ما الذي يتسبب في الأسنان الحساسة؟ وكيف يمكنني علاجها؟

إجابة من توماس جيه ساليناس، طبيب جراحة الأسنان

عندما تكون مصابًا بالأسنان الحساسة، فإن أنشطة بعينها، مثل تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة وتناول الطعام والشراب، يمكن أن تسبب ألمًا حادًّا مؤقتًا في أسنانك. تنتج الأسنان الحساسة عادةً بسبب تآكل مينا الأسنان أو تعرِّي جذور الأسنان. لكن عدم راحة الأسنان يحدث أحيانًا بسبب عوامل أخرى مثل التسوس، أو شرخ أحد الأسنان أو كسره، أو تآكل الحشوة، أو أمراض اللثة.

إن أزعجتك الأسنان الحساسة، فقم بزيارة طبيب الأسنان. فهو يمكنه تحديد الأسباب الكامنة وراء ألم أسنانك أو استبعادها. وفقًا للظروف، قد يوصي طبيب الأسنان بما يلي:

  • معجون الأسنان المزيل للحساسية. بعد استخدام معجون الأسنان المزيل للحساسية عدة مرات، فإنه يساعد أحيانًا في حجب الألم المصاحب للأسنان الحساسة. توجد عدة منتجات متاحة دون وصفة طبية. اسأل طبيب الأسنان عن المنتج الذي قد يكون أنسب لك.
  • الفلوريد. قد يضع طبيب أسنانك الفلوريد على الأجزاء الحساسة من أسنانك لتقوية مينا الأسنان والحد من الألم. قد يقترح كذلك استخدام الفلوريد الذي يُصرف بوصفة طبية في المنزل، والذي يوضع عن طريق وعاء مخصَّص.
  • إزالة التحسس أو الإلصاق. يمكن علاج أسطح جذور الأسنان المكشوفة أحيانًا عن طريق وضع راتنج الإلصاق على أسطح الجذور الحساسة. قد يستلزم الأمر مخدرًا موضعيًّا.
  • طُعم اللثة الجراحي. إن فقد جذر سنك نسيج اللثة، يمكن أخذ كمية صغيرة من نسيج اللثة من مكان آخر في فمك وإلصاقه بالموقع المصاب. يمكن لذلك أن يقي الجذور المكشوفة ويقلل الحساسية.
  • قناة الجذر. إن كانت أسنانك الحساسة تسبب لك ألمًا شديدًا وإن كانت العلاجات الأخرى غير فعالة، فقد يوصي طبيب أسنانك بإجراء قناة الجذر، وهو إجراء يستخدم لعلاج المشكلات في الجوهر اللين للسن (لب السن). بينما قد يبدو ذلك علاجًا كبيرًا، فهو يُعَدُّ التقنية الأكثر نجاحًا للقضاء على حساسية الأسنان.

لمنع تكرار الإصابة بالأسنان الحساسة، اغسل أسنانك بالفرشاة مرتين يوميًّا باستخدام فرشاة أسنان ناعمة الشعيرات ومعجون أسنان يحتوي على الفلوريد ونظفها بخيط التنظيف يوميًّا. ادعك أسنانك بلطف، بدلًا من الفرك العنيف أو الخشن، وتجنب استخدام معجون أسنان كاشط. إن كنت تطحن أسنانك، فاسأل طبيب الأسنان عن واقٍ للفم. يمكن لطحن الأسنان أن يكسر الأسنان ويسبب الحساسية.

يمكن أن تضع في اعتبارك كذلك الحذر عند تناول أطعمة أو مشروبات حمضية، مثل المياه الغازية والفواكه الحمضية والنبيذ، فكلها يمكن أن تزيل كميات صغيرة من مينا الأسنان بمرور الوقت. عندما تشرب السوائل الحمضية، استخدم قشَّة للحد من ملامستها لأسنانك. بعد تناول مأكولات أو مشروبات حمضية، اشرب الماء لمعادلة مستويات الحمض في فمك.

With

توماس جيه ساليناس، طبيب جراحة الأسنان

15/10/2019 See more Expert Answers

What causes sensitive teeth, and how can I treat them?

Answer From Thomas J. Salinas, D.D.S.

When you have sensitive teeth, certain activities, such as brushing, eating and drinking, can cause sharp, temporary pain in your teeth. Sensitive teeth are typically the result of worn tooth enamel or exposed tooth roots. Sometimes, however, tooth discomfort is caused by other factors, such as a cavity, a cracked or chipped tooth, a worn filling, or gum disease.

If you're bothered by sensitive teeth, visit your dentist. He or she can identify or rule out any underlying causes of your tooth pain. Depending on the circumstances, your dentist might recommend:

  • Desensitizing toothpaste. After several applications, desensitizing toothpaste can sometimes help block pain associated with sensitive teeth. There are a variety of products available over-the-counter. Ask your dentist which product might work best for you.
  • Fluoride. Your dentist might apply fluoride to the sensitive areas of your teeth to strengthen tooth enamel and reduce pain. He or she might also suggest the use of prescription fluoride at home, applied via a custom tray.
  • Desensitizing or bonding. Occasionally, exposed root surfaces can be treated by applying bonding resin to the sensitive root surfaces. A local anesthetic might be needed.
  • Surgical gum graft. If your tooth root has lost gum tissue, a small amount of gum tissue can be taken from elsewhere in your mouth and attached to the affected site. This can protect exposed roots and reduce sensitivity.
  • Root canal. If your sensitive teeth cause severe pain and other treatments aren't effective, your dentist might recommend a root canal — a procedure used to treat problems in the tooth's soft core (dental pulp). While this might seem like a significant treatment, it's considered the most successful technique for eliminating tooth sensitivity.

To prevent sensitive teeth from recurring, brush your teeth twice a day with a soft-bristled toothbrush and fluoride toothpaste and floss daily. Use gentle strokes, rather than vigorous or harsh scrubbing, and avoid using an abrasive toothpaste. If you grind your teeth, ask your dentist about a mouth guard. Tooth grinding can fracture teeth and cause sensitivity.

You might also consider taking care when eating or drinking acidic foods and drinks, such as carbonated drinks, citrus fruits and wine — all of which can remove small amounts of tooth enamel over time. When you drink acidic liquids, use a straw to limit contact with your teeth. After eating or drinking an acidic substance, drink water to balance the acid levels in your mouth.

With

Thomas J. Salinas, D.D.S.

March 07, 2018 See more Expert Answers