الطب التجديدي

في مايو كلينك، يوجد فريق متكامل يتضمن بيولوجيين متخصصين في الخلايا الجذعية ومهندسين بيولوجيين وأطباء وعلماء، يعمل أفراده معًا ويعكفون على دراسة الطب التجديدي. ويهدف هذا الفريق إلى علاج الأمراض باستخدام أحدث العلاجات، مثل جلسات العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية والهندسية الحيوية. ولقد تبوأ الأطباء المتخصصون في طب زرع الأعضاء وجراحات زرع الأعضاء منزلة الريادة في دراسة الطب التجديدي خلال العقود الخمسة الأخيرة، ويواصل الأطباء إجراء الأبحاث والدراسات في هذا التخصص للوصول إلى ابتكارات جديدة في طب زرع الأعضاء والجراحات.

في العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية أو الطب التجديدي، يُجري الباحثون دراسات حول كيفية استخدام الخلايا الجذعية لاستبدال الخلايا المريضة أو إصلاحها أو إعادة برمجتها أو تجديدها. وتمتلك الخلايا الجذعية القدرة على النمو والتطور داخل أنواع عديدة ومختلفة من الخلايا في جسمك. يمكن أن يعتمد العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية على استخدام خلايا البالغين التي أُعيدت برمجتها جينيًا في المختبر (الخلايا الجذعية المستحثة عالية القدرات)، وهي الخلايا الجذعية البالغة التي أُعيدت برمجتها أو تطويرها.

يدرس الباحثون أيضًا ويجرون اختبارات حول كيفية تحويل الخلايا الجذعية التي أُعيدت برمجتها إلى خلايا متخصصة يمكنها إصلاح خلايا القلب أو الدم أو الأعصاب أو أجزاء أخرى من الجسم أو إعادة تكوينها. ويمكن لهذه الخلايا الجذعية علاج العديد من الحالات الطبية. كما يمكن دراسة الخلايا الجذعية لفهم كيفية حدوث الحالات الأخرى بهدف تطوير علاجات جديدة واختبارها وإجراء أبحاث أخرى.

يسعى الباحثون في كل مراكز مايو كلينك وبالتنسيق من خلال مركز الطب التجديدي إلى اكتشاف العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية وفهمه وتطبيقه بوصفه علاجًا محتملاً للأمراض القلبية الوعائية والسكري وحالات أمراض المفاصل الانتكاسية والدماغ والجهاز العصبي مثل مرض باركنسون وحالات أخرى كثيرة. على سبيل المثال، يدرس الباحثون إمكانية استخدام العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية لإصلاح أنسجة القلب المصابة أو إعادة تجديدها، وذلك لعلاج أنواع عديدة من الأمراض القلبية الوعائية من الاضطرابات المكتسبة لدى البالغين إلى الأمراض الخلقية. اقرأ عن أبحاث الطب التجديدي لعلاج متلازمة القلب الأيسر ناقص التنسج.

خضعَت الأمراض القلبية الوعائية وأمراض الجهاز العصبي والسكري لدراسة شاملة في أبحاث العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية. ولقد خضعَت للدراسة لأن الخلايا الجذعية المتأثرة بهذه الحالات كانت من أنواع الخلايا نفسها التي كوّنها العلماء في المختبر من أنواع عديدة من الخلايا الجذعية. ولذا، قد يستهدف طب وجراحة زراعة الأعضاء في المستقبل بالفعل تحويل العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية إلى علاجات محتملة للأشخاص المصابين بالحالات المشار إليها.

ويجري الباحثون دراسات مستمرة في مجال العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن التنبؤ بمسار الأبحاث والتطوير في مجال العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية، ويعتمد على العديد من العوامل التي تتضمن التعليمات التنظيمية ومصادر التمويل والنجاحات الأخيرة في العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية. كما يهدف الباحثون في مايو كلينك إلى توسيع الأبحاث والتطوير في مجال العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية في المستقبل، مع الحفاظ على سلامة المرضى، وهو ما يأتي أولاً على قائمة الأولويات.

توفر مايو كلينك عمليات زرع الخلايا الجذعية (زرع نخاع العظام) للمرضى الذين تعرضوا للإصابة باللوكيميا واللمفومة أو أي حالات أخرى خضعت للعلاج الكيميائي.

23/03/2021

Regenerative medicine

At Mayo Clinic, an integrated team, including stem cell biologists, bioengineers, doctors and scientists, work together and study regenerative medicine. The goal of the team is to treat diseases using novel therapies, such as stem cell therapy and bioengineering. Doctors in transplant medicine and transplant surgery have pioneered the study of regenerative medicine during the past five decades, and doctors continue to study new innovations in transplant medicine and surgery.

In stem cell therapy, or regenerative medicine, researchers study how stem cells may be used to replace, repair, reprogram or renew your diseased cells. Stem cells are able to grow and develop into many different types of cells in your body. Stem cell therapy may use adult cells that have been genetically reprogrammed in the laboratory (induced pluripotent stem cells), your own adult stem cells that have been reprogrammed or developed.

Researchers also study and test how reprogrammed stem cells may be turned into specialized cells that can repair or regenerate cells in your heart, blood, nerves and other parts of your body. These stem cells have the potential to treat many conditions. Stem cells also may be studied to understand how other conditions occur, to develop and test new medications, and for other research.

Researchers across Mayo Clinic, with coordination through the Center for Regenerative Medicine, are discovering, translating and applying stem cell therapy as a potential treatment for cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, degenerative joint conditions, brain and nervous system (neurological) conditions, such as Parkinson's disease, and many other conditions. For example, researchers are studying the possibility of using stem cell therapy to repair or regenerate injured heart tissue to treat many types of cardiovascular diseases, from adult acquired disorders to congenital diseases. Read about regenerative medicine research for hypoplastic left heart syndrome.

Cardiovascular diseases, neurological conditions and diabetes have been extensively studied in stem cell therapy research. They've been studied because the stem cells affected in these conditions have been the same cell types that have been generated in the laboratory from various types of stem cells. Thus, translating stem cell therapy to a potential treatment for people with these conditions may be a realistic goal for the future of transplant medicine and surgery.

Researchers conduct ongoing studies in stem cell therapy. However, research and development of stem cell therapy is unpredictable and depends on many factors, including regulatory guidelines, funding sources and recent successes in stem cell therapy. Mayo Clinic researchers aim to expand research and development of stem cell therapy in the future, while keeping the safety of patients as their primary concern.

Mayo Clinic offers stem cell transplant (bone marrow transplant) for people who've had leukemia, lymphoma or other conditions that have been treated with chemotherapy.

Sept. 15, 2021