التشخيص

عادةً ما يتضمن تشخيص تكيسات الثدي إجراء فحص للثدي؛ وفحوصات بالأشعة مثل الأشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية على الثدي أو صورة الثدي الشعاعية (الماموغرام)، وربما الشفط بإبرة رفيعة أو خزعة الثدي.

فحص الثدي

بعد مناقشة الأعراض والتاريخ الصحي، سيفحص طبيبكِ كتلة الثدي ويتحقق من وجود أي شيء غير طبيعي آخر في الثدي. وستحتاجين إلى إجراء اختبار آخر لأن طبيبكِ لن يتمكن من معرفة ما إذا كانت كتلة الثدي تَكيُّسًا أم لا من خلال فحص الثدي السريري وحده. ويكون هذا الاختبار عادةً اختبار تصوير أو شفطًا بإبرة رفيعة.

فحوصات التصوير

قد تتضمن الفحوصات اللازمة ما يلي:

  • تصوير الثدي الإشعاعي. يمكن عادةً رؤية تكيسات وعناقيد كبيرة وتكيسات صغيرة باستخدام صورة الثدي الشعاعية (الماموغرام). لكن قد تصعب أو تستحيل رؤية الأكياس الدقيقة في صورة الثدي الشعاعية.
  • فحص الثدي بالموجات فوق الصوتية. يمكن أن يساعد هذا الفحص الطبيب على تحديد ما إذا كانت كتلة الثدي مملوءة بسائل أم صلبة. وتدل المنطقة المملوءة بالسائل عادةً على وجود تكيس بالثدي. ومن المرجح أن تكون الكتلة التي تبدو صلبة كتلة غير سرطانية، كأن تكون ورمًا غدّيًا ليفيًا، بيد أن الكتل الصلبة من الممكن أن تكون أيضًا سرطان الثدي.

قد يوصي الطبيب بإجراء خزعة لتقييم الكتلة التي تبدو صلبة بمزيد من الدقة. إذا كان بإمكان الطبيب أن يشعر بكتلة الثدي بسهولة، فقد يتجاوز إجراء فحوصات التصوير ويقوم بإجراء الشفط بإبرة رفيعة لتفريغ السائل وتمزيق التكيس.

الشفط بإبرة رفيعة

أثناء الشفط بإبرة رفيعة، يُدخل الطبيب إبرة رفيعة في الكتلة الموجودة في الثدي ويحاول سحب (شفط) السائل منها. وفي الغالب يجرى الشفط بالإبرة الرفيعة باستخدام تصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتوجيه الإبرة إلى المكان الدقيق. وفي حال خرج سائل واختفت الكتلة من الثدي، فقد يجري طبيبك تشخيصًا لكيسات الثدي فورًا.

  • إذا لم يكن السائل دمويًا وكان بلون أصفر باهت واختفت كتلة الثدي، فلن تحتاجي إلى مزيد من الفحوص أو العلاج.
  • إذا كان السائل دمويًا أو إذا لم تختفِ كتلة الثدي، فقد يرسل طبيبك عينة من السائل للفحص المختبري ويحيلك إلى جراح أمراض ثدي أو اختصاصي أشعة - وهو طبيب مدرب على فحوص التصوير وإجراءات الفحص الأخرى - لمتابعة حالتك.
  • إذا تعذر سحب سائل، فمن المحتمل أن يوصي طبيبك بإجراء فحص تصويري مثل تصوير الثدي التشخيصي أو التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية. ويشير عدم وجود سائل أو عدم اختفاء كتلة الثدي بعد الشفط إلى تصلّب كتلة الثدي أو جزء منها على الأقل. ويمكن عندئذ جمع عينة من الأنسجة للتحقق من الإصابة بالسرطان.

العلاج

لا يلزم تناول علاج من أجل تكيسات الثدي البسيطة -وهي التكيسات المملوءة بالسوائل ولا تتسبب في ظهور أي أعراض- والتي تأكدت الإصابة بها من خلال التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية للثدي أو بعد الشفط بإبرة رفيعة. وستختفي العديد من التكيُّسات من دون الحاجة إلى علاج. لكن إذا لم يختفِ أحد التكيُّسات أو أصبح ملمسه أكثر صلابة أو لاحظتِ تغيرات في الجلد المحيط بها، تجب عليكِ المتابعة مع طبيبكِ.

الشفط بإبرة رفيعة

قد يُستخدم الشفط بإبرة رفيعة في تشخيص مرض تكيّسات الثدي وعلاجه إذا أمكن سحب كل السائل من التكيس خلال الإجراء الجراحي، وعندئذ ستختفي كتلة الثدي وتزول الأعراض.

وبالرغم من ذلك، قد تحتاجين إلى سحب السائل أكثر من مرة في بعض حالات تكيّسات الثدي. ومن الشائع رجوع التكيّس مرة أخرى أو ظهور تكيّسات جديدة. إذا استمرت تكيّسات الثدي خلال دورتَي حيض أو ثلاث دورات وازداد حجمها، فبادري بزيارة الطبيب لتقييم حالتك بشكل أدق.

استخدام الهرمونات

قد يساعد استخدام حبوب تنظيم النسل (وسائل منع الحمل عن طريق الفم) لتنظيم دَورة الحيض على تقليل الإصابة مجددًا بتكيسات الثدي. لكن بسبب الآثار الجانبية الخطيرة المُحتمَل حدوثها، يُنصح غالبًا بتناول حبوب تنظيم النسل أو العلاج الهرموني، مثل التاموكسيفين، فقط للنساء المصابات بأعراض خطيرة. قد يساعد أيضًا إيقاف العلاج الهرموني بعد انقطاع الطمث على منع تكيسات الثدي.

الجراحة

لا يصير من الضروري إجراء جراحة لإزالة كيسة الثدي إلا في الظروف غير العادية. ويمكن كذلك التفكير في الجراحة إذا تكرر ظهور كيسات الثدي غير المريحة شهرًا بعد أخر، أو إذا احتوت كيسة الثدي على سوائل مختلطة بالدم أو ظهرت بعض المؤشرات الأخرى المثيرة للقلق.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

لتقليل الشعور بالانزعاج المصاحب لتكيسات الثدي، يمكنكِ محاولة تنفيذ هذه الإجراءات:

  • ارتداء حمالة صدر داعمة. قد يساعد دعم ثدييك من خلال ارتداء حمالة صدر ذات مقاس مناسب على التخفيف من الشعور بالانزعاج الذي قد تشعرين به.
  • وضع ضمادة. يمكن أن تساعد الكمادات الدافئة أو الكمادات الباردة على تخفيف الإحساس بالألم.
  • تجنب تناول الكافيين. لم تثبت الدراسات وجود أي علاقة بين تناول الكافيين وتكيسات الثدي. ومع ذلك، تشعر بعض النساء بالراحة بعد التخلص من الكافيين في أنظمتهن الغذائية. فكري في تقليل الكافيين الموجود في المشروبات أو التخلص منه، بالإضافة إلى الكافيين الموجود في الأطعمة، مثل الشوكولاتة، حتى تلاحظي تحسنًا في الأعراض.
  • فكري في تجربة استخدام مسكنات للآلام متاحة دون وصفة طبية إذا أوصى بها طبيبك. يمكن تسكين بعض أنواع آلام الثدي من خلال استخدام الأسيتامينوفين (تيلينول وأدوية أخرى)، أو مضادات الالتهاب غير الستيرويدية، مثل الأيبوبروفين (أدفيل ومورتن آي بي وأدوية أخرى)، أو نابروكسين الصوديوم (أليف وأدوية أخرى).

الطب البديل

أخبري طبيبكِ بأي فيتامينات أو علاجات عشبية أو مكملات غذائية أخرى تتناولينها أو تفكرين في تناولها. لا يوجد دليل على أن أيًا من هذه الأدوية يساعد على تحسين أعراض تكيسات الثدي، وقد تتسبب في حدوث آثار جانبية.

الاستعداد لموعدك

يُنصح بزيارة مزود الرعاية الأولية ليقيم كتل الثدي أو التغييرات الجديدة في ثدييكِ. وقد يحيلكِ مزود الرعاية في بعض الحالات إلى أحد الاختصاصيين في صحة الثدي بناءً على الفحص السريري للثدي أو النتائج التي أظهرها الفحص التصويري.

ما يمكنك فعله

يركز التقييم الأول على تاريخك الطبي. ستناقشين أعراضك وعلاقتها بدورة حيضك وأي معلومات أخرى ذات صلة. وللاستعداد للمناقشة، يمكنكِ إعداد قوائم تتضمن ما يلي:

  • جميع أعراضك، حتى وإن بدت لكِ غير مرتبطة بسبب تحديدك للموعد الطبي
  • المعلومات الشخصية المهمة، بما في ذلك التوترات الكبيرة والتغييرات الحياتية الحديثة
  • جميع الأدوية والفيتامينات والعلاجات العشبية والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناوليها بانتظام
  • الأسئلة التي يمكن طرحها على الطبيب، وترتيبها من الأكثر أهمية إلى الأقل أهمية للتأكد من أنكِ ستناقشين جميع النقاط التي تثير قلقكِ

وتتضمن الأسئلة الأساسية التي يمكن طرحها على طبيبك ما يلي:

  • ما الأسباب المحتملة للأعراض التي تظهر عليّ؟
  • هل الإصابة بالتكيسات يزيد من خطر إصابتي بسرطان الثدي؟
  • ما أنواع الفحوصات التي أحتاج إلى إجرائها؟
  • هل سأحتاج إلى علاج؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، ما العلاجات المتاحة؟
  • هل هناك أي قيود ينبغي لي الالتزام بها؟
  • هل توجد أي مواد مطبوعة يمكنني أخذها إلى البيت؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تنصحني بزيارتها؟

لا تتردي في طرح الأسئلة في أي وقت عندما يكون هناك أمر ترغبين في فهمه.

ما يمكن توقُّعه من الطبيب

استعدي للإجابة عن الأسئلة التي يُحتمل أن يطرحها عليكِ الطبيب، مثل:

  • متى لاحظتِ وجود تكيس أو كتلة في الثدي لأول مرة؟
  • هل لاحظتِ تغيرًا في حجم التكيس أو الكتلة في الثدي؟
  • ما الأعراض التي أصبتِ بها، ومنذ متى وأنتِ مُصابة بها؟
  • هل تظهر أعراضكِ في أحد الثديين أم كليهما؟
  • هل تغيرت أي أعراض مع مرور الوقت؟
  • هل أنتِ مصابة بألم في الثدي؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، فما مدى شدته؟
  • هل توجد إفرازات من الحلمة؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، هل تحدث في أحد الثديين أم كليهما؟
  • كيف تؤثر دورة الحيض على التكيس أو الكتلة في الثدي؟
  • متى أجريتِ صورة الثدي الشعاعية (الماموغرام) آخر مرة؟
  • هل لدى عائلتك تاريخ مرَضي من التكيسات والكتل في الثدي؟
  • هل أُصبتِ بتكيس أو كتلة في الثدي، أو أجريتِ خزعة الثدي أو أصبتِ بالسرطان؟
18/11/2020
  1. Laronga C, et al. Breast cysts: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis and management. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 20, 2020.
  2. Fibrosis and simple cysts in the breast. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/breast-cancer/non-cancerous-breast-conditions/fibrosis-and-simple-cysts-in-the-breast.html. Accessed Oct. 16, 2020.
  3. Understanding breast changes. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/understanding-breast-changes. Accessed Oct. 16, 2020.
  4. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Breast. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 17, 2020.
  5. Bland KI, et al., eds. Etiology and management of benign breast disease. In: The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases. 5th ed. Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 17, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Benign breast disease. Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  7. Golshan M, et al. Breast pain. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 20, 2020.
  8. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 22, 2020.

Diagnosis

You'll need a screening and diagnosis once you or your doctor identifies a breast lump. After discussing your symptoms and health history, your doctor will do a breast exam and may order a diagnostic mammogram and or a breast ultrasound. Based on the findings on the imaging tests and the clinical examination by your doctor, you may be referred for a fine-needle aspiration or breast biopsy.

Breast exam

Your doctor will physically examine the breast lump and check for any other breast abnormalities. Because your doctor can't tell from a clinical breast exam alone whether a breast lump is a cyst, you'll need another test. This is usually either an imaging test or fine-needle aspiration.

Breast ultrasound

Breast ultrasound can help your doctor determine whether a breast lump is fluid-filled or solid. A fluid-filled area usually indicates a breast cyst. A solid-appearing mass most likely is a noncancerous lump, such as a fibroadenoma, but solid lumps also could be breast cancer.

Your doctor may recommend a biopsy to further evaluate a mass that appears solid. If your doctor can easily feel a breast lump, he or she may skip breast ultrasound and perform fine-needle aspiration instead.

Fine-needle aspiration

During a fine-needle aspiration, your doctor inserts a thin needle into the breast lump and attempts to withdraw (aspirate) fluid. Often, fine-needle aspiration is done using ultrasound to guide accurate placement of the needle. If fluid comes out and the breast lump goes away, your doctor can make a breast cyst diagnosis immediately.

  • If the fluid is not bloody and the breast lump disappears, you need no further testing or treatment.
  • If the fluid appears bloody or the breast lump doesn't disappear, your doctor may send a sample of the fluid for lab testing and refer you to a breast surgeon or to a radiologist — a doctor trained to perform imaging exams and procedures — for follow-up.
  • If no fluid is withdrawn, your doctor will likely recommend an imaging test, such as diagnostic mammogram and or ultrasound. Lack of fluid or a breast lump that doesn't disappear after aspiration suggests that the breast lump — or at least a portion of it — is solid, and a sample of cells may be collected to check for cancer (fine-needle aspiration biopsy).

Treatment

No treatment is necessary for simple breast cysts — those that are fluid-filled and don't cause any symptoms — that are confirmed on breast ultrasound or after a fine-needle aspiration. If the lump persists or feels different over time, follow up with your doctor.

Fine-needle aspiration

Fine-needle aspiration may diagnose and treat a breast cyst if your doctor removes all the fluid from the cyst at the time of diagnosis, your breast lump disappears and your symptoms resolve.

For some breast cysts, however, you may need to have fluid drained more than once. Recurrent or new cysts are common. If a breast cyst persists through two to three menstrual cycles and grows larger, see your doctor for further evaluation.

Hormone use

Using birth control pills (oral contraceptives) to regulate your menstrual cycles may help reduce the recurrence of breast cysts. But because of possible significant side effects, birth control pills or other hormone therapy, such as tamoxifen, is usually only recommended in women with severe symptoms. Discontinuing hormone therapy after menopause may also help prevent breast cysts.

Surgery

Surgery to remove a breast cyst is necessary only in unusual circumstances. Surgery may be considered if an uncomfortable breast cyst recurs month after month or if a breast cyst contains blood-tinged fluid or shows other worrisome signs.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

To minimize discomfort associated with breast cysts, you might try these measures:

  • Wear a well-fitted, supportive bra. If your breast cysts are painful, supporting your breasts may help relieve some discomfort.
  • Apply a compress. If cysts are painful, either a warm or cool compress can offer relief. Applying an ice pack can also relieve pain.
  • Avoid caffeine. There's no evidence linking caffeine and breast cysts. However, some women find symptom relief after eliminating caffeine from their diets. Consider reducing or eliminating caffeine — in beverages, as well as in foods such as chocolate — to see if your symptoms improve.
  • Reduce salt in your diet. Although studies on salt restriction and cyst formation aren't conclusive, some experts suggest that reducing salt in your diet may help. Consuming less sodium reduces the amount of excess fluid retained by your body, which in turn may help relieve symptoms associated with a fluid-filled breast cyst.
  • Consider trying over-the-counter pain medications if your doctor recommends them. Some types of breast pain may be eased by the use of acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others) or naproxen (Aleve, Naprosyn, others).

Alternative medicine

Evening primrose oil is a fatty acid (linoleic acid) supplement that's available over-the-counter. Some small studies suggest that evening primrose oil may ease menstrual cycle breast pain, sometimes associated with breast cysts. But more research is needed as studies have been small and uncontrolled, and the evidence isn't conclusive. Although the exact mechanism isn't clear, some experts believe that women deficient in linoleic acid are more sensitive to hormonal fluctuations during the menstrual cycle, resulting in breast pain.

Let your doctor know if you're taking any vitamins, herbal remedies or other dietary supplements.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll likely see your primary care provider to evaluate new breast lumps or changes in your breasts. You may be referred to a breast-health specialist based on a clinical breast exam or findings on an imaging test.

What you can do

The first evaluation focuses on your medical history. You'll discuss your symptoms, their relation to your menstrual cycle and any other relevant information. To prepare for this discussion, make lists that include:

  • All your symptoms, even if they seem unrelated to the reason you scheduled the appointment
  • Key personal information, including major stresses or recent life changes
  • All medications, vitamins, herbal remedies and supplements that you regularly take
  • Questions to ask your doctor, from most important to least important to be sure you cover the points you're most concerned about

Basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's causing my symptoms?
  • Does having cysts increase my risk of breast cancer?
  • What kinds of tests will I need?
  • What treatment is likely to work best?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach that you're suggesting?
  • Are there any restrictions I'll need to follow?
  • Are there any printed materials that I can take home? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask questions anytime you don't understand something.

What to expect from your doctor

Be prepared to answer questions that your doctor may ask, such as:

  • When did you first notice the breast cyst or lump?
  • Have you noticed a change in the size of the breast cyst or lump?
  • What symptoms have you experienced, and how long have you had them?
  • Do your symptoms occur in one or both breasts?
  • Have any symptoms changed over time?
  • Do you have breast pain? If so, how severe is it?
  • Do you have nipple discharge? If so, does it occur in one or both breasts?
  • How does your menstrual cycle affect the breast cyst or lump?
  • When was your last mammogram?
  • Do you have a family history of breast cysts or lumps?
  • Have you previously had a breast cyst or lump, a breast biopsy or breast cancer
Oct. 08, 2015
References
  1. Non-cancerous breast conditions. American Cancer Society. http://www.cancer.org/docroot/CRI/content/CRI_2_6X_Non_Cancerous_Breast_Conditions_59.asp?sitearea. Accessed July 15, 2015.
  2. Golshan M, et al. Breast pain. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 15, 2015.
  3. Salzman B, et al. Common breast problems. American Family Physician. 2012;86:343.
  4. Evening primrose oil. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. http://www.naturaldatabase.com. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.
  5. Understanding breast changes: A health guide for women. National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/screening/understanding-breast-changes. Accessed July 15, 2015.
  6. Laronga C, et al. Breast cysts: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis and management. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 15, 2015.
  7. Deleted
  8. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 17, 2015.
  9. Ferrara A. Benign breast disease. Radiologic Technology. 2011;82:447M.
  10. Evening primrose oil. Bethesda, Md. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/eveningprimrose. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.