诊断

为诊断多发性内分泌腺瘤病 1 型(MEN 1),医生会进行体格检查,并核查您的病史和家族史。您可能需要接受血液检测和影像学检查,包括以下各项:

  • 磁共振成像(MRI)
  • 计算机断层成像(CT)
  • 正电子发射断层成像(PET)
  • 核医学扫描
  • 胰腺内镜超声和其他扫描检查

基因检测可以确定某人是否具有导致 MEN 1 的基因突变。如果某人有基因突变,则他/她的孩子面临遗传这种基因突变并发展为 MEN 1 的风险。即使父母和兄弟姐妹尚未出现症状,也有发生突变的风险。

如果在家庭成员中未发现相关的遗传变化,则无需进一步的筛查检测。但是,基因检测并不能发现所有 MEN 1 基因突变。如果基因检测不能确认 MEN 1,但很可能有人患有 MEN 1,那么此人及其家庭成员仍需要密切随访,并接受适当的血液检测和影像学检查。

治疗

在 MEN 1 中,肿瘤可能生长于甲状旁腺、胰腺和垂体腺。这些肿瘤可能导致多种医疗状况,但这些状况均可治疗。这些状况和治疗选项可能包括:

  • 垂体瘤。可以通过手术或药物来治疗这些类型的肿瘤。
  • 甲状旁腺功能亢进症。对于甲状旁腺激素分泌过多,手术切除大部分甲状旁腺是常规治疗方法。
  • 神经内分泌肿瘤。它们通常位于胰腺或小肠(十二指肠)内。治疗方案取决于肿瘤的类型和分期。
  • 低血糖综合征。当肿瘤分泌过多胰岛素(胰岛素瘤),导致葡萄糖水平显著降低,以至于可能危及生命时,就会发生此状况。医生通常建议手术治疗,可能切除部分胰腺。
  • 卓艾综合征(ZES)。ZES 可能导致生成分泌过多胃酸的肿瘤(胃泌素瘤),引起溃疡和腹泻。医生可能会开药或建议手术治疗。
  • 其他胰腺神经内分泌肿瘤。这些肿瘤有时会分泌其他可能引起多种健康问题的激素。这类肿瘤的治疗可能包括药物、手术或消融治疗。在消融治疗中,医生会破坏可能存在的异常组织。
  • 转移性神经内分泌肿瘤。可以通过手术来治疗已经扩散到淋巴结或肝脏的疾病。手术选项包括肝脏手术、射频消融术、冷冻消融术或化疗栓塞术。

    射频消融术用针传递高频能量,加热周围组织,从而杀死附近的细胞。冷冻消融术则对肿瘤进行冷冻。化疗栓塞术需要将强效化疗药物直接注入肝脏。如果无法进行手术,医生可能采用其他形式的化疗或激素治疗。

  • 肾上腺肿瘤。此类肿瘤大多可以观察到,但不进行治疗。但是,如果肿瘤分泌激素或变得很大,且被认为是癌性的,则医生会建议切除,通常采用微创手术。
  • 类癌瘤。MEN 1 患者的类癌瘤可能发生在肺、胸腺和消化道中。当肿瘤没有扩散到其他区域时,外科医生会切除这些肿瘤。对于晚期病例,医生可以使用化疗、放疗或激素治疗。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Aug. 31, 2022
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1. In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  2. Melmed S, et al. Multiple endocrine neoplasia. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  3. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-type-1. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  4. Warner K. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 26, 2020.
  5. Multiple endocrine neoplasia, type 1 (MEN 1). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-men-syndromes/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia,-type-1-men-1. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  6. Arnold A. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1: Treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  7. Kearns AE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 30, 2020.
  8. Kamilaris CDC, et al. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 (MEN1): An update and the significance of early genetic and clinical diagnosis. Frontiers in Endocrinology. 2019; doi: 10.3389/fendo.2019.00339.

相关

Diagnosis

To diagnose multiple endocrine neoplasia, type 1 (MEN 1), your doctor will perform a physical exam and review your medical history and family history. You may have a blood test and imaging tests, including the following:

  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • Computerized tomography (CT) scan
  • Positron emission tomography (PET) scan
  • Nuclear medicine scans
  • Endoscopic ultrasound of the pancreas and other scans

Genetic testing may determine whether someone has a genetic mutation causing MEN 1. If someone has a mutation, his or her children are at risk of inheriting the mutation and developing MEN 1. Parents and siblings also are at risk of having the mutation even if they have not yet developed symptoms.

If no related genetic changes are found in family members, then no further screening tests are needed. However, genetic testing doesn't uncover all MEN 1 genetic mutations. If genetic testing doesn't confirm MEN 1, but it's likely a person has it, that person and their family members still need close follow-up with appropriate blood and imaging tests.

Treatment

In MEN 1, tumors can grow on the parathyroids, pancreas and pituitary gland. These tumors can lead to various conditions, all of which can be treated. These conditions and treatments may include:

  • Pituitary tumors. These types of tumors may be treated with surgery or drug therapy.
  • Hyperparathyroidism. Surgery to remove most of the parathyroid glands is the usual treatment for too much parathyroid hormone.
  • Neuroendocrine tumors. These are usually located in the pancreas or small intestine (duodenum). Treatment depends on the type and stage of the tumor.
  • Hypoglycemic syndrome. This condition results when tumors produce too much insulin (insulinomas), causing severely low levels of glucose, which can be life-threatening. Doctors usually recommend surgery and possibly removal of a portion of the pancreas.
  • Zollinger-Ellison syndrome (ZES). ZES can result in tumors that overproduce gastric acid (gastrinomas), leading to ulcers and diarrhea. Doctors may prescribe medication or surgery.
  • Other pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors. These tumors sometimes produce other hormones that can cause various health issues. Treatment of these types of tumors may involve medication, surgery or an ablation procedure. In an ablation procedure your doctor destroys abnormal tissue that may be present.
  • Metastatic neuroendocrine tumors. Disease that has spread to the lymph nodes or liver may be treated with surgery. Surgery options include liver surgery, radiofrequency ablation, cryoablation or chemoembolization.

    Radiofrequency ablation uses high-frequency energy that passes through a needle and causes the surrounding tissue to heat up, killing the nearby cells. Cryoablation involves freezing tumors. And chemoembolization involves injecting strong chemotherapy drugs directly into the liver. When surgery isn't an option, doctors may use other forms of chemotherapy or hormone-based treatments.

  • Adrenal tumors. Most of these tumors can be observed and not treated. However, if the tumors produce hormones or they're large and thought to be cancerous, doctors recommend removing them, usually with minimally invasive surgery.
  • Carcinoid tumors. Carcinoid tumors in people with MEN 1 can develop in the lungs, thymus gland and digestive tract. Surgeons remove these tumors when they haven't spread to other areas. Doctors may use chemotherapy, radiation therapy or hormone-based therapy for advanced cases.

Multiple endocrine neoplasia, type 1 (MEN 1) care at Mayo Clinic

Nov. 26, 2020
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1. In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  2. Melmed S, et al. Multiple endocrine neoplasia. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  3. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-type-1. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  4. Warner K. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 26, 2020.
  5. Multiple endocrine neoplasia, type 1 (MEN 1). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-men-syndromes/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia,-type-1-men-1. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  6. Arnold A. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1: Treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 11, 2020.
  7. Kearns AE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 30, 2020.
  8. Kamilaris CDC, et al. Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 (MEN1): An update and the significance of early genetic and clinical diagnosis. Frontiers in Endocrinology. 2019; doi: 10.3389/fendo.2019.00339.

Related

Products & Services