نظرة عامة

الخُناق هو عدوى بكتيرية خطيرة، تؤثر عادة على الأغشية المخاطية في أنفك وحلقك. وعادة ما تؤدي الإصابة بالخُناق إلى التهاب الحلق والحمى وتورم الغدد والشعور بالضعف. ولكن العلامة المميزة هي وجود طبقة من مادة سميكة رمادية تغطي الجزء الخلفي من حلقك، مما قد يسد مجرى الهواء ويسبب لك المعاناة في أثناء التنفس.

وتندر إصابة الأشخاص بمرض الخُناق في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والدول المتقدمة الأخرى، بفضل التطعيمات المنتشرة على نطاق واسع لمكافحة المرض.

وتتوفر الأدوية لعلاج مرض الخُناق. إلا أن المراحل المتقدمة من مرض الخُناق قد تضر بقلبك وكليتيك وجهازك العصبي. وقد يكون مرض الخُناق قاتلًا؛ حتى مع العلاج — يموت ما يصل إلى 3 بالمائة من الأشخاص المصابين بالخُناق بسببه. ويكون هذا المعدل أعلى عند الأطفال دون سن 15.

الأعراض

عادة ما تبدأ علامات وأعراض الخُناق بعد يومين إلى خمسة أيام من إصابة الشخص بالعدوى وقد تشمل:

  • غشاءً سميكًا رمادي اللون يُغطي الحنجرة واللوز
  • التهاب الحلق وبحة في الصوت
  • تورم الغدد (تضخم العقد اللمفاوية) في عنقك
  • صعوبة التنفس وسرعة التنفس
  • سيلان الأنف
  • حمى وقشعريرة
  • الشعور بالإرهاق

لدى بعض الأشخاص، تؤدي الإصابة بعدوى البكتيريا المسببة لمرض الخُناق إلى الإصابة بألم خفيف — أو عدم ظهور أي علامات أو أعراض واضحة على الإطلاق. ويُعرف الأشخاص المصابون الذين يجهلون إصابتهم بالمرض باسم ناقلي الخُناق؛ لأنهم قد ينشرون العدوى من دون أن يمرضوا.

الخُناق الجلدي (عدوى جلدية)

قد يصيب نوع آخر من الخُناق الجلد، مما يسبب الألم والاحمرار والتورم المعتاد ارتباطهم بحالات العدوى الجلدية البكتيرية الأخرى. وقد تتحول أيضًا القرح المغطاة بغشاء رمادي إلى خُناق جلدي.

على الرغم من أن الإصابة بمرض الدفتريا أكثر شيوعًا في المناطق الاستوائية، تحدث عدوى دفتريا الجلد في الولايات المتحدة أيضًا، وخاصة بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون سوء النظافة الصحية ويعيشون في أوضاع مزدحمة.

متى تزور الطبيب

اتصل بطبيب الأسرة على الفور إذا كنت تعرضت أنت أو طفلك إلى شخص مُصاب بالدفتريا. إذا لم تكن متأكدًا مما إذا كان قد تلقى طفلك تطعيم ضد عدوى الدفتريا، فحدد موعدًا للزيارة. تأكد من أن التطعيمات الخاصة بك مُحدثة.

الأسباب

تسبب البكتيريا الوتدية الخناقية الدفتيريا. وعادة ما تتضاعف الوتدية الخناقية على الأغشية المخاطية للحلق أو بالقرب منها. تنتشر الوتدية الخناقية عبر ثلاثة طرق:

  • القطرات المحمولة عبر الهواء. عند إطلاق عطس أو سعال شخص مصاب رذاذًا من القطرات الملوثة، يمكن أن يستنشق الأشخاص المجاورون الوتدية الخناقية. ومن هنا، تنتشر الدفتيريا بشكل فاعل من خلال هذه الطريقة، خاصة في الأماكن المزدحمة.
  • الأدوات الشخصية الملوثة. يصاب الأشخاص بالدفتيريا على نحو عارض بسبب مناولة مناديل ورقية مستعملة لشخص مصاب بهذا المرض أو الشرب من كوبه غير المغسول أو بسبب التلامس القريب المماثل لأدوات أخرى قد تترسب فيها إفرازات محملة بالبكتيريا.
  • الأدوات المنزلية الملوثة. في حالات نادرة، تنتشر الدفتيريا على الأدوات المنزلية التي يتم استعمالها بشكل مشترك مثل المناشف أو الألعاب.

ويمكن أيضًا التعرض للبكتريا المسببة للدفتيريا عن طريق لمس الجرح المصاب بالعدوى.

ويمكن للأشخاص المصابين ببكتيريا الدفتيريا ولم يعالَجوا أن ينقلوا العدوى إلى الأشخاص الذين لم يتلقوا التطعيمات في مدة تصل إلى ستة أسابيع — حتى وإن لم تظهر عليهم أي أعراض.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن فئة الأشخاص الذين يعانون خطورة زائدة للإصابة بالخُناق:

  • الأطفال أو البالغين الذين لم يحصلوا على أحدث التحصينات
  • الأفراد الذين يعيشون في أوضاع مزدحمة أو غير صحية
  • أيّ شخص يسافر إلى منطقة يُعد الخُناق فيها وباءً

يحدث الخُناق نادرًا في الولايات المتحدة وشرق أوروبا حيث كان المسؤولون الصحيون يقومون بتحصين الأطفال ضد المرض منذ عقود. ومع ذلك، لا يزال الخُناق منتشرًا في الدول النامية حيث تنخفض معدلات التحصين.

وفي المناطق التي يكون فيها التحصين ضد الخُناق إجراءً قياسيًا، يكون المرض تهديدًا ضد الأفراد غير الحاصلين على التحصين مطلقًا أو بشكل ملائم، من الذين يسافرون سفرًا دوليًا أو تواصلوا بالأفراد من الدول الأقل نموًا.

المضاعفات

إذا لم تتم معالجة الخُناق، فيُمكن أن يؤدي إلى:

  • صعوبات التنفس. قد تنتج السموم عن الخُناق المسبب للبكتيريا. وتُلحق هذه السموم ضررًا بالنسيج الموجود مباشرة في منطقة العدوى — عادة في الأنف والحنجرة. وفي ذلك الموقع، تنتج العدوى غشاءً قويًا رمادي اللون ومكونًا من الخلايا الميتة والبكتيريا والمواد الأخرى. ويُمكن أن يعيق هذا الغشاء القدرة على التنفس.
  • تلف القلب. قد تنتشر سموم الخُناق خلال مجرى الدم وتقوم بإتلاف الأنسجة الأخرى في الجسم، مثل عضلة القلب، الأمر الذي يسبب مضاعفات قد تصل إلى الإصابة بالتهاب عضلة القلب (التهاب العضلة القلبية). ويُمكن أن يكون تلف القلب الناجم عن التهاب العضلة القلبية بسيطًا؛ بحيث يظهر تغيرات غير طبيعية طفيفة على التخطيط الكهربي للقلب، أو ربما يكون حادًا، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى الإصابة بفشل القلب الاحتقاني والوفاة المفاجئة.
  • تلف الأعصاب. كما يُمكن أن تؤدي السموم إلى تلف بالأعصاب. وتقوم عادة باستهداف أعصاب الحنجرة، حيث قد يؤدي ضعف توصيل الأعصاب إلى صعوبة البلع. ويُمكن أيضًا أن تُصاب أعصاب الذراعين والساقين بالعدوى، الأمر الذي ينجم عنه ضعف العضلات. إذا قامت سموم الخُناق بإتلاف الأعصاب التي تساعد على التحكم بالعضلات المستخدمة في عملية التنفس، فقد تُصاب هذه العضلات بالشلل. حينها، قد يصبح التنفس مستحيلاً من دون قناع التنفس أو جهاز آخر للمساعدة في عملية التنفس.

ومع الخضوع للعلاج، يُشفى معظم الأشخاص المصابين بالخُناق من هذه المضاعفات، ولكن عادة ما تكون عملية التعافي بطيئة. وتُعد الإصابة بالخُناق مميتة لدى 3% من الأشخاص المصابين بالمرض.

الوقاية

قبل توفر المضادات الحيوية، كان الخُناق يمثل مرضًا شائعًا بين الأطفال الصغار. أما في يومنا الحالي، فلم يعد المرض قابلاً للعلاج فقط ولكن يمكن الوقاية منه كذلك عند تناول اللقاح.

عادةً ما يكون لقاح الخُناق مصحوبًا بلقاحات للكزاز والسعال الديكي (الشاهوق). ويُعرف اللقاح الثلاثي باسم لقاح الخُناق، والكزاز والشاهوق. كما يُعرف أحدث أنواع هذا اللقاح باسم لقاح DTaP للأطفال ولقاح Tdap للمراهقين والبالغين.

يعد لقاح الخُناق، والكزاز والشاهوق واحدًا من تطعيمات مرحلة الطفولة التي يوصي بها الأطباء في الولايات المتحدة في أثناء فترة الطفولة. ويتكون التطعيم من مجموعة تضم خمس حقن، يتم حقنها عادةً في الذراع أو الفخذ، ويتم إعطاؤها للأطفال في الأعمار التالية:

  • شهران
  • 4 أشهر
  • 6 أشهر
  • 15 إلى 18 شهرًا
  • 4 إلى 6 سنوات

يتسم لقاح الخُناق بالفاعلية في الوقاية من الخُناق. ولكن ربما تكون هناك بعض الآثار الجانبية. ربما يعاني بعض الأطفال حمى خفيفة، أو بعض الصعوبات، أو النعاس أو ألمًا في مكان الحقن بعد أخذ حقنة DTaP. اسأل طبيبك عما يمكنك القيام به لطفلك لتقليل الآثار المذكورة أو التخفيف منها.

نادرًا ما يتسبب لقاح DTaP في حدوث مضاعفات خطيرة لأحد الأطفال، مثل رد الفعل التحسسي (ظهور شرى أو طفح جلدي في غضون دقائق من الحقن)، أو حدوث نوبات مرضية أو صدمات — وهي مضاعفات قابلة للعلاج.

ربما يكون بعض الأطفال — مثل الأطفال المصابين بالصرع أو غير ذلك من أمراض الجهاز العصبي — غير مؤهلين لاستخدام لقاح DTaP.

الحقن المعززة

بعد المجموعة الأولية من التطعيمات في مرحلة الطفولة، ستكون بحاجة إلى جرعات معززة من لقاح الخُناق لمساعدتك في الحفاظ على المناعة. وذلك لأن المناعة ضد الخُناق تتلاشى بمرور الوقت.

ينبغي على الأطفال الذين حصلوا على كافة التطعيمات الموصى بها قبل عمر السابعة الحصول على الجرعة المعززة الأولى عند بلوغهم 11 أو 12 عامًا تقريبًا. يوصى بالحصول على الجرعة المعززة التالية بعد مرور 10 أعوام، ثم يتم تكرارها كل 10 أعوام. تتسم الجرعات المعززة بالأهمية على وجه الخصوص إذا كنت تسافر إلى منطقة تشيع فيها الإصابة بالخُناق.

تكون الجرعة المعززة من لقاح الخُناق مصحوبة بالجرعة المعززة من لقاح الكزاز — لقاح الكزاز-الخُناق (Td). ويتم إعطاء اللقاح المركب المذكور بالحقن، في الذراع أو الفخذ عادةً.

لقاح Tdap عبارة عن لقاح مركب من لقاحات الكزاز، والخُناق والشاهوق غير الخلوي (السعال الديكي). ويمثل لقاحًا بديلاً يتم استخدامه مرة واحدة للمراهقين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 11 و18 عامًا والبالغين الذين لم يحصلوا من قبل على جرعة معززة من لقاح Tdap. كما يوصى باستخدامه مع أي سيدة في مرحلة الحمل، بغض النظر عن حالة التطعيم السابقة.

تحدث مع طبيبك حول اللقاحات والجرعات المعززة إذا لم تكن متأكدًا من حالة التطعيم الخاصة بك. ربما يوصى كذلك باستخدام لقاح Tdap كجزء من مجموعة Td للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 7 و10 أعوام الذين لم يحصلوا على التطعيمات الأخيرة الخاصة بهم.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Ferri FF. Diphtheria. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  2. Barroso LF, et al. Epidemiology, pathophysiology of diphtheria. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  3. Barroso LF, et al. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and treatment of diphtheria. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  4. Diptheria. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/gram-positive-bacilli/diphtheria. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  5. Birth-18 years and catch-up immunization schedules. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  6. Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices recommended immunization schedule for adults aged 19 years and older — United States, 2016. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/wr/mm6504a5.htm. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  7. Tdap (Tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis) vaccine information statement. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/vis-statements/tdap.html. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.

Overview

Diphtheria (dif-THEER-e-uh) is a serious bacterial infection usually affecting the mucous membranes of your nose and throat. Diphtheria typically causes a sore throat, fever, swollen glands and weakness. But the hallmark sign is a sheet of thick, gray material covering the back of your throat, which can block your airway, causing you to struggle for breath.

Diphtheria is extremely rare in the United States and other developed countries, thanks to widespread vaccination against the disease.

Medications are available to treat diphtheria. However, in advanced stages, diphtheria can damage your heart, kidneys and nervous system. Even with treatment, diphtheria can be deadly — up to 3 percent of people who get diphtheria die of it. The rate is higher for children under 15.

Symptoms

Diphtheria signs and symptoms usually begin two to five days after a person becomes infected and may include:

  • A thick, gray membrane covering your throat and tonsils
  • A sore throat and hoarseness
  • Swollen glands (enlarged lymph nodes) in your neck
  • Difficulty breathing or rapid breathing
  • Nasal discharge
  • Fever and chills
  • Malaise

In some people, infection with diphtheria-causing bacteria causes only a mild illness — or no obvious signs and symptoms at all. Infected people who remain unaware of their illness are known as carriers of diphtheria, because they can spread the infection without being sick themselves.

Skin (cutaneous) diphtheria

A second type of diphtheria can affect the skin, causing the typical pain, redness and swelling associated with other bacterial skin infections. Ulcers covered by a gray membrane also may develop in cutaneous diphtheria.

Although it's more common in tropical climates, cutaneous diphtheria also occurs in the United States, particularly among people with poor hygiene who live in crowded conditions.

When to see a doctor

Call your family doctor immediately if you or your child has been exposed to someone with diphtheria. If you're not sure whether your child has been vaccinated against diphtheria, schedule an appointment. Make sure your own immunizations are current.

Causes

The bacterium Corynebacterium diphtheriae causes diphtheria. Usually C. diphtheriae multiplies on or near the surface of the mucous membranes of the throat. C. diphtheriae spreads via three routes:

  • Airborne droplets. When an infected person's sneeze or cough releases a mist of contaminated droplets, people nearby may inhale C. diphtheriae. Diphtheria spreads efficiently this way, particularly in crowded conditions.
  • Contaminated personal items. People occasionally catch diphtheria from handling an infected person's used tissues, drinking from the infected person's unwashed glass or coming into similarly close contact with other items on which bacteria-laden secretions may be deposited.
  • Contaminated household items. In rare cases, diphtheria spreads on shared household items, such as towels or toys.

You can also come in contact with diphtheria-causing bacteria by touching an infected wound.

People who have been infected by the diphtheria bacteria and who haven't been treated can infect nonimmune people for up to six weeks — even if they don't show any symptoms.

Risk factors

People who are at increased risk of contracting diphtheria include:

  • Children and adults who don't have up-to-date immunizations
  • People living in crowded or unsanitary conditions
  • Anyone who travels to an area where diphtheria is endemic

Diphtheria rarely occurs in the United States and Western Europe, where health officials have been vaccinating children against the condition for decades. However, diphtheria is still common in developing countries where immunization rates are low.

In areas where diphtheria vaccination is standard, the disease is mainly a threat to unvaccinated or inadequately vaccinated people who travel internationally or have contact with people from less-developed countries.

Complications

Left untreated, diphtheria can lead to:

  • Breathing problems. Diphtheria-causing bacteria may produce a toxin. This toxin damages tissue in the immediate area of infection — usually, the nose and throat. At that site, the infection produces a tough, gray-colored membrane composed of dead cells, bacteria and other substances. This membrane can obstruct breathing.
  • Heart damage. The diphtheria toxin may spread through your bloodstream and damage other tissues in your body, such as your heart muscle, causing such complications as inflammation of the heart muscle (myocarditis). Heart damage from myocarditis may be slight, showing up as minor abnormalities on an electrocardiogram, or severe, leading to congestive heart failure and sudden death.
  • Nerve damage. The toxin can also cause nerve damage. Typical targets are nerves to the throat, where poor nerve conduction may cause difficulty swallowing. Nerves to the arms and legs also may become inflamed, causing muscle weakness. If C. diphtheria toxin damages the nerves that help control muscles used in breathing, these muscles may become paralyzed. Respiration may then become impossible without a respirator or another device to assist with breathing.

With treatment, most people with diphtheria survive these complications, but recovery is often slow. Diphtheria is fatal in as many as 3 percent of those who get the disease.

Prevention

Before antibiotics were available, diphtheria was a common illness in young children. Today, the disease is not only treatable but is also preventable with a vaccine.

The diphtheria vaccine is usually combined with vaccines for tetanus and whooping cough (pertussis). The three-in-one vaccine is known as the diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis vaccine. The latest version of this vaccine is known as the DTaP vaccine for children and the Tdap vaccine for adolescents and adults.

The diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis vaccine is one of the childhood immunizations that doctors in the United States recommend during infancy. Vaccination consists of a series of five shots, typically administered in the arm or thigh, given to children at these ages:

  • 2 months
  • 4 months
  • 6 months
  • 15 to 18 months
  • 4 to 6 years

The diphtheria vaccine is effective at preventing diphtheria. But there may be some side effects. Some children may experience a mild fever, fussiness, drowsiness or tenderness at the injection site after a DTaP shot. Ask your doctor what you can do for your child to minimize or relieve these effects.

Rarely, the DTaP vaccine causes serious complications in a child, such as an allergic reaction (hives or a rash develops within minutes of the injection), seizures or shock — complications that are treatable.

Some children — such as those with epilepsy or another nervous system condition — may not be candidates for the DTaP vaccine.

Booster shots

After the initial series of immunizations in childhood, you need booster shots of the diphtheria vaccine to help you maintain immunity. That's because immunity to diphtheria fades with time.

Children who received all of the recommended immunizations before age 7 should receive their first booster shot at around age 11 or 12. The next booster shot is recommended 10 years later, then repeated at 10-year intervals. Booster shots are particularly important if you travel to an area where diphtheria is common.

The diphtheria booster is combined with the tetanus booster — the tetanus-diphtheria (Td) vaccine. This combination vaccine is given by injection, usually into the arm or thigh.

Tdap is a combined tetanus, diphtheria and acellular pertussis (whooping cough) vaccine. It’s a one-time alternative vaccine for adolescents age 11 through 18 and adults who haven't previously had a Tdap booster. It's also recommended for anyone who's pregnant, regardless of previous vaccination status.

Talk to your doctor about vaccines and booster shots if you're unsure of your vaccination status. Tdap may also be recommended as part of the Td series for children ages 7 through 10 who aren't up to date with the vaccine schedule.

Dec. 08, 2016
References
  1. Ferri FF. Diphtheria. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  2. Barroso LF, et al. Epidemiology, pathophysiology of diphtheria. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  3. Barroso LF, et al. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and treatment of diphtheria. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  4. Diptheria. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/gram-positive-bacilli/diphtheria. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  5. Birth-18 years and catch-up immunization schedules. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  6. Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices recommended immunization schedule for adults aged 19 years and older — United States, 2016. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/wr/mm6504a5.htm. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.
  7. Tdap (Tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis) vaccine information statement. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/vis-statements/tdap.html. Accessed Sept. 23, 2016.