فريق Mighty Docs

يوفر نظام Mayo Clinic الصحي تجربة سلسة للمريض في حال وجدت حالة طوارئ على الجليد، ما ينتج عنه نتيجة إيجابية.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

لم يتوقع أعضاء Mighty Docs الانخراط فجأة في أدوار الحياة الحقيقية إلا بعد مواجهة حالة طوارئ طبية وسط المباراة.

كانت أمسية جميلة للعبة الهوكي في ألتونا بولاية ويسكونسن، امتلأت فيها الحلبة الجليدية بأصوات الحواف الصلبة المنزلقة على الجليد وقرع العصيّ وأصوات الارتطام بالألواح. ولكن في الاستراحة الثانية في هذه المباراة الجماعية الترفيهية، تغير كل شيء.

فقد سقط أحد اللاعبين وهو يجلس للاستراحة على المقعد بين الأشواط. لقد أصيب بنوبة قلبية.

لم يكن هذا تجمعًا عاديًا في رياضة الهوكي. فقد كانت ألتونا المقر الأساسي لفريق الهوكي المعروف باسم Mighty Docs. أسس الجميعة الخيرية أطباء النظام الصحي في مايو كلينك في أوكلير، مركز المنظومة في شمال غرب ويسكونسن.

وعندما سقط اللاعب، لم تكن خدمات الرعاية الطبية الطارئة بعيدة عنه. وتولى اثنان من زملائه في الفريق مهمة إسعافه.

بدأ دون دي ديكستر، دكتور الطب اختصاصي الأعصاب، وباتريك إل روبيرتس، الحاصل على الدكتوراة في الطب ورئيس قسم طب الأرجل - وكلاهما يعمل في النظام الصحي في مايو كلينك، في أو كلير - إجراء الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي وإزالة الرجفان باستخدام جهاز إزالة الرجفان الخارجي الخاص بالحلبة الجليدية. وقد أحضرت الشرطة التي وصلت إلى موقع الحادثة جهازًا ثانيًا من أجهزة إزالة الرجفان الأوتوماتيكية.

يقول دكتور ديكستر: "لا أعلم ما إذا كنت أفكر أم لا، صدقًا. فأنت في تلك اللحظة تتحول إلى وضع الاختصاصي السريري وتحاول إنعاش المريض وإعادته إلى وعيه مرة أخرى.

وعندما لم تُجدِ الصدمة الأولى، عصف ذلك بكل آمالنا، لكننا لم نكن على استعداد للاستسلام". قاموا بتهيئة جهاز آخر لإزالة الرجفان. يضيف: "نجحت الصدمة الثانية، وانتقلت الحالة من البؤس البالغ والقلق الشديد من أنه لن ينجو إلى مرحلة تنطوي على بعض التفاؤل المقعول."

وصلت سيارة إسعاف ومسعفون إلى المكان ونقلوا المريض. وبعد وقت قصير كان اللاعب في حالة مستقرة في النظام الصحي في مايو كلينك في أوكلير.

قول د. روبيرتس: "أظهرت التجربة إجمالاً مدى ما يمكن أن يحققه التعاون من نتائج إيجابية. فبفضل العمل الجماعي من كل لاعبي Mighty Docs وحتى المسعفين الطبيين من ألتونا والأطباء في النظام الصحي في مايو كلينك، ما زال زميلنا على قيد الحياة لمواجهة تحديات يوم جديد."

كان شعار فريق Mighty Docs دائمًا "إنها أكثر من لعبة." ولهذا جمعت الجمعية خلال عقدين من لحظة ميلادها أكثر من 120000 دولار للأعمال الخيرية وأبحاث السرطان.

يأمل الطبيبان روبيرتس وديكستر في أن تكون هذه التجربة أيضًا ذات فائدة أكبر للجمعية. يحث الطبيبان الآخرين كذلك على تعلم إجراءات الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي وأساليب الاستجابة في حالة الطوارئ، حتى أن الفريق استضاف تدريبًا على إجراءات الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي على الحقلة الجليدية.

يعلق دكتور ديكستر قائلاً: "أشعر بالفخر البالغ بما تفعله مايو كلينك في مجتمعنا، وأفتخر بهذه المجموعة من الرجال والنساء ممن يلعبون الهوكي معنا".

تعمل اختبارات مايو كلينك المتأنية على إتاحة مزيد من الوقت للاستماع إلى المخاوف، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يحسّن دقة التشخيص. وتضمن إسهامات المتبرعين قدرة المؤسسة على توفير الحماية. ادعم رسالة مايو كلينك اليوم.

The Mighty Docs

When an emergency strikes on the ice, Mayo Clinic Health System provides a seamless patient experience resulting in a positive outcome.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

The Mighty Docs never expected to spring into their real-world roles until faced with a medical emergency in the midst of a game.

It had been a good night of hockey in Altoona, Wisconsin, with the rink filled with the sounds of steel blades on ice, stick taps and the crack of the puck off the boards. But in the second intermission of this recreation league game, everything changed.

One of the players collapsed as he rested on the bench between periods. He was having a heart attack.

This was not just any hockey community, though. Altoona happens to be home to a hockey club called the Mighty Docs. The charitable organization was formed by Mayo Clinic Health System doctors in Eau Claire, the northwest Wisconsin hub of the system.

When the player collapsed, emergency medical care was not far away. Two of his teammates jumped into action.

Donn D. Dexter, M.D., a neurologist, and Patrick L. Roberts, D.P.M., chair of the Division of Podiatry, both of whom practice at Mayo Clinic Health System in Eau Claire, began CPR and defibrillation using the rink's automated external defibrillator. Police arriving on scene brought a second AED.

"I don't know if I was even thinking, to be honest," Dr. Dexter says. "You just kind of transition to clinical mode and trying to resuscitate the patient and get them back."

"When the first shock didn't do anything, that took wind out of our sails, but we weren't ready to give up," Dr. Dexter says. They set up a second AED. "The second shock is what worked, so then it went from being very gloomy and worried that he wasn't going to make it to being incredibly optimistic."

An ambulance and first responders arrived at the scene and transported the patient. He was in stable condition at Mayo Clinic Health System — Eau Claire a short time later.

"The experience as a whole showed how working together can have a positive outcome," Dr. Roberts says. "Teamwork, from all the Mighty Docs players to the EMTs from Altoona to the physicians at Mayo Clinic Health System — our teammate is still around to skate another day."

The motto of the Mighty Docs has always been "It's more than just the game." The organization in its two-decade existence has raised more than $120,000 for charities and for cancer research.

Drs. Roberts and Dexter hope this experience, too, can provide some greater benefit to the community. They're encouraging others to learn CPR and emergency response techniques — the team even hosted a CPR training at the ice rink.

"I'm very proud of what Mayo does in our community, and proud of this group of guys and gals that play hockey with us," Dr. Dexter says.

Mayo Clinic's unhurried exams mean more time listening to concerns, which can improve the accuracy of diagnoses. Benefactors help ensure the institution can protect that time. Support Mayo Clinic's mission today.