青少年和社交媒体的使用:有什么影响?

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

社交媒体是许多青少年生活的重要组成部分。Pew 研究中心 2018 年对近 750 名 13 至 17 岁青少年进行的一项调查发现,45% 的人几乎经常上网,97% 的人使用社交媒体平台,如 YouTube、Facebook、Instagram 或 Snapchat。

但是社交媒体的使用对青少年有什么影响呢?

社交媒体的益处

青少年可以在社交媒体上创建线上身份,与他人交流并建立社交网络。这些网络可以为青少年提供宝贵的支持,特别是帮助遭受排斥或患有残疾或慢性病的青少年。

青少年还可以使用社交媒体进行娱乐和自我表达。青少年能借助平台接触时事,跨越地理障碍进行互动,获取各种主题的知识,包括健康行为。幽默或分散注意力的社交媒体或与同龄人建立有意义的联系,广泛的社交网络甚至可以避免青少年患抑郁症。

社交媒体的危害

然而,社交媒体也可能对青少年产生负面影响,如分散注意力,干扰睡眠,遭受网络霸凌、谣言侵扰,对他人生活产生不现实的看法,以及感受到来自同龄人的压力。

这些风险可能与青少年使用社交媒体的时长有关。2019 年,一项针对美国 6,500 名 12 至 15 岁青少年开展的研究表明,每天使用社交媒体超过 3 小时的青少年出现心理健康问题的风险更高。同年,另一项针对英国 12,000 名 13 至 16 岁青少年开展的研究表明,每天使用社交媒体超过 3 小时的青少年的心理健康状况更差、幸福感更低。

还有一些其他研究注意到了频繁使用社交媒体与抑郁症或焦虑症症状之间的联系。2016 年,一项针对 450 名青少年开展的研究发现,长时间使用社交媒体、夜间使用社交媒体和对社交媒体的情感投入(比如阻止其登录后感到沮丧)会影响睡眠质量、焦虑及抑郁水平。

青少年对社交媒体的使用方式也可能会决定社交媒体对他们产生的影响。2015 年,一项研究发现,青少年使用社交媒体和手机进行社交比较和寻求反馈与抑郁症状有关。此外,2013 年,一项小研究发现,被动使用社交媒体(比如只浏览别人的照片)的年龄较大的青少年对生活的满意度会下降。而那些使用社交媒体与他人互动或发布内容的青少年则不会经历这种生活满意度下降。

更早的一项关于社交媒体对大学生的影响的研究显示,使用 Facebook 时间越长的大学生,越倾向于相信别人比自己更快乐。但把时间花在和朋友一起出去玩的大学生,这种感觉就越少。

专家表示,由于青少年易冲动的天性,在社交媒体上发布内容的青少年更有可能会将自己的亲密照片或非常私人的故事分享给他人。这可能会导致青少年遭受霸凌、骚扰,甚至勒索。青少年经常会在不考虑这些后果或隐私问题的情况下发布帖子。

保护您的孩子

您可以采取一些措施来鼓励孩子负责任地使用社交媒体,并限制其负面影响。可以考虑以下建议:

  • 制定合理的限制。与您的孩子讨论如何避免社交媒体干扰他或她的活动、睡眠、饮食或家庭作业。鼓励孩子睡觉时避免使用电子媒体,不要在青少年的卧室内放置手机和平板电脑。以身作则,遵循这些规则。
  • 监控孩子的账户。让孩子知道您会定期检查他或她的社交媒体账户。您可以每周检查一次或多次。一定要坚持到底。
  • 说明哪些事情不能做。劝阻您的孩子不要在网上或其它地方说闲话、散布谣言、霸凌或损害他人声誉(无论是在网上还是以其他方式)。与您的孩子讨论在社交媒体上分享哪些内容既适当又安全。
  • 鼓励与朋友面对面交流。这对于易患社交焦虑障碍的青少年尤为重要。
  • 谈论社交媒体。谈谈您自己的社交媒体习惯。问问您的孩子,他或她是如何使用社交媒体的,以及他或她这样做的感觉如何。提醒您的孩子社交媒体充斥着不切实际的图片。

如果您认为您的孩子出现了社交媒体相关焦虑症或抑郁症的体征或症状,请咨询孩子的医生。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Teens and social media use: What's the impact?

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Social media is a big part of many teens' lives. A 2018 Pew Research Center survey of nearly 750 13- to 17-year-olds found that 45% are online almost constantly and 97% use a social media platform, such as YouTube, Facebook, Instagram or Snapchat.

But what impact does social media use have on teens?

Social media benefits

Social media allows teens to create online identities, communicate with others and build social networks. These networks can provide teens with valuable support, especially helping those who experience exclusion or have disabilities or chronic illnesses.

Teens also use social media for entertainment and self-expression. And the platforms can expose teens to current events, allow them to interact across geographic barriers and teach them about a variety of subjects, including healthy behaviors. Social media that's humorous or distracting or provides a meaningful connection to peers and a wide social network might even help teens avoid depression.

Social media harms

However, social media use can also negatively affect teens, distracting them, disrupting their sleep, and exposing them to bullying, rumor spreading, unrealistic views of other people's lives and peer pressure.

The risks might be related to how much social media teens use. A 2019 study of more than 6,500 12- to 15-year-olds in the U.S. found that those who spent more than three hours a day using social media might be at heightened risk for mental health problems. Another 2019 study of more than 12,000 13- to 16-year-olds in England found that using social media more than three times a day predicted poor mental health and well-being in teens.

Other studies also have observed links between high levels of social media use and depression or anxiety symptoms. A 2016 study of more than 450 teens found that greater social media use, nighttime social media use and emotional investment in social media — such as feeling upset when prevented from logging on — were each linked with worse sleep quality and higher levels of anxiety and depression.

How teens use social media also might determine its impact. A 2015 study found that social comparison and feedback seeking by teens using social media and cellphones was linked with depressive symptoms. In addition, a small 2013 study found that older adolescents who used social media passively, such as by just viewing others' photos, reported declines in life satisfaction. Those who used social media to interact with others or post their own content didn't experience these declines.

And an older study on the impact of social media on undergraduate college students showed that the longer they used Facebook, the stronger was their belief that others were happier than they were. But the more time the students spent going out with their friends, the less they felt this way.

Because of teens' impulsive natures, experts suggest that teens who post content on social media are at risk of sharing intimate photos or highly personal stories. This can result in teens being bullied, harassed or even blackmailed. Teens often create posts without considering these consequences or privacy concerns.

Protecting your teen

There are steps you can take to encourage responsible use of social media and limit some of its negative effects. Consider these tips:

  • Set reasonable limits. Talk to your teen about how to avoid letting social media interfere with his or her activities, sleep, meals or homework. Encourage a bedtime routine that avoids electronic media use, and keep cellphones and tablets out of teens' bedrooms. Set an example by following these rules yourself.
  • Monitor your teen's accounts. Let your teen know that you'll be regularly checking his or her social media accounts. You might aim to do so once a week or more. Make sure you follow through.
  • Explain what's not OK. Discourage your teen from gossiping, spreading rumors, bullying or damaging someone's reputation — online or otherwise. Talk to your teen about what is appropriate and safe to share on social media.
  • Encourage face-to-face contact with friends. This is particularly important for teens vulnerable to social anxiety disorder.
  • Talk about social media. Talk about your own social media habits. Ask your teen how he or she is using social media and how it makes him or her feel. Remind your teen that social media is full of unrealistic images.

If you think your teen is experiencing signs or symptoms of anxiety or depression related to social media use, talk to your child's doctor.

Dec. 21, 2019 See more In-depth