卡痛叶:危险且无效

虽然用户信誓旦旦,称卡痛叶可以提振情绪并缓解疲劳,但卡痛叶的安全问题和对其效用的质疑比比皆是。

如果您经常阅读健康新闻或逛维生素商店,您可能听说过卡痛叶,这种补充剂作为能量加强剂、情绪改善剂、止痛药和阿片类药物戒断反应的解毒剂而出售。然而,卡痛叶的真相更为复杂,与其使用相关的安全问题也令人担忧。

卡痛叶是一种东南亚常青树(美丽帽柱木)叶子的草本提取物。这种树叶可以咀嚼,干的卡痛叶可以吞咽或冲泡。卡痛叶提取物可用于制备液体产品。这些液态产品通常作为肌肉疼痛治疗药物而推入市场,或用于抑制食欲、停止痛经和腹泻。卡痛叶也作为治疗惊恐发作的药物进行出售。

据信,卡痛叶作用于阿片受体。低剂量的卡痛叶具有兴奋剂的作用,让使用者感到更有活力。提高剂量后,则可镇痛,并可能带来欣快感。如果剂量很高,卡痛叶可充当镇静剂,让使用者变得安静或者昏昏欲睡。有些亚洲传统医学的从业者将卡痛叶视为鸦片替代品。

有些人为了避免阿片类戒断反应而服用卡痛叶,而且卡痛叶比处方药更容易购买。

卡痛叶也常见于音乐节和其他消遣娱乐场合。服用卡痛叶放松的人说,因为它提取自植物,所以天然又安全。然而,卡痛叶植物中的活性成分量可能有很大差异,因此很难衡量给定剂量的效果。根据植物中的成分和使用者的健康状况,服用卡痛叶可能很危险。由于缺乏可靠证据,卡痛叶的所谓益处无法评定。

副作用和安全问题

尽管卡痛叶的服用者笃信它的效果,但对卡痛叶做过调研的研究人员认为,其副作用和安全问题远远抵消了任何可能益处。2011 年至 2017 年期间,美国的中毒控制中心收到过大约 1800 份涉及使用卡痛叶的报告,包括死亡报告。这些接触案例中,大约一半造成了严重的负面结果,例如癫痫发作和高血压。据报告,7 名接触过卡痛叶的婴儿中有 5 名出现了戒断症状。卡痛叶已被列为口服时可能不安全的物质。

卡痛叶有多项已知的副作用,包括:

  • 体重减轻
  • 口腔干燥
  • 寒战、恶心和呕吐
  • 排尿变化和便秘
  • 肝脏损伤
  • 肌肉疼痛

卡痛叶还会影响大脑和神经系统:

  • 头晕
  • 困倦
  • 出现幻觉和幻想
  • 出现抑郁和幻想
  • 呼吸抑制
  • 癫痫发作、昏迷和死亡

卡痛叶服用后 5 到 10 分钟后生效,作用会持续 2 到 5 个小时。卡痛叶的效果会随着服用量的增加而增强。在动物身上,卡痛叶的效果似乎强于吗啡。据报告,一名由服用卡痛叶的母亲哺乳的婴儿,也受到了影响。

如果高剂量或长期服用这些药物,许多与止痛药有关的问题也会发生。目前尚不清楚究竟服用何种程度的卡痛叶对人体有毒,但与止痛药和消遣性毒品一样,卡痛叶可能出现过量服用。

研究表明前景渺茫

曾几何时,有些研究人员认为卡痛叶可能是阿片类药物和其他处方止痛药的一种安全替代品。然而,针对卡痛叶药效进行的研究发现了很多安全问题,却没有显示明显疗效。

有报告称,卡痛叶与处方药一起服用可导致大脑功能异常。这种情况下,患者会出现严重头痛,丧失沟通能力,或出现意识模糊。

在一项检测用卡痛叶治疗阿片类药物戒断症状的研究中,服用卡痛叶超过六个月的患者,报告出现了与阿片使用后相似的戒断症状。而且,服用卡痛叶的人可能对其产生嗜药性,需要用于阿片类药物成瘾的治疗方案,例如纳洛酮 (Narcan) 和丁丙诺啡 (Buprenex) 。

卡痛叶还会对婴儿的发育产生不利影响。如果妊娠期间服用卡痛叶,新生儿可能出现戒断症状,需要治疗。

另外,用卡痛叶制成的物质可能被沙门菌污染。截至 2018 年 4 月,38 个州有 130 余人在服用卡痛叶后感染了沙门菌。沙门菌中毒可能致命,美国食品药品管理局已发现至少 35 起死亡病例与被沙门菌污染的卡痛叶有关。沙门菌污染没有明显迹象,因此避免生病的最好方法是避免接触可能包含沙门菌的产品。

卡痛叶目前在美国不受监管,联邦机构正在采取行动,打击与卡痛叶有关的虚假宣传。与此同时,您最安全的选择就是与医生合作,寻找其他治疗方案。

Jan. 28, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Kratom: unsafe and ineffective

Users swear by kratom for mood enhancement and fatigue reduction, but safety issues and questions about its effectiveness abound.

If you read health news or visit vitamin stores, you may have heard about kratom, a supplement that is sold as an energy booster, mood enhancer, pain reliever and antidote for opioid withdrawal. However, the truth about kratom is more complicated, and the safety problems related to its use are concerning.

Kratom is an herbal extract that comes from the leaves of an evergreen tree (Mitragyna speciosa) grown in Southeast Asia. Kratom leaves can be chewed, and dry kratom can be swallowed or brewed. Kratom extract can be used to make a liquid product. The liquid form is often marketed as a treatment for muscle pain, or to suppress appetite and stop cramps and diarrhea. Kratom is also sold as a treatment for panic attacks.

Kratom is believed to act on opioid receptors. At low doses, kratom acts as a stimulant, making users feel more energetic. At higher doses, it reduces pain and may bring on euphoria. At very high doses, it acts as a sedative, making users quiet and perhaps sleepy. Some people who practice Asian traditional medicine consider kratom to be a substitute for opium.

Some people take kratom to avoid the symptoms of opioid withdrawal and because kratom may be bought more easily than prescription drugs.

Kratom is also used at music festivals and in other recreational settings. People who use kratom for relaxation report that because it is plant-based, it is natural and safe. However, the amount of active ingredient in kratom plants can vary greatly, making it difficult to gauge the effect of a given dose. Depending on what is in the plant and the health of the user, taking kratom may be very dangerous.

Side effects and safety concerns

Although people who take kratom believe in its value, researchers who have studied kratom think its side effects and safety problems more than offset any potential benefits.

Kratom has a number of known side effects, including:

  • Weight loss
  • Dry mouth
  • Chills, nausea and vomiting
  • Changes in urine and constipation
  • Liver damage
  • Muscle pain

Kratom also affects the mind and nervous system:

  • Dizziness
  • Drowsiness
  • Hallucinations and delusion
  • Depression and delusion
  • Breathing suppression
  • Seizure, coma and death

Kratom takes effect after five to 10 minutes, and its effects last two to five hours. The effects of kratom become stronger as the quantity taken increases. In animals, kratom appears to be more potent than morphine.

Many of the problems that occur with pain medications happen when these drugs are used at high doses or over a long period of time. It's not known exactly what level of kratom is toxic in people, but as with pain medications and recreational drugs, it is possible to overdose on kratom.

Research shows little promise

At one time, some researchers believed that kratom might be a safe alternative to opioids and other prescription pain medications. However, studies on the effects of kratom have identified many safety concerns and no clear benefits.

Kratom has been reported to cause abnormal brain function when taken with prescription medicines. When this happens, you may experience a severe headache, lose your ability to communicate or become confused.

In a study testing kratom as a treatment for symptoms of opioid withdrawal, people who took kratom for more than six months reported withdrawal symptoms similar to those that occur after opioid use. Too, people who use kratom may begin craving it and require treatments given for opioid addiction, such as naloxone (Narcan) and buprenorphine (Buprenex).

Kratom also adversely affects infant development. When kratom is used during pregnancy, the baby may be born with symptoms of withdrawal that require treatment.

In addition, substances that are made from kratom may be contaminated with salmonella bacteria. As of April 2018, more than 130 people in 38 states became ill with Salmonella after taking kratom. Salmonella poisoning may be fatal, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has linked more than 35 deaths to Salmonella-tainted kratom. Salmonella contamination has no obvious signs, so the best way to avoid becoming ill is to avoid products that may contain it.

Kratom is not currently regulated in the United States, and federal agencies are taking action to combat false claims about kratom. In the meantime, your safest option is to work with your doctor to find other treatment options.

May 17, 2018 See more In-depth