نظرة عامة

داء الرشاشيات هو عدوى تحدُث نتيجة نوع من العَفَن (فطريات). عادةً تُصيب الأمراض الناجمة عن عدوى الرشاشيات الجهاز التنفُّسي، لكن تختلف حدة مُؤشِّرات المرض بشكل كبير.

يوجد العفن المُسبِّب للأمراض، الرشاشية، في كل مكان — بالداخل والخارج. أغلب حالات هذا العفن غير ضارة، لكن يُمكن أن يُسبِّب القليل منها أمراضًا خطيرة للمصابين بضعف الجهاز المناعي، أو الأمراض الرئوية الكامنة أو الربو عند استنشاق الأبواغ الفطرية.

عند بعض الأشخاص، تُحفِّز الأبواغ حدوث تفاعل أرجي. بينما يُصاب الآخرون بعدوى رئوية خفيفة إلى خطيرة. تحدُث أخطر أشكال داء الرشاشيات — داء الرشاشيات الغزوية — عندما تنتشر العدوى داخل الأوعية الدموية وخارجها.

وَفْقًا لنوع داء الرشاشيات، قد يتضمَّن العلاج المراقبة، أو العلاج بالأدوية المضادة للفطريات، أو الجراحة في الحالات النادرة.

الأعراض

تختلف علامات داء الرشاشيات وأعراضه باختلاف نوع المرض الذي يتطور:

رد الفعل التحسسي

يحدث لبعض المصابين بالربو أو التليف الكيسي تفاعل تحسُّسي تجاه عفن الرشاشيات. تتضمن علامات وأعراض هذه الحالة، المعروفة باسم داء الرشاشيات القصبي الرئوي التحسُّسي، ما يلي:

  • الحُمَّى
  • السعال الذي قد يُخرج الدم أو كتل المخاط
  • تفاقم الربو

ورم الرشَّاشِيَّات

يُمكن أن تتسبَّب حالات مرضية مزمنة تُصيب الرئة (رئوية) مثل النُّفاخ، أو داء السُّل أو الساركويد المتقدِّم في تكوين أحياز هوائية (التجاويف) بداخل الرئتين. عندما يُصاب الأشخاص ممن لديهم التجاويف الرئوية بداء الرشاشيات أيضًا، قد تجد ألياف الفطر طريقها بين التجاويف وتنمو لتكوين كتل متشابكة (كرات الفطر) تُعرف بورم الرشاشيات.

قد لا يصاحب ورم الرشاشيات ظهور أعراض أو تُسبِّب فقط السعال الخفيف في البداية. ومع ذلك، بمرور الوقت ومن دون العلاج، يُمكن أن تتفاقم حالة الرئة المرضية المزمنة الدفينة بسبب ورم الرشاشيات، ومن المحتمَل أن تُسبِّب:

  • سعال غالبًا يُؤدِّي إلى تقيُّؤ الدم (نفث الدم)
  • أزيز
  • ضيق النفس
  • فقدان الوزن غير المقصود
  • الإرهاق

داء الرشَّاشيَّات الغازي

يُعَد هذا النوع أسوأ أنواع داء الرشَّاشيَّات. وتحدث الإصابة عندما تنتقل العَدوى من الرئتين للمخ أو القلب أو الكلى أو الجلد. لا يُصيب داء الرشَّاشيَّات الغازي إلا الأشخاص الذين ضعُفت مناعتهم نتيجة الخضوع للمعالجة الكيميائية للسرطان أو عملية زراعة نخاع العظم أو أحد أمراض جهاز المناعة. وإذا لم يُعالج هذا النوع من داء الرشاشيَّات، فقد يصبح قاتلًا.

وتعتمد مؤشرات المرض وأعراضه على العضو المصاب، لكن بشكل عام يمكن أن يُسبب داء الرشَّاشيَّات الغازي ما يلي:

  • الحُمَّى والقشعريرة
  • سعال مصحوب بدم (نفث الدم)
  • ضيق النفس
  • ألم في الصدر أو المفاصل
  • نوبات صداع وألم في العين
  • آفات الجلد

أنواع أخرى من داء الرشَّاشيات

يُمكن أن يُهاجِم داء الرشَّاشيات أجزاءً أخرى من جسمك غير الرئتَين، مثل جيوبك الأنفيَّة. قد يتسبَّب الفِطر أحيانًا، عند مُهاجمتِه لجيوبك الأنفيَّة، في انسِداد الأنف مَصحوبًا برشحٍ مُختلِط بالدم. الحُمَّى، وألم في الوجه وقد تشعُر بالصَّداع.

متى تزور الطبيب؟

إذا كنت مُصابًا بالربو أو التليُّف الكيسي، فاستشِر طبيبك كلما لاحظت تغيُّرًا في تنفُّسك. بالرغم من أن داء الرشاشيات قد لا يكون السبب، فمن المهم الحصول على تقييم لمشاكل التنفُّس.

إن كان جهازك المناعي ضعيفًا ولديك حمى أو ضِيق نفس أو سعال دموي غير معروف السبب، فالتمِس رعاية طبية فورية. يُعَد العلاج الفوري أمرًا بالغ الأهمية في حالة داء الرشاشيات الغَزْوِيَّة. في بعض الحالات، يبدأ العلاج بالأدوية المضادة للفطريات بمجرد الاشتباه في الإصابة بداء الرشاشيات، حتى قبل أن يؤكِّد الفحص تشخيص الإصابة.

الأسباب

لا يُمكن تجنُّب الإصابة بعَفَن الرشاشيات. في الخارج، وُجِد هذا العفن في الأوراق المتحلِّلة والسماد العضوي، وعلى النباتات والأشجار ومحاصيل الحبوب.

نادرًا ما يكون التعرُّض لعَفَن الرشاشيات يوميًّا مشكلة للأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بجهاز مناعة صحي. عندما يتمُّ استنشاق جراثيم العَفَن، تُحيط خلايا جهاز المناعة بها وتدمِّرها. لكن الأشخاص الذين يعانون ضعفًا في جهاز المناعة بسبب المرض أو الأدوية المثبِّطة للمناعة لديهم خلايا أقل لمكافحة العدوى. يَسمح ذلك لعفن الرشاشيات بالاستقرار، وغزو الرئتين وأجزاء أخرى من الجسم، وذلك في الحالات الأكثر خطورة.

إن داء الرشاشيات ليس معديًا من شخص لآخر.

عوامل الخطر

تعتمد خطورة إصابتكَ بداء الرشاشيات على صحتكَ العامة ومدى تعرُّضكَ للعَفَن. بصفة عامة، تجعلكَ العوامل التالية أكثر عرضةً للعدوى:

  • ضعف الجهاز المناعي. الأشخاص الذين يتناولون الأدوية المثبِّطة للمناعة بعد الخضوع لجراحة زراعة الأعضاء — خاصة نخاع العظم أو زراعة الخلايا الجذعية — أو الأشخاص المصابون بأنواع معيَّنة من سرطانات الدم هم الأكثر عرضةً لخطر الإصابة بداء الرشاشيات الغزوية. يُمكن أيضًا أن يتعرَّض الأشخاص المصابون بالإيدز في المراحل المتأخِّرة لخطر متزايد.
  • انخفاض مستوى خلايا الدم البيضاء. خضوع الأشخاص للمعالجة الكيميائية، أو زرع الأعضاء أو الإصابة بابيضاض الدم وانخفاض مستويات خلايا الدم البيضاء يجعلهم أكثر عرضةً للإصابة بداء الرشاشيات الغزوية. وكذلك الإصابة بداء الورم الحبيبي المزمن — وهو اضطراب موروث يُؤثِّر على خلايا الجهاز المناعي.
  • التجاويف الرئوية. ويُعدُّ الأفراد الذين لديهم أحياز هوائية (التجاويف) أكثر عرضةً للإصابة بورم الرشاشيات.
  • الربو أو التليُّف الكيسي. يتعرَّض الأشخاص المصابون بالربو والتليُّف الكيسي، خاصة من لديهم مشكلات بالرئة لفترات طويلة أو السيطرة على الحالة بشكل أكبر لاستجابة أرجية عند التعرُّض لعفن الرشاشيات.
  • المعالجة باستخدام الكورتيكوستيرويدات لفترة طويلة. قد يَزيد استخدام الكورتيكوستيرويدات لفترة طويلة من خطر الإصابة بالعدوى الانتهازية، وَفْقًا لعلاج المرض الكامن والأدوية الأخرى المُستخدَمة.

المضاعفات

وفقًا لنوع العدوى، قد يسبب داء الرشاشيات العديد من المضاعفات الخطيرة:

  • النزيف. قد يسبب كل من أورام الرشاشيات وداء الرشاشيات الغازي نزيفًا حادًّا في الرئتين ومميتًا في بعض الأحيان.
  • العدوى المجموعية. أكثر مضاعفات داء الرشاشيات الغازي خطورة هو انتشار العدوى لأجزاء أخرى من الجسم، بالأخص الدماغ والقلب والكلى. ينتشر داء الرشاشيات الغازي بسرعة وقد يكون مميتًا.

الوقاية

من المستحيل تقريبًا تجنب التعرض لفطر الرشاشيات، ولكن إذا كنت قد خضعت لعملية زرع أو خضعت للعلاج الكيميائي، فحاول الابتعاد عن الأماكن التي من المحتمل أن تَجد بها عفونة، مثل مواقع البناء وأكوام السماد والمباني الخاصة بتخزين الحبوب. إذا كان لديك جهاز مناعي ضعيف، فقد يَنصحك طبيبك بارتداء قناع الوجه لتجنب التعرض لفطر الرشاشيات وغيرها من العوامل الهوائية المسببة للعدوى.

07/05/2020
  1. Aspergillosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/fungal/diseases/aspergillosis/index.html. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  2. Kauffman CA. Diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  3. Ferri FF. Aspergillosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  4. Patterson TF. Treatment and prevention of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  5. Patterson TF, et al. Practice guidelines for the diagnosis and management of aspergillosis: 2016 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Infectious Diseases. 2016; doi:10.1093/cid/ciw326.
  6. Kauffman CA, et al. Epidemiology and clinical manifestations of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  7. Denning DW, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic pulmonary aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  8. Allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/related-conditions/allergic-bronchopulmonary-aspergillosis. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.

داء الرشاشيات القصبي الرئوي التحسسي

Overview

Aspergillosis is an infection caused by a type of mold. The illnesses resulting from aspergillosis usually affect the respiratory system, but their signs and severity vary greatly.

The mold that triggers the illnesses, aspergillus, is everywhere — indoors and outdoors. Most strains of this mold are harmless, but a few can cause serious illnesses when people with weakened immune systems, underlying lung disease or asthma inhale their spores.

In some people, the spores trigger an allergic reaction. Other people develop mild to serious lung infections. The most serious form of aspergillosis — invasive aspergillosis — occurs when the infection spreads to blood vessels and beyond.

Depending on the type of aspergillosis, treatment may involve observation, antifungal medications or, in rare cases, surgery.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of aspergillosis vary with the type of illness you develop:

Allergic reaction

Some people with asthma or cystic fibrosis have an allergic reaction to aspergillus. Signs and symptoms of this condition, known as allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis, include:

  • Fever
  • A cough that may bring up blood or plugs of mucus
  • Worsening asthma

Aspergilloma

Certain chronic lung (pulmonary) conditions, such as emphysema, tuberculosis or advanced sarcoidosis, can cause air spaces (cavities) to form in the lungs. When people with lung cavities are also infected with aspergillus, fungus fibers may find their way into the cavities and grow into tangled masses (fungus balls) known as aspergillomas. Aspergillomas may produce no symptoms or cause only a mild cough at first. Over time and without treatment, however, aspergillomas can worsen the underlying chronic lung condition and possibly cause:

  • A cough that often brings up blood (hemoptysis)
  • Wheezing
  • Shortness of breath
  • Unintentional weight loss
  • Fatigue

Invasive aspergillosis

This is the most severe form of aspergillosis. It occurs when the infection spreads rapidly from the lungs to the brain, heart, kidneys or skin. Invasive pulmonary aspergillosis occurs only in people whose immune systems are weakened as a result of cancer chemotherapy, bone marrow transplantation or a disease of the immune system. Untreated, this form of aspergillosis may be fatal.

Signs and symptoms depend on which organs are affected, but in general, invasive aspergillosis can cause:

  • Fever and chills
  • A cough that brings up blood (hemoptysis)
  • Shortness of breath
  • Chest or joint pain
  • Headaches or eye symptoms
  • Skin lesions

Other types of aspergillosis

Aspergillus can invade areas of your body other than your lungs, such as your sinuses. In your sinuses, the fungus can cause a stuffy nose sometimes accompanied by drainage that may contain blood. Fever, facial pain and headache may also occur.

When to see a doctor

If you have asthma or cystic fibrosis, see your doctor whenever you notice a change in your breathing. Although aspergillosis may not be the cause, it's important to have breathing problems evaluated.

If you have a weakened immune system and develop an unexplained fever, shortness of breath or a cough that brings up blood, get immediate medical care. In the case of invasive aspergillosis, prompt treatment is crucial. In some cases, treatment with antifungal medication begins as soon as aspergillosis is suspected, even before testing has pinpointed the diagnosis.

Causes

Aspergillus mold is unavoidable. Outdoors, it's found in decaying leaves and compost and on plants, trees and grain crops.

Everyday exposure to aspergillus is rarely a problem for people with healthy immune systems. When mold spores are inhaled, immune system cells surround and destroy them. But people who have a weakened immune system from illness or immunosuppressant medications have fewer infection-fighting cells. This allows aspergillus to take hold, invading the lungs and, in the most serious cases, other parts of the body.

Aspergillosis is not contagious from person to person.

Risk factors

Your risk of developing aspergillosis depends on your overall health and the extent of your exposure to mold. In general, these factors make you more vulnerable to aspergillosis:

  • Weakened immune system. People taking immune-suppressing drugs after undergoing transplant surgery — especially bone marrow or stem cell transplants — or people who have certain cancers of the blood are at highest risk of invasive aspergillosis. People in the later stages of AIDS also may be at increased risk.
  • Low white blood cell level. People who have had chemotherapy, an organ transplant or leukemia have lower white cell levels, making them more susceptible to invasive aspergillosis. So does having chronic granulomatous disease — an inherited disorder that affects immune system cells.
  • Lung cavities. People who have air spaces (cavities) in their lungs are at higher risk of developing aspergillomas.
  • Asthma or cystic fibrosis. People with asthma or cystic fibrosis, especially those whose lung problems are long-standing or hard to control, are more likely to have an allergic response to aspergillus mold.
  • Long-term corticosteroid therapy. Long-term use of corticosteroids may increase the risk of aspergillosis and similar infections, depending on the underlying disease being treated and what other drugs are being used.

Complications

Depending on the type of infection, aspergillosis can cause a variety of serious complications:

  • Bleeding. Both aspergillomas and invasive aspergillosis can cause severe bleeding in your lungs.
  • Systemic infection. The most serious complication of invasive aspergillosis is the spread of the infection to other parts of your body, especially your brain, heart and kidneys. Invasive aspergillosis spreads rapidly and may be fatal.

Prevention

It's nearly impossible to avoid exposure to aspergillus, but if you have had a transplant or are undergoing chemotherapy, try to stay away from places where you're likely to encounter mold, such as construction sites, compost piles and buildings that store grain. If you have a weakened immune system, your doctor may advise you to wear a face mask to avoid being exposed to aspergillus and other airborne infectious agents.

Aug. 24, 2018
References
  1. Aspergillosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/fungal/diseases/aspergillosis/. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  2. Kauffman CA, et al. Diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  3. Ferri FF. Aspergillosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2019. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  4. Kauffman CA, et al. Treatment and prevention of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  5. Patterson TF, et al. Practice guidelines for the diagnosis and management of aspergillosis: 2016 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Infectious Diseases. 2016;63:433.
  6. Kauffman CA, et al. Epidemiology and clinical manifestations of invasive aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  7. Denning DW, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic pulmonary aspergillosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 26, 2018.
  8. Allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/related-conditions/allergic-bronchopulmonary-aspergillosis. Accessed July 26, 2018.