ما المدة التي يمكنني فيها تناول حبوب منع الحمل؟

إجابة من إيفون باتلر توباه، (دكتور في الطب)

ما دمتِ بصحة جيدة عمومًا، يمكنكِ تناول حبوب منع الحمل طيلة فترة احتياجك لمنع الحمل أو حتى تصلي إلى سن الإياس. ينطبق ذلك على حبوب منع العمل التي تحتوي على مزيج من الإستروجين والبروجيستين وتلك التي لا تحتوي سوى على البروجيستين.

ومع ذلك، فإن بعض الظروف الصحية تزيد من خطر استخدام حبوب منع الحمل المحتوية على الإستروجين. خلال مراحل حياتك المختلفة ومع تقدمك في العمر، قد تمرين بأوقات لا يُنصح فيها بتناول الحبوب المحتوية على الإستروجين. على سبيل المثال، قد يوصي طبيبك باتباع وسيلة تنظيم نسل مختلفة في الحالات التالية:

  • إذا كنت مدخنة بعمر 35 سنة أو أكثر
  • قد أنجبتِ مؤخرًا
  • إذا كنت مصابة باضطراب تخثر الدم، أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم الخارج عن السيطرة، أو بعض مشاكل القلب أو الأوعية الدموية، أو سرطان الثدي، أو بعض مشاكل الكبد، أو مرض المرارة، أو الصداع النصفي المصحوب بأَوْرَة، أو الذئبة، أو أصبتِ بالسكري لمدة طويلة، أو كنت مصابة بمضاعفات السكري

يبدو أن حبوب المقتصرة على البروجستين بديل آمن للعديد من النساء اللاتي لا يستطعن استخدام حبوب منع الحمل التي تحتوي على الإستروجين بسبب أحد الحالات المذكورة أعلاه. مثل حبوب منع الحمل المقتصرة على الإستروجين، قد لا يُنصح باستخدام الحبوب المقتصرة البروجستين من قِبَل السيدات المصابات بسرطان الثدي أو بعض مشاكل الكبد.

إن تناول حبوب منع الحمل قد يقلل من خطر الإصابة بأنواع معينة من السرطان. على سبيل المثال، تناوُلُ أيٍ من نوعَيْ حبوب منع الحمل المذكورة قد يقلل من خطر الإصابة بسرطان بطانة الرحم. وقد تقلل حبوب منع الحمل المحتوية على الإستروجين من خطر الإصابة بسرطان المبيض وسرطان القولون والمستقيم.

من ناحية أخرى، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الاستخدام طويل الأمد لحبوب منع الحمل المحتوية على الإستروجين يرتبط بزيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم. ويزداد هذا الاحتمال كلما طالت مدة استخدام حبوب منع الحمل. ولكن بمجرد التوقف عن تناول الحبوب، يبدأ خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم في الانخفاض. بعد حوالي 10 سنوات من إيقاف حبوب منع الحمل، يعود خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم إلى نفس المستوى الذي ينطبق على للنساء اللاتي لم يسبق لهن تناوُل حبوب منع الحمل.

إن تأثير حبوب منع الحمل المتضمنة للإستروجين على خطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي غير واضح. تشير بعض الأبحاث إلى أن حبوب منع الحمل المحتوية على الإستروجين تزيد قليلاً من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي — لكن بعد 10 سنوات أو أكثر من التوقف عن تناول حبوب منع الحمل، تعود مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي إلى نفس المستوى المعهود لدى السيدات اللاتي لم يتناولن حبوب منع الحمل مطلقًا. لم تثبت الدراسات الأخرى وجود رابط بين حبوب منع الحمل المحتوية على الإستروجين وسرطان الثدي.

لا يبدو أن الحبوب المقتصرة على البروجستين تؤثر على خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم أو سرطان الثدي.

إن التوقف من حينٍ لآخر عن تناول حبوب منع الحمل غير مفيد، وقد يزيد من خطر الإصابة بتجلطات الدم واحتمال حدوث حمل غير مرغوب به. إذا كنتِ مهتمة بالاستخدام طويل المدى لحبوب منع الحمل، فناقشي المخاطر والفوائد مع مزود الرعاية الصحية. حيث بإمكانه أيضًا مساعدتك على الموازنة بين إيجابيات وسلبيات أنواع أخرى من وسائل منع الحمل.

With

إيفون باتلر توباه، (دكتور في الطب)

28/01/2020 See more Expert Answers

How long can I safely take birth control pills?

Answer From Yvonne Butler Tobah, M.D.

As long as you are generally healthy, you can safely take birth control pills for however long you need birth control or until you reach menopause. This applies to both combination estrogen-progestin and progestin-only birth control pills.

However, certain health conditions increase the risk of using estrogen-containing birth control pills. Throughout your lifetime and as you age, there may be times when estrogen-containing pills aren't recommended. For example, your doctor may recommend another form of birth control if you:

  • Are a smoker age 35 or older
  • Have just given birth
  • Have a blood-clotting disorder, uncontrolled high blood pressure, certain heart or blood vessel problems, breast cancer, certain liver problems, gallbladder disease, migraines with aura, lupus, prolonged diabetes or complications from diabetes

Progestin-only pills appear to be a safe alternative for many women who can't use estrogen-containing birth control pills due to one of the conditions listed above. Like estrogen-containing pills, progestin-only pills may not be recommended for women who have breast cancer or certain liver problems.

Taking birth control pills may decrease the risk of certain types of cancer. For example, taking either type of birth control pill may decrease the risk of endometrial cancer. And estrogen-containing birth control pills may decrease the risk of ovarian cancer and colorectal cancer.

On the other hand, research suggests that long-term use of estrogen-containing birth control pills is associated with an increased risk of cervical cancer. This risk increases the longer you take the pills. But once you stop taking the pills, the risk of cervical cancer begins to decline. Approximately 10 years after stopping birth control pills, cervical cancer risk returns to the same level as for women who have never taken birth control pills.

The effect of estrogen-containing birth control pills on breast cancer risk isn't clear. Some research indicates that taking estrogen-containing birth control pills slightly increases the risk of breast cancer — but that 10 or more years after stopping the pills, breast cancer risk returns to the same level as for women who have never taken birth control pills. Other studies don't support a link between estrogen-containing birth control pills and breast cancer.

Progestin-only pills don't appear to affect the risk of cervical cancer or breast cancer.

Taking an occasional break from birth control pills offers no benefits and may increase the risk of blood clots or unintended pregnancy. If you're concerned about long-term use of birth control pills, discuss the risks and benefits with your health care provider. He or she can help you weigh the pros and cons of other types of contraception as well.

With

Yvonne Butler Tobah, M.D.

Jan. 28, 2020 See more Expert Answers