治疗

如果您已经尝试使用非处方痤疮产品数周,而这些产品尚无效果,就向医生咨询使用强效处方药物。皮肤科医生可以帮助您:

  • 控制痤疮
  • 避免瘢痕形成或皮肤损伤
  • 使瘢痕不太明显

痤疮药物通过以下方式起效:减少油脂分泌与肿胀或治疗细菌感染。大多数处方痤疮药物可能 4 到 8 周才能见效。痤疮可能需要几个月甚至几年才能彻底痊愈。

医生根据您的年龄、痤疮类型和严重程度以及您的意愿推荐治疗方案。例如,您可能需要持续数周每天两次清洗受累皮肤并涂抹药物。经常联合使用局部药物和口服药物。孕妇的治疗选择因副作用风险而受到限制。

关于您正在考虑的药物和其他治疗方法的风险和获益,请咨询医生。每隔 3 到 6 个月进行一次随访,直到您的皮肤状况改善。

局部用药

治疗痤疮最常见的外用处方药是:

  • 维 A 酸和类维 A 酸药物。含视黄酸(又称维 A 酸)的药物通常可以有效治疗中度痤疮。这些药会制成乳霜、凝胶和乳液。例如维 A 酸(Avita、Retin-A 等)、阿达帕林(Differin)和他扎罗汀(Tazorac、Avage 等)。这些药每天晚上使用,刚开始一周涂抹三次,等皮肤适应后每天使用。它可以防止毛囊堵塞。不要同时涂抹维 A 酸和过氧化苯甲酰。

    外用维 A 酸会使皮肤对阳光更加敏感。它们还会引起皮肤干燥和泛红,尤其是有色人种。阿达帕林可能耐受性最好。

  • 抗生素。抗生素通过杀死多余的皮肤细菌并减少泛红和发炎起作用。在最初几个月的治疗中,您可以同时使用维 A 酸和抗生素,早上涂抹抗生素,晚上涂抹维 A 酸。抗生素通常与过氧化苯甲酰联合使用,以降低产生抗生素耐药性的可能性。例如克林霉素加过氧化苯甲酰(Benzaclin、Duac 等)和红霉素加过氧化苯甲酰 (Benzamycin)。不建议单独使用外用抗生素。
  • 壬二酸和水杨酸。壬二酸是一种由酵母产生的天然酸。它具有抗菌性。每天使用两次 20% 的壬二酸乳霜或凝胶,对治疗痤疮似乎与许多传统方法等效。孕期和哺乳期可以选择使用处方壬二酸(Azelex、Finacea)。它还可以用于处理某些类型的痤疮引起的变色。副作用包括皮肤泛红和轻微的皮肤刺激。

    水杨酸可以防止毛囊堵塞,它包括冲洗型产品和免洗型产品。研究显示其效果有限。副作用包括皮肤变色和轻微的皮肤刺激。

  • 氨苯砜。建议每天使用两次 5% 的氨苯砜(Aczone)凝胶治疗发炎性痤疮,尤其是对于女性患者。副作用包括皮肤泛红和干燥。

没有充分证据表明,在外用药品中加入锌、硫、烟酰胺、间苯二酚、磺胺醋酰钠或氯化铝可以治疗痤疮。

口服药物

  • 抗生素。对于中度至重度痤疮,您可能需要口服抗生素来减少细菌。痤疮的首选治疗药物通常是四环素(米诺环素、强力霉素)或大环内酯(红霉素、阿奇霉素)。不能服用四环素的人(包括孕妇和 8 岁以下的儿童)可选择大环内酯。

    口服抗生素的使用时间应尽可能地短,以防止抗生素耐药性。抗生素应与其他药物(例如过氧化苯甲酰)联合使用,以降低产生抗生素耐药性的风险。

    使用抗生素治疗痤疮的严重副作用并不常见。但这些药物会增加皮肤对阳光的敏感性。

  • 复方口服避孕药。美国食品药品监督管理局批准为同时希望避孕的女性使用四联口服避孕药治疗痤疮。这类药物结合了孕激素和雌激素(口服甲基炔诺酮 21、Yaz 等)。这种治疗的益处可能需要数月才能显现,因此在最初几周联合使用其他痤疮药物可能会有所帮助。

    复方口服避孕药的常见副作用包括体重增长、乳房压痛和恶心。这些药物也会增加心血管疾病、乳腺癌和宫颈癌的风险。

  • 抗雄激素药物。如果口服抗生素不起作用,女性和青春期女孩可考虑使用螺内酯(Aldactone)。这种药物的作用是阻断雄激素对产油腺的影响。可能的副作用包括乳房压痛和痛经。
  • 异维 A 酸。异维 A 酸(Amnesteem、Claravis 等)是维生素 A 的衍生物,可能适用于其他治疗无效的中度或重度痤疮患者。

    口服异维 A 酸的潜在副作用包括炎性肠病、抑郁症和严重的先天性缺陷。所有接受异维 A 酸的人均须参加美国食品药品监督管理局批准的风险管理项目。他们需要定期复诊以监测副作用。

疗法

对有些患者来说,以下治疗方法可能有用,无论是单独治疗还是与药物联合治疗。

  • 光疗法。人们已尝试过各种光疗法,且获得了一些成功。在大多数情况下,需要多次治疗。还需要进一步研究来确定理想的方法、光源和剂量。
  • 化学剥脱术。这个程序需要反复使用化学溶液,例如水杨酸、乙醇酸或维甲酸。这种治疗方法适合于轻度痤疮。它可能会改善皮肤的外观,但这种改变不会持久,而且通常需要重复治疗。
  • 引流和拔出。如果外用药物无法有效清除,医生可能会使用特殊的工具轻轻去除白头和黑头粉刺或囊肿。这个方法可以暂时改善皮肤的外观,但也可能会造成瘢痕形成。
  • 类固醇注射。可以通过向结节性和囊性病变中注射类固醇药物进行治疗。这种疗法可迅速改善和减轻疼痛。副作用可能包括皮肤变薄和治疗区域变色。

儿童治疗

多数痤疮药物研究是针对 12 岁或以上的人群。年龄较小的儿童也越来越容易长痤疮。美国食品和药物管理局已经扩展了批准用于儿童的外用产品数量。而且美国皮肤科学会指南显示,外用过氧化苯甲酰、阿达帕林和维 A 酸对未成年儿童有效,不会增加副作用。

如果您的孩子出现痤疮,可以考虑咨询儿科皮肤科医生。咨询儿童避免用药、合适剂量、药物相互作用、副作用和治疗方法可能对儿童生长发育产生的影响。

替代医学

一些替代和整合医学方法可能有助于减少痤疮:

  • 茶树油。茶树油含量在 5% 以上的凝胶与含 5% 过氧化苯甲酰的乳液一样有效,尽管茶树油的作用可能更慢。可能的副作用包括轻微瘙痒、灼热、发红和干燥,因此不适合玫瑰痤疮患者。
  • 啤酒酵母。口服韩森酵母菌这种啤酒酵母菌株似乎有助于减少痤疮。但可能引起胀气(肠胃气胀)。

目前还需开展更多研究,以确定这些方法和其他整合方法(如生物反馈和阿育吠陀化合物)的潜在有效性和长期安全性。在尝试前向医生咨询具体治疗方法的利弊。

生活方式与家庭疗法

您可以尝试使用非处方产品、良好的基础皮肤护理和其他自我护理技巧来避免或控制轻度或中等程度的痤疮:

  • 使用温和洁面乳清洗有问题的部位。使用温和洁肤皂或温和洁面乳(丝塔芙、薇霓肌本等)和温水用手清洗面部,一天两次。如果您是油性发质,请每天洗头。如果要刮掉受影响皮肤的毛发,请尽量温和处理。

    避免一些产品,比如磨砂膏、收敛剂和面膜。这些产品会刺激皮肤,从而加重痤疮。清洁过度和揉搓过度也会刺激皮肤。

  • 尝试非处方痤疮产品以去除多余的油脂并促进皮肤脱落。寻找含有过氧化苯甲酰作为活性成分的产品。您也可以尝试使用含水杨酸、乙醇酸或果酸的产品。您可能需要使用相关产品几周时间才能发现有所改善。

    与凝胶或药膏相比,乳霜的刺激较小。非处方痤疮药物可能会引发初期副作用(比如泛红、干燥和皮屑脱落),这些情况通常会在使用一个月后得到改善。

  • 避免刺激物。油性或油脂性化妆品、防晒霜、发型设计产品或痤疮遮瑕膏会加重痤疮。相反,使用标有水性或不会引起痤疮的产品,这类产品引发痤疮的可能性较低。
  • 皮肤防晒。对于某些人来说,晒太阳会加重痤疮清除后残留的变色。同时,部分痤疮药物会使您更容易出现晒伤。请让医生检查您的药物是否为以上药物之一。如果是,请尽量远离阳光。定期使用不油腻(不会引起痤疮)的保湿霜,包括防晒霜。
  • 避免摩擦或按压皮肤。避免易长痤疮的皮肤接触诸如手机、头盔、紧身的衣领或皮带和背包等物品。
  • 避免触摸或挤捏易长痤疮的部位。这些行为会诱发更多痤疮或导致感染或形成疤痕。
  • 在剧烈活动后淋浴。您皮肤上的油脂和汗水可能引起暴发。

妥善处理与支持

痤疮和痤疮疤痕会引发焦虑,并可能影响您的社交关系和自我意象。有时和您的家人、互助组或咨询师谈谈会有一定帮助。

压力可能使痤疮加剧。不妨尝试通过充足的睡眠和练习松弛技术来控制压力。

准备您的预约

如果自我治疗和非处方治疗对痤疮不起作用,请预约医生就诊。及早、有效的治疗痤疮可降低瘢痕化风险以及持久伤害自尊的风险。初步检查后,您的医生可能将您转诊至诊断和治疗皮肤疾病的专科医生(皮肤科医生)。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

  • 列出您的重要医疗信息,例如您目前有哪些其他疾病、您正在使用的任何处方药或非处方产品,包括维生素和补充剂。
  • 列出重要个人信息,包括任何主要压力或近期生活变化。
  • 列出要向医生咨询的问题。提前列出问题有助于充分利用就诊时间。

以下是要问医生的一些关于痤疮的基本问题。就诊,期间如果您想起其他问题,请随时提问。

  • .+您推荐我采用什么治疗方法?
  • 如果第一种治疗无效,您接下来会推荐哪种治疗方法?
  • 您开的药物可能有哪些副作用?
  • 您开的药服用多久算安全范围?
  • 治疗开始后,我的症状多久会开始改善?
  • 我将在何时复诊,以便评估治疗是否有效?
  • 如果药物看似没有效果,停药是否安全?
  • 哪些自我护理措施可能会改善我的症状?
  • 您建议我改变饮食吗?
  • 您建议我改变用在皮肤上的非处方产品吗,例如肥皂、润肤乳、防晒霜和化妆品?

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会询问您不少问题。准备好回答这些问题,也许可以省出一些时间,让您有机会向医生深入咨询希望了解的任何要点。您的医生可能会问:

  • 您是什么时候第一次出现这个问题的?
  • 是不是有什么特别的事情看起来触发了痤疮暴发,比如有精神压力,或者是月经周期(女孩和成年女性)?
  • 您正在服用哪些药物,包括处方药和非处方药以及维生素和补充剂?
  • 对于女孩和成年女性:您是否服用口服避孕药?
  • 对于女孩和成年女性:您的经期是否有规律?
  • 对于女孩和成年女性:您是否怀孕,或者打算近期怀孕?
  • 您使用什么类型的肥皂、护肤液、防晒霜、护发产品或者化妆品?
  • 痤疮如何影响您在社交场合中的自尊心和信心?
  • 您是否有痤疮家族史?
  • 到目前为止,您尝试过哪些治疗方法和自我护理措施?其中有没有起作用的?
  • 其他家庭成员是否接受过治疗痤疮的异维甲酸治疗或激素治疗?是否有效?
May 25, 2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Acne. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. American Academy of Dermatology. Guidelines of care for the management of acne vulgaris. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaad.2015.12.037.
  3. Alpha hydroxyl acids (AHAs). Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  4. Rakel D, ed. Acne vulgaris and acne rosacea. In: Integrative Medicine. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 5, 2017.
  5. Dinulos JGH. Acne, rosacea, and related disorders. Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 6, 2020.
  6. Acne. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/acne. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  7. Graber E. Treatment of acne vulgaris. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  8. Thiboutot D, et al. Pathogenesis, clinical manifestations and diagnosis of acne vulgaris. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  9. Kermott CA, et al., eds. Acne. In: Mayo Clinic Book of Home Remedies. 2nd ed. Time; 2017.
  10. Maymone M, et al. Common skin disorders in pediatric skin of color. Journal of Pediatric Health Care. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.pedhc.2019.04.019.
  11. Matthes BM, et al. Intralesional corticosteroid injection. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 8, 2020.
  12. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. July 20, 2020.

Treatment

If you've tried over-the-counter (nonprescription) acne products for several weeks and they haven't helped, ask your doctor about prescription-strength medications. A dermatologist can help you:

  • Control your acne
  • Avoid scarring or other damage to your skin
  • Make scars less noticeable

Acne medications work by reducing oil production and swelling or by treating bacterial infection. With most prescription acne drugs, you may not see results for four to eight weeks. It can take many months or years for your acne to clear up completely.

The treatment regimen your doctor recommends depends on your age, the type and severity of your acne, and what you are willing to commit to. For example, you may need to wash and apply medications to the affected skin twice a day for several weeks. Topical medications and drugs you take by mouth (oral medication) are often used in combination. Treatment options for pregnant women are limited due to the risk of side effects.

Talk with your doctor about the risks and benefits of medications and other treatments you are considering. And make follow-up appointments with your doctor every three to six months until your skin improves.

Topical medications

The most common topical prescription medications for acne are:

  • Retinoids and retinoid-like drugs. Drugs that contain retinoic acids or tretinoin are often useful for moderate acne. These come as creams, gels and lotions. Examples include tretinoin (Avita, Retin-A, others), adapalene (Differin) and tazarotene (Tazorac, Avage, others). You apply this medication in the evening, beginning with three times a week, then daily as your skin becomes used to it. It prevents plugging of hair follicles. Do not apply tretinoin at the same time as benzoyl peroxide.

    Topical retinoids increase your skin's sun sensitivity. They can also cause dry skin and redness, especially in people with skin of color. Adapalene may be tolerated best.

  • Antibiotics. These work by killing excess skin bacteria and reducing redness and inflammation. For the first few months of treatment, you may use both a retinoid and an antibiotic, with the antibiotic applied in the morning and the retinoid in the evening. The antibiotics are often combined with benzoyl peroxide to reduce the likelihood of developing antibiotic resistance. Examples include clindamycin with benzoyl peroxide (Benzaclin, Duac, others) and erythromycin with benzoyl peroxide (Benzamycin). Topical antibiotics alone aren't recommended.
  • Azelaic acid and salicylic acid. Azelaic acid is a naturally occurring acid produced by a yeast. It has antibacterial properties. A 20% azelaic acid cream or gel seems to be as effective as many conventional acne treatments when used twice a day. Prescription azelaic acid (Azelex, Finacea) is an option during pregnancy and while breast-feeding. It can also be used to manage discoloration that occurs with some types of acne. Side effects include skin redness and minor skin irritation.

    Salicylic acid may help prevent plugged hair follicles and is available as both wash-off and leave-on products. Studies showing its effectiveness are limited. Side effects include skin discoloration and minor skin irritation.

  • Dapsone. Dapsone (Aczone) 5% gel twice daily is recommended for inflammatory acne, especially in women with acne. Side effects include redness and dryness.

Evidence is not strong in support of using zinc, sulfur, nicotinamide, resorcinol, sulfacetamide sodium or aluminum chloride in topical treatments for acne.

Oral medications

  • Antibiotics. For moderate to severe acne, you may need oral antibiotics to reduce bacteria. Usually the first choice for treating acne is a tetracycline (minocycline, doxycycline) or a macrolide (erythromycin, azithromycin). A macrolide might be an option for people who can't take tetracyclines, including pregnant women and children under 8 years old.

    Oral antibiotics should be used for the shortest time possible to prevent antibiotic resistance. And they should be combined with other drugs, such as benzoyl peroxide, to reduce the risk of developing antibiotic resistance.

    Severe side effects from the use of antibiotics to treat acne are uncommon. These drugs do increase your skin's sun sensitivity.

  • Combined oral contraceptives. Four combined oral contraceptives are approved by the FDA for acne therapy in women who also wish to use them for contraception. They are products that combine progestin and estrogen (Ortho Tri-Cyclen 21, Yaz, others). You may not see the benefit of this treatment for a few months, so using other acne medications with it for the first few weeks may help.

    Common side effects of combined oral contraceptives are weight gain, breast tenderness and nausea. These drugs are also associated with increased risk of cardiovascular problems, breast cancer and cervical cancer.

  • Anti-androgen agents. The drug spironolactone (Aldactone) may be considered for women and adolescent girls if oral antibiotics aren't helping. It works by blocking the effect of androgen hormones on the oil-producing glands. Possible side effects include breast tenderness and painful periods.
  • Isotretinoin. Isotretinoin (Amnesteem, Claravis, others) is a derivative of vitamin A. It may be prescribed for people whose moderate or severe acne hasn't responded to other treatments.

    Potential side effects of oral isotretinoin include inflammatory bowel disease, depression and severe birth defects. All people receiving isotretinoin must participate in an FDA-approved risk management program. And they'll need to see their doctors regularly to monitor for side effects.

Therapies

For some people, the following therapies might be helpful, either alone or in combination with medications.

  • Light therapy. A variety of light-based therapies have been tried with some success. Most will require multiple visits to your doctor's office. Further study is needed to determine the ideal method, light source and dose.
  • Chemical peel. This procedure uses repeated applications of a chemical solution, such as salicylic acid, glycolic acid or retinoic acid. This treatment is for mild acne. It might improve the appearance of the skin, though the change is not long lasting and repeat treatments are usually needed.
  • Drainage and extraction. Your doctor may use special tools to gently remove whiteheads and blackheads (comedos) or cysts that haven't cleared up with topical medications. This technique temporarily improves the appearance of your skin, but it might also cause scarring.
  • Steroid injection. Nodular and cystic lesions can be treated by injecting a steroid drug into them. This therapy has resulted in rapid improvement and decreased pain. Side effects may include skin thinning and discoloration in the treated area.

Treating children

Most studies of acne drugs have involved people 12 years of age or older. Increasingly, younger children are getting acne as well. The FDA has expanded the number of topical products approved for use in children. And guidelines from the American Academy of Dermatology indicate that topical benzoyl peroxide, adapalene and tretinoin in preadolescent children are effective and don't cause increased risk of side effects.

If your child has acne, consider consulting a pediatric dermatologist. Ask about drugs to avoid in children, appropriate doses, drug interactions, side effects, and how treatment may affect a child's growth and development.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Alternative medicine

Some alternative and integrative medicine approaches might be helpful in reducing acne:

  • Tea tree oil. Gels containing at least 5% tea tree oil may be as effective as lotions containing 5% benzoyl peroxide, although tea tree oil might work more slowly. Possible side effects include minor itching, burning, redness and dryness, which make it a poor choice for people with rosacea.
  • Brewer's yeast. A strain of brewer's yeast called Hansen CBS seems to help decrease acne when taken orally. It may cause gas (flatulence).

More research is needed to establish the potential effectiveness and long-term safety of these and other integrative approaches, such as biofeedback and ayurvedic compounds. Talk with your doctor about the pros and cons of specific treatments before you try them.

Lifestyle and home remedies

You can try to avoid or control mild or moderate acne with nonprescription products, good basic skin care and other self-care techniques:

  • Wash problem areas with a gentle cleanser. Twice a day, use your hands to wash your face with mild soap or a gentle cleanser (Cetaphil, Vanicream, others) and warm water. If your hair is oily, shampoo every day. And be gentle if you're shaving affected skin.

    Avoid certain products, such as facial scrubs, astringents and masks. They tend to irritate the skin, which can worsen acne. Too much washing and scrubbing also can irritate the skin.

  • Try over-the-counter acne products to dry excess oil and promote peeling. Look for products containing benzoyl peroxide as the active ingredient. You might also try products containing salicylic acid, glycolic acid or alpha hydroxy acids. It may take a few weeks of using a product before you see any improvement.

    Creams are less irritating than gels or ointments. Nonprescription acne medications may cause initial side effects — such as redness, dryness and scaling — that often improve after the first month of using them.

  • Avoid irritants. Oily or greasy cosmetics, sunscreens, hairstyling products or acne concealers can worsen acne. Instead, use products labeled water-based or noncomedogenic, which means they are less likely to cause acne.
  • Protect your skin from the sun. For some people, the sun worsens the discoloration that sometimes lingers after the acne has cleared. And some acne medications make you more susceptible to sunburn. Check with your doctor to see if your medication is one of these. If it is, stay out of the sun as much as possible. Regularly use a nonoily (noncomedogenic) moisturizer that includes a sunscreen.
  • Avoid friction or pressure on your skin. Protect your acne-prone skin from contact with items such as phones, helmets, tight collars or straps, and backpacks.
  • Avoid touching or picking acne-prone areas. Doing so can trigger more acne or lead to infection or scarring.
  • Shower after strenuous activities. Oil and sweat on your skin can lead to breakouts.

Coping and support

Acne and acne scars can cause anxiety and may affect your social relationships and self-image. Sometimes it can help to talk with your family, a support group or a counselor.

Stress can worsen acne. Try to manage stress by getting enough sleep and practicing relaxation techniques.

Preparing for your appointment

If you have acne that's not responding to self-care and over-the-counter treatments, make an appointment with your doctor. Early, effective treatment of acne reduces the risk of scarring and of lasting damage to your self-esteem. After an initial examination, your doctor may refer you to a specialist in the diagnosis and treatment of skin conditions (dermatologist).

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

  • List your key medical information, such as other conditions you're dealing with and any prescription or over-the-counter products you're using, including vitamins and supplements.
  • List key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • List questions to ask your doctor. Creating your list of questions in advance can help you make the most of your time with your doctor.

Below are some basic questions to ask your doctor about acne. If any additional questions occur to you during your visit, don't hesitate to ask.

  • What treatment approach do you recommend for me?
  • If the first treatment doesn't work, what will you recommend next?
  • What are the possible side effects of the medications you're prescribing?
  • How long can I safely use the medications you're prescribing?
  • How soon after beginning treatment might my symptoms start to improve?
  • When will you see me again to evaluate whether my treatment is working?
  • Is it safe to stop my medications if they don't seem to be working?
  • What self-care steps might improve my symptoms?
  • Do you recommend any changes to my diet?
  • Do you recommend any changes to the over-the-counter products I'm using on my skin, including soaps, lotions, sunscreens and cosmetics?

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to talk about in-depth. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first develop this problem?
  • Does anything in particular seem to trigger an acne flare, such as stress or — in girls and women — your menstrual cycle?
  • What medications are you taking, including over-the-counter and prescription drugs as well as vitamins and supplements?
  • In girls and women: Do you use oral contraceptives?
  • In girls and women: Do you have regular menstrual periods?
  • In girls and women: Are you pregnant, or do you plan to become pregnant soon?
  • What types of soaps, lotions, sunscreens, hair products or cosmetics do you use?
  • How is acne affecting your self-esteem and your confidence in social situations?
  • Do you have a family history of acne?
  • What treatments and self-care steps have you tried so far? Have any been effective?
  • Have other family members had isotretinoin treatment or hormone therapy to treat their acne? Has it been effective?
Sept. 12, 2020
  1. AskMayoExpert. Acne. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. American Academy of Dermatology. Guidelines of care for the management of acne vulgaris. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaad.2015.12.037.
  3. Alpha hydroxyl acids (AHAs). Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  4. Rakel D, ed. Acne vulgaris and acne rosacea. In: Integrative Medicine. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 5, 2017.
  5. Dinulos JGH. Acne, rosacea, and related disorders. Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 6, 2020.
  6. Acne. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/acne. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  7. Graber E. Treatment of acne vulgaris. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  8. Thiboutot D, et al. Pathogenesis, clinical manifestations and diagnosis of acne vulgaris. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 9, 2020.
  9. Kermott CA, et al., eds. Acne. In: Mayo Clinic Book of Home Remedies. 2nd ed. Time; 2017.
  10. Maymone M, et al. Common skin disorders in pediatric skin of color. Journal of Pediatric Health Care. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.pedhc.2019.04.019.
  11. Matthes BM, et al. Intralesional corticosteroid injection. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 8, 2020.
  12. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. July 20, 2020.