نظرة عامة

الإنهاك الحراري هو حالة قد تتضمن أعراضها التعرق بغزارة والنبض السريع، نتيجة لارتفاع درجة حرارة الجسم. وهو إحدى المتلازمات الثلاث المتعلقة بالحرارة، ويتميز بأخف درجات التشنجات الحرارية وأشد درجات ضربة الحرارة.

تتضمن أسباب الإنهاك الحراري التعرض لدرجات حرارة مرتفعة وخاصة عندما يصاحبها ارتفاع الرطوبة ونشاط بدني شاق. دون علاج فوري، يمكن أن يؤدي الإنهاك الحراري إلى ضربة حرارة، وهي حالة تشكل تهديدًا على الحياة. ولحسن الحظ، يمكن منع حدوث الإنهاك الحراري.

الأعراض

قد تنشأ علامات الإنهاك الحراري وأعراضه فجأة أو تتطور بمرور الوقت، خاصةً على مدار فترة طويلة من التمرين. تتضمن علامات الإنهاك الحراري وأعراضه ما يلي:

  • بشرة باردة ورطبة، مع نتوءات تشبه جلد الأوز عند التعرض للحرارة
  • التعرق الشديد
  • الإعياء
  • الدوخة
  • الإرهاق
  • الضعف وسرعة النبض
  • انخفاض ضغط الدم عند الوقوف
  • تشنجات في العضلات
  • الغثيان
  • الصداع

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كنت تعتقد أنك تعاني إنهاكًا حراريًا:

  • توقف عن ممارسة جميع الأنشطة واسترح
  • انتقل إلى مكان أكثر برودة
  • اشرب الماء أو المشروبات الرياضية

تواصل مع طبيبك إذا تفاقمت العلامات أو الأعراض التي تعانيها أو إذا كانت لا تتحسن في غضون ساعة واحدة. إذا كنت مع أحد الأشخاص الذين تظهر عليهم علامات الإنهاك الحراري، فاطلب المساعدة الطبية على الفور إذا أصبح مرتبكًا أو مثارًا، أو يفقد وعيه أو غير قادر على الشرب. ستحتاج إلى تبريد فوري ومساعدة طبية طارئة إذا وصلت درجة حرارة جسمك الداخلية إلى 104 درجات فهرنهايت (40 درجة مئوية) أو أكثر.

الأسباب

تؤدي درجة حرارة جسمك مع حرارة البيئة المحيطة إلى ما يعرف بدرجة الحرارة الطبيعية، وهي درجة حرارة جسمك الداخلية. يحتاج جسمك إلى تنظيم الحرارة المكتسبة (وخفض الحرارة في الطقس البارد) من البيئة للحفاظ على درجة الحرارة الطبيعية، وهي 98.6 درجة فهرنهايت (37 درجة مئوية) تقريبًا.

يفشل جسمك في تبريد نفسه

في الطقس الحار، يُبرد جسمك نفسه عن طريق التعرق. ينظم تبخر العرق درجة حرارة جسمك. مع ذلك، عندما تمارس التمارين بشكل شاق أو بطريقة أخرى ترهق بها نفسك في الطقس الحار والرطب، يكون جسمك أقل قدرة على تبريد نفسه بفاعلية.

ونتيجة لذلك، قد يصاب جسدك بتشنجات حرارية، وهي أخف أشكال الأمراض المتعلقة بالحرارة. عادةً ما تشمل علامات التشنجات الحرارية وأعراضها التعرق الشديد والإرهاق والعطش وتشنجات في العضلات. عادةً ما يمنع العلاج الفوري التشنجات الحرارية من التفاقم إلى الإنهاك الحراري.

يمكنك عادة معالجة التشنجات الحرارية من خلال شرب السوائل أو المشروبات الرياضية التي تحتوي على الكهارل (غاتوريد، باوريد، وغيرهما)، والدخول إلى أماكن ذات درجات حرارة أكثر برودة، مثل مكان مزود بمكيف هواء أو مكان مظلل، والراحة.

أسباب أخرى

بجانب الطقس الحار والنشاط البدني المضني، تتضمن الأسباب الأخرى للإنهاك الحراري ما يلي:

  • الجفاف، الذي يقلل من قدرة الجسم على التعرق والحفاظ على درجة الحرارة الطبيعية
  • تناول الكحوليات، الذي يمكن أن يؤثر على قدرة الجسم في تنظيم درجة الحرارة
  • المبالغة في ارتداء الملابس، خاصة الملابس التي لا تسمح للعرق أن يتبخر بسهولة

عوامل الخطر

يمكن أن يصاب أي فرد بالإنهاك الحراري، ولكن تزيد بعض العوامل من حساسيتك للحرارة. وتشمل:

  • في سن مبكرة أو الشيخوخة. تزيد احتمالية إصابة الأطفال الرضع والأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 4 سنوات والبالغين الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 65 عامًا بالإنهاك الحراري. لا يتم تطوير قدرة الجسم على تنظيم درجة حرارته بشكل كامل في الشباب وقد تقل عن طريق المرض أو الأدوية أو العوامل الأخرى في البالغين الأكبر سنًا.
  • بعض الأدوية. تتضمن الأدوية، التي تؤثر في قدرة الجسم على البقاء رطبًا والاستجابة بشكل مناسب للحرارة، بعض الأدوية المستخدمة لعلاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم ومشاكل القلب (حاصرات مستقبلات بيتا، مدرات البول) أو تقلل من أعراض الحساسية (مضادات الهيستامين) أو التي تعمل على تهدئتك (مهدئات الأعصاب) أو تقلل من الأعراض النفسية مثل اضطرابات الوهام (مضادات الذهان). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن لبعض المخدرات غير الشرعية، مثل الكوكايين والأمفيتامينات، أن تزيد من درجة حرارتك الأساسية.
  • السمنة. يمكن لحمل وزن زائد أن يؤثر في قدرة جسمك على تنظيم درجة حرارته ويجعل جسمك يحتفظ بمزيد من الحرارة.
  • تغييرات مفاجئة في درجة الحرارة. إذا كنت غير معتاد على الحرارة، فأنت أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض متعلقة بالحرارة، مثل الإنهاك الحراري. يمكن للسفر من مناخ بارد إلى مناج دافئ أو العيش في منطقة يوجد بها موجة حرارة مبكرة أن يعرضك لخطر الإصابة بأمراض متعلقة بالحرارة لأن جسمك لم يحصل على فرصة للاعتياد على درجات الحرارة المرتفعة.
  • مؤشر الحرارة المرتفع. يُعد مؤشر الحرارة قيمة موحدة لدرجة الحرارة تشير إلى كيفية تأثير درجة الحرارة والرطوبة في الأماكن المفتوحة في شعورك. عندما ترتفع الرطوبة، لا يمكن للعرق أن يتبخر بسهولة ويعاني جسمك من صعوبة أكبر في تبريد نفسه، الأمر الذي يجعلك عرضة للإصابة بالإنهاك الحراري والضربة الحرارية. عندما يكون مؤشر الحرارة 91 درجة فهرنهايت (33 درجة مئوية) أو أعلى، يجب عليك اتخاذ الاحتياطات اللازمة للبقاء باردًا.

المضاعفات

إذا تُرك الإنهاك الحراري دون علاج، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى ضربة حرارية، وهي حالة تشكل تهديدًا على الحياة تحدث عندما تصل درجة حرارة الجسم الأساسية إلى 104 درجة فهرنهايت (40 درجة مئوية) أو أكثر. تتطلب الضربة الحرارية الحصول على رعاية طبية فورية للوقاية من حدوث تلف دائم للدماغ والأعضاء الحيوية الأخرى التي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى الوفاة.

الوقاية

يمكنك اتخاذ عدد من الاحتياطات للوقاية من الإنهاك الحراري وغيره من الأمراض المرتبطة بالحرارة. عند ارتفاع درجة الحرارة، تذكر القيام بما يلي:

  • ارتدِ الملابس الفضفاضة والخفيفة. إذ إن ارتداء الملابس الزائدة أو الملابس الضيقة لن تحافظ على برودة جسمك على نحو صحيح.
  • احمِ جسمك من حروق الشمس. تؤثر حروق الشمس على قدرة الجسم على تبريد نفسه، لذا احمِ نفسك وأنت بالخارج بارتداء قبعة واسعة الحواف والنظارات الشمسية واستخدام واقٍ من الشمس واسع الطيف مع عامل حماية من الشمس (SPF) 15 على الأقل. ضع واقي الشمس بكمية كبيرة، وكرر وضعه كل ساعتين — أو أكثر إذا كنت تسبح أو تتعرق.
  • اشرب الكثير من السوائل. سيساعدك الحفاظ على تزويد جسمك بحاجته من السوائل على إفراز العرق من جسمك والحفاظ على درجة حرارته الطبيعية.
  • توخ المزيد من الحذر عند استخدام بعض الأدوية. كن على اطلاع بالمشكلات المرتبطة بالحرارة إذا كنت تتناول الأدوية التي يمكنها أن تؤثر على قدرة جسمك في الحفاظ على نيل حاجته من السوائل وتبديد الحرارة.
  • لا تترك أي شخص في سيارة متوقفة. فهذا سبب شائع للوفيات المرتبطة بالحرارة في الأطفال. فعند توقفها في الشمس، يمكن لدرجة الحرارة في سيارتك أن ترتفع لتصل إلى 20 درجة فهرنهايت (أكثر من 6.7 درجة مئوية) في 10 دقائق.

    لذا ليس من الآمن ترك شخص في سيارة متوقفة في الطقس الدافئ أو الحار، حتى إن كانت النوافذ مفتوحة قليلاً أو السيارة متوقفة في الظل. عندما تكون سيارتك متوقفة، تأكد من إبقائها مغلقة لمنع دخول أي طفل إلى الداخل.

  • استرخِ خلال الأوقات الحارة في اليوم. إذا كنت لا تستطيع تجنب القيام بالأنشطة الشاقة في الطقس الحار، فاشرب السوائل ونل قسطًا من الراحة على نحو متكرر في مكان درجة حرارته باردة. جرّب ممارسة التمارين أو أداء الأعمال البدنية في الأوقات الباردة من اليوم، مثل الصباح الباكر أو المساء.
  • التكيّف. حِد من العمل أو ممارسة التمارين في الطقس الحار إلى أن تكون مُتكيفًا معه. فالأشخاص غير المعتادين على الطقس الحار معرضون بشكل خاص للإصابة بالأمراض المرتبطة بالحرارة. ويمكن لجسمك أن يستغرق عدة أسابيع للتكيف مع الطقس الحار.
  • فتوخ الحذر إذا كنت أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة. إذا كنت تتناول أدوية أو تعاني حالة تزيد من خطر إصابتك بمشكلات مرتبطة بالحرارة، مثل أن يكون لديك تاريخ سابق من الإصابة بمرض مرتبط بالحرارة، فتجنب الحرارة وتصرف بسرعة إذا لاحظت ظهور أعراض ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة. إذا كنت تشارك في حدث أو نشاط رياضي شاق في الطقس الحار، فتأكد من توافر الخدمات الطبية في حالات ارتفاع الحرارة الطارئة.

14/12/2017
  1. Heat injury and heat exhaustion. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00319. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  2. Heat index. National Weather Service. http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/heat/heat_index.shtml. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  3. Walls RM, et al., eds. Heat illness. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  5. Extreme heat: A prevention guide to promote your personal health and safety. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  7. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  8. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 30, 2017.

Products & Services

Overview

Heat exhaustion is a condition whose symptoms may include heavy sweating and a rapid pulse, a result of your body overheating. It's one of three heat-related syndromes, with heat cramps being the mildest and heatstroke being the most severe.

Causes of heat exhaustion include exposure to high temperatures, particularly when combined with high humidity, and strenuous physical activity. Without prompt treatment, heat exhaustion can lead to heatstroke, a life-threatening condition. Fortunately, heat exhaustion is preventable.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of heat exhaustion may develop suddenly or over time, especially with prolonged periods of exercise. Possible heat exhaustion signs and symptoms include:

  • Cool, moist skin with goose bumps when in the heat
  • Heavy sweating
  • Faintness
  • Dizziness
  • Fatigue
  • Weak, rapid pulse
  • Low blood pressure upon standing
  • Muscle cramps
  • Nausea
  • Headache

When to see a doctor

If you think you're experiencing heat exhaustion:

  • Stop all activity and rest
  • Move to a cooler place
  • Drink cool water or sports drinks

Contact your doctor if your signs or symptoms worsen or if they don't improve within one hour. If you are with someone showing signs of heat exhaustion, seek immediate medical attention if he or she becomes confused or agitated, loses consciousness, or is unable to drink. You will need immediate cooling and urgent medical attention if your core body temperature (measured by a rectal thermometer) reaches 104 F (40 C) or higher.

Causes

Your body's heat combined with environmental heat results in what's called your core temperature — your body's internal temperature. Your body needs to regulate the heat gain (and, in cold weather, heat loss) from the environment to maintain a core temperature that's normal, approximately 98.6 F (37 C).

Your body's failure to cool itself

In hot weather, your body cools itself mainly by sweating. The evaporation of your sweat regulates your body temperature. However, when you exercise strenuously or otherwise overexert in hot, humid weather, your body is less able to cool itself efficiently.

As a result, your body may develop heat cramps, the mildest form of heat-related illness. Signs and symptoms of heat cramps usually include heavy sweating, fatigue, thirst and muscle cramps. Prompt treatment usually prevents heat cramps from progressing to heat exhaustion.

You usually can treat heat cramps by drinking fluids or sports drinks containing electrolytes (Gatorade, Powerade, others), getting into cooler temperatures, such as an air-conditioned or shaded place, and resting.

Other causes

Besides hot weather and strenuous activity, other causes of heat exhaustion include:

  • Dehydration, which reduces your body's ability to sweat and maintain a normal temperature
  • Alcohol use, which can affect your body's ability to regulate your temperature
  • Overdressing, particularly in clothes that don't allow sweat to evaporate easily

Risk factors

Anyone can develop heat exhaustion, but certain factors increase your sensitivity to heat. They include:

  • Young age or old age. Infants and children younger than 4 and adults older than 65 are at higher risk of heat exhaustion. The body's ability to regulate its temperature isn't fully developed in the young and may be reduced by illness, medications or other factors in older adults.
  • Certain drugs. Medications that affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and respond appropriately to heat include some used to treat high blood pressure and heart problems (beta blockers, diuretics), reduce allergy symptoms (antihistamines), calm you (tranquilizers), or reduce psychiatric symptoms such as delusions (antipsychotics). Additionally, some illegal drugs, such as cocaine and amphetamines, can increase your core temperature.
  • Obesity. Carrying excess weight can affect your body's ability to regulate its temperature and cause your body to retain more heat.
  • Sudden temperature changes. If you're not used to the heat, you're more susceptible to heat-related illnesses, such as heat exhaustion. Traveling to a warm climate from a cold one or living in an area that has experienced an early heat wave can put you at risk of a heat-related illness because your body hasn't had a chance to get used to the higher temperatures.
  • A high heat index. The heat index is a single temperature value that considers how both the outdoor temperature and humidity make you feel. When the humidity is high, your sweat can't evaporate as easily and your body has more difficulty cooling itself, making you prone to heat exhaustion and heatstroke. When the heat index is 91 F (33 C) or higher, you should take precautions to keep cool.

Complications

Untreated, heat exhaustion can lead to heatstroke, a life-threatening condition that occurs when your core body temperature reaches 104 F (40 C) or higher. Heatstroke requires immediate medical attention to prevent permanent damage to your brain and other vital organs that can result in death.

Prevention

You can take a number of precautions to prevent heat exhaustion and other heat-related illnesses. When temperatures climb, remember to:

  • Wear loosefitting, lightweight clothing. Wearing excess clothing or clothing that fits tightly won't allow your body to cool properly.
  • Protect against sunburn. Sunburn affects your body's ability to cool itself, so protect yourself outdoors with a wide-brimmed hat and sunglasses and use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 15. Apply sunscreen generously, and reapply every two hours — or more often if you're swimming or sweating.
  • Drink plenty of fluids. Staying hydrated will help your body sweat and maintain a normal body temperature.
  • Take extra precautions with certain medications. Be on the lookout for heat-related problems if you take medications that can affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and dissipate heat.
  • Never leave anyone in a parked car. This is a common cause of heat-related deaths in children. When parked in the sun, the temperature in your car can rise 20 degrees Fahrenheit (more than 6.7 C) in 10 minutes.

    It's not safe to leave a person in a parked car in warm or hot weather, even if the windows are cracked or the car is in shade. When your car is parked, keep it locked to prevent a child from getting inside.

  • Take it easy during the hottest parts of the day. If you can't avoid strenuous activity in hot weather, drink fluids and rest frequently in a cool spot. Try to schedule exercise or physical labor for cooler parts of the day, such as early morning or evening.
  • Get acclimated. Limit time spent working or exercising in heat until you're conditioned to it. People who are not used to hot weather are especially susceptible to heat-related illness. It can take several weeks for your body to adjust to hot weather.
  • Be cautious if you're at increased risk. If you take medications or have a condition that increases your risk of heat-related problems, such as a history of previous heat illness, avoid the heat and act quickly if you notice symptoms of overheating. If you participate in a strenuous sporting event or activity in hot weather, make sure there are medical services available in case of a heat emergency.
Dec. 14, 2017
References
  1. Heat injury and heat exhaustion. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00319. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  2. Heat index. National Weather Service. http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/heat/heat_index.shtml. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  3. Walls RM, et al., eds. Heat illness. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  5. Extreme heat: A prevention guide to promote your personal health and safety. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  7. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed Oct. 29, 2017.
  8. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 30, 2017.