الأبحاث

يتعاون أطباء العيون واختصاصيو الأذن والأنف والحنجرة في مايو كلينك من أجل تحقيق أفضل النتائج الممكنة.

يلتزم مزودو الرعاية والعلماء في قسم طب العيون في مايو كلينك بإيجاد أفضل الخيارات للمصابين باختلال في الرؤية. وينفذ علماء مايو كلينك مجموعة كبيرة من الاستراتيجيات البحثية على العديد من أمراض العيون لضمان حصول المرضى على أحدث العلاجات المتوفرة وأكثرها فعالية.

يشارك أطباء العيون في قسم طب العيون في كل مستوى من مستويات البحث. ففي المختبر، يحدد الباحثون بالتفصيل الجانب الفيسيولوجي الدقيق للوظائف الطبيعية للعينين والأمراض المرتبطة بالعين والرؤية. ويفحصون كذلك طبيعة وظائف الخلايا في العينين وكيف تنظمها الجينات.

أما على المستوى التحليلي، فيسعى الأطباء إلى تحسين العلاجات سواءً كانت جراحية أو غير جراحية. وينجحون في ذلك عن طريق تطوير أدوية جديدة وتحليل أفضل الطرق للإجراءات الجراحية وإجراءات الزراعة.

عندما يكون أحد الأدوية المبشرة جاهزًا للتقديم إلى المريض، فإن باحثي مايو كلينك يجرون تجارب سريرية عليه لقياس فعاليته على المريض.

من الميزات الرئيسية للجهود البحثية في مجال طب العيون في مايو كلينك، قدرة العلماء على الاستفادة من البنية التحتية الضرورية والاختصاصيين. على سبيل المثال؛ يمكن للباحثين في طب العيون التعاون مع اختصاصيي الإحصاء الحيوي وعلماء الأوبئة للاستفادة من نظام السجلات الطبية القوي الذي تملكه مايو كلينك. ومن ثم، يمكنهم التعاون معاً لإجراء دراسات شاملة وبأثر رجعي لاكتساب فهم أفضل للمسار الطبيعي لمرض العين والنتائج طويلة الأجل لعلاجه والتوجهات الظاهرة في وتيرة المرض الذي يصيب العين.

تشمل مكونات البنية التحتية الضرورية الأخرى ما يلي:

يتعاون باحثو مايو كلينك في كل مرحلة من مراحل البحث مع الزملاء والمؤسسات في مختلف أنحاء الولايات المتحدة والعالم.

لقد أتاح نجاح الجهود البحثية لمايو كلينك في طب العيون لها تمويلاً مستمرًا منذ عقود من المؤسسات الصحية الوطنية الأمريكية ومؤسسة أبحاث للوقاية من العمى وغيرها من الجهات والمؤسسات الخيرية.

برامج الأبحاث

برنامج أبحاث القرنية

يدرس برنامج أبحاث القرنية الأمراض والعلاجات المرتبطة بالقرنية، ومنها:

  • زراعة القرنية وهي إجراء شائع يتميز بمعدلات نجاح عالية. يدرس الباحثون ميزات هذا الإجراء وعيوبه مقارنة بغيره من العلاجات، ومن يمكنه الاستفادة منه على أفضل وجه.
  • حثل فوكس هو مرض موروث شائع يصيب البطانة الداخلية للقرنية وهي الجزء المسؤول عن الحفاظ على نقاء القرنية. ويسعى الباحثون إلى معرفة الجينات التي تسهم في الإصابة بحثل فوكس، وهو ما يمكن أن يؤدي في يوم ما إلى اكتشاف علاج جيني لهذا المرض.
  • تهدف أبحاث القرنية المختبرية إلى إيجاد طريقة فعالة لتجميد القرنيات، ما قد يؤدي إلى تكوين بنوك فعلية للعيون وزيادة القرنيات المتبرع بها.
  • تصحيح الإبصار بالليزر هو إجراء جراحي انتقائي، إلا أن نتائجه المحتملة طويلة الأجل ما زالت غير مفهومة بشكل كامل. بدأ باحثو مايو كلينك دراسة مجموعات صغيرة من المرضى الذين خضعوا للنوع الأكثر شيوعًا من الجراحة الانكسارية - تصحيح تحدُّب القرنية الليزري الموضعي (الليزك) وكشط القرنية الليزري - عندما ظهرت تلك الإجراءات لأول مرة منذ أكثر من 20 عامًا.
  • تقيَّم الوظائف البصرية في وحدة خدمات القرنية ومرض العين الخارجي التابعة لقسم أبحاث أمراض العيون في مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا. وتتمثل نتيجة التفاعلات المعقدة التي تجري في جميع طبقات العين والدماغ في القدرة على الرؤية. وتستكشف وحدة خدمات أمراض العين مدى تأثير القرنية على وظائف الرؤية إجمالاً.

برنامج أبحاث المياه الزرقاء

يسعى برنامج أبحاث المياه الزرقاء إلى ما يلي:

  • فهم الوظائف الفريدة للعين الطبيعية
  • تحديد التغيرات المرتبطة بضغط العين العادي والمرتفع
  • التعرف على التاريخ الطبيعي لهذا المرض المسبب للعمى
  • تطوير وتقييم علاجات المياه الزرقاء الموجودة والجديدة

يركز البحث على فهم سبب ارتفاع ضغط العين لدى المرضى المصابين بالمياه الزرقاء، وسبب حدوث تفاوتات في ضغط العين لدى الأشخاص المصابين بالمياه الزرقاء أو غير المصابين بها، والإجراءات الجراحية الجديدة التي تهدف إلى خفض ضغط العين، وفعالية العلاجات طويلة الأجل.

برنامج أبحاث ضعف البصر

يسعى برنامج أبحاث ضعف البصر إلى تحسين جودة حياة المرضى المصابين باختلالات الرؤية عن طريق استخدام مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب والتقنيات لمساعدتهم على الاستفادة من قدرتهم البصرية المتبقية. ويتمثل الهدف من البرنامج إتاحة الفرصة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف الرؤية ليتمكنوا من عيش حياة مستقلة ومنتجة.

يدرس البرنامج مدى تأثير خدمات إعادة تأهيل الرؤية على جودة الحياة، ويسعى الباحثون إلى إيجاد طرق لتقييم المكاسب التي تحققت في وظائف البصر تقييمًا أفضل. وتساعد نتائج هذا العمل على تحديد الاستراتيجيات العلاجية المثلى، وبرامج إعادة التأهيل المنظمة الأكثر فعالية للمرضى، كل على حدة.

للاطلاع بمزيد من العمق على جميع الأنشطة البحثية لقسم طب العيون في مايو كلينك، يمكنك زيارة صفحة أبحاث قسم طب العيون.

راجع قائمة المنشورات التي أعدها أطباء مايو كلينك على موقع PubMed، وهو خدمة تقدمها المكتبة الوطنية الأمريكية للطب.

ملامح البحوث

10/11/2021

Research

Mayo Clinic ophthalmologists and ENT specialists collaborate to produce the best possible outcomes.

In Mayo Clinic's Department of Ophthalmology, care providers and scientists are dedicated to finding better options for people with vision impairments. Physician-scientists conduct a wide variety of research strategies across a spectrum of eye conditions to ensure patients have access to the latest, most-effective treatments available.

Eye specialists in the Department of Ophthalmology are involved at every level of research. In the lab, researchers detail the precise physiology of both normal eye functions and eye and vision diseases. They look at how cells function in each and how genes regulate them.

At the translational level, researchers seek to improve treatments, both surgical and nonsurgical. They do so by developing new drugs and analyzing best methods for surgical and transplant procedures.

When a promising treatment is ready to be introduced to the patient, Mayo Clinic researchers conduct clinical trials to measure the new treatment's effectiveness.

A key advantage of Mayo Clinic's ophthalmology research efforts is the scientist's access to vital infrastructure and specialists. For instance, ophthalmology researchers can work with biostatisticians and epidemiologists to leverage Mayo Clinic's extensive medical record-keeping system. Together, they can conduct comprehensive, retrospective studies to better understand the natural course of eye disease, the long-term outcomes of disease treatment and trends in the frequency of eye-related illness.

Other vital infrastructures include:

Through every stage of research, Mayo Clinic researchers work with colleagues and institutions throughout the country and the world.

The success of Mayo Clinic's ophthalmology research efforts have earned it decades-long funding from the National Institutes of Health as well as from the organization Research to Prevent Blindness and other private benefactors and foundations.

Research programs

Cornea Research Program

The Cornea Research Program examines diseases and treatments related to the cornea, including:

  • Cornea transplantation, a common procedure with a high success rate. Researchers examine its advantages and disadvantages compared to other treatments and who best benefits from the procedure.
  • Fuchs' dystrophy, a common inherited disease that affects the inner lining of the cornea (corneal endothelium) that is responsible for maintaining the cornea's clarity. Investigators are seeking to identify genes that contribute to Fuchs' dystrophy, which may, one day, lead to a gene therapy.
  • Laboratory cornea research is aimed at developing an effective way to freeze corneas, which would lead to true eye banking and an increase in available donor corneas.
  • Laser vision correction is a common elective surgery, though its potential long-term consequences are not yet fully understood. Mayo Clinic researchers began studying a small group of patients who had the most common types of refractive surgery — LASIK and photorefractive keratectomy (PRK) — when the procedures were first introduced more than 20 years ago.
  • Optical function is evaluated by the Cornea and External Eye Disease Service of the Department of Ophthalmology-Research at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. The ability to see is the result of complex interactions involving all layers of the eye and the brain. The eye disease service explores how the cornea contributes to overall visual function.

Glaucoma Research Program

The Glaucoma Research Program seeks to:

  • Understand the unique functions of the normal eye
  • Determine the changes associated with normal and elevated intraocular pressure
  • Learn the natural history of this blinding disease
  • Develop and assess existing and new therapies to treat glaucoma

Research focuses on understanding why intraocular pressure is higher in patients with glaucoma, why intraocular pressure variations occur in people with and without glaucoma, new surgical procedures to reduce intraocular pressure, and the effectiveness of long-term treatments.

Low Vision Research Program

The Low Vision Research Program seeks to improve the quality of life for patients with visual impairments by applying a variety of techniques and technologies to help people use their remaining vision. The goal is for people with impaired vision to lead independent, productive lives.

The program examines how vision rehabilitation services affect quality of life, and researchers seek to develop methods to better assess the measured gains in visual function. Results of this work help determine which treatment strategies work the best and which structured rehabilitation programs are most effective for individual patients.

For a deeper look into all of Mayo Clinic Ophthalmology research activities, visit the Department of Ophthalmology-Research page.

See a list of publications by Mayo Clinic doctors on PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine.

Research Profiles

Sept. 04, 2021