كيف يؤدي هذا الالتهاب إلى الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم؟

عند تعرض المرأة إلى فيروس التهاب الورم الحليمي التناسلي يقوم جهاز المناعة عادةً بمنع الفيروس من القيام بضرر خطير. لكن يبقى الفيروس لسنوات لدى عدد قليل من النساء. وفي النهاية يمكن أن يؤدي هذا الفيروس إلى تحويل الخلايا العادية الموجودة على سطح عنق الرحم إلى خلايا سرطانية.

وفي بادىء الأمر قد تُظهر الخلايا علامات تشير إلى الإصابة بالتهاب فيروسي وحسب.. لكن في نهاية المطاف قد تنشأ في الخلايا تغييرات سرطانية. وهذا ما يُعرف بخلل التنسج العنقي، وعادةً ما يزول من تلقاء ذاته، غير أنه قد يتطور في بعض الحالات إلى سرطان مستفحل في عنق الرحم.

إن الأسباب وراء احتمال نشوء سرطان عنق الرحم لدى بعض النساء غير واضحة، كما تكون بعض أنواع الورم الحليمي البشري مستفحلة أكثر من غيرها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك يزيد تدخين السجائر والسمنة واستعمال موانع الحمل على الأمد الطويل من خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم.

تتوفر ثلاثة أنواع من التطعيمات ضد الورم الحُليمي البشري، وهي: — سيرفاريكس وغارداسيل وغارداسيل 9. وهي تتيح الحماية من العديد من أنواع الورم الحليمي البشري الأكثر خطورة.

إِذا كنتِ نشطة جنسياً فإن أفضل طريقة للوقاية من الورم الحليمي البشري وغيره من الالتهابات المنتقلة جنسياً تتمثل في تبني علاقة مع شريك حياة واحد غير مصاب بهذا الفيروس. وبخلاف ذلك يمكن أن تطلبي من شريك الحياة ارتداء الواقي الذكري عند الممارسة الجنسية (الجماع). كما يعد فحص عنق الرحم بانتظام مهماً أيضاً.

24/08/2016 See more Expert Answers

How does HPV cause cervical cancer?

Answers from Mary M. Gallenberg, M.D.

When a woman is exposed to genital human papillomavirus (HPV), her immune system usually prevents the virus from doing serious harm. But in a small number of women, the virus survives for years. Eventually, the virus can lead to the conversion of normal cells on the surface of the cervix into cancerous cells.

At first, cells may only show signs of a viral infection. Eventually, the cells may develop precancerous changes. This is known as cervical intraepithelial neoplasia, which usually goes away spontaneously. In some cases, however, cervical intraepithelial neoplasia may progress to invasive cervical cancer.

It's not clear why some women are more likely to develop cervical cancer. Some types of HPV are simply more aggressive than are others. Cigarette smoking also increases the risk of cervical cancer.

There are two HPV vaccines available — Gardasil and Cervarix. They offer protection from several of the most dangerous types of HPV. Gardasil is approved for boys and men, girls and women ages 9 to 26. Cervarix is approved for girls and women ages 9 to 25.

If you're sexually active, the best way to prevent HPV and other sexually transmitted infections is to remain in a mutually monogamous relationship with an uninfected partner. Otherwise, when you have sexual intercourse always have your partner use a condom. Regular screening for cervical cancer and precancerous changes of the cervix is important, too.

Aug. 24, 2013 See more Expert Answers