نظرة عامة

يظهر الطفح الجلدي الناتج عن اللبلاب السام نتيجة حدوث رد فعل تحسُّسي تجاه راتين زيتي يُسَمَّى اليوروشيول. يوجد هذا الراتين الزيتي في أوراق وجذوع وجذور نباتات اللبلاب السام والبلوط السام والسماق السام.

اغسِل جلدك فورًا إذا لمست هذا الزيت إلا في حالة معرفتك بعدم احتمالية تحسس جسدك منه. فإزالة الزيت عن طريق الغسل قد تقلل من فرص إصابتك بطفح اللبلاب السام. إذا كنتَ مصابًا بطفح جلدي، يمكن أن يكون ذلك مثيرًا للحُكَّة للغاية، ويستمرُّ لعدة أسابيع.

يمكنكَ علاج حالات طفح السماق السام الجلدي الطفيفة في المنزل باستخدام مستحضرات الترطيب المهدئة، وأخذ الحمامات الباردة. قد تحتاج إلى دواء مقرَّر بوصفة طبية للطفح الجلدي الشديد أو المنتشر بشكل واسع — خصوصًا إذا كان على الوجه أو الأعضاء التناسلية.

الأعراض

تتضمَّن أعراضُ وعلامات طفْح اللبلاب الجِلدي السامِّ ما يلي:

  • الاحمِرار
  • الحكة
  • التورُّم
  • البثور
  • يمكن أن تُعاني من صعوبة في التنفُّس إذا قمتَ باستِنشاق الدُّخان من حرْقِ اللبلاب السام.

غالبًا ما يبدو طفح اللبلاب الجلدي السام واضحًا في شكل خطوط مستقيمة، وهذا بِسبَبِ الطريقة التي يَحكُّ بها النَّبات جلدك. ولكن إذا تعرضت لظهور الطفح بعد لمس قطعةً من الملابس أو فراء حيوانٍ أليف عليه مركب اليوروشيول، فقد ينتشِر الطفْح بشكلٍ أكبر. وقد تتعرض أيضًا لنقْل الزيت إلى أجزاء أخرى من جِسمك بأصابعك. يتطوَّر التفاعُل عادةً بعد التعرُّض بـ 12 إلى 48 ساعةً ويستمرُّ لمدَّة أسبوعَين إلى ثلاثةِ أسابيع.

تعتمد شدة الطفح الجلدي على كمية اليوروشيول التي أصابت جلدك.

متى يجب زيارة الطبيب

اطلب العناية الطبية العاجلة إذا شعرت بما يلي:

  • صعوبة في التنفس عند استنشاق الدخان من حرق اللبلاب السام

يُرجَى الرجوع إلى الطبيب في الحالات التالية:

  • إذا كان التفاعل حادًا أو واسع الانتشار
  • إذا استمر جلدك في التورم
  • إذا أثر الطفح الجلدي في عينيك أو فمك أو الأعضاء التناسلية
  • إذا كانت البثور تفرز صديدًا
  • إذا أُصبت بحمّى تخطت درجتها 100 فهرنهايت (37.8 درجة مئوية)
  • إذا لم يتحسن الطفح الجلدي في غضون بضعة أسابيع

الأسباب

يَنتج طفح اللبلاب السام الجلدي عن رَدِّ فعل تحسُّسي لراتين زيتي يُسَمَّى اليرويشول. وهي مادة توجد في نباتات اللبلاب السام والبلوط السام والسماق السام. ويتسم هذا الراتين الزيتي بلزوجته الشديدة، ولذلك يلتصق بسهولة بالجلد والملابس والأدوات والمعدات وفرو الحيوانات الأليفة. ويمكنك الإصابة برد فعل تحسسي تجاه اللبلاب السام نتيجة:

  • لمس النبات. إذا لمست أوراق النبات أو جذعه أو جذوره أو ثماره، فقد تصاب برد فعل تحسسي.
  • لمس الأشياء الملوثة. إذا سرت بحذائك فوق بعض اللبلاب السام ثم لمست حذاءك لاحقًا، فقد تلتقط يديك اليوروشيول. ثم يمكنك نقله بعد ذلك إلى وجهك أو جسمك عن طريق اللمس أو الفرك. وفي حال عدم تنظيف الجسم الملوث، فمن الممكن أن يظل اليوروشيول الملتصق به قادرًا على إصابة الجلد برد فعل تحسسي لعدة سنوات.
  • استنشاق الدخان من النباتات المحترقة. قد يتسبب الدخان الناتج عن احتراق اللبلاب السام والبلوط السام والسماق السام في حدوث تهيج أو تضرر للممرات الأنفية أو الرئتين.

أما الإفرازات الصديدية الخارجة من البثور فلا تحتوي على اليوروشيول، ولن ينتج عنها انتشار الطفح الجلدي. لكن من الممكن التقاط الإصابة بالطفح الجلدي للبلاب السام من شخص ما إذا لمست راتين النبات الذي لا يزال ملتصقًا به أو بملابسه الملوثة.

عوامل الخطر

يزداد خطر إصابتك بالطفح لجلدي إذا كنت تشارك في أنشطة خارجية تعرضك لخطر أكبر للتعرض للبلاب السام والبلوط السام والسماق السام، مثل:

  • تركيب الكابلات أو خطوط الهاتف
  • التخييم
  • الإنشاءات
  • أعمال الزراعة
  • إطفاء الحرائق
  • الصيد من الشواطىء
  • العمل في الغابات
  • أعمال البستنة
  • التنزُّه
  • الصيد
  • تنسيق الحدائق

المضاعفات

إذا خدشت طفح السماق السام الجلدي، فإن البكتيريا الموجودة تحت أظافر الأصابع قد تؤدي إلى إصابة الجلد بالعَدوى. راجع طبيبك إذا بدأ الصديد ينز من البثور. قد يصف لك الطبيب المضادات الحيوية. وقد ينتج عن استنشاق اليوروشيول (المادة المخرشة في بعض النباتات) صعوبة شديدة في التنفس والتهاب شديد في بطانة الرئتين.

الوقاية

للوقاية من الطفح الجلدي الناتج عن اللبلاب السام، اتبع هذه النصائح:

  • ابتعد عن النباتات. تعلم كيفية التعرف على اللبلاب السام، والبلوط السام، والسماق السام في جميع الفصول. عند التنزه أو المشاركة في أنشطة أخرى قد تعرضك لهذه النباتات، حاول البقاء في الطرقات الخالية من الأعشاب. وارتدِ الجوارب والسراويل والملابس ذات الأكمام الطويلة عندما تكون بالخارج. وإذا أردت التخييم، تأكد من خلو المكان الذي تود نصب خيمتك فيه من هذه النباتات.

    وامنع الحيوانات الأليفة من الجري في المناطق المليئة بالأشجار حتى لا يلتصق اليوروشيول بفرائها، والذي قد تلمسه بعد ذلك.

  • ارتدِ ملابس واقية. إذا لزم الأمر، احم جلدك عن طريق ارتداء الجوارب والأحذية الطويلة والسراويل والملابس ذات الأكمام الطويلة والقفازات الثقيلة.
  • اقتلع النباتات أو تخلص منها. حدد أماكن اللبلاب السام والبلوط السام والسماق السام في حديقتك وتخلص منها. ويمكنك التخلص من هذه النباتات عن طريق استخدام مبيدات الأعشاب، أو عن طريق اقتلاعها من الأرض، بما في ذلك الجذور، مع ارتداء قفازات ثقيلة. ثم انزع القفازات بحرص بعد ذلك واغسلها ثم اغسل يديك. ولا تحرق اللبلاب السام أو أي من هذه النباتات، وذلك لأن اليوروشيول يمكن أن ينتقل عن طريق الدخان.
  • اغسل جلدك أو فراء حيوانك الأليف. في غضون 30 دقيقة من التعرض لليوروشيول، استخدم الماء والصابون في غسل جلدك بلطف لإزالة الراتينج الضار. واحرص على فرك تحت أظافرك أيضًا. وحتى الغسل بعد ساعة أو نحو ذلك يمكن أن يساعد في تقليل شدة الطفح الجلدي.

    وإذا كنت تعتقد أن حيوانك الأليف قد تلوث بمادة اليوروشيول، فارتدِ قفازات مطاطية طويلة واغسله (أثناء الاستحمام).

  • نظف الأشياء الملوثة. إذا كنت تعتقد أنك قد لمست اللبلاب السام، فاغسل ملابسك على الفور باستخدام الماء الدافئ والصابون؛ وغسلها في غسالة الملابس سيكون خيارًا مثاليًا. وتعامل مع الملابس الملوثة بحرص حتى لا تنقل اليوروشيول لنفسك أو للأثاث أو السجاد أو الأجهزة.

    بالإضافة إلى ذلك، احرص على غسل أي شيء تعرض للتلوث بزيت النبات، مثل المعدات الخارجية وأدوات البستنة والحلي والأحذية وحتى أربطة الحذاء، وذلك في أقرب وقت ممكن. فقد يبقى اليوروشيول فعالاً لعدة سنوات. ولهذا، إذا قمت بتخزين سترة ملوثة دون غسلها ثم أخرجتها بعد عام، فقد يظل الزيت الموجود على السترة قادرًا على التسبب في الطفح الجلدي.

  • ضع كريمًا عازلًا. جرّب مستحضرات الجلد المتاحة دون وصفة طبية والتي تكون مخصصة للعمل كحاجز بين جلدك والراتينج الدهني الذي يسبب الطفح الجلدي الناتج عن اللبلاب السام.

17/10/2020
  1. AskMayoExpert. Contact dermatitis. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. Kermott CA, et al., eds. Poison ivy rash. In: Mayo Clinic Book of Home Remedies. 2nd ed. Time; 2017.
  3. Thompson DA. Poison ivy/oak/sumac. In: Adult Telephone Protocols: Office Version. 4th ed. American Academy of Pediatrics; 2019.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Poison ivy allergic contact dermatitis. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  5. Outsmarting poison ivy and other poisonous plants. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/outsmarting-poison-ivy-and-other-poisonous-plants. Accessed June 10, 2020.
  6. Prok L, et al. Poison ivy (Toxicodendron) dermatitis. http://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 10, 2020.
  7. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Sept. 9, 2020.

طفح السماق السام الجلدي

Overview

Poison ivy rash is caused by an allergic reaction to an oily resin called urushiol (u-ROO-she-ol). This oil is in the leaves, stems and roots of poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac.

Wash your skin right away if you come into contact with this oil, unless you know you're not sensitive to it. Washing off the oil may reduce your chances of getting a poison ivy rash. If you develop a rash, it can be very itchy and last for weeks.

You can treat mild cases of poison ivy rash at home with soothing lotions and cool baths. You may need prescription medication for a rash that's severe or widespread — especially if it's on your face or genitals.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of a poison ivy rash include:

  • Redness
  • Itching
  • Swelling
  • Blisters
  • Difficulty breathing, if you've inhaled the smoke from burning poison ivy

Often the rash looks like a straight line because of the way the plant brushes against your skin. But if you come into contact with a piece of clothing or pet fur that has urushiol on it, the rash may be more spread out. You can also transfer the oil to other parts of your body with your fingers. The reaction usually develops 12 to 48 hours after exposure and lasts two to three weeks.

The severity of the rash depends on the amount of urushiol that gets on your skin. A section of skin with more urushiol on it may develop a rash sooner.

Your skin must come in direct contact with the plant's oil to be affected. Blister fluid doesn't spread the rash.

When to see a doctor

See your doctor if:

  • The reaction is severe or widespread
  • You inhaled the smoke from burning poison ivy and are having difficulty breathing
  • Your skin continues to swell
  • The rash affects your eyes, mouth or genitals
  • Blisters are oozing pus
  • You develop a fever greater than 100 F (37.8 C)
  • The rash doesn't get better within a few weeks

Causes

Poison ivy rash is a type of allergic contact dermatitis caused by an oily resin called urushiol. It's found in the leaves, stems and roots of poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac. This resin is very sticky, so it easily attaches to your skin, clothing, tools, equipment and pet's fur. You can get a poison ivy reaction from:

  • Direct touch. If you touch the leaves, stem, roots or berries of the plant, you may have a reaction.
  • Touching contaminated objects. If you walk through some poison ivy and then later touch your shoes, you may get some urushiol on your hands, which you may then transfer to your face or body by touching or rubbing. If the contaminated object isn't cleaned, the urushiol on it can still cause a skin reaction years later.
  • Inhaling smoke from the burning plants. Even the smoke from burning poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac contains urushiol and can irritate or harm your nasal passages or lungs.

A poison ivy rash itself isn't contagious — blister fluid doesn't contain urushiol and won't spread the rash. And you can't get poison ivy from another person unless you've touched urushiol that's still on that person or his or her clothing.

Risk factors

Outdoor activities such as the following can put you at higher risk for exposure to poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac:

  • Farming
  • Forestry
  • Landscaping
  • Gardening
  • Firefighting
  • Construction
  • Camping
  • Fishing from the shoreline or hunting
  • Cable or telephone line installation

Complications

If you scratch a poison ivy rash, bacteria under your fingernails may cause the skin to become infected. See your doctor if pus starts oozing from the blisters. Treatment generally includes antibiotics.

Prevention

To prevent poison ivy rash, follow these tips:

  • Avoid the plants. Learn how to identify poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac in all seasons. When hiking or engaging in other activities that might expose you to these plants, try to stay on cleared pathways. If camping, make sure you pitch your tent in an area free of these plants.

    Keep pets from running through wooded areas so that urushiol doesn't accidentally stick to their fur, which you then may touch.

  • Wear protective clothing. If needed, protect your skin by wearing socks, boots, pants, long sleeves and vinyl gloves.
  • Remove or kill the plants. In your yard, you can get rid of poison ivy by applying an herbicide or pulling it out of the ground, including the roots, while wearing heavy gloves. Afterward remove the gloves and thoroughly wash them and your hands. Don't burn poison ivy or related plants because the urushiol can be carried by the smoke.
  • Wash your skin or your pet's fur. Within 30 minutes after exposure, use soap and water to gently wash off the harmful resin from your skin. Scrub under your fingernails too. This helps prevent a rash. Even washing after an hour or so can help reduce the severity of the rash.

    If you think your pet may be contaminated with urushiol, put on some long rubber gloves and give your pet a bath.

  • Clean contaminated objects. If you think you've come into contact with poison ivy, wash your clothing promptly with detergent — ideally in a washing machine. Handle contaminated clothes carefully so that you don't transfer the urushiol to yourself, furniture, rugs or appliances.

    Also wash any other contaminated items — such as outdoor gear, garden tools, jewelry, shoes and even shoelaces — as soon as possible. Urushiol can remain potent for years. So if you put away a contaminated jacket without washing it and take it out a year later, the oil on the jacket may still cause a rash.

  • Apply a barrier cream. Try over-the-counter skin products that are intended to act as a barrier between your skin and the oily resin that causes poison ivy rash.
Aug. 11, 2015
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Contact dermatitis. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2014.
  2. Bolognia JL, et al., eds. Irritant and allergic contact dermatitis, occupational dermatoses and dermatoses due to plants. In: Dermatology Essentials. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2015.
  3. Wolff K, et al. Contact dermatitis. In: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2013. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 15, 2015.
  4. Prok L, et al. Poison ivy (Toxicodendron) dermatitis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 16, 2015.
  5. Poisonous plants. National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/plants. Accessed June 15, 2015.
  6. Outsmarting poison ivy and other poisonous plants. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm049342.htm. Accessed June 15, 2015.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Poison ivy rash (adult and pediatric). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2014.
  8. Patient education: Poison ivy. American Academy of Family Physicians. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2015.
  9. Poison ivy. Nursing. 2014;6:47.
  10. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 10, 2015.