妙佑医疗国际早期执行手术的历史照片。

妙佑医疗国际:信任、希望、科学

妙佑医疗国际深度观察,从前和现在

妙佑医疗国际很荣幸能在 PBS 纪录片《妙佑医疗国际:信仰 — 希望 — 科学》中亮相。这部时长两小时的纪录片由肯·伯恩斯担任执行制片,由伯恩斯、埃里克·尤尔斯和克里斯托弗·罗兰·尤尔斯执导,于 2018 年秋季在美国公共广播公司(PBS)播出。

PBS 摘要

该影片中对 John McCain 和 Dalai Lama 等患者进行了采访,讲述了英国移民 William Worrall Mayo 的故事,他从 19 世纪末开始在明尼苏达州罗切斯特与儿子 Will 和 Charlie 一起行医。

1883 年,一场致命的龙卷风摧毁了他们的小型社区。Mayo 一家人引领救助工作,并请临近的圣方济各修女会帮助照看病人。之后,修道院院长 Alfred Moes 告诉 Mayo 医生,她从上帝那里得到神示,指示她建造一所医院并由 Mayo 医生担任院长。她相信该医院将创造“世界闻名的医学艺术”。

“妙佑医疗国际:信仰—希望—科学”将历史叙事与当代患者故事相结合,可让旁观者及时了解该机构如何满足 150 年来不断变化的医学研究、教育和医疗保健需求,以及了解患者今天面临的挑战。

访问 PBS.org 了解更多信息

带插图配套书

《妙佑医疗国际:信心-希望-科学》编年史记述了妙佑医疗国际的历史,从它最初如何起源于一位乡村医生和一群圣方济会修女间几乎不可能的伙伴关系,到现今在患者护理、研究和教育领域的领军地位。

纪录片配套书的封面图像。

现在就买下这本书

了解更多关于妙佑医疗国际的历史

Historical photo of an early Mayo Clinic surgery being performed.

The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science

An in-depth look at Mayo Clinic, then and now

Mayo Clinic is honored to be featured in the PBS documentary "The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science." This two-hour documentary, executive-produced by Ken Burns and directed by Burns, Erik Ewers and Christopher Loren Ewers, aired on PBS in the fall of 2018.

PBS summary

Featuring interviews with patients including John McCain and the Dalai Lama, the film tells the story of William Worrall Mayo, an English immigrant who began practicing medicine with his sons Will and Charlie in the late 1800s in Rochester, Minnesota.

When a deadly tornado tore through their small community in 1883, the Mayos took charge of recovery efforts, enlisting the help of the nearby Sisters of Saint Francis to care for patients. Afterward, Mother Alfred Moes, the leader of the convent, told Dr. Mayo she had a vision from God that instructed her to build a hospital, with Dr. Mayo as its director. She believed it would become "world renowned for its medical arts."

Blending historical narrative with contemporary patient stories, "The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" is a timely look at how one institution has met the changing demands of medical research, education and health care for 150 years — and what that can teach us about the challenges patients face today.

Learn more at PBS.org

Now streaming on Netflix

"The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" is currently available to anyone with a Netflix subscription. Netflix subscribers can also download the film on their phone or tablet for offline streaming.

Illustrated companion book

Cover image for documentary companion book.

"The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" chronicles the history of Mayo Clinic, from its roots as an unlikely partnership between a country doctor and an order of Franciscan nuns to its position today as a leader in patient care, research and education.

Buy the book now

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's history