概述

散光是一种通常可以治疗的常见眼睛角膜曲率缺陷,会导致远近视力模糊。

当眼睛的前表面(角膜)或眼内的晶状体存在不同曲面时,就会出现散光。眼睛的表面不是单曲面的球形,而是呈现蛋状。这会导致远近视力均出现模糊。

散光经常在出生时就存在,而且可能同时有近视或远视情况。但它常常并不明显,无需采取纠正措施。如果较为明显,则可以选择矫正镜片或手术进行治疗。

症状

散光的体征和症状可能包括:

  • 视力模糊或视觉失真
  • 眼睛疲劳或不适
  • 头痛
  • 夜间视力障碍
  • 斜视

何时就诊

如果您的眼部症状导致您无法享受活动的乐趣或者影响您执行日常任务的能力,请去看眼科医生。眼科医生可以确定您是否出现散光以及散光度数(如果有)。随后,眼科医生可以为您提供视力矫正方案建议。

儿童和青少年

儿童可能不会意识到自己存在视力模糊,因此儿科医生、眼科医生、验光师或其他训练有素的筛查员需要按照以下年龄段和时间间隔,筛查儿童的眼部疾病并检测他们的视力。

  • 初生阶段
  • 儿童健康体检,直到达到学龄
  • 在学龄期,每 1 至 2 年接受一次儿童健康体检,由眼科医生执行或者通过学校筛查或公共筛查完成

病因

眼中曲面使光线弯曲(折射)到视网膜上,从而产生图像;眼睛由两个曲面结构组成:

  • 角膜,与泪膜一起构成眼睛前端的一层透明表面
  • 晶状体,眼睛内部的透明结构,可以改变形状,帮助眼睛聚焦近距离的物体

在形状完美的眼睛中,这些结构均呈现圆性曲率,就像一个光滑球的表面。具有这种曲率的眼角膜或晶状体可以将所有入射光进行完全相同的折转(折射),直接在眼睛后端的视网膜上形成一个聚焦清晰的图像。

屈光不正

如果您的角膜或晶状体是卵形且有两条不匹配的曲线,光线的弯曲度就会不同,从而形成两个不同的图像。这两个图像重叠或合并,导致视力模糊。散光是一种屈光不正。

如果角膜或晶状体一个方向的弯曲度大于另一个方向的弯曲度,就会出现散光。如果您的角膜曲线不匹配,就会出现角膜散光。如果您的晶状体曲线不匹配,就会出现晶状体散光。

无论哪种类型的散光都会导致视力模糊。视力模糊很可能发生在一个方向上:水平、垂直或对角线。

散光可能从出生起就存在,也可能在眼部损伤、疾病或手术后形成。散光不会因光线不足下阅读、坐得离电视太近或眯眼而引起或恶化。

其他屈光不正

散光可能也会伴有其他屈光不正,其中包括:

  • 近视。当角膜曲度过大或眼轴比正常眼轴长时,即发生这种状况。此时光线不会精确地聚焦在视网膜上,而是会聚焦在视网膜前面,使得远处的物体看起来很模糊。
  • 远视。当角膜曲度过小或眼轴比正常眼轴短时,即发生这种状况。远视造成的影响与近视相反。当眼睛处于放松状态时,光线永远不会聚焦在眼睛后部,这使得附近的物体看起来很模糊。

Aug. 29, 2022
  1. What is astigmatism? American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/eye-health/diseases/what-is-astigmatism. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  2. Yanoff M, et al., eds. Ophthalmology. 5th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  3. Astigmatism. National Eye Institute. https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/astigmatism. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  4. Keshav V, et al. Astigmatism management with intraocular lens surgery. Ophthalmology. 2020; doi:10.1016/j.ophtha.2020.08.011.
  5. Preferred practice pattern guidelines: Pediatric eye evaluations PPP — 2017. American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/preferred-practice-pattern/pediatric-eye-evaluations-ppp-2017. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  6. Astigmatism. American Optometric Association. https://www.aoa.org/healthy-eyes/eye-and-vision-conditions/astigmatism?sso=y. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Refractive laser surgery (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  8. Preferred practice pattern guidelines: Refractive errors and refractive surgery PPP — 2017. American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/preferred-practice-pattern/refractive-errors-refractive-surgery-ppp-2017. Accessed July 13, 2021.

Overview

Astigmatism (uh-STIG-muh-tiz-um) is a common and generally treatable imperfection in the curvature of the eye that causes blurred distance and near vision.

Astigmatism occurs when either the front surface of the eye (cornea) or the lens inside the eye has mismatched curves. Instead of having one curve like a round ball, the surface is egg-shaped. This causes blurred vision at all distances.

Astigmatism is often present at birth and may occur in combination with nearsightedness or farsightedness. Often it's not pronounced enough to require corrective action. When it is, treatment options are corrective lenses or surgery.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of astigmatism may include:

  • Blurred or distorted vision
  • Eyestrain or discomfort
  • Headaches
  • Difficulty with night vision
  • Squinting

When to see a doctor

See an eye doctor if your eye symptoms detract from your enjoyment of activities or interfere with your ability to perform everyday tasks. An eye doctor can determine whether you have astigmatism and, if so, to what degree. He or she can then advise you of your options to correct your vision.

Children and adolescents

Children may not realize their vision is blurry, so they need to be screened for eye disease and have their vision tested by a pediatrician, an ophthalmologist, an optometrist or another trained screener at the following ages and intervals.

  • During the newborn period
  • At well-child visits until they reach school age
  • During school years, every 1 to 2 years at well-child visits, at the eye doctor, or through school or public screenings

Causes

The eye has two structures with curved surfaces that bend (refract) light onto the retina, which makes the images:

  • The cornea, the clear front surface of the eye along with the tear film
  • The lens, a clear structure inside the eye that changes shape to help the eye focus on near objects

In a perfectly shaped eye, each of these elements has a round curvature, like the surface of a smooth ball. A cornea or lens with such curvature bends (refracts) all incoming light equally to make a sharply focused image directly on the retina at the back of the eye.

A refractive error

If either the cornea or the lens is egg-shaped with two mismatched curves, light rays aren't bent the same, which means that two different images form. These two images overlap or combine and result in blurred vision. Astigmatism is a type of refractive error.

Astigmatism occurs when the cornea or lens is curved more steeply in one direction than in another. You have corneal astigmatism if your cornea has mismatched curves. You have lenticular astigmatism if your lens has mismatched curves.

Either type of astigmatism can cause blurred vision. Blurred vision may occur more in one direction: horizontally, vertically or diagonally.

Astigmatism may be present from birth, or it may develop after an eye injury, disease or surgery. Astigmatism isn't caused or made worse by reading in poor light, sitting too close to the television or squinting.

Other refractive errors

Astigmatism may occur in combination with other refractive errors, which include:

  • Nearsightedness (myopia). This occurs when the cornea is curved too much or the eye is longer than usual. Instead of being focused precisely on the retina, light is focused in front of the retina, making distant objects seem blurry.
  • Farsightedness (hyperopia). This occurs when the cornea is curved too little or the eye is shorter than usual. The effect is the opposite of nearsightedness. When the eye is in a relaxed state, light never comes to a focus at the back of the eye, making nearby objects seem blurry.

Oct. 05, 2021
  1. What is astigmatism? American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/eye-health/diseases/what-is-astigmatism. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  2. Yanoff M, et al., eds. Ophthalmology. 5th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  3. Astigmatism. National Eye Institute. https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/astigmatism. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  4. Keshav V, et al. Astigmatism management with intraocular lens surgery. Ophthalmology. 2020; doi:10.1016/j.ophtha.2020.08.011.
  5. Preferred practice pattern guidelines: Pediatric eye evaluations PPP — 2017. American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/preferred-practice-pattern/pediatric-eye-evaluations-ppp-2017. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  6. Astigmatism. American Optometric Association. https://www.aoa.org/healthy-eyes/eye-and-vision-conditions/astigmatism?sso=y. Accessed July 13, 2021.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Refractive laser surgery (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  8. Preferred practice pattern guidelines: Refractive errors and refractive surgery PPP — 2017. American Academy of Ophthalmology. https://www.aao.org/preferred-practice-pattern/refractive-errors-refractive-surgery-ppp-2017. Accessed July 13, 2021.