نظرة عامة

يعد الفحص الرباعي المعروف أيضًا — بفحص العلامة الرباعية، أو فحص الثلث الثاني، أو الفحص الرباعي — فحص ما قبل الولادة يقيس مستويات الأربع مواد في دم المرأة الحامل:

  • ألفا فيتو بروتين، بروتين يصدر عن الجنين
  • موجهة الغدد التناسلية المشيمائية البشرية (HCG)، هرمون يصدر عن المشيمة
  • الإستريول، هرمون يصدر عن المشيمة وكبد الطفل
  • الإنهيبين أ، هرمون يصدر عن المشيمة

من الناحية المثالية، يتم إجراء الفحص الرباعي بين الأسبوعين 15 و18 من الحمل — أثناء الثلث الثاني. ومع ذلك، يمكن القيام بهذا الإجراء حتى الأسبوع 22.

يستخدم الفحص الرباعي لتقييم ما إذا كان الحمل يزيد فرصة التأثر بحالات معينة مثل متلازمة داون أو عيوب الأنبوب العصبي. إذا كان احتمال التعرض للخطر لديكِ منخفضًا، يمكن أن يقدم الفحص الرباعي الطمأنينة بأنه توجد فرصة أقل للإصابة بمتلازمة داون، أو التثلث الصبغي 18، أو عيوب الأنبوب العصبي، أو عيوب جدار البطن.

إذا كان الفحص الرباعي يشير إلى زيادة الفرصة للإصابة بأي حالة من هذه الحالات، فقد تفكر في إجراء فحص أو اختبار إضافيين.

لماذا يتم إجراء ذلك

يقيّم الفحص الرباعي فرصة إنجاب طفل مصاب بإحدى الحالات التالية:

  • متلازمة داون (تثلث الصبغي 21). متلازمة داون هي اضطراب في الصبغيات يسبب إعاقة ذهنية مدى الحياة وتأخرًا في النمو، ويسبب مشكلات صحية في بعض الحالات.
  • تثلث الصبغي 18. هذا اضطراب يصيب الصبغيات ويسبب تأخرًا شديدًا في النمو وعيوبًا في بِنية الجسم. وغالبًا ما يكون تثلث الصبغي 18 مميتًا عندما يبلغ الطفل عامه الأول.
  • شلل الحبل الشوكي. شلل الحبل الشوكي هو عيب خلقي، يحدث عندما يفشل جزء من الأنبوب العصبي في النمو، أو لا يكتمل بشكل صحيح، مما يتسبب في حدوث عيوب في الحبل الشوكي وعظام العمود الفقري.
  • عيوب جدار البطن. بسبب تلك العيوب الخِلقية، تبرز أمعاء الطفل أو غير ذلك من أعضاء البطن عبر السُرة.

كان الفحص الرباعي عادةً أحد الفحوص شائعة الاستخدام في الثلث الثاني من الحمل. وقد كان يستخدم بصفة عامة إن بدأت رعاية ما قبل الولادة خلال الثلث الثاني من الحمل، أو إن لم يتوفر فحص الثلث الأول من الحمل، الذي يتضمن اختبارًا للدم وفحصًا بالموجات فوق الصوتية. قد يجمع مقدم الرعاية الصحية نتائج فحص الثلث الأول من الحمل مع الفحص الرباعي، لتحسين معدل رصد متلازمة داون.

يمثل فحص الحمض النووي الخالي من الخلايا طريقة أخرى قد يوصي بها مقدم الرعاية الصحية بدلاً من الفحص الرباعي. يرجى التحدث إلى مقدم الرعاية الصحية بشأن خيارات الفحص المتاحة لكِ.

لا تضمن نتيجة الفحص الرباعي السلبية أن المولود لن يكون مصابًا بعيوب في الصبغيات، أو باضطراب أحادي الجين، أو بعيوب خِلقية معينة. إن كانت نتيجة اختبار الفحص إيجابية، فسيوصي طبيبك باختبارات إضافية للتوصل إلى تشخيص.

فكري قبل الفحص فكري في مغزى النتائج بالنسبة إليك. فكري فيما إذا كان الفحص يستحق القلق الذي قد يسببه أم لا، أو ما إذا كان عليكِ التعامل مع الحمل بطريقة مختلفة حسب النتائج أم لا. كما يمكن التفكير بشأن مستوى الخطورة الذي يكون كافيًا بالنسبة لك لاختيار اختبار لاحق أكثر تدخلاً.

المخاطر

اختبار الفحص الرباعي هو اختبار الفحص السابق للولادة الروتيني. لا يشكل الاختبار خطر حدوث إجهاض أو مضاعفات للحمل الأخرى.

ومع ذلك، كما هو الحال مع اختبارات الفحص السابقة للولادة، يمكن لاختبار الفحص الرباعي أن يثير القلق بشأن نتائج الاختبار المحتملة وما قد تعنيه لطفلك.

كيف تستعد

قبل الاختبار، ربما تطلب منك مقدمة الرعاية الصحية مقابلة استشارية مختصة بطب الوراثة. أو ربما توفر مقدمة الرعاية الصحية المشورة الوراثية أثناء موعد الفحص الروتيني السابق للولادة.

ويمكنكِ تناول الطعام والشراب بطريقة طبيعية قبل الاختبار.

ما يمكنك توقعه

في أثناء إجراء الفحص الرباعي، يأخذ عضو من فريق الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك عينة من الدم عن طريق إدخال إبرة إلى وريد في ذراعك. يتم إرسال عينة الدم إلى أحد المختبرات لتحليلها. يمكنك العودة إلى ممارسة الأنشطة المعتادة على الفور.

النتائج

يقيس الفحص الرباعي مستويات البروتين الجنيني ألفا، ومُوَجِّهَة الغدد التناسلية المشيمائية البشرية، وبروتيني إستريول وإنهيبين "أ" في دم المرأة الحامل. سيسترشد مزود الرعاية الصحية بعمرك في الوقت المقدر للولادة ونتائج الفحص الرباعي لتقييم فرصتك في الحمل بطفل مصاب بأمراض صبغية معينة أو تشوهات في الأنبوب العصبي أو تشوهات في جدار البطن.

وتبين نتائج الفحص الرباعي مستوى خطورة الحمل بطفل يعاني من أمراض معينة مقارنة بالمخاطر العامة الشائعة لدى السكان المحليين. ويجب الوضع في الاعتبار أن الفحص الرباعي الموجب يعني ببساطة أن مستويات بعض المواد التي يقيسها الفحص في دمك أو كلها كانت خارج النطاق الطبيعي. تشمل العوامل التي يمكن أن تؤثر على المواد التي يقيسها الفحص الرباعي ما يلي:

  • خطأ في حساب مدة فترة الحمل
  • عِرق الأم
  • وزن الأم
  • الحمل بأكثر من جنين واحد
  • داء السكري
  • الإخصاب المخبري
  • التدخين خلال فترة الحمل

فإذا كانت نتائج الاختبار إيجابية لديكِ، فقد يوصي مزود الرعاية الصحية بإجراء تصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية للتحقق من عمر الحمل والتأكد من عدد الأجنة الذين تحملينهم.

يظهر الفحص الرباعي نتائج صحيحة لنسبة 80 بالمئة تقريبًا من النساء اللواتي يحملن بطفل مصاب بمتلازمة داون. وقد حصلت 5 بالمئة تقريبًا من النساء على نتيجة إيجابية زائفة؛ أي كانت نتيجة الاختبار تشير إلى إصابة الجنين بمتلازمة داون، لكنه غير مصاب بها بالفعل.

لذلك عند النظر في نتائج الاختبار، تذكري أن الفحص الرباعي لا يشير سوى إلى إجمالي احتمالية حملك جنينًا مصابًا بأمراض صبغية معينة أو تشوهات في الأنبوب العصبي أو تشوهات في جدار البطن. كما لا تضمن الاحتمالية المنخفضة (نتيجة الفحص السلبية) أن طفلك غير مصاب بأحد هذه الأمراض. والأمر نفسه بالنسبة للاحتمالية المرتفعة (نتيجة الفحص الإيجابية)، فهي لا تؤكِّد ولادة جنينك بأحد هذه الأمراض.

لذلك؛ قد تدفعك نتائج الفحص الإيجابية في أحيان كثيرة إلى النظر في إجراء اختبارات أخرى، مثل:

  • فحص الحمض النووي الخالي من الخلايا لمرحلة ما قبل الولادة. ويهدف اختبار الدم المتطور هذا إلى فحص الحمض النووي الخالي من الخلايا من المشيمة والجنين في مجرى دم الأم. وهو يقيِّم ما إذا كان جنينك معرضًا لخطر الإصابة بمتلازمة داون، أو النُّسخ الإضافية من الصبغي 13 (التثلث الصبغي 13)، أو النُّسخ الإضافية من الصبغي 18 (التثلث الصبغي 18)، أو اضطراب الصبغي الجنسي، مثل متلازمة تيرنر. قد لا توجد حاجة إلى إجراء اختبار تشخيصي متوغِّل خلال الحمل، إذا كانت النتيجة طبيعية.
  • التصوير الاستهدافي بالموجات فوق الصوتية. إذا كان لديك خطر مرتفع لإصابة جنينك بتشوهات الأنبوب العصبي، فقد يقترح عليكِ مزود الرعاية الصحية إجراء هذا الاختبار. التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية ليس من بين وسائل الفحص الفعالة للكشف عن متلازمة داون.
  • فحص عينة الزُّغابات المشيمائية. يمكن استخدام هذا الإجراء لتشخيص الأمراض الصبغية كمتلازمة داون. أثناء فحص عينة الزُّغابات المشيمائية، تُزال عينة من نسيج المشيمة لاختبارها. يحمل فحص عينة الزُّغابات المشيمائية خطورة طفيفة بحدوث إجهاض تلقائي، ولا يفيد في الكشف عن تشوهات الأنبوب العصبي، مثل السِنسِنَة المشقوقة.
  • سحب السائل السَّلَوِي. يمكن استخدام سحب السائل السَّلَوِي لتشخيص كل من الأمراض الصبغية وتشوهات الأنبوب العصبي. أثناء سحب السائل السَّلَوِي، تُؤخَذ عينة من السائل السَّلوي من الرحم لاختبارها. وكما هو الحال مع فحص عينة الزُّغابات المشيمائية، يحمل سحب السائل السَّلَوِي خطورة طفيفة بحدوث إجهاض تلقائي.

سيساعدكِ مزود الرعاية الصحية أو استشاري أمراض وراثية على فهم نتائج اختبارك، وما قد تعنيه هذه النتائج بالنسبة لحملكِ.

17/11/2020
  1. AskMayoExpert. Prenatal screening and testing. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  2. Frequently asked questions. Pregnancy FAQ 165. Prenatal genetic screening tests. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Prenatal-Genetic-Screening-Tests. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  3. Messerlian GM, et al. Down syndrome: Overview of prenatal screening. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  4. Prenatal care and tests. Office on Women's Health. https://www.womenshealth.gov/pregnancy/youre-pregnant-now-what/prenatal-care-and-tests. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  5. Messerlian GM, et al. Laboratory issues related to maternal serum screening for Down syndrome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  6. Facts about omphacele. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/omphalocele.html. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  7. Wick, MJ, ed. Genetic screening. In: Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy. 2nd ed. Mayo Clinic Foundation for Medical Education and Research. 2018. Accessed Oct. 18, 2018.

الفحص الرباعي

Overview

The quad screen — also known as the quadruple marker test, the second trimester screen or simply the quad test — is a prenatal test that measures levels of four substances in pregnant women's blood:

  • Alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), a protein made by the developing baby
  • Human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), a hormone made by the placenta
  • Estriol, a hormone made by the placenta and the baby's liver
  • Inhibin A, another hormone made by the placenta

Ideally, the quad screen is done between weeks 15 and 18 of pregnancy — during the second trimester. However, the procedure can be done up to week 22.

The quad screen is used to evaluate whether your pregnancy has an increased chance of being affected with certain conditions, such as Down syndrome or neural tube defects. If your risk is low, the quad screen can offer reassurance that there is a decreased chance for Down syndrome, trisomy 18, neural tube defects and abdominal wall defects.

If the quad screen indicates an increased chance of one of these conditions, you might consider additional screening or testing.

Why it's done

The quad screen evaluates your chance of carrying a baby who has any of the following conditions:

  • Down syndrome (trisomy 21). Down syndrome is a chromosomal disorder that causes lifelong intellectual disability and developmental delays and, in some people, health problems.
  • Trisomy 18. This is a chromosomal disorder that causes severe developmental delays and abnormalities in the structure of the body. Trisomy 18 is often fatal by age 1.
  • Spina bifida. Spina bifida is a birth defect that occurs when a portion of the neural tube fails to develop or close properly, causing defects in the spinal cord and in the bones of the spine.
  • Abdominal wall defects. In these birth defects, the baby's intestines or other abdominal organs stick through the belly button.

The quad screen has traditionally been one of the most commonly used screenings in the second trimester. It was generally used if prenatal care began during the second trimester or if first trimester screening, which involves a blood test and an ultrasound exam, wasn't available. Your health care provider might combine the results of first trimester screening with the quad screen to improve the detection rate of Down syndrome.

Prenatal cell-free DNA screening is another screening method that your health care provider might recommend in place of quad screening. Talk to your health care provider about your screening options.

A negative quad screen doesn't guarantee that the baby won't have a chromosomal abnormality, single-gene disorder or certain birth defects. If your screening test is positive, your doctor will recommend additional testing to make a diagnosis.

Before the screening, think about what the results mean to you. Consider whether the screening will be worth any anxiety it might cause, or whether you'll handle your pregnancy differently depending on the results. You might also consider what level of risk would be enough for you to choose a more invasive follow-up test.

Risks

The quad screen is a routine prenatal screening test. The test poses no risk of miscarriage or other pregnancy complications.

As with other prenatal screening tests, however, the quad screen can cause anxiety about the possible test results and what they might mean for your baby.

How you prepare

Before the test, your health care provider might ask you to meet with a genetic counselor. Or your health care provider might provide genetic counseling during your routine prenatal care appointment.

You can eat and drink normally before the test.

What you can expect

During the quad screen, a member of your health care team takes a sample of blood by inserting a needle into a vein in your arm. The blood sample is sent to a lab for analysis. You can return to your usual activities immediately.

Results

The quad screen measures levels of alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), estriol and inhibin A in pregnant women's blood. Your health care provider will use your age at the estimated time of delivery and the results of the quad screen to evaluate your chance of carrying a baby who has certain chromosomal conditions, neural tube defects or abdominal wall defects.

Quad screen results give the level of risk of carrying a baby who has certain conditions compared with the general population's risk. Keep in mind that a positive quad screen simply means that levels of some or all of the substances measured in your blood were outside the normal range. Factors that can affect the substances measured by a quad screen include:

  • A miscalculation of how long you've been pregnant
  • Maternal race
  • Maternal weight
  • Carrying more than one baby during a pregnancy
  • Diabetes
  • In vitro fertilization
  • Smoking during pregnancy

If your test results are positive, your health care provider might recommend an ultrasound to verify the baby's gestational age and confirm the number of babies you're carrying.

The quad screen correctly identifies about 80 percent of women who are carrying a baby who has Down syndrome. About 5 percent of women have a false-positive result, meaning that the test result is positive but the baby doesn't actually have Down syndrome.

When you consider your test results, remember that the quad screen only indicates your overall chance of carrying a baby who has certain chromosomal conditions, neural tube defects or abdominal wall defects. A decreased chance (negative screen result) doesn't guarantee that your baby won't have one of these conditions. Likewise, an increased chance (positive screen result) doesn't guarantee that your baby will be born with one of these conditions.

Often, positive screen results might cause you to consider other testing, such as:

  • Prenatal cell-free DNA screening. This sophisticated blood test examines cell-free DNA from the placenta and the fetus in the mother's bloodstream. It evaluates whether your baby is at risk of Down syndrome, extra sequences of chromosome 13 (trisomy 13), extra sequences of chromosome 18 (trisomy 18) or a sex chromosome abnormality, such as Turner syndrome. A normal result might eliminate the need for an invasive prenatal diagnostic test.
  • Targeted ultrasound. If you're at high risk of a neural tube defect, your health care provider might suggest this test. Ultrasound isn't an effective screening tool for Down syndrome.
  • Chorionic villus sampling (CVS). This procedure can be used to diagnose chromosomal conditions, such as Down syndrome. During CVS, a sample of tissue from the placenta is removed for testing. CVS poses a slight risk of miscarriage and isn't useful in detecting neural tube defects, such as spina bifida.
  • Amniocentesis. Amniocentesis can be used to diagnose both chromosomal conditions and neural tube defects. During amniocentesis, a sample of amniotic fluid is removed from the uterus for testing. Like CVS, amniocentesis poses a slight risk of miscarriage.

Your health care provider or a genetic counselor will help you understand your test results and what the results might mean for your pregnancy.

Nov. 08, 2018
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Prenatal screening and testing. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  2. Frequently asked questions. Pregnancy FAQ 165. Prenatal genetic screening tests. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Prenatal-Genetic-Screening-Tests. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  3. Messerlian GM, et al. Down syndrome: Overview of prenatal screening. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  4. Prenatal care and tests. Office on Women's Health. https://www.womenshealth.gov/pregnancy/youre-pregnant-now-what/prenatal-care-and-tests. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  5. Messerlian GM, et al. Laboratory issues related to maternal serum screening for Down syndrome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2018.
  6. Facts about omphacele. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/omphalocele.html. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  7. Wick, MJ, ed. Genetic screening. In: Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy. 2nd ed. Mayo Clinic Foundation for Medical Education and Research. 2018. Accessed Oct. 18, 2018.

Quad screen