运动和压力:行动起来,管理压力

几乎任何形式的运动都可以缓解压力。积极锻炼可以增多使您感觉良好的内啡肽,分散您对日常烦忧的注意力。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

您知道运动对您的身体有好处,但您太忙了,压力太大,无法适应您的日常活动。等一下,提及运动和压力,有一个好消息。

从有氧运动到瑜伽,几乎所有形式的运动都可以缓解压力。尽管您不是运动员,甚至您身体状况不佳,仍可以进行一些运动来极大地缓解压力。发现运动与压力缓解之间的关联,了解为何应在压力缓解计划中纳入运动。

运动和减压

运动不仅可以改善您的整体健康状况,还可以增加您的幸福感,让您每天都精神满满,活力四射。而且,运动还对压力缓解有一定的直接益处。

  • 运动可以促进内啡肽分泌。身体活动可能有助于促进大脑产生令人快乐的神经递质(称为内啡肽)。虽然这种功能通常被称为“跑步者的愉悦感”,但任何有氧运动,比如激动人心的网球比赛或大自然徒步旅行,都能带来同样的感觉。
  • 运动可以减轻压力的消极影响。运动可能会减轻身体的压力,同时模仿压力效应,例如逃跑或搏斗反应,并帮助身体及其系统练习通过这些效应协同工作。通过帮助您的身体抵御有害的压力影响,运动还可能对您的身体(包括心血管系统、消化系统和免疫系统)产生积极影响。
  • 在运动中冥想。经历一场快节奏的壁球比赛,走完或跑完一段很长的路,或者在游泳池里游几圈之后,您常常会发现自己已将一天的烦恼抛于脑后,只专注于身体运动。

    当您开始定期通过运动和身体活动来消除日常紧张情绪时,您可能会发现,专注于一项任务以及由此产生的能量和乐观精神可以帮助您在处理任何事情时保持冷静、清晰和专注。

  • 改善情绪。定期运动可能可以增强自信、改善情绪、帮助放松,以及缓解轻度抑郁症和焦虑症的症状。如果您常常因压力、抑郁和焦虑而无法入睡,那么,运动还可能会改善您的睡眠情况。运动带来的这些益处有可能减轻您的压力,还可以让您感到身体和生活都在自己的掌控之中。

让运动和压力缓解为您效劳

成功的运动项目往往是从几个简单的步骤开始的。

  • 咨询您的医生。如果您有一段时间没有运动或者有健康问题,可能要在开始新的日常锻炼前咨询医生的意见。
  • 先走后跑。逐步提高健身水平。对新项目的兴奋感可能会导致运动过度,甚至可能会受伤。

    对于大多数健康成年人,卫生和公共服务部建议每周进行至少 150 分钟的中等强度有氧运动或 75 分钟的剧烈有氧运动,或者搭配进行中等强度运动和剧烈运动。中等强度有氧运动的示例包括健步走或游泳,剧烈有氧运动包括跑步或骑自行车。增加运动量将会给健康带来更大的益处。

    另外,您应该每周进行至少两次针对所有主要肌肉群的力量训练。

  • 选择自己喜欢的运动。几乎任何形式的锻炼或运动都能在缓解压力的同时增强体魄。最重要的是选择自己喜爱的运动。例如,您可以选择散步、爬楼梯、慢跑、跳舞、骑自行车、瑜伽、太极、园艺、举重和游泳。

    记住,运动不一定要去健身房。您可以带狗散步,尝试体重锻炼或者在家跟着视频做瑜伽。

  • 写入日常计划。在您的日程安排中,您可能需要在一天做晨练,并在第二天进行夜间锻炼。但是,每天留出一些时间做运动有助于让您的运动项目成为一项持续的优先事项。您应该在一周的日程安排中纳入体育锻炼项目。

坚持

开始运动项目只是第一步。这里有一些小提示,它们可以帮助您坚持新的锻炼计划或者对厌倦的运动重新燃起兴趣:

  • 设定 SMART 目标。写下 SMART 目标,即该目标应具体、可衡量、可实现、相关、有时限。

    如果您的主要目标是缓解生活压力,那么具体目标可以包括坚持每周在午餐时间散步三次。或者尝试在家跟着线上健身视频进行锻炼。或者,如有必要,找一个保姆照看您的孩子,这样您就可以抽空参加骑自行车课程了。

  • 寻找健身伙伴。知道有人在健身房或公园等着您会是一种强大的激励。试着制定与朋友一起散步或锻炼的计划。与朋友、同事或家人一起锻炼通常会给您的锻炼带来新的动力和承诺。朋友可以让运动变得更加有趣!
  • 改变您的日常锻炼。如果您一直是一名竞技性跑步者,不妨看看其他不那么具有竞技性且可以帮助舒缓压力的选项,例如普拉提或瑜伽课程。作为一种额外的收获,这些更轻柔、更温和的锻炼可能会增强跑步能力,同时还能减轻压力。
  • 短时间运动。即使短暂的体育锻炼也能带来益处。举例而言,如果您无法一次步行 30 分钟,不妨尝试进行几次 10 分钟步行。全天的运动效果可以累加,带来健康益处。上午或下午抽空做些运动和肢体伸展,外出散步,或者做些深蹲或俯卧撑。

    间歇训练需要您用几乎全部的力量进行短暂(60 - 90秒)的剧烈运动,它可以让您安全、有效、高效地获得长时间锻炼的诸多益处。最重要的是,让定期体育锻炼成为您生活方式的一部分。

不论您做什么运动,都不要只把运动当做交差事。寻找自己喜爱的运动(不论是活跃的网球比赛还是在附近公园和家之间冥想漫步)并将它纳入自己的常规生活中。任何形式的体育锻炼都可以帮助您放松,并成为减压方法的重要组成部分。

Feb. 12, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Exercise and stress: Get moving to manage stress

Exercise in almost any form can act as a stress reliever. Being active can boost your feel-good endorphins and distract you from daily worries.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

You know that exercise does your body good, but you're too busy and stressed to fit it into your routine. Hold on a second — there's good news when it comes to exercise and stress.

Virtually any form of exercise, from aerobics to yoga, can act as a stress reliever. If you're not an athlete or even if you're out of shape, you can still make a little exercise go a long way toward stress management. Discover the connection between exercise and stress relief — and why exercise should be part of your stress management plan.

Exercise and stress relief

Exercise increases your overall health and your sense of well-being, which puts more pep in your step every day. But exercise also has some direct stress-busting benefits.

  • It pumps up your endorphins. Physical activity may help bump up the production of your brain's feel-good neurotransmitters, called endorphins. Although this function is often referred to as a runner's high, any aerobic activity, such as a rousing game of tennis or a nature hike, can contribute to this same feeling.
  • It reduces negative effects of stress. Exercise can provide stress relief for your body while imitating effects of stress, such as the flight or fight response, and helping your body and its systems practice working together through those effects. This can also lead to positive effects in your body—including your cardiovascular, digestive and immune systems—by helping protect your body from harmful effects of stress.
  • It's meditation in motion. After a fast-paced game of racquetball, a long walk or run, or several laps in the pool, you may often find that you've forgotten the day's irritations and concentrated only on your body's movements.

    As you begin to regularly shed your daily tensions through movement and physical activity, you may find that this focus on a single task, and the resulting energy and optimism, can help you stay calm, clear and focused in everything you do.

  • It improves your mood. Regular exercise can increase self-confidence, improve your mood, help you relax, and lower symptoms of mild depression and anxiety. Exercise can also improve your sleep, which is often disrupted by stress, depression and anxiety. All of these exercise benefits can ease your stress levels and give you a sense of command over your body and your life.

Put exercise and stress relief to work for you

A successful exercise program begins with a few simple steps.

  • Consult with your doctor. If you haven't exercised for some time or you have health concerns, you may want to talk to your doctor before starting a new exercise routine.
  • Walk before you run. Build up your fitness level gradually. Excitement about a new program can lead to overdoing it and possibly even injury.

    For most healthy adults, the Department of Health and Human Services recommends getting at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity or 75 minutes of vigorous aerobic activity a week, or a combination of moderate and vigorous activity. Examples of moderate aerobic activity include brisk walking or swimming, and vigorous aerobic activity can include running or biking. Greater amounts of exercise will provide even greater health benefits.

    Also, aim to do strength training exercises for all major muscle groups at least two times a week.

  • Do what you love. Almost any form of exercise or movement can increase your fitness level while decreasing your stress. The most important thing is to pick an activity that you enjoy. Examples include walking, stair climbing, jogging, dancing, bicycling, yoga, tai chi, gardening, weightlifting and swimming.

    And remember, you don't need to join a gym to get moving. Take a walk with the dog, try body-weight exercises or do a yoga video at home.

  • Pencil it in. In your schedule, you may need to do a morning workout one day and an evening activity the next. But carving out some time to move every day helps you make your exercise program an ongoing priority. Aim to include exercise in your schedule throughout your week.

Stick with it

Starting an exercise program is just the first step. Here are some tips for sticking with a new routine or refreshing a tired workout:

  • Set SMART goals. Write down SMART goals — specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time-limited goals.

    If your primary goal is to reduce stress in your life, your specific goals might include committing to walking during your lunch hour three times a week. Or try online fitness videos at home. Or, if needed, find a babysitter to watch your children so that you can slip away to attend a cycling class.

  • Find a friend. Knowing that someone is waiting for you to show up at the gym or the park can be a powerful incentive. Try making plans to meet friends for walks or workouts. Working out with a friend, co-worker or family member often brings a new level of motivation and commitment to your workouts. And friends can make exercising more fun!
  • Change up your routine. If you've always been a competitive runner, take a look at other, less competitive options that may help with stress reduction, such as Pilates or yoga classes. As an added bonus, these kinder, gentler workouts may enhance your running while also decreasing your stress.
  • Exercise in short bursts. Even brief bouts of physical activity offer benefits. For instance, if you can't fit in one 30-minute walk, try a few 10-minute walks instead. Being active throughout the day can add up to provide health benefits. Take a mid-morning or afternoon break to move and stretch, go for a walk, or do some squats or pushups.

    Interval training, which entails brief (60 to 90 seconds) bursts of intense activity at almost full effort, can be a safe, effective and efficient way of gaining many of the benefits of longer duration exercise. What's most important is making regular physical activity part of your lifestyle.

Whatever you do, don't think of exercise as just one more thing on your to-do list. Find an activity you enjoy — whether it's an active tennis match or a meditative meander down to a local park and back — and make it part of your regular routine. Any form of physical activity can help you unwind and become an important part of your approach to easing stress.

Aug. 18, 2020 See more In-depth