概述

曲霉病是由一种霉菌(真菌)引起的感染。曲霉菌感染引起的疾病通常影响呼吸系统,但其体征和严重程度差别很大。

引发疾病的霉菌,也就是曲霉,到处都是,无论室内还是室外。这种霉菌的菌株大多无害,但如果免疫功能低下或是有基础肺病或哮喘的患者吸入这些真菌芽孢,少数菌株会导致严重疾病。

芽孢会引发某些人的过敏反应。还有些人则会出现或轻或重的肺部感染。当感染扩散到血管或更大范围时,则会出现最严重的曲霉病: 侵袭性曲霉病。

根据曲霉病的类型,治疗可能包括观察和抗真菌药物,极少数情况下还会进行手术。

症状

根据发展出的疾病类型,曲霉病的体征和症状各不相同:

过敏反应

有些哮喘或囊性纤维化患者对曲霉菌过敏。这种疾病称为过敏性支气管肺曲霉病,其体征和症状包括:

  • 发热
  • 咳嗽可能带血或咳出痰栓
  • 哮喘加重

曲霉肿

某些慢性肺病,例如肺气肿、肺结核或晚期结节病,可能导致肺中形成气隙(空洞)。当患有肺空洞的人同时感染曲霉菌时,真菌纤维会进入空洞并长成缠绕在一起的团块(霉菌球),称为曲霉肿。

曲霉肿可能没有任何症状,或者仅在初期引起轻咳。但随着时间的推移,如果不加以治疗,曲霉肿可能导致慢性肺病这一基础病的恶化,并可能导致:

  • 咳嗽经常带血(咳血)
  • 哮鸣
  • 气短
  • 原因不明的体重减轻
  • 疲劳

侵袭性曲霉病

这是曲霉病的最严重形式。当感染从肺部快速蔓延至脑部、心脏、肾脏或皮肤时,会发生该病。侵袭性曲霉病仅会发生于因癌症化疗、骨髓移植或免疫系统疾病导致免疫功能低下的人群中。若不治疗,这种形式的曲霉病可能会致命。

症状和体征取决于受影响的器官,但侵袭性曲霉病通常可引起:

  • 发热和寒战
  • 咳嗽带血(咯血)
  • 气短
  • 胸部疼痛或关节疼痛
  • 头痛或眼部症状
  • 皮损

其他类型的曲霉病

曲霉菌可侵袭肺部以外的其他身体部位,例如鼻窦。在鼻窦中,真菌感染会导致鼻塞,有时鼻流出物带血。也可能发热、脸痛和头痛。

何时就诊

如果您患有哮喘或囊性纤维化,只要您发现呼吸变化就请立即就医。虽然曲霉病可能不是诱因,但对评估呼吸问题非常重要。

如果您免疫系统功能减弱,出现原因不明的发热、气短或咳血,请立即就医。如患有侵袭性曲霉病,及时治疗至关重要。在有些情况下,一旦怀疑有曲霉病,甚至在检测确诊前,就要开始使用抗真菌药进行治疗。

病因

曲霉菌无法避免。在户外,腐烂的叶子和堆肥以及植物、树木和谷物中都有曲霉菌。

对于免疫系统健康的人来说,每天接触曲霉菌极少会成为问题。吸入霉菌孢子后,免疫系统细胞会包围并消灭它们。但是对于免疫系统因疾病或使用免疫抑制剂药物而削弱的人来说,抗感染的细胞会比较少。这会让曲霉菌占据上风,侵袭肺部,严重时甚至会侵袭身体其他部位。

曲霉病不会在人际传播。

风险因素

您患曲霉病的风险取决于您的整体健康状况和您接触霉菌的程度。一般来说,这些因素使您更容易受到感染:

  • 免疫功能低下。接受移植手术(尤其是骨髓或干细胞移植)后服用免疫抑制药物的人,或患有某些血液癌症的人,患侵袭性曲霉病的风险最高。艾滋病晚期患者也可能面临更大的风险。
  • 白细胞水平低。化疗、器官移植或白血病患者的白细胞水平较低,使他们更易患侵袭性曲霉病。患有慢性肉芽肿病(一种影响免疫系统细胞的遗传性疾病)也是如此。
  • 肺空洞。肺部有空隙(空洞)的人患曲霉病的风险更高。
  • 哮喘或囊性纤维化。哮喘和囊性纤维化患者,尤其是那些肺部问题长期存在或难以控制的人,更容易对曲霉菌产生过敏反应。
  • 长期使用皮质类固醇治疗。长期使用皮质类固醇可能增加机会性感染的风险,这取决于正在治疗的基础疾病和正在使用的其他药物。

并发症

根据感染类型的不同,曲霉病会引起各种严重并发症:

  • 出血。曲霉菌球和侵袭性曲霉病会引起重度肺出血,有时会危及生命。
  • 全身性感染。侵袭性曲霉病最严重的并发症是感染扩散至身体其他部位,尤其是脑、心脏和肾脏。侵袭性曲霉病可以迅速扩散,并可能危及生命。

预防

完全避免接触曲霉菌几乎不可能,但如果您已做过移植手术或者正在接受化疗,请尽量远离那些可能让您接触到曲霉菌的地方,例如建筑工地、堆肥区和储藏粮食的建筑物。如果您的免疫系统变弱,医生可能会建议您佩戴口罩,避免接触曲霉菌和空气中的其他传染源。

Jan. 06, 2022
  1. Aspergillosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/fungal/diseases/aspergillosis/index.html. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  2. Kauffman CA. Diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  3. Ferri FF. Aspergillosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  4. Patterson TF. Treatment and prevention of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  5. Patterson TF, et al. Practice guidelines for the diagnosis and management of aspergillosis: 2016 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Infectious Diseases. 2016; doi:10.1093/cid/ciw326.
  6. Kauffman CA, et al. Epidemiology and clinical manifestations of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  7. Denning DW, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic pulmonary aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  8. Allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/related-conditions/allergic-bronchopulmonary-aspergillosis. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Aspergillosis is an infection caused by a type of mold. The illnesses resulting from aspergillosis usually affect the respiratory system, but their signs and severity vary greatly.

The mold that triggers the illnesses, aspergillus, is everywhere — indoors and outdoors. Most strains of this mold are harmless, but a few can cause serious illnesses when people with weakened immune systems, underlying lung disease or asthma inhale their spores.

In some people, the spores trigger an allergic reaction. Other people develop mild to serious lung infections. The most serious form of aspergillosis — invasive aspergillosis — occurs when the infection spreads to blood vessels and beyond.

Depending on the type of aspergillosis, treatment may involve observation, antifungal medications or, in rare cases, surgery.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of aspergillosis vary with the type of illness you develop:

Allergic reaction

Some people with asthma or cystic fibrosis have an allergic reaction to aspergillus. Signs and symptoms of this condition, known as allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis, include:

  • Fever
  • A cough that may bring up blood or plugs of mucus
  • Worsening asthma

Aspergilloma

Certain chronic lung (pulmonary) conditions, such as emphysema, tuberculosis or advanced sarcoidosis, can cause air spaces (cavities) to form in the lungs. When people with lung cavities are also infected with aspergillus, fungus fibers may find their way into the cavities and grow into tangled masses (fungus balls) known as aspergillomas. Aspergillomas may produce no symptoms or cause only a mild cough at first. Over time and without treatment, however, aspergillomas can worsen the underlying chronic lung condition and possibly cause:

  • A cough that often brings up blood (hemoptysis)
  • Wheezing
  • Shortness of breath
  • Unintentional weight loss
  • Fatigue

Invasive aspergillosis

This is the most severe form of aspergillosis. It occurs when the infection spreads rapidly from the lungs to the brain, heart, kidneys or skin. Invasive pulmonary aspergillosis occurs only in people whose immune systems are weakened as a result of cancer chemotherapy, bone marrow transplantation or a disease of the immune system. Untreated, this form of aspergillosis may be fatal.

Signs and symptoms depend on which organs are affected, but in general, invasive aspergillosis can cause:

  • Fever and chills
  • A cough that brings up blood (hemoptysis)
  • Shortness of breath
  • Chest or joint pain
  • Headaches or eye symptoms
  • Skin lesions

Other types of aspergillosis

Aspergillus can invade areas of your body other than your lungs, such as your sinuses. In your sinuses, the fungus can cause a stuffy nose sometimes accompanied by drainage that may contain blood. Fever, facial pain and headache may also occur.

When to see a doctor

If you have asthma or cystic fibrosis, see your doctor whenever you notice a change in your breathing. Although aspergillosis may not be the cause, it's important to have breathing problems evaluated.

If you have a weakened immune system and develop an unexplained fever, shortness of breath or a cough that brings up blood, get immediate medical care. In the case of invasive aspergillosis, prompt treatment is crucial. In some cases, treatment with antifungal medication begins as soon as aspergillosis is suspected, even before testing has pinpointed the diagnosis.

Causes

Aspergillus mold is unavoidable. Outdoors, it's found in decaying leaves and compost and on plants, trees and grain crops.

Everyday exposure to aspergillus is rarely a problem for people with healthy immune systems. When mold spores are inhaled, immune system cells surround and destroy them. But people who have a weakened immune system from illness or immunosuppressant medications have fewer infection-fighting cells. This allows aspergillus to take hold, invading the lungs and, in the most serious cases, other parts of the body.

Aspergillosis is not contagious from person to person.

Risk factors

Your risk of developing aspergillosis depends on your overall health and the extent of your exposure to mold. In general, these factors make you more vulnerable to aspergillosis:

  • Weakened immune system. People taking immune-suppressing drugs after undergoing transplant surgery — especially bone marrow or stem cell transplants — or people who have certain cancers of the blood are at highest risk of invasive aspergillosis. People in the later stages of AIDS also may be at increased risk.
  • Low white blood cell level. People who have had chemotherapy, an organ transplant or leukemia have lower white cell levels, making them more susceptible to invasive aspergillosis. So does having chronic granulomatous disease — an inherited disorder that affects immune system cells.
  • Lung cavities. People who have air spaces (cavities) in their lungs are at higher risk of developing aspergillomas.
  • Asthma or cystic fibrosis. People with asthma or cystic fibrosis, especially those whose lung problems are long-standing or hard to control, are more likely to have an allergic response to aspergillus mold.
  • Long-term corticosteroid therapy. Long-term use of corticosteroids may increase the risk of aspergillosis and similar infections, depending on the underlying disease being treated and what other drugs are being used.

Complications

Depending on the type of infection, aspergillosis can cause a variety of serious complications:

  • Bleeding. Both aspergillomas and invasive aspergillosis can cause severe bleeding in your lungs.
  • Systemic infection. The most serious complication of invasive aspergillosis is the spread of the infection to other parts of your body, especially your brain, heart and kidneys. Invasive aspergillosis spreads rapidly and may be fatal.

Prevention

It's nearly impossible to avoid exposure to aspergillus, but if you have had a transplant or are undergoing chemotherapy, try to stay away from places where you're likely to encounter mold, such as construction sites, compost piles and buildings that store grain. If you have a weakened immune system, your doctor may advise you to wear a face mask to avoid being exposed to aspergillus and other airborne infectious agents.

Aug. 24, 2018
References
  1. Aspergillosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/fungal/diseases/aspergillosis/. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  2. Kauffman CA, et al. Diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  3. Ferri FF. Aspergillosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2019. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  4. Kauffman CA, et al. Treatment and prevention of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  5. Patterson TF, et al. Practice guidelines for the diagnosis and management of aspergillosis: 2016 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Infectious Diseases. 2016;63:433.
  6. Kauffman CA, et al. Epidemiology and clinical manifestations of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  7. Denning DW, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic pulmonary aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  8. Allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/related-conditions/allergic-bronchopulmonary-aspergillosis. Accessed July 26, 2018.