诊断

为了诊断您的病症,医生将对您进行体格检查,以检查是否存在偏侧面肌痉挛的体征。为确定您所患疾病的病因并为您的病情确定最合适的治疗方案,可能需要进行影像学检查。

磁共振成像(MRI)使用磁场和无线电波来创建您头部的详细图像,用以确定您所患偏侧面肌痉挛的病因。医生可能会将造影剂注入血管(磁共振血管造影),以寻找任何可能刺激面神经的异常血管。

您并不总是需要 MRI 扫描或其他影像学检查,才能诊断出偏侧面肌痉挛。医生可能可以根据症状和检查结果来诊断此病症。如果症状不典型或您准备做手术,则可能需要进行影像学检查。

治疗

偏侧面肌痉挛的治疗方法包括:

  • 肉毒杆菌注射。医生可能会向肌肉患处注射肉毒毒素(Botox),使这些肌肉暂时瘫痪。这种疗法可有效缓解大多数人的症状。每隔几个月需要再做治疗。
  • 其他药物。包括抗惊厥药在内的药物可以缓解某些患者的偏侧面肌痉挛。
  • 外科手术。有几种外科手术可能有助于缓解偏侧面肌痉挛。减压手术需要在颅骨上开口,打开大脑的覆盖层(硬脑膜),以找到与脑干交汇的面神经。

    在外科医生找到压在或刺激面神经的血管后,会在该神经和血管之间放一块海绵状材料,以消除对神经的压力。该手术通常可以缓解偏侧面肌痉挛。

    其他手术包括通过手术破坏某些面部神经,以及使用热波和无线电波的射频热凝术。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Aug. 29, 2022
  1. Jankovic J, et al. Parkinson disease and other movement disorders. In: Bradley and Daroff’s Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 29, 2021.
  2. Chaudhry N, et al. Hemifacial spasm: The past, present and future. Journal of the Neurological Sciences. 2015; doi:10.1016/j.jns.2015.06.032.
  3. Hemifacial spasm. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/neuro-ophthalmologic-and-cranial-nerve-disorders/hemifacial-spasm. Accessed April 29, 2021.
  4. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Jan. 20, 2021.

Diagnosis

To diagnose your condition, your doctor will conduct a physical examination and check for signs of hemifacial spasm. To determine the cause of your condition and develop the most appropriate treatment for your condition, imaging tests may be necessary.

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) uses powerful magnets and radio waves to create detailed images of your head and determine the cause of your hemifacial spasm. Your doctor may inject a contrast dye into a blood vessel (magnetic resonance angiogram) to look for any abnormal blood vessel that may be irritating the facial nerve.

Treatment

Treatment for hemifacial spasm may include:

  • Botulinum injections. Your doctor may inject botulinum toxin (Botox) into the affected muscles, which temporarily paralyzes those muscles. You'll need additional treatments every few months.
  • Other medications. Medications, including anticonvulsant drugs, can relieve hemifacial spasm in some people.
  • Microvascular decompression surgery. In this surgery, your surgeon makes an opening in your skull and opens the covering of your brain (dura) to expose the facial nerve as it leaves the brainstem.

    Your surgeon locates the blood vessel pressing on or irritating the facial nerve and puts a spongelike material between the nerve and blood vessel, removing the pressure on the nerve. This surgery often can relieve hemifacial spasm.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Hemifacial spasm care at Mayo Clinic

May 05, 2018
References
  1. Daroff RB, et al. Parkinson disease and other movement disorders. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 16, 2017.
  2. Chaudhry N, et al. Hemifacial spasm: The past, present and future. Journal of the Neurological Sciences. 2015;356:27.
  3. Hemifacial spasm. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/neuro-ophthalmologic-and-cranial-nerve-disorders/hemifacial-spasm. Accessed July 16, 2017.
  4. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 17, 2017.