نظرة عامة

إذا سبق لك إنجاب طفل عن طريق الولادة القيصرية وحملتِ مرة أخرى، فلكِ أن تختاري ما بين تكرار الولادة القيصرية أو الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية (VBAC).

الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية خيار متاح بالنسبة للعديد من النساء. في الحقيقة، أظهرت الأبحاث التي أجريت على نساء حاولن تجربة الولادة الطبيعية التالية للقيصرية، أن 60% إلى 80% منهن حظين بولادة طبيعية ناجحة.

وبرغم ذلك، لا يصلح إجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية لكل النساء. قد تقلل عوامل معينة، مثل تندب الرحم مرتفع الخطورة، احتمال ترشحك للولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية وتجعلها خيارًا غير مناسب. لا تتيح العديد من المستشفيات إجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية نظرًا لأنه ليس لديها طاقم العاملين أو الموارد اللازمة لإدارة الولادة القيصرية الطارئة. إذا كنت تفكرين في تجربة الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية، يمكن لمزود الرعاية الصحية مساعدتك على فهم ما إذا كنت مرشحة لإجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية أم لا، وما تتضمنه.

لماذا يتم إجراء ذلك

تفكر النساء في إجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية لعدة أسباب، منها:

  • قصر فترة التعافي. ستكون فترة إقامتكِ في المستشفى بعد إجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد القيصرية أقصر من فترة الإقامة بعد تكرار الولادة القيصرية. وسوف يساعد تجنب الجراحة على استعادتك لأنشطتك العادية بصورة أسرع، فضلًا عن تقليل تكاليف الولادة.
  • فرصة لخطة ولادة وفق احتياجاتك الفردية. يمثل الخضوع للولادة الطبيعية لدى بعض النساء أهمية كبيرة.
  • التأثير على الحمل في المستقبل. إذا كنتِ تخططين لإنشاء عائلة أكبر، فإن الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) قد تساعدك على تجنب مخاطر الولادات القيصرية المتعددة، مثل التندب. يمكن للتندب أن يجعل من إجراء المزيد من الجراحات أمرًا صعبًا ويزيد من خطر المشكلات الـمَشيمية خلال فترات الحمل.
  • انخفاض مخاطر المضاعفات الجراحية. تتمتع الولادات الطبيعية بمعدلات أقل من حيث النزيف، والعدوى، والجلطات الدموية في واحد أو أكثر من الأوردة العميقة بالجسم (تجلط الأوردة العميقة)، وإصابة أعضاء البطن، مثل المثانة أو الأمعاء.

قد تكونين مرشحة للولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) إذا كنتِ:

  • حاملًا بطفل واحد، ولديكِ تاريخ لجراحة أو اثنتين من الولادة القيصرية المستعرضة السابقة في الجزء السفلي من الرحم، وليس لديكِ مشكلات تمنعك من الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC)
  • حاملًا بطفل واحد، ولديكِ تاريخ لعملية قيصرية واحدة بنوع غير معروف من شق الرحم، وليس لديكِ مشكلات تمنعك من خوض الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) — ما لم يُشتبه بخضوعك مسبقًا لشق عمودي في الجزء العلوي من الرحم (شق جراحي تقليدي)
  • حاملًا بتوأمين، ولديكِ تاريخ بولادة قيصرية بشق مستعرض في الجزء السفلي من الرحم، وكنتِ مرشحة بخلاف ذلك لولادة التوأمين طبيعيًا

لن تكوني مرشحة لخوض الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) إذا خضعتِ للتالي:

  • شق عمودي سابق في الجزء العلوي من الرحم (شق جراحي تقليدي)
  • نوع غير معروف من شق رحمي سابق ويُشتبه في كونه شقًّا عموديًّا سابقًا في الجزء العلوي من الرحم (شق جراحي تقليدي)
  • تمزق رحمي سابق
  • أنواع معينة من الجراحة الرحمية السابقة، مثل استئصال الأورام الليفية

لن يعرض عليكِ بعض مزودي خدمات الرعاية الصحية الخضوع للولادة الطبيعية التالية للقيصرية، إذا كنتِ قد خضعتِ لأكثر من ولادتين قيصريتين سابقتين. لا تُعد الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) عمومًا خيارًا إذا كنتِ حاملًا بتوأم ثلاثي أو توائم متعددة.

تشمل العوامل التي تخفض من احتمالية الخضوع للولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC) ما يلي:

  • تعثر المخاض
  • تأخر سن الإنجاب
  • استمرار فترة الحمل لأكثر من 40 أسبوعًا
  • مؤشر كتلة الجسم أكبر من أو يساوي 40 (السمنة المفرطة للأمهات)
  • الزيادة المفرطة في الوزن خلال فترة الحمل
  • مرحلة ما قبل تسمم الحمل
  • حدوث ولادة سابقة خلال 18 شهرًا
  • تاريخ من الولادة القيصرية مرتين أو أكثر ولم يسبق لكِ أي ولادة طبيعية
  • الحاجة إلى تحفيز المخاض

المخاطر

بينما تقترن الولادة الطبيعية التالية للقيصرية بمضاعفات أقل من التكرار الاختياري للولادة القيصرية، فإن التجربة الفاشلة للولادة الطبيعية بعد العملية القيصرية ترتبط بقدر أكبر من المضاعفات، بما في ذلك، تمزُّق الرحم. إذا تمزق رحمك خلال المخاض، فسيلزم إجراء ولادة قيصرية طارئة، لمنع المضاعفات التي تهدد الحياة، مثل النزف الشديد للأم. قد يلزم إزالة الرحم (استئصال الرحم) إذا كان التمزُّق معقدًا أو لإيقاف النزف. ولن تتمكني من الحمل مرة أخرى، في حالة إزالة رحمك.

كيف تستعد

إذا تم إجراء عملية قيصرية مسبقًا وكنتِ حاملًا، فقد تبدئين بالتحدث عن الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية أثناء الزيارة الأولى لما قبل الولادة. تناقشي مع مزود الرعاية الصحية عن حالتك وتوقعاتك. تأكدي من أن يكون لديه تاريخك المرضي الكامل، بما في ذلك سجلات العمليات القيصرية السابقة وأي عمليات رحمية أخرى. قد يستعين مزود الرعاية الصحية بتاريخك المرضي لتقدير احتمالية نجاح إجراء ولادة مهبلية بعد القيصرية. من المهم الاستمرار في مناقشة مخاطر الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية وفوائدها طوال فترة الحمل، ولا سيما في حالة ظهور عوامل خطر معينة.

إذا اخترتِ إجراء الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية، فاحرصي على تعزيز فرص المرور بتجربة إيجابية من خلال ما يلي:

  • تعرّفي على إجراء الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية. التحقي بأحد الندوات الخاصة بالولادة للتعرف على إجراء الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية.
  • خطّطي لأن تكون الولادة في مستشفى مجهز جيدًا. خطّطي لإجراء الولادة في منشأة مجهزة بما يلزم للتعامل مع حالات الولادة القيصرية الطارئة.
  • احرصي على بدء الولادة طبيعيًا، إذا كنتِ تستطيعين ذلك. فتحفيز المخاض أو زيادته يقلل من احتمالية إجراء الولادة المهبلية بعد القيصرية.
  • تحلي بالمرونة. قد تتطلب بعض مضاعفات الحمل أو الولادة إجراء عملية قيصرية. على سبيل المثال، قد تحتاجين إلى إجراء عملية قيصرية إذا كانت هناك مشكلة في المَشيمة أو الحبل السُري، أو كان الجنين في وضع غير طبيعي أو فشل استمرار الولادة.

ما يمكنك توقعه

إذا اخترت إجراء الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC)، فسوف تتبعين نفس الإجراء المستخدم في أي ولادة طبيعية. ومن المحتمل أن يوصي موفر الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك بمراقبة معدل ضربات قلب طفلك باستمرار وسيستعد لإجراء ولادة قيصرية متكررة إذا لزم الأمر.

11/06/2019
References
  1. Metz TD, et al. Choosing the route of delivery after cesarean birth. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 22, 2018.
  2. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) Committee on Practice Bulletins — Obstetrics. ACOG Practice Bulletin No. 184: Vaginal birth after cesarean delivery. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2017;130:e217.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  4. Frequently asked questions. Labor, delivery and postpartum care FAQ070. Vaginal birth after cesarean delivery. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Vaginal-Birth-After-Cesarean-Delivery. Accessed May 29, 2018.

إمكانية الولادة الطبيعية بعد الولادة القيصرية (VBAC)

Overview

If you've delivered a baby by C-section and you're pregnant again, you might be able to choose between scheduling a repeat C-section or a vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC).

For many women, VBAC is an option. In fact, research on women who attempt a trial of labor after cesarean (TOLAC) shows that about 60 to 80 percent have a successful vaginal delivery.

VBAC isn't right for everyone, though. Certain factors, such as a high-risk uterine scar, can lower your likelihood of VBAC and make the option inappropriate. Some hospitals don't offer VBAC because they don't have the staff or resources to handle emergency C-sections. If you're considering VBAC, your health care provider can help you understand if you're a candidate and what's involved.

Why it's done

Women consider VBAC for various reasons, including:

  • Shorter recovery time. You'll have a shorter hospital stay after a VBAC than you would after a repeat C-section. Avoiding surgery will help you resume your normal activities sooner, as well as reduce the expense of childbirth.
  • Opportunity for an individualized birth plan. For some women, it's important to experience a vaginal delivery.
  • Impact on future pregnancies. If you're planning to have a larger family, VBAC might help you avoid the risks of multiple cesarean deliveries, such as scarring. Scarring might make additional surgery difficult and increase the risk of placental problems in pregnancies.
  • Lower risk of surgical complications. Vaginal deliveries have lower rates of bleeding, infection, blood clotting in one or more of the deep veins in the body (deep vein thrombosis), and injury to abdominal organs, such as the bladder or bowel.

You might be a candidate for VBAC if you are:

  • Pregnant with one baby, have a history of one or two prior low transverse C-sections, and have no problems that would prevent VBAC
  • Pregnant with one baby, have a history of one prior C-section with an unknown type of uterine incision, and have no problems that would prevent VBAC — unless it's suspected that you had a prior high vertical (classical) uterine incision
  • Pregnant with twins, have a history of one prior low transverse C-section, and are otherwise a candidate for a twin vaginal delivery

You're not a candidate for VBAC if you have had:

  • A prior high vertical (classical) uterine incision
  • An unknown type of prior uterine incision and it's suspected that it was a high vertical (classical) incision
  • A prior uterine rupture
  • Certain types of prior uterine surgery, such as fibroid removal

Some health care providers won't offer VBAC if you've had more than two prior C-sections. VBAC also generally isn't an option if you are pregnant with triplets or higher order multiples.

Factors that decrease the likelihood of VBAC include:

  • Stalled labor
  • Advanced maternal age
  • Pregnancy that continues past 40 weeks
  • Body mass index greater than or equal to 40 (severe maternal obesity)
  • Excessive weight gain during pregnancy
  • Preeclampsia
  • Previous delivery within 18 months
  • History of two or more prior C-sections and no vaginal deliveries
  • A need labor induction

Risks

While VBAC is associated with fewer complications than an elective repeat C-section, a failed trial of labor after cesarean (failed TOLAC) is associated with more complications, including, rarely, a uterine rupture. If your uterus tears open during labor, an emergency C-section is needed to prevent life-threatening complications, such as heavy bleeding for the mother. If the rupture is complex or to stop the bleeding, the uterus might need to be removed (hysterectomy). If your uterus is removed, you won't be able to get pregnant again.

How you prepare

If you've previously had a C-section and you're pregnant, you might begin talking about VBAC at your first prenatal visit. Discuss your concerns and expectations with your health care provider. Make sure he or she has your complete medical history, including records of your previous C-section and any other uterine procedures. Your health care provider might use your medical history to calculate the likelihood that you'll have a successful VBAC. It's important to continue discussing the risks and benefits of VBAC throughout pregnancy, especially if certain risk factors arise.

If you choose a VBAC, boost your odds of a positive experience:

  • Learn about VBAC. Take a childbirth class on VBAC.
  • Plan to deliver the baby at a well-equipped hospital. Look for a facility that's equipped to handle an emergency C-section.
  • Allow labor to begin naturally, if you can. Having labor induced or augmented decreases the likelihood of VBAC.
  • Be flexible. Some complications of pregnancy or labor might require a C-section. For example, you might need a C-section if there's a problem with the placenta or umbilical cord, your baby is in an abnormal position, or your labor fails to progress.

What you can expect

If you choose VBAC, when you go into labor you'll follow the same process that's used for any vaginal delivery. Your health care provider will likely recommend continuous monitoring of your baby's heart rate and be prepared to do a repeat C-section if needed.

July 06, 2018
References
  1. Metz TD, et al. Choosing the route of delivery after cesarean birth. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 22, 2018.
  2. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) Committee on Practice Bulletins — Obstetrics. ACOG Practice Bulletin No. 184: Vaginal birth after cesarean delivery. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2017;130:e217.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  4. Frequently asked questions. Labor, delivery and postpartum care FAQ070. Vaginal birth after cesarean delivery. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Vaginal-Birth-After-Cesarean-Delivery. Accessed May 29, 2018.

Vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC)