هل من الآمن أن آكل مشيمتي؟

يمكن أن يتسبب أكل مشيمتك بعد الولادة في ضرر لكِ ولطفلك معًا.

المشيمة عضو معقد يرعى نمو الجنين عن طريق تبادل المغذيات والأكسجين وتصفية المخلفات الناتجة عبر الحبل السري. الطريقة الأكثر شيوعًا للتحضير — عمل كبسولة — تتم عن طريق الغلي البطيء للمشيمة وتجفيفها أو معالجة المشيمة النيئة. كما أن هناك من يُعرفون بأكل المشيمة نيئة أو مطبوخة أو في مرق أو مشتقات سائلة.

لا تؤدي هذه الطرق في التحضير إلى التدمير الكامل للبكتيريا والفيروسات التي قد تحتوي عليها المشيمة. لقد أصدرت مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها تحذيرًا من تناول كبسولات المشيمة بسبب حالة ظهرت فيها لدى المولود المجموعة ب من جراثيم المكورات العقدية (group B strep) بعد أن تناولت الأم حبوب المشيمة المحتوية على المجموعة ب من المكورات وأرضعت مولودها. كان من المعتقد أن لبن الأم الطبيعي ملوث بالمجموعة ب من البكتيريا العقدية التي أصابت الأم بعد أكل مشيمتها المصابة بالعدوى. يمكن أن تتسبب المجموعة ب من البكتيريا العقدية في مرض خطير للمواليد.

مع أن البعض يزعمون أن أكل المشيمة يمكن أن يقي من اكتئاب ما بعد الولادة، ويقلل من نزيف ما بعد الولادة، ويحسن الحالة المزاجية والطاقة وكمية الحليب ويقدم مغذيات دقيقة مهمة مثل الحديد، لا يوجد دليل على أن أكل المشيمة يقدم مزايا صحية.

يمكن أن يكون أكل المشيمة ضارًا لك ولطفلك. إذا كنت تبحثين عن وسائل لتعزيز صحتك بعد الولادة، فتحدثي إلى موفر رعايتك الصحية عن البدائل التي ثبت نجاحها.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Is it safe to eat my placenta?

Answers from Julie A. Lamppa, C.N.M., R.N.

Eating your placenta after giving birth (placentophagy) can pose harm to both you and your baby.

The placenta is an intricate organ that nourishes the growing fetus by exchanging nutrients and oxygen and filtering waste products via the umbilical cord. The most common preparation — creating a capsule — is made by steaming and dehydrating the placenta or processing the raw placenta. People have also been known to eat the placenta raw, cooked, or in smoothies or liquid extracts.

These preparations don't completely destroy infectious bacteria and viruses that the placenta might contain. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has issued a warning against taking placenta capsules due to a case in which a newborn developed group B streptococcus (group B strep) after the mother took placenta pills containing group B strep and breast-fed her newborn. The mother's breast milk was thought to be infected from group B strep bacteria that she acquired after eating her infected placenta. Group B strep can cause serious illness in newborns.

While some claim that placentophagy can prevent postpartum depression, reduce postpartum bleeding, improve mood, energy and milk supply and provide important micronutrients, such as iron, there's no evidence that eating the placenta provides health benefits.

Placentophagy can be harmful to you and your baby. If you're looking for ways to promote your health postpartum, talk to your health care provider about proven alternatives.

Dec. 14, 2017 See more Expert Answers