صورة تاريخية لجراحة مبكرة تتم في Mayo Clinic.

Mayo Clinic: الإيمان - الأمل - العلم

نظرة متعمقة على Mayo Clinic في الماضي والحاضر

تتشرّف Mayo Clinic بظهورها في الفيلم الوثائقي من إنتاج PBS ‏"The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" ‏(Mayo Clinic: الإيمان والأمل والعلم.) تم بث هذا الفيلم الوثائقي على شبكة قنوات الأفلام الوثائقية PBS في خريف 2018، وهو فيلم مدته ساعتين من إنتاج المُنتج المُنفِّذ كين برنز، وإخراج برنز وإريك إويرز وكريستوفر لورين إويرز.

مُلَخَّص خدمة البث العامة PBS

يَعرِض الفيلم مقابلات مع مرضى مثل جون ماكين ودالاي لاما، ويحكي قصة ويليام ورال مايو، وهو مهاجر إنجليزي بدأ ممارسة الطب مع ولديه ويل وتشارلي في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر في مدينة روتشستر، ولاية مينيسوتا.

عندما مَزَّق إعصار قاتل مجتمعهم الصغير في عام 1883، تولَّى المايوس مسؤولية جهود الشفاء، وطوَّعوا مساعدة أخوات القديس فرانسيس القريبين لرعاية المرضى. بعد ذلك، أخبرت الأم الفريد مويس، رئيسة الدير، الدكتورة مايو أنها رأت رؤيا من الله وفيها طُلِبَ منها بناء مستشفى، وأن يديرها الدكتور مايو. واعتقدَتْ أنه سيُصبح "عالِمًا مشهورًا بفنونه الطبية."

مزج الرواية التاريخية مع قصص المرضى المعاصرة، "عيادة Mayo Clinic: الإيمان- الأمل- العلم "هي نظرة حسنة التوقيت على كيفية تلبية مؤسسة واحدة للمتطلبات المتغيِّرة للبحث الطبي والتعليم والرعاية الصحية لمدة 150 عامًا - وما الذي يُمكِن أن نتعلَّمه من ذلك حول التحديات التي يُواجِهُها المرضى اليوم.

لمعرفة المزيد في PBS.org

نبث حاليًّا على نتفليكس

"Mayo Clinic: الإيمان - الأمل - العلوم" متاح حاليًّا لأي شخص لديه اشتراك في نتفليكس. يُمكن لمشتركي نتفليكس أيضًا تنزيل الفيلم على هواتفهم أو على الحاسوب اللوحي للبث دون اتصال بالإنترنت.

كتاب المعلومات المصوّر

صورة غلاف لكتاب مرافق توثيقي.

"Mayo Clinic: العقيدة - الأمل - العلوم" يسجّل تاريخMayo Clinic، من جذوره كشراكة غير متوقعة بين طبيب ريفي وطائفة من راهبات الفرنسيسكان إلى موقعه اليوم كرائد في مجال رعاية المرضى والبحث والتثقيف.

اشتر الكتاب الآن

اعرف المزيد عن تاريخ Mayo Clinic.

Historical photo of an early Mayo Clinic surgery being performed.

The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science

An in-depth look at Mayo Clinic, then and now

Mayo Clinic is honored to be featured in the PBS documentary "The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science." This two-hour documentary, executive-produced by Ken Burns and directed by Burns, Erik Ewers and Christopher Loren Ewers, aired on PBS in the fall of 2018.

PBS summary

Featuring interviews with patients including John McCain and the Dalai Lama, the film tells the story of William Worrall Mayo, an English immigrant who began practicing medicine with his sons Will and Charlie in the late 1800s in Rochester, Minnesota.

When a deadly tornado tore through their small community in 1883, the Mayos took charge of recovery efforts, enlisting the help of the nearby Sisters of Saint Francis to care for patients. Afterward, Mother Alfred Moes, the leader of the convent, told Dr. Mayo she had a vision from God that instructed her to build a hospital, with Dr. Mayo as its director. She believed it would become "world renowned for its medical arts."

Blending historical narrative with contemporary patient stories, "The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" is a timely look at how one institution has met the changing demands of medical research, education and health care for 150 years — and what that can teach us about the challenges patients face today.

Learn more at PBS.org

Now streaming on Netflix

"The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" is currently available to anyone with a Netflix subscription. Netflix subscribers can also download the film on their phone or tablet for offline streaming.

Illustrated companion book

Cover image for documentary companion book.

"The Mayo Clinic: Faith – Hope – Science" chronicles the history of Mayo Clinic, from its roots as an unlikely partnership between a country doctor and an order of Franciscan nuns to its position today as a leader in patient care, research and education.

Buy the book now

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's history