptoms of carcinoid heart disease include fatigue and shortness of breath during physical activity. Carcinoid heart disease can eventually lead to heart failure.

    Your doctor may recommend medications for your heart. Surgical repair of damaged heart valves may be an option in advanced carcinoid heart disease.

  • Bowel obstruction. Cancer that spreads to the lymph nodes next to your small intestine can cause narrowing and kinking of your intestine, leading to a bowel obstruction.

    Signs and symptoms of a bowel obstruction include severe, cramping abdominal pain and vomiting. Surgery may be necessary to relieve the obstruction.

  • Carcinoid crisis. Carcinoid crisis causes a severe episode of flushing, low blood pressure, confusion and breathing difficulty.

    Carcinoid crisis can occur in people with carcinoid tumors when they are exposed to certain triggers, including anesthesia used during surgery. Carcinoid crisis can be fatal. Your doctor may give you medications before surgery to reduce the risk of carcinoid crisis.

July 01, 2015
References
  1. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the endocrine system. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  2. Feldman M, et al. Gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors (gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors) and the carcinoid syndrome. In: Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2010. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  3. Goldman L, et al. Carcinoid syndrome. In: Goldman's Cecil Medicine. 24th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2012. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 5, 2015.
  4. Goldfinger SE, et al. Treatment of the carcinoid syndrome. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 12, 2015.