减重:选择适合您的饮食

减重时不要迷信噱头。仔细评估饮食,找到最适合自己的饮食方式。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

关于减重,有很多建议。杂志、书籍和网站都保证,在饮食中去除脂肪或碳水化合物,或者坚持那些吹捧超级食物或特殊补充剂的饮食,就可以一劳永逸地减掉想要减去的体重。

有这么多相互矛盾的选项,如何知道哪种方法可能对您有效?下面是关于选择减重项目的一些建议。

让医生参与体重减轻工作

开始体重减轻项目前,请咨询医生。医生可能检查可能影响体重的医疗问题和用药,为您提供项目指导。您可以咨询如何安全运动,特别是如果您有身体或是医学困难,或者日常任务中感到疼痛。

告诉医生您以前为减轻体重所做的努力。对您感兴趣的时尚饮食保持开放态度。医生可能指导您参加体重减轻互助组,或将您转诊给注册营养师。

考虑您的个人需求

没有适合每个人的单一饮食或减肥计划。但如果您考虑自己的偏好、生活方式和减肥目标,您很可能会找到一个适合自己需要的计划。

在开始减肥项目之前,请思考:

  • 您尝试过的饮食方法。您喜欢或不喜欢它们的哪些方面?您能按照规定饮食吗?什么有效,什么无效?在节食过程中,您的身心感觉如何?
  • 您的偏好。您喜欢自己一个人减肥,还是想要获得团队的支持?如果您喜欢团队的支持,您更喜欢在线支持还是亲自会面?
  • 您的预算。有些减肥项目要求您购买补充剂或膳食,去减肥专科门诊或参加相关支持会议。费用是否符合您的预算?
  • 其他考虑因素。您有什么健康状况吗,例如糖尿病、心脏病或过敏?您对食物有文化或民族方面的要求或偏好吗?

寻找安全、有效的体重减轻项目

人们很容易相信快速、显著减轻体重的承诺,但缓慢、稳定的减轻体重的方法更容易维持,而且长期来看通常比快速减轻体重更有效。一般建议每周减去 0.5 至 2 磅(0.2 至 0.9 千克)的体重。

在某些情况下,如果方法得当,快速减轻体重也可以比较安全,例如,在医疗监督下吃超低热量的食物,或者是处于快速启动健康饮食计划阶段。

成功减轻体重需要长期致力于在饮食、锻炼和行为方面做出健康的生活方式改变。行为矫正至关重要,它可能会对长期体重减轻效果产生最大影响。

一定要选择一个您能接受的计划。寻找以下特征:

  • 灵活性。灵活计划并不是禁止您吃某些食物或食物种类,而是可以吃所有主要食物种类中的各种食物。健康饮食包括蔬菜、水果、全谷物、低脂奶制品、瘦蛋白、坚果和种子。如果您愿意,灵活计划允许您偶尔合理地放纵一下自己。灵活计划应该以您能在当地杂货店买到并且喜欢吃的食物为特点。但灵活计划应该限制酒精、含糖饮料和高糖糖果,因为其中的热量不能提供足够的营养。
  • 平衡能力。您的计划应考虑足够的营养和热量。大量食用葡萄柚或肉类等食物;大幅减少热量;或一点也不吃碳水化合物等食物种类都会引起营养问题。安全健康的饮食不需要过量的维生素或补充剂。
  • 喜欢程度。饮食应该包括您喜欢且会喜欢吃一辈子的食物,而不是那些您在这次项目过程中可以勉强吃下的食物。如果您不喜欢计划中的食物,或者计划限制性过强或比较无聊,您可能不会坚持下去,因此也不可能实现长期减轻体重。
  • 活动。您的计划应考虑体育锻炼。锻炼加上摄入更少的热量可以帮助您减轻体重。锻炼还能提供许多健康益处,包括减少伴随体重减轻而出现的肌肉损耗。锻炼是维持体重减轻的重要因素。

有哪些选择?

下表列出了一些比较常见的饮食。有重叠的地方,但是大多数的计划可以分为几个主要类别。

比较各种减重计划的研究发现,与没有减重计划相比,大多数减重计划都会在短期内带来体重减轻的效果。不同饮食之间带来的体重减轻差异通常很小。

饮食类型及示例 灵活性 营养均衡 长期可持续
DASH = 终止高血压膳食疗法,HMR = 健康管理资源计划。
均衡(DASH、妙佑医疗国际饮食法、地中海饮食法、Weight Watchers 饮食法) 是。可食用所有食物。 是。 是。重点在于永久改变生活方式。
高蛋白(杜坎饮食减肥法、原始人饮食法) 否。强调瘦肉、奶制品。 限制性很强的计划可能会有不足之处。 有可能。但是随着时间的推移,这种饮食可能很难坚持。
低碳水化合物(阿特金斯减肥法、迈阿密减肥法) 否。限制碳水化合物的摄入;强调脂肪或蛋白质或两者兼而有之。 限制性很强的计划可能会有不足之处。 有可能。但是随着时间的推移,这种饮食可能很难坚持。
低脂(欧尼许饮食法) 否。限制总脂肪的摄入;大多数畜产品都是禁止摄入的。 是。 有可能。但是随着时间的推移,这种饮食可能很难坚持。
代餐(珍妮·克雷格减肥法、健康管理资源计划、节食饮料、Nutrisystem、SlimFast 代餐奶昔) 否。代餐每天可代替一顿或两顿饭。 有可能。如果选择健康的膳食就可以保持平衡。 有可能。产品成本各不相同;有些成本过高。
极低卡路里(Optifast 代餐奶昔) 否。卡路里摄入受到严格限制,通常的摄入量为每天 800 卡路里或更少。 否。 否。饮食只能在医疗监督下短期使用。

评估减重计划时,问自己以下这些问题

在真正开始一项减重计划之前,花点时间尽可能详细了解这项计划。仅仅因为某种饮食很流行或者您的朋友正在遵循某种饮食并不能说明该饮食也适合您。首先问自己以下这些问题:

  • 减重计划涉及哪些方面?该计划是否提供了适应您情况的指导?是否需要购买特殊餐食或补充剂?是否提供在线或面对面支持?是否会教您如何在生活中做出积极、健康的改变以帮助您减重?
  • 饮食背后原理的是什么?是否有研究和科学来支持这种减重方法?如果前往减重诊所,那里的医生、营养师和其他人员是否具有专业技能、经过培训、获得证书和经验?工作人员会与您的常规医生进行协调吗?
  • 有哪些风险?这项减重计划是否会危害您的健康?这些建议对您安全吗,尤其是在您有健康状况或正在服药的情况下?
  • 结果如何?您期望减轻多少体重?该计划是否声称您会迅速减轻很多体重,或者可以减轻身体某些部位的重量?该计划的前后对比照片是不是看起来好得令人难以置信?该计划是否能帮助您在一段时间内维持减重效果?

成功减重的关键

成功的减重需要长期改变您的饮食习惯和坚持体育锻炼。这意味着您需要找到一种可以终身践行的减重方法。如果您停止饮食法并重拾旧习,就不太可能保持节食带来的任何减重效果。

让您感到匮乏或饥饿的饮食方式会使您放弃。而且,由于许多减重饮食方法并不关注永久改变健康生活方式,即使您确实减轻了体重,一旦您停止节食,体重也会很快反弹。

这样您可能永远要时刻关注自己的体重变化。将更健康的饮食与更多的运动相结合,这是减重、长期保持体重和改善健康的最佳方法。

June 09, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Weight loss: Choosing a diet that's right for you

Don't fall for gimmicks when it comes to weight loss. Evaluate diets carefully to find one that's right for you.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

When it comes to weight loss, there's plenty of advice. Magazines, books and websites promise that you can lose all the weight you want for good. To do this, they suggest that you use diets that get rid of fat or carbs. Or use superfoods or special supplements.

With so many options, how do you know which approach might work for you? Here are some suggestions for choosing a weight-loss program.

Talk to your health care provider about your weight-loss efforts

Before you start a weight-loss program, talk to your health care provider. Your health care provider can go over your medical issues and the drugs you take that might affect your weight. Your provider can guide you on a program that's right for you. And you can discuss how to exercise safely. This is important if you have physical or medical challenges or pain with daily tasks.

Tell your health care provider about your past efforts to lose weight. Be open about fad diets that interest you. Your provider might be able to direct you to weight-loss support groups or refer you to a registered dietitian.

Think about your personal needs

There's no one diet or weight-loss plan for everyone. Think about your preferences, lifestyle and weight-loss goals. Pick a plan that you can tailor to your needs.

Before starting a weight-loss program, think about:

  • Diets you've tried. What did you like or dislike about them? Were you able to follow the diet? What worked or didn't work? How did you feel physically and emotionally while on the diet?
  • Your preferences. Do you prefer to do a weight-loss program on your own, or do you want support from a group? If you like group support, do you prefer online support or in-person meetings?
  • Your budget. Some weight-loss programs require you to buy supplements or meals, visit weight-loss clinics, or attend support meetings. Does the cost fit your budget?
  • Other considerations. Do you have a health condition, such as diabetes, heart disease or allergies? Do you have cultural, religious or ethnic requirements or preferences for food?

Look for a safe, effective weight-loss program

It's tempting to buy into promises of fast and amazing weight loss. But a slow and steady approach is easier to keep up. And it often beats fast weight loss for the long term. A weight loss of 0.5 to 2 pounds (0.2 to 0.9 kilograms) a week is the typical recommendation.

Faster weight loss can be safe if it's done right. Examples include a very low-calorie diet with medical supervision or a brief quick-start phase of a healthy-eating plan.

Successful weight loss requires a long-term commitment to making healthy lifestyle changes in eating, exercise and behavior. Behavior change is vital, and could have the greatest impact on your long-term weight-loss efforts.

Be sure to pick a plan you can live with. Look for these features:

  • Flexibility. A flexible plan uses a variety of foods from all the major food groups. It includes vegetables and fruits, whole grains, low-fat dairy products, lean protein sources, and nuts and seeds.

    A flexible plan allows a treat now and then if you like. The plan should include foods you can find in your local grocery store and that you enjoy eating. But limit alcohol, sugary drinks and high-sugar sweets. The calories in those items don't provide enough nutrients.

  • Balance. Your plan should include the right amount of nutrients and calories. Eating large amounts of some foods, severely cutting calories or removing entire food groups can cause nutritional problems. Safe and healthy diets don't need large amounts of vitamins or supplements.
  • Likeability. A plan should include foods you like and that you would enjoy eating for life. If you don't like the food on the plan, if the plan is too restrictive or if it becomes boring, you probably won't stick to it. So long-term weight loss is unlikely.
  • Activity. Your plan should include physical activity. Exercise plus fewer calories can help give your weight loss a boost. Exercise also offers many health benefits, including countering the muscle mass loss that occurs with weight loss. And exercise is an important factor in maintaining weight loss.

What are the options?

The table below lists some of the more common diets. There's overlap, but most plans can be grouped into a few major categories.

Studies comparing different weight-loss programs have found that most programs result in weight loss in the short term compared with no program. Weight-loss differences between diets are generally small.

Diet type and examples Flexible Nutritionally balanced Sustainable for long term
DASH = Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension, HMR = Health Management Resources.
Balanced (DASH, Mayo Clinic, Mediterranean, WeightWatchers) Yes. No foods are off-limits. Yes. Yes. Emphasis is on making permanent lifestyle changes.
High protein (Dukan, Paleo) No. Stresses lean meats, dairy. Deficiencies are possible on very restrictive plans. Possibly. But the diet may be hard to stick to over time.
Low carb (Atkins, South Beach) No. Carbs are limited; fats or proteins or both are stressed. Deficiencies are possible on very restrictive plans. Possibly. But the diet may be hard to stick to over time.
Low fat (Ornish) No. Total fat is limited; most animal products are off-limits. Yes. Possibly. But the diet may be hard to stick to over time.
Meal replacement (Jenny Craig, HMR, Medifast, Nutrisystem, SlimFast) No. Replacement products take the place of 1 or 2 meals a day. Possibly. Balance is possible if you make healthy meal choices. Possibly. Cost of products varies; some can be very expensive.
Very low calorie (Optifast) No. Calories are severely limited, often to 800 or fewer calories a day. No. No. Diet is meant only for short-term use with medical supervision.

Ask yourself these questions when evaluating weight-loss plans

Before you dive into a weight-loss plan, take time to learn as much about it as you can. Just because a diet is popular or your friends are doing it doesn't mean it's right for you. Ask these questions first:

  • What's involved? Does the plan provide guidance that you can adapt to your situation? Does it require buying special meals or supplements? Does it offer online or in-person support? Does it teach you how to make positive, healthy changes in your life to help keep up your weight loss?
  • What's behind the diet? Is there research and science to back up the weight-loss approach? If you go to a weight-loss clinic, what expertise, training, certifications and experience do the providers, dietitians and other staff have? Will the staff coordinate with your regular provider?
  • What are the risks? Could the weight-loss program harm your health? Are the recommendations safe for you, especially if you have a health condition or take medications?
  • What are the results? How much weight can you expect to lose? Does the program claim that you'll lose a lot of weight quickly or that you can target certain areas of your body? Does it show before and after photos that seem too good to be true? Can it help you keep up your weight loss over time?

The keys to weight-loss success

Successful weight loss requires long-term changes to your eating habits and physical activity. This means you need to find a weight-loss approach you can embrace for life. You're not likely to keep off the weight you lose if you go off the diet and back to old habits.

Diets that leave you feeling deprived or hungry can cause you to give up. And many weight-loss diets don't encourage permanent healthy lifestyle changes. So even if you do lose weight, the pounds can quickly return once you stop dieting.

You'll likely always have to remain careful about your weight. But mixing a healthier diet with more activity is the best way to lose weight, keep it off for the long term and improve your health.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

June 09, 2022 See more In-depth