概述

低血糖症是指血糖(葡萄糖)水平低于正常值。葡萄糖是您身体的主要能量来源。

低血糖症通常与糖尿病治疗相关。但是其他药物和多种病症(多为罕见)能够导致没有糖尿病的人出现低血糖

当血糖过低时需要立即治疗低血糖症。对于多数人来说,如果空腹血糖水平为 70 毫克每分升(mg/dL)或 3.9 毫摩尔每升(mmol/L)或更低,则应视为低血糖症预警。但您的预警水平可能会有所不同。咨询您的医生。

治疗是将您的血糖快速恢复正常水平,包括摄入高糖饮食或使用药物。长期治疗则需确定并消除引起低血糖症的原因。

症状

如果血糖水平过低,体征和症状可能包括:

  • 心律不齐或心跳过快
  • 疲劳
  • 皮肤苍白
  • 颤抖
  • 焦虑
  • 出汗
  • 饥饿
  • 易怒
  • 嘴唇、舌头或脸颊出现刺痛感或麻木感。

随着低血糖症恶化,体征和症状包括:

  • 意识混乱、行为异常或两者皆有,例如无法完成日常工作
  • 视觉障碍,如视线模糊。
  • 癫痫发作
  • 意识丧失

何时就诊

如果出现以下情况,请立即就医:

  • 出现类似低血糖症的症状,但并没有糖尿病
  • 您患有糖尿病且饮用果汁或常规软饮料、吃糖果或服用葡萄糖片剂等治疗对低血糖症无效

糖尿病患者或有低血糖症病史的患者出现严重低血糖症状或意识丧失时,应紧急就医。

病因

当血糖(葡萄糖)水平过低时,就会发生低血糖症。低血糖症有若干个病因;最常见的是抗糖尿病药物的副作用。

血糖调节

当进食时,身体会将食物(如面包、米饭、面食、蔬菜、水果和奶制品)中的碳水化合物分解成各种糖分子,包括葡萄糖。

葡萄糖是人体的主要能量来源,它借助胰岛素(胰腺分泌的一种激素)进入大多数组织的细胞内。胰岛素使葡萄糖进入细胞并提供细胞所需的“燃料”。多余的葡萄糖会以糖元的形式储存在肝脏和肌肉中。

如果您几个小时没有进食,血糖水平下降,胰腺分泌的另一种激素会向肝脏发出信号,以分解储存的糖元,将葡萄糖释放到血液中。在您再次进食前,使血糖保持在正常范围内。

您的身体也有制造葡萄糖的能力。这个过程主要发生在肝脏中,但也会发生在肾脏中。

糖尿病可能的病因

如果您患有糖尿病,您可能无法产生足够的胰岛素(1 型糖尿病),或者您对胰岛素的反应可能较差(2 型糖尿病)。因此,葡萄糖往往会在血液中积聚,并可能达到危险的高水平。为了校正这一问题,您可以服用胰岛素或其他药物来降低血糖水平。

但摄入过多的胰岛素或其他糖尿病药物可能会导致您的血糖水平降得太低,从而引起低血糖症。如果您在服用糖尿病药物后吃得比平时少,或者您比平时运动得多,也可能出现低血糖症。

在没有糖尿病的情况下的可能原因

没有糖尿病的人不太可能出现低血糖症。原因可能包括:

  • 用药。不小心服用别人的口服糖尿病药物是导致低血糖症的一个可能原因。其他药物也可能导致低血糖症,尤其是在儿童或肾功能衰竭患者中。例如,用于治疗疟疾的奎宁(Qualaquin)。
  • 过度饮酒。大量饮酒而不吃东西会阻碍肝脏将储存的葡萄糖释放到血液中,从而导致低血糖症。
  • 一些重大疾病。严重的肝脏疾病,如重症肝炎或肝硬化,会导致低血糖症。某些肾脏疾病,使您的身体无法适当排出药物,导致这些药物积聚,从而影响葡萄糖水平。

    长期的饥饿,就像进食障碍性神经性厌食症引起的饥饿,会导致您的体内产生葡萄糖所需的物质减少。

  • 胰岛素产生过多。一种罕见的胰腺肿瘤(胰岛素瘤)会导致您产生过多的胰岛素,从而引起低血糖症。其他肿瘤也可能导致产生过多的胰岛素样物质。胰腺中分泌胰岛素的细胞增大会导致释放过量的胰岛素,从而引起低血糖症。
  • 激素缺乏。某些肾上腺和垂体瘤疾病会导致缺乏调节葡萄糖生成的关键激素。生长激素过少可能导致儿童发生低血糖症。

餐后低血糖症

低血糖症通常在未进食时发作,但并非总是如此。有时,在摄入某些高糖饮食后,低血糖症也会发作,这是因为身体产生的胰岛素已超出需要。

这种类型的低血糖症称作反应性低血糖症或者餐后低血糖症,可见于做过胃旁路手术的患者。但是也会见于没有做过这种手术的患者。

并发症

不治疗低血糖症可能导致:

  • 癫痫发作
  • 丧失意识
  • 死亡

低血糖症还可能诱发以下症状:

  • 头晕和虚弱
  • 跌倒
  • 受伤
  • 机动车事故
  • 老年人患痴呆的风险更高

未察觉低血糖症

长期的低血糖反复发作可能导致未察觉低血糖症。身体和大脑不再产生预示低血糖的体征和症状,例如颤抖或心律不齐。出现这种情况时,发生严重危及生命的低血糖症的风险会增加。

如果您患有糖尿病、低血糖反复发作和未察觉低血糖症,医生可能会调整您的治疗方案,提高目标血糖水平,并建议您接受血糖觉察训练。

糖尿病未得到充分治疗

如果您有糖尿病,低血糖发作时可能令人不适,而且还很可怕。对低血糖症的恐惧会使您摄取少量胰岛素以确保血糖水平不至于过低。这会导致未经控制的糖尿病失。请与医生谈谈您的恐惧心理,未经医生许可切勿改变糖尿病药物剂量。

预防

如果您有糖尿病

遵循您和您的医生制定的糖尿病管理计划。如果您正在服用新药、改变饮食或药物计划或增加新的运动项目,请向医生咨询这些变化对您的糖尿病管理和低血糖风险有何影响。

某些患者可以选择连续葡萄糖监测仪(CGM),尤其是不了解低血糖症的患者。CGM 有一根插在皮肤下的细导线,可将血糖读数发送至接收器。

如果血糖水平下降得过低,则某些型号的 CGM 将通过警报提醒您。现在某些胰岛素泵已经集成了 CGM,当血糖水平下降过快时,可关闭胰岛素输送以有助于预防低血糖症。

一定要随时随身携带速效碳水化合物,例如果汁或葡萄糖片,这样您就可以在血糖水平下降到危险的低水平之前治疗血糖水平下降。

如果您没有糖尿病

对于低血糖症反复发作,全天少吃多餐是一种有助防止血糖过低的权宜措施。但是,不建议这种方法作为长期策略。请与医生合作识别和处理低血糖症原因。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Hypoglycemia. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 9, 2020.
  2. Low blood glucose (hypoglycemia). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/low-blood-glucose-hypoglycemia. Accessed Jan. 4, 2020.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Unexplained hypoglycemia in a nondiabetic. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  4. Cryer PE. Hypoglycemia in adults with diabetes mellitus. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2020.
  5. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020;43(suppl):s1. https://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/suppl/2019/12/20/43.Supplement_1.DC1. Accessed Jan. 11, 2020.
  6. Service FJ, et al. Hypoglycemia in adults without diabetes mellitus: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis and causes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2020.
  7. Hypoglycemia (low blood sugar). American Diabetes Association. https://www.diabetes.org/diabetes/medication-management/blood-glucose-testing-and-control/hypoglycemia. Accessed Jan. 4, 2020.

Overview

Hypoglycemia is a condition characterized by an abnormally low level of blood sugar (glucose), your body's main energy source.

Hypoglycemia is commonly associated with the treatment of diabetes. However, a variety of conditions, many of them rare, can cause low blood sugar in people without diabetes. Like fever, hypoglycemia isn't a disease itself — it's an indicator of a health problem.

Immediate treatment of hypoglycemia involves quick steps to get your blood sugar level back into a normal range — about 70 to 110 milligrams per deciliter, or mg/dL (3.9 to 6.1 millimoles per liter, or mmol/L) — either with high-sugar foods or medications. Long-term treatment requires identifying and treating the underlying cause of hypoglycemia.

Symptoms

Similar to the way a car needs gas to run, your body and brain need a constant supply of sugar (glucose) to function properly. If glucose levels become too low, as occurs with hypoglycemia, it can cause these signs and symptoms:

  • Heart palpitations
  • Fatigue
  • Pale skin
  • Shakiness
  • Anxiety
  • Sweating
  • Hunger
  • Irritability
  • Tingling sensation around the mouth
  • Crying out during sleep

As hypoglycemia worsens, signs and symptoms may include:

  • Confusion, abnormal behavior or both, such as the inability to complete routine tasks
  • Visual disturbances, such as blurred vision
  • Seizures
  • Loss of consciousness

People with severe hypoglycemia may appear as if they're intoxicated. They may slur their words and move clumsily.

Many conditions other than hypoglycemia may cause these signs and symptoms. A blood sample to test your blood sugar level at the time of these signs and symptoms is how to know for sure that hypoglycemia is the cause.

When to see a doctor

Seek a doctor's help immediately if:

  • You have what may be symptoms of hypoglycemia and you don't have diabetes.
  • You have diabetes and hypoglycemia isn't responding to treatment. Initial treatment of hypoglycemia is drinking juice or regular soft drinks, eating candy or taking glucose tablets. If this treatment doesn't raise your blood sugar and improve your symptoms, contact your doctor right away.

Seek emergency help if:

  • If someone with diabetes or a history of recurring hypoglycemia has symptoms of severe hypoglycemia or loses consciousness

Causes

Hypoglycemia occurs when your blood sugar (glucose) level falls too low. There are several reasons why this may happen, the most common being a side effect of drugs used for the treatment of diabetes. But to understand how hypoglycemia happens, it helps to know how your body normally regulates blood sugar production, absorption and storage.

Blood sugar regulation

During digestion, your body breaks down carbohydrates from foods — such as bread, rice, pasta, vegetables, fruit and milk products — into various sugar molecules. One of these sugar molecules is glucose, the main energy source for your body. Glucose is absorbed into your bloodstream after you eat, but it can't enter the cells of most of your tissues without the help of insulin — a hormone secreted by your pancreas.

When the level of glucose in your blood rises, it signals certain cells (beta cells) in your pancreas, located behind your stomach, to release insulin. The insulin, in turn, unlocks your cells so that glucose can enter and provide the fuel your cells need to function properly. Any extra glucose is stored in your liver and muscles in the form of glycogen.

This process lowers the level of glucose in your bloodstream and prevents it from reaching dangerously high levels. As your blood sugar level returns to normal, so does the secretion of insulin from your pancreas.

If you haven't eaten for several hours and your blood sugar level drops, another hormone from your pancreas called glucagon signals your liver to break down the stored glycogen and release glucose back into your bloodstream. This keeps your blood sugar level within a normal range until you eat again.

Aside from your liver breaking down glycogen into glucose, your body also has the ability to manufacture glucose in a process called gluconeogenesis. This process occurs primarily in your liver, but also in your kidneys, and makes use of various substances that are precursors to glucose.

Possible causes, with diabetes

If you have diabetes, the effects of insulin on your body are drastically diminished, either because your pancreas doesn't produce enough of it (type 1 diabetes) or because your cells are less responsive to it (type 2 diabetes). As a result, glucose tends to build up in your bloodstream and may reach dangerously high levels. To correct this problem, you likely take insulin or other drugs designed to lower blood sugar levels.

If you take too much insulin relative to the amount of glucose in your bloodstream, it can cause your blood sugar level to drop too low, resulting in hypoglycemia. Hypoglycemia may also result if, after taking your diabetes medication, you don't eat as much as usual (ingesting less glucose) or you exercise more (using up more glucose) than you normally would. To prevent this from happening, it's likely that your doctor will work with you to find the optimum dosage that fits your regular eating and activity habits.

Possible causes, without diabetes

Hypoglycemia in people without diabetes is much less common. Causes may include the following:

  • Medications. Taking someone else's oral diabetes medication accidentally is a possible cause of hypoglycemia. Other medications may cause hypoglycemia, especially in children or in people with kidney failure. One example is quinine (Qualaquin), which is used to treat malaria.
  • Excessive alcohol consumption. Drinking heavily without eating can block your liver from releasing stored glucose into your bloodstream, causing hypoglycemia.
  • Some critical illnesses. Severe illnesses of the liver, such as severe hepatitis, can cause hypoglycemia. Disorders of the kidney, which can keep your body from properly excreting medications, can affect glucose levels due to a buildup of those medications. Long-term starvation, as may occur in the eating disorder anorexia nervosa, can result in the depletion of substances your body needs in gluconeogenesis, causing hypoglycemia.
  • Insulin overproduction. A rare tumor of the pancreas (insulinoma) may cause overproduction of insulin, resulting in hypoglycemia. Other tumors may result in excessive production of insulin-like substances.

    Enlargement of beta cells of the pancreas that produce insulin (nesidioblastosis) may result in excessive insulin release, causing hypoglycemia.

  • Hormone deficiencies. Certain disorders of the adrenal glands and the pituitary gland can result in a deficiency of key hormones that regulate glucose production. Children with these disorders are more prone to hypoglycemia than are adults.

Hypoglycemia after meals

Hypoglycemia usually occurs when you haven't eaten (when you're in a fasting state), but that's not always the case. Sometimes hypoglycemia occurs after meals because the body produces more insulin than is needed.

This type of hypoglycemia, called reactive or postprandial hypoglycemia, may occur in people who have had stomach surgery. It may also occur in people who haven't had this surgery.

Complications

If you ignore the symptoms of hypoglycemia too long, you may lose consciousness. That's because your brain needs glucose to function properly.

Recognize the signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia early because untreated hypoglycemia can lead to:

  • Seizure
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Death

Hypoglycemia unawareness

Over time, repeated episodes of hypoglycemia can lead to hypoglycemia unawareness. The body and brain no longer produce signs and symptoms that warn of a low blood sugar, such as shakiness or irregular heartbeats. When this happens, the risk of severe, life-threatening hypoglycemia is increased.

Undertreated diabetes

If you have diabetes, episodes of low blood sugar are uncomfortable and can be frightening. Repeated episodes of hypoglycemia may cause you to take less insulin to ensure that your blood sugar level doesn't go too low. But long-term high blood sugar levels can be dangerous, too, possibly causing damage to your nerves, blood vessels and various organs.

Prevention

  • If you have diabetes, carefully follow the diabetes management plan you and your doctor have developed. If you're taking new medications, changing your eating or medication schedules, or adding new exercise, talk to your doctor about how these changes might affect your diabetes management and your risk of low blood sugar.

    A continuous glucose monitor (CGM) is an option for some people, particularly those with hypoglycemia unawareness. These devices insert a tiny wire under the skin that sends blood glucose readings to a receiver every five minutes or so. If blood sugar levels are dropping too low, the CGM alerts you with an alarm.

    Be sure to always have a fast-acting carbohydrate with you, such as juice or glucose tablets, so you can treat a falling blood sugar before it dips dangerously low.

  • If you don't have diabetes but have recurring episodes of hypoglycemia, eating frequent small meals throughout the day is a stopgap measure to help prevent your blood sugar levels from getting too low. However, this approach isn't an advisable long-term strategy. Work with your doctor to identity and treat the underlying cause of hypoglycemia.
Jan. 20, 2015
References
  1. Longo DL, et al. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 18th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=331. Accessed Dec. 24, 2014.
  2. Hypoglycemia. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/hypoglycemia/index.aspx. Accessed Dec. 28, 2014.
  3. Gardner DG, et al. Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology. 9th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2011. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookId=380. Accessed Dec. 24, 2014.
  4. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2015. Diabetes Care. 2015;38 (suppl):s7.
  5. Service FJ, et al. Hypoglycemia in adults: Clinical manifestations, definition, and causes. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Dec. 24, 2014.
  6. Hypoglycemia. The Merck Manual Professional Edition. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine_and_metabolic_disorders/diabetes_mellitus_and_disorders_of_carbohydrate_metabolism/hypoglycemia.html#v989452. Accessed Dec. 24, 2014.