阿尔茨海默病:应对家庭冲突

阿尔茨海默病可能会给家庭带来压力。一起解决冲突,以便您可以专注于重要的事情。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

当一名家庭成员被诊断为阿尔茨海默病或其他痴呆症时,对整个家庭的影响可能是巨大的。这种诊断可能引发一系列情绪,包括愤怒、恐惧、沮丧和忧伤。在治疗、护理、生活安排、财政和临终关怀方面也有许多决定。因此,家庭冲突很常见。

您的家庭也有自己的人际关系、角色和挑战史,这些历史会影响个人对诊断的反应以及成员如何看待他们在提供护理和支持方面所起的作用。

考虑促进合作以减少一些家庭冲突的策略。

分担责任

列出当前和预期的任务和职责。您不太可能平均分配照料,但一份完整的清单将帮助您考虑与每个家庭成员的偏好、资源、能力和情感能力相匹配的任务。

有些人可能会亲自护理或安排家庭成员搬去和他们一起住。其他人可能负责临时护理、做家务或跑腿。您的家人可能会指派人来处理财务或法律问题。有的人可能会研究护理设施。

定期开会

召开家庭会议,讨论护理和其他相关问题。通过定期开会,比如每月开会,您可以一次解决一些问题,避免长时间的会议让您精疲力竭,还可以为护理方面的任何变化做好更充分的准备。这些工作可以当面进行,也可以通过电话或视频会议进行。

邀请每一个护理团队的成员,包括家人、朋友和其他亲密接触者。在适当时候(如考虑到家庭护理)包括患有痴呆症的家庭成员。如果您不能解决分歧,可以考虑邀请社会工作者或牧师来帮助促成会议。

开会之前创建议程并共享。明确会议的目的是评估护理和需求,确定问题,并考虑解决方案。对您从未考虑过的妥协和可能性持开放的态度。

结束家庭会议时要清楚地了解已经达成的协议,每个人都同意做什么,以及未来需要解决什么。您可以为不能参加会议的家庭成员制作会议摘要或录音。

诚实沟通

在家庭会议和非正式谈话中,以开放、建设性方式,说出自己的感受。如果感到生气或有压力,请宣泄出来。

从“我”出发表达感受,不要责怪或羞辱别人。例如,可以说:“我感觉自己的日程安排太满,对爸爸的约诊事项感到不知所措”,不要说:“你不理解爸爸给你安排的日程。”

也要聆听家人的感受。

不要批评

有很多“正确”的方式来提供护理。尊重每位照料者的能力、风格和价值观。尤其要支持负责日常动手护理的家庭成员。

考虑咨询

即使家庭照料者进行有效沟通与合作,您可能仍然需要帮助,以便解决矛盾或应对压力。您可以加入痴呆症照料者互助组、寻求家庭咨询或寻求医疗护理团队的建议。

解决矛盾有助于继续更重要的事情:关心家人和共度时光。

June 24, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Alzheimer's: Dealing with family conflict

Alzheimer's disease can cause stress for families. Work through conflicts together so that you can focus on what's important.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

When a family member is diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or other dementia, the effect on your entire family can be overwhelming. The diagnosis can trigger a range of emotions — including anger, fear, frustration and sadness. There also are many decisions to make about treatment, care, living arrangements, finances and end-of-life care. As a result, family conflicts are common.

Your family also has its own history of relationships, roles and challenges that can affect how individuals react to a diagnosis and how members see their roles in providing care and support.

Consider strategies that promote cooperation to lessen some family conflicts.

Share responsibility

Make a list of current and anticipated roles and responsibilities. It's unlikely that you'll divide caregiving evenly, but a thorough list will help you consider roles that match each family member's preferences, resources, abilities and emotional capacity.

Some might provide hands-on care or make arrangements for the family member to move in with them. Others might be responsible for respite care, household chores or errands. Your family might designate someone to handle financial or legal issues. One person might research care facilities.

Meet regularly

Hold family meetings to discuss care and other relevant issues. By meeting regularly, such as monthly, you can address a few concerns at a time, avoid burnout with long meetings and be more prepared for any changes in care. These can be done in person or via phone or video conference.

Invite everyone who's part of the caregiving team, including family friends and other close contacts. When appropriate, such as with concerns about in-home care, include the family member with dementia. If you can't resolve disagreements, consider inviting a social worker or clergy member to help facilitate a meeting.

Create an agenda and share it before you meet. Make it clear that the goal of a meeting is to evaluate care and needs, identify problems, and consider solutions. Be open to compromise and possibilities you hadn't considered.

End family meetings with a clear understanding of what has been agreed upon, what each person has agreed to do and what needs to be addressed in the future. You might create a summary of a meeting or an audio recording for family members who can't attend.

Communicate honestly

Talk about your feelings in an open, constructive manner during family meetings and informal conversations. If you're angry or stressed, say so.

Express your feelings without blaming or shaming anyone else by using "I" statements. For example, you might say, "I'm feeling overwhelmed with juggling my own schedule and dad's appointments," rather than, "You don't understand what it's like to manage dad's schedule."

Listen to other family members feelings too.

Don't criticize

There are many "right" ways to provide care. Respect each caregiver's abilities, style and values. Be especially supportive of family members responsible for daily, hands-on care.

Consider counseling

Even with effective communication and cooperation among family caregivers, you may need help resolving conflicts or coping with stress. You might join a support group for dementia caregivers, seek family counseling or ask for advice from your medical care team.

Working through conflicts can help you move on to more important things — caring for your family member and enjoying your time together.

Oct. 06, 2018 See more In-depth