نظرة عامة

التقران السفعي هو مرض يتمثل في ظهور رقعة قشرية خشنة على الجلد تنشأ بعد سنوات من التعرض لأشعة الشمس. وهي في الأغلب تظهر على الوجه أو الشفتين أو الأذن أو ظهر اليدين أو الساعدين أو فروة الرأس أو الرقبة.

كما يُطلق على التقران السفعي مصطلح "التقران الشمسي"، وهو يكبر ببطء وعادةً لا يسبب ظهور أي علامات أو أعراض سوى رقعة أو بقعة صغيرة على الجلد. وتستغرق هذه الرقع سنواتٍ لكل تنشؤ، وعادة ما تظهر لأول مرة في الأشخاص الذين يتجاوز عمرهم 40 عامًا.

وهناك نسبة صغيرة من آفات التقران السفعي يمكن أن تتحول في نهاية المطاف إلى سرطان جلد. وبإمكانك الحد من خطر الإصابة بالتقران السفعي عن طريق التقليل من التعرض للشمس وحماية جلدك من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية.

الأعراض

تتضمن العلامات والأعراض للتقران السفعي ما يلي:

  • بقعة قشرية خشنة وجافة من الجلد، يبلغ قطرها عادة أقل من بوصة (1) واحدة (2.5 سنتيمتر)
  • رقعة مرتفعة قليلاً عن سطح الجلد أو نتوء على الطبقة العليا من الجلد
  • وفي بعض الحالات، سطح جلد به نتوءات قاسية
  • متعددة اللون مثل الوردي أو الأحمر أو البني
  • الشعور بحكة وحرقان في المنطقة المصابة

يوجد التقران السفعي بشكل أساسي في المناطق التي تتعرض للشمس، مثل الوجه والشفاه والأذن واليدين والساعدين وفروة الرأس والرقبة.

متى تزور الطبيب

قد يكون من الصعب التمييز بين البقع غير السرطانية والسرطانية. ولذلك من الأفضل أن يٌقيّم الطبيب تغييرات الجلد الجديدة — خاصةً إذا استمرت الآفات أو البقع في النمو أو النزف.

الأسباب

ينجم التقران السفعي نتيجة التعرض المتكرر أو الشديد للأشعة فوق البنفسجية، من الشمس أو أجهزة التسمير.

عوامل الخطر

قد يُصاب أي شخص بالتقران السفعي. لكن قد تزداد احتمالية إصابتك بالمرض إذا:

  • تجاوز سنهم 40 عامًا
  • يعيش في مناخ مشمس
  • لديه تاريخ من التعرض المتكرر أو الشديد للشمس أو حروق الشمس
  • لديه شعر أحمر أو أشقر، وعيون زرقاء أو فاتحة اللون
  • يصاب بالنمش أو تحترق بشرته عند التعرض للشمس
  • لديه تاريخ شخصي من التقران السفعي أو سرطان الجلد
  • لديه جهازًا مناعيًا ضعيفًا نتيجة للعلاج الكيميائي أو اللوكيميا أو فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية أو يتناول أدوية زرع أعضاء

المضاعفات

إذا تم معالجته في وقت مبكر، يمكن إزالة أو استئصال جميع آثار التقران السفعي قبل أن تتطور إلى سرطان الجلد. إذا ترك دون علاج، فقد تتطور بعض هذه البقع إلى سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية — وهو نوع من السرطان لا يهدد الحياة عادة إذا تم اكتشافه ومعالجته في وقت مبكر.

الوقاية

تُعد الوقاية من التقران السفعي مهمة لأن هذه الحالة يمكن أن تسبق الإصابة بالسرطان أو تكون شكلاً مبكرًا من أشكاله. وتُعد السلامة من الشمس ضرورية للمساعدة في الوقاية من الإصابة وإعادة حدوث رقعات وبقع التقران السفعي.

ينبغي اتباع الخطوات التالية لحماية البشرة من الشمس:

  • قلل من وقت تعرضك للشمس. ينبغي اجتناب الشمس في الوقت بين 10 صباحًا و2 مساءً. واجتناب البقاء في الشمس لفترات طويلة إلى أن تحدث الإصابة بحروق الشمس أو السفع. وكلتا الحالتين تؤديان إلى تلف البشرة مما يزيد خطورة إصابة الجلد بالتقران السفعي وسرطان الجلد. قد يسبب التعرض للشمس المتراكم مع مرور الوقت أيضًا التقران السفعي.
  • استخدام واقيًا من الشمس. يقلل الاستخدام اليومي لكريمات الوقاية من الشمس الإصابة بالتقران السفعي. وقبل قضاء الوقت في الأماكن المكشوفة، ينبغي وضع كريم الوقاية من الشمس واسع المفعول بدرجة حماية من الشمس (SPF) 15 على الأقل. توصِي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأمراض الجلدية (American Academy of Dermatology) باستخدام واقيات الشمس واسعة الطيف مقاومة للماء ذات عامل حماية من الشمس يصل إلى 30 على الأقل.

    ينبغي وضع كريم الوقاية من الشمس على كل البشرة المكشوفة واستخدام مرطب الشفاه معه على الشفتين. ينبغي وضع كريم الوقاية من الشمس قبل التعرُّض للشمس بمدة 15 دقيقة وإعادة وضعه كل ساعتين أو أكثر عند السباحة أو التعرُّق.

  • التغطية. للحماية الإضافية من الشمس، ينبغي ارتداء الملابس المنسوجة بإحكام التي تغطي الذراعين والساقين. كما ينبغي ارتداء قبعة عريضة الحواف والتي تحقق المزيد من الوقاية أكثر من قبعة كرة القاعدة أو الحاجب للشمس الخاصة بالجولف. كما يمكن أيضًا مراعاة ارتداء الملابس أو أدوات الخروج في الأماكن المكشوفة وخاصةً المصممة للوقاية من الشمس.
  • تجنب أجهزة تسمير البشرة. يؤدي التعرُّض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية من أجهزة تسمير البشرة إلى تلف الجلد بالقدر ذاته الذي تحققه سفعة التسمير من الشمس. وبسبب امتصاص الأشعة من أجهزة التسمير في وقت قصير، تكون عملية شيخوخة الجلد أسرع وتزيد خطورة الإصابة بالسرطان.
  • تفحَّص جلدك بانتظام وأبلغ الطبيب بالتغييرات التي تطرأ عليه. ينبغي تفحَّص الجلد كثيرًا بانتظام للكشف عن حالات النمو الجديدة بالجلد أو أيّ تغييرات في الشامات والنمش والنتوءات والوحمات الموجودة. استخدم المرايا، لتتحقق من وجهك، ورقبتك، وأذنك وفروة رأسك. ينبغي تفحَّص الأجزاء العلوية والسفلية للذراعين واليدين.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Goldsmith LA, et al., eds. Epithelial precancerous lesions. In: Fitzpatrick's Dermatology in General Medicine. 8th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  2. Padilla RS. Epidemiology, natural history and diagnosis of actinic keratosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  3. Wolff K, et al. Photosensitivity, photo-induced disorders and disorders by ionizing radiation. In: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2013. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 19, 2015.
  4. Actinic keratosis. American Academy of Dermatology. http://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/diseases-and-treatments/a---d/actinic-keratosis. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  5. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 21, 2016.
  6. Jorizzo J. Treatment of actinic keratosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  7. FDA sheds light on sunscreens. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm258416.htm. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Actinic keratosis. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2016.
  9. Habif TP. Light-related diseases and disorders of pigmentation. In: Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy. 6th ed. Maryland Heights, Mo.: Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 19, 2015.
  10. Sunscreen FAQs. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/media/stats/prevention-and-care/sunscreen-faqs. Accessed Sept. 26, 2016.
  11. Lebwohl M. Actinic keratosis. JAMA. 2016;315:1394.

Overview

An actinic keratosis (ak-TIN-ik ker-uh-TOE-sis) is a rough, scaly patch on your skin that develops from years of exposure to the sun. It's most commonly found on your face, lips, ears, back of your hands, forearms, scalp or neck.

Also known as a solar keratosis, an actinic keratosis enlarges slowly and usually causes no signs or symptoms other than a patch or small spot on your skin. These patches take years to develop, usually first appearing in people over 40.

A small percentage of actinic keratosis lesions can eventually become skin cancer. You can reduce your risk of actinic keratoses by minimizing your sun exposure and protecting your skin from ultraviolet (UV) rays.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of an actinic keratosis include:

  • Rough, dry or scaly patch of skin, usually less than 1 inch (2.5 centimeters) in diameter
  • Flat to slightly raised patch or bump on the top layer of skin
  • In some cases, a hard, wartlike surface
  • Color as varied as pink, red or brown
  • Itching or burning in the affected area

Actinic keratoses are found primarily on areas exposed to the sun, such as your face, lips, ears, hands, forearms, scalp and neck.

When to see a doctor

It can be difficult to distinguish between noncancerous spots and cancerous ones. So it's best to have new skin changes evaluated by a doctor — especially if a spot or lesion persists, grows or bleeds.

Causes

An actinic keratosis is caused by frequent or intense exposure to UV rays, from the sun or from tanning beds.

Risk factors

Anyone can develop actinic keratoses. But you may be more likely to develop the condition if you:

  • Are older than 40
  • Live in a sunny climate
  • Have a history of frequent or intense sun exposure or sunburn
  • Have red or blond hair, and blue or light-colored eyes
  • Tend to freckle or burn when exposed to sunlight
  • Have a personal history of an actinic keratosis or skin cancer
  • Have a weak immune system as a result of chemotherapy, leukemia, AIDS or organ transplant medications

Complications

If treated early, almost all actinic keratoses can be cleared up or removed before they develop into skin cancer. If left untreated, some of these spots may progress to squamous cell carcinoma — a type of cancer that usually isn't life-threatening if detected and treated early.

Prevention

Prevention of actinic keratoses is important because the condition can precede cancer or be an early form of skin cancer. Sun safety is necessary to help prevent development and recurrence of actinic keratosis patches and spots.

Take these steps to protect your skin from the sun:

  • Limit your time in the sun. Especially avoid time in the sun between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. And avoid staying in the sun so long that you get a sunburn or a suntan. Both result in skin damage that can increase your risk of developing actinic keratoses and skin cancer. Sun exposure accumulated over time may also cause actinic keratoses.
  • Use sunscreen. Daily use of sunscreen reduces the development of actinic keratoses. Before spending time outdoors, apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen with a sun protection factor (SPF) of at least 15. The American Academy of Dermatology recommends using a broad-spectrum, water-resistant sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30.

    Use sunscreen on all exposed skin, and use lip balm with sunscreen on your lips. Apply sunscreen 15 minutes before sun exposure and reapply it every two hours or more often if you swim or sweat.

  • Cover up. For extra protection from the sun, wear tightly woven clothing that covers your arms and legs. Also wear a broad-brimmed hat, which provides more protection than does a baseball cap or golf visor. You might also consider wearing clothing or outdoor gear specially designed to provide sun protection.
  • Avoid tanning beds. The UV exposure from a tanning bed causes just as much skin damage as a tan acquired from the sun. And because the radiation of a tanning bed is absorbed in a short time, the photoaging process is accelerated and increases your risk of skin cancer.
  • Check your skin regularly and report changes to your doctor. Examine your skin regularly, looking for the development of new skin growths or changes in existing moles, freckles, bumps and birthmarks. With the help of mirrors, check your face, neck, ears and scalp. Examine the tops and undersides of your arms and hands.
Nov. 17, 2017
References
  1. Goldsmith LA, et al., eds. Epithelial precancerous lesions. In: Fitzpatrick's Dermatology in General Medicine. 8th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  2. Padilla RS. Epidemiology, natural history and diagnosis of actinic keratosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  3. Wolff K, et al. Photosensitivity, photo-induced disorders and disorders by ionizing radiation. In: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2013. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 19, 2015.
  4. Actinic keratosis. American Academy of Dermatology. http://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/diseases-and-treatments/a---d/actinic-keratosis. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  5. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 21, 2016.
  6. Jorizzo J. Treatment of actinic keratosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  7. FDA sheds light on sunscreens. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm258416.htm. Accessed Aug. 5, 2016.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Actinic keratosis. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2016.
  9. Habif TP. Light-related diseases and disorders of pigmentation. In: Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy. 6th ed. Maryland Heights, Mo.: Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 19, 2015.
  10. Sunscreen FAQs. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/media/stats/prevention-and-care/sunscreen-faqs. Accessed Sept. 26, 2016.
  11. Lebwohl M. Actinic keratosis. JAMA. 2016;315:1394.