Alfonso (Sebastian) S. Lopez Chiriboga, M.D.


  1. Jacksonville, Florida



المواعيد الطبية

Sebastian Lopez, M.D., is a board certified neurologist, with specialty interest in autoimmune neurological diseases. Dr. Lopez evaluates and treats a broad spectrum of inflammatory disorders that affect the central nervous system. Dr. Lopez did his Neurology residency at Mayo Clinic Florida (2013-2017), where he served as Chief Resident for administration (2016-2017). After graduation, he did a 1 year fellowship in Autoimmune Neurology (2017-2018) and he then completed another fellowship in Neuroimmunology/Multiple Sclerosis (2018-2019) at Mayo Clinic Rochester; he holds the academic rank of Assistant Professor of Neurology.

His research and clinical interest focuses on characterizing the neurologic phenotypes, radiographic biomarkers treatments and outcomes of patients with neuroimmunological disorders and he aspires to develop better treatments for autoimmune neurological disorders.

In addition to his clinical activities, Dr. Lopez is active in research and education. He mentors residents and medical students, Dr. Lopez authors expert content and has published multiple articles in high-impact scientific journals.

His clinical focus includes:

  • Expertise in management of multiple autoimmune neurological disorders autoimmune diseases
  • Complex coordination of care and diagnosis with a multi-disciplinary team of experts

Professional highlights:

  • Recipient, travel award, American Neurological Association annual meeting, 2018.
  • Recipient, Mayo International Health Program Scholarship, 2018.
  • Recipient, Department of Neurology Annual Research Award, 2019.
  • Recipient, travel award, The European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS) meeting 2019.
  1. Autoimmune encephalopathy
  2. Autoimmune epilepsy
  3. Chorea
  4. Demyelinating disease
  5. Multiple sclerosis
  6. Neuromyelitis optica
  7. Neurosarcoidosis
  8. Paraneoplastic syndromes of the nervous system
  9. Transverse myelitis
  • Autoimmune encephalopathy and dementia
  • Transverse myelitis and spinal cord disorders
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders
  • Paraneoplastic and autoimmune neurological disorders
  1. 2019
    FellowRST Multiple Sclerosis, Programs in Rochester, Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
  2. 2018
    FellowRST Autoimmune Neurology, Programs in Rochester, Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
  3. 2017
    Administrative Chief ResidentDepartment of Neurology, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
  4. 2016
    ResidencyDepartment of Neurology, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
  5. 2014
    InternshipDepartment of Internal Medicine, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
  6. 2010
    MDUniversidad Internacional Del Ecuador


  1. 2017
    NeurologyAmerican Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Awards and honors

  1. 2019
    Travel award for The European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS) meeting 2019European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS)
  2. 2019
    Department of Neurology Annual Research AwardMayo Clnic
  3. 2019
    Awarded a $2500 scholarship to help support an international rotation to Cambodia Phnom Penh - Mayo International Health Program Mayo Clinic
  4. 2018
    Travel award for 143th American Neurological Association annual meeting American Neurological Association
  5. 2018
    Mayo International Health Program ScholarshipMayo Clnic
  6. 2017
    Selected for 12th Annual MASTER MS Fellowship Program The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers
  7. 2010
    Magna Cum Laude. Universidad Internacional Del Ecuador
  8. 2010
    Travel Grant Program for outstanding academic performance Universidad Internacional Del Ecuador
  9. 2004
    Outstanding Academic Performance Full rights scholarshipUniversidad Internacional Del Ecuador

Professional memberships

  1. 2021 - present
    Committee and Subcommittee MemberAmerican Academy of Neurology
  2. 2021 - present
    Administrative CommitteeCenter for Multiple Sclerosis and Autoimmune Neurology