Expertise and rankings

Mayo Clinic is committed to nursing excellence through education, research and outstanding patient care and innovation. The Mayo Clinic Department of Nursing is one of the largest and most respected groups of nurses in the world.

Magnet designation

Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota have been awarded Magnet designation for excellence in nursing. In the nursing profession, Magnet status is considered the gold standard that demonstrates a commitment to quality, safety and improvement, teamwork, evidence-based practice and research, and formal nursing education. The ANCC Magnet Recognition Program awards this prestigious designation to health care organizations that exemplify transformational leadership, structural empowerment, exemplary professional practice, and continual innovation and improvement in professional nursing practice.

In 1997 Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, was the fifth health care organization in the nation to receive Magnet designation from the ANCC. Since then, each of the clinic's campuses — in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota — has achieved Magnet designation or re-designation through a process of continual improvement and an unwavering commitment to excellence in nursing.

Top ranked surgical programs

Mayo Clinic is consistently ranked as one of the best hospitals in the nation by US News & World Report, reflecting overall excellence but also high scores in the ranking's surgical categories, including but not limited to:

  • Cardiology & heart surgery
  • Ear, nose & throat
  • Gastroenterology & GI surgery
  • Neurology & neurosurgery
  • Pulmonology & lung surgery

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's quality rankings.

Sept. 28, 2021