ساركوما كابوسي

ساركوما كابوسي هي إحدى أنواع السرطان التي تتكون في بطانة الدم والأوعية اللمفاوية. عادة ما تظهر أورام (آفات) ساركوما كابوسي على شكل بقع أرجوانية مؤلمة على الساقين أو القدمين أو الوجه. كما يمكن للآفات أن تظهر في المنطقة التناسلية أو الفم أو الغدد اللمفاوية. في ساركوما كابوسي الشديدة، قد تتطور الآفات لتصل إلى الجهاز الهضمي والرئتين.

السبب الكامن وراء ساركوما كابوسي هو عدوى بفيروس يسمى الفيروس الهربسي البشري 8 (HHV-8). في الأفراد الذين يتمتعون بصحة جيدة، عادة لا ينتج عن عدوى الفيروس الهربسي البشري 8 أعراضًا لأن الجهاز المناعي يسيطر عليه. ومع ذلك في حالة الأفراد الذين يعانون من ضعف الجهاز المناعي، من المحتمل أن تؤدي عدوى الفيروس الهربسي البشري 8 إلى الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي.

إن الأفراد المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية (HIV) — المرض الذي يؤدي إلى الإصابة بالإيدز — أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي. يسمح تلف الجهاز المناعي الناتج عن فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية (HIV) للخلايا التي تأوي الفيروس الهربسي البشري 8 بأن تتزايد. تتكون الآفات المميزة من خلال آليات غير معروفة.

كما يتعرض متلقو عمليات زراعة الأعضاء، الذين يتناولون أدوية كابتة لجهاز المناعة لمنع رفض العضو المزروع، لخطر الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي. ومع ذلك يميل المرض في هذه الفئة من السكان أن يكون أخف وأسهل في السيطرة عليه مما هو عليه في الأفراد المصابين بالإيدز.

يحدث نوع آخر من ساركوما كابوسي في كبار السن من الرجال من أصل أوروبي شرقي ومنطقة البحر المتوسط والشرق الأوسط. يتطور هذا النوع من السرطان، المعروف بساركوما كابوسي التقليدية، ببطء وعادة ما ينتج عنه القليل من المشاكل الخطيرة.

تحدث الإصابة بالنوع الرابع من ساركوما كابوسي التي تصيب الأفراد في جميع الأعمار في أفريقيا الاستوائية.

التشخيص

لتحديد ما إذا كانت الآفة الجلدية المشتبه بها بأنها ساركوما كابوسي، سيحتاج طبيبك إلى إجراء خزعة، حيث تتم إزالة جزء صغير من الأنسجة لفحصه في المختبر.

اختبارات تشخيص ساركوما كابوسي الداخلية تشمل ما يلي:

  • اختبار الدم الخفي في البراز. يكشف هذا الاختبار عن وجود دم خفي في البراز، والذي يمكن أن يكون علامة على الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي في القناة الهضمية.
  • تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية. ربما يكشف تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية عن وجود شذوذ يشير إلى الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي في الرئة.
  • تنظير القَصَبات. في هذا الاختبار، يتم تمرير أنبوب رفيع (منظار القصبات) عبر الأنف أو الفم إلى الرئتين لرؤية البطانة وأخذ عينات من الأماكن غير الطبيعية.
  • التنظير العلوي. يستخدم هذا الاختبار أنبوبًا رفيعًا (منظارًا) يمر عبر الفم لفحص المريء والمعدة والجزء الأول من الأمعاء الدقيقة. إذا كان طبيبك يشتبه في إصابتك بساركوما كابوسي داخل أي من هذه الأعضاء، يتم إجراء خزعة للأنسجة المصابة للتأكد من الإصابة بالمرض.
  • تنظير القولون. في هذا الاختبار، يتم تمرير أنبوب رفيع (منظار القولون) عبر المستقيم وإدخاله إلى القولون لفحص جدران هذه الأعضاء. يمكن أيضًا إجراء خزعة للشذوذ الذي يشير إلى الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي في المستقيم أو القولون في أثناء تنظير القولون.

تنظير القصبات غير ضروري لتشخيص الإصابة بساركوما كابوسي ما لم تكن تعاني صعوبات التنفس غير المبررة أو لديك نتيجة غير طبيعية وغير مبررة لتصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية. وبالمثل، ما لم يكشف اختبار الدم الخفي في البراز عن وجود دم في البراز، فربما تتمكن من تجنب التنظير العلوي أو تنظير القولون.

العلاج

يختلف علاج ساركوما كابوسي، بناءً على هذه العوامل:

  • نوع المرض. تاريخيًا، تعد ساركوما كابوسي المرتبط بالإيدز أكثر خطورة من الساركوما التقليدية أو المرض المتعلق بعملية الزراعة. بفضل تركيبات الأدوية المضادة للفيروسات ذات الفعالية المتزايدة والوقاية المحسنة من حالات العدوى الأخرى المرتبطة بالإيدز، أصبحت ساركوما كابوسي أقل شيوعًا وأقل حدة لدى المصابين بالإيدز.
  • عدد الآفات ومواقعها. تتطلب الآفات الجلدية واسعة النطاق والآفات الداخلية علاجًا مختلفًا عن الآفات المعزولة.
  • تأثيرات الآفات. تجعل الآفات التي تُصيب الفم والحلق تناول الطعام صعبًا، في حين أن الآفات التي تُصيب الرئة يمكن أن تُسبب ضيقًا في التنفس. يمكن أن تؤدي الآفات الكبيرة خاصةً تلك الموجودة على الجزء العلوي من الساقين، إلى تورم مؤلم وصعوبة في الحركة.
  • الصحة العامة. إن ضعف الجهاز المناعي الذي يجعلك عرضة للإصابة بساركوما كابوسي أيضًا يجعل تجربة علاجات معينة مثل أدوية العلاج الكيميائي القوية محفوفة بالمخاطر. وينطبق الشيء نفسه إذا كان لديك أيضًا نوع آخر من السرطان، أو سوء السيطرة على داء السكري أو أي مرض خطير مزمن.

بالنسبة لساركوما كابوسي المرتبطة بالإيدز، فإن الخطوة الأولى في العلاج هي البدء في تناول مجموعة من الأدوية المضادة للفيروسات أو التحول إليها والتي من شأنها أن تقلل من كمية الفيروس الذي يسبب فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز وزيادة عدد خلايا مناعية معينة في الجسم. في بعض الأحيان، يكون هذا هو العلاج الوحيد المطلوب.

عند الإمكان، قد يكون الأشخاص الذين يعانون ساركوما كابوسي المتعلقة بعملية الزراعة قادرين على التوقف عن تناول الأدوية المثبطة للجهاز المناعي. يسمح هذا للجهاز المناعي بالقضاء على السرطان في بعض الحالات. التحويل إلى عقاقير أخرى مثبطة للمناعة يمكن أن يُحدث تطورًا أيضًا.

تتضمن العلاجات لآفات الجلد الصغيرة:

  • جراحة صغيرة (استئصال)
  • الحرق (تَجفيف كَهرَبِي) أو التجميد (المعالجة بالبرد)
  • جرعة إشعاعية منخفضة، التي تكون مفيدة أيضًا للآفات التي تُصيب الفم
  • حقن عقار فينبلاستين الكيميائي مباشرةً داخل الآفات
  • استخدام عقار مشابه لفيتامين أ (الرتينويد)

من المرجح أن تعود الآفات المعالجة بأي من هذه الطرق في غضون عامين. عند حدوث هذا، يمكن على الأغلب أن يتم تكرار العلاج.

يعد الإشعاع هو العلاج المعتاد للأشخاص المصابين بآفات جلدية متعددة. يختلف نوع الإشعاع المستخدم ومواقع الآفات التي تُعالج من شخص إلى آخر. عند وجود أكثر من 25 آفة، قد يكون استخدام العلاج الكيميائي مع الأدوية القياسية المضادة للسرطان مفيدًا. يُستخدم العلاج الكيميائي أيضًا لعلاج ساركوما كابوسي التي تُصيب العقد اللمفاوية والقناة الهضمية.

26/05/2018
  1. Groopman JE. AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 25, 2017.
  2. What is KS? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/about.html. Accessed July 27, 2017.
  3. How is Kaposi sarcoma diagnosed? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/detection-diagnosis-staging/how-diagnosed.html. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  4. Groopman JE. AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma: Staging and treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  5. General considerations in the treatment of Kaposi sarcoma. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/treating/general-considerations.html. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  6. Kaposi sarcoma treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/soft-tissue-sarcoma/hp/kaposi-treatment-pdq#link/_7_toc. Accessed July 25, 2017.

Kaposi's sarcoma

Kaposi's sarcoma is a type of cancer that forms in the lining of blood and lymph vessels. The tumors (lesions) of Kaposi's sarcoma typically appear as painless purplish spots on the legs, feet or face. Lesions can also appear in the genital area, mouth or lymph nodes. In severe Kaposi's sarcoma, lesions may develop in the digestive tract and lungs.

The underlying cause of Kaposi's sarcoma is infection with a virus called human herpesvirus 8 (HHV-8). In healthy people, HHV-8 infection usually causes no symptoms because the immune system keeps it under control. In people with weakened immune systems, however, HHV-8 has the potential to trigger Kaposi's sarcoma.

People infected with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) — the virus that causes AIDS — have the highest risk of Kaposi's sarcoma. The immune system damage caused by HIV allows cells harboring HHV-8 to multiply. Through unknown mechanisms, the characteristic lesions form.

Recipients of organ transplants who take immune system-suppressing drugs to prevent transplant rejection also are at risk of Kaposi's sarcoma. In this population, though, the disease tends to be milder and easier to control than it is in people with AIDS.

Another type of Kaposi's sarcoma occurs in older men of Eastern European, Mediterranean and Middle Eastern descent. Known as classic Kaposi's sarcoma, this cancer progresses slowly and typically causes few serious problems.

A fourth type of Kaposi's sarcoma that affects people of all ages occurs in equatorial Africa.


To determine if a suspicious-looking skin lesion is Kaposi's sarcoma, your doctor will need to perform a biopsy, which involves removing a small piece of tissue for examination in a laboratory.

Tests to diagnose internal Kaposi's sarcoma include:

  • Fecal occult blood test. This test detects hidden blood in stool, which can be a sign of Kaposi's sarcoma in the digestive tract.
  • Chest X-ray. A chest X-ray may reveal abnormalities suggesting Kaposi's sarcoma in the lung.
  • Bronchoscopy. In this test, a thin tube (bronchoscope) is passed through your nose or mouth into your lungs to view their lining and take samples of abnormal areas.
  • Upper endoscopy. This test uses a thin tube (endoscope) passed through your mouth to examine the esophagus, stomach and first part of your small intestine. If your doctor suspects Kaposi's sarcoma inside any of these organs, a biopsy of the affected tissue is taken to confirm the disease.
  • Colonoscopy. In this test, a thin tube (colonoscope) is passed through your rectum and advanced into your colon to examine the walls of these organs. Abnormalities suggesting Kaposi's sarcoma in the rectum or colon can also be biopsied during colonoscopy.

Bronchoscopy is unnecessary for diagnosis of Kaposi's sarcoma unless you have unexplained breathing problems or an abnormal chest X-ray. Similarly, unless a fecal occult blood test finds blood in your stool, you may be able to avoid upper endoscopy or colonoscopy.


The treatment for Kaposi's sarcoma varies, depending on these factors:

  • Type of disease. Historically, AIDS-related Kaposi's sarcoma has been more serious than classic or transplant-related disease. Thanks to increasingly effective antiviral drug combinations and improved prevention of other AIDS-related infections, Kaposi's sarcoma has become less common and less severe in people with AIDS.
  • Number and location of lesions. Widespread skin lesions and internal lesions require different treatment from isolated lesions.
  • Effects of the lesions. Lesions in the mouth and throat make eating difficult, while lesions in the lung can cause shortness of breath. Large lesions, particularly on the upper legs, can lead to painful swelling and difficulty moving around.
  • General health. The immune system impairment that makes you vulnerable to Kaposi's sarcoma also makes certain treatments, such as powerful chemotherapy drugs, too risky to try. The same is true if you also have another type of cancer, poorly controlled diabetes or any serious, chronic disease.

For AIDS-related Kaposi's sarcoma, the first step in treatment is to start or switch to an antiviral drug combination that will reduce the amount of the virus that causes HIV/AIDS and increase the number of certain immune cells in your body. Sometimes, this is the only treatment needed.

When possible, people with transplant-related Kaposi's sarcoma may be able to stop taking immune system-suppressing medication. This allows the immune system to eliminate the cancer in some cases. Switching to a different immunosuppressive medication can also bring improvement.

Treatments for small skin lesions include:

  • Minor surgery (excision)
  • Burning (electrodessication) or freezing (cryotherapy)
  • Low-dose radiation, which is also helpful for lesions in the mouth
  • Injection of the chemotherapy drug vinblastine directly into lesions
  • Application of a vitamin A-like drug (retinoid)

Lesions treated in any of these ways are likely to return within a couple of years. When this happens, treatment can often be repeated.

Radiation is the usual treatment for those with multiple skin lesions. The type of radiation used and the locations of lesions being treated vary from person to person. When more than 25 lesions are present, chemotherapy with standard anti-cancer drugs may be helpful. Chemotherapy is also used to treat Kaposi's sarcoma in the lymph nodes and digestive tract.

Dec. 16, 2017
  1. Groopman JE. AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 25, 2017.
  2. What is KS? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/about.html. Accessed July 27, 2017.
  3. How is Kaposi sarcoma diagnosed? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/detection-diagnosis-staging/how-diagnosed.html. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  4. Groopman JE. AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma: Staging and treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  5. General considerations in the treatment of Kaposi sarcoma. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kaposi-sarcoma/treating/general-considerations.html. Accessed Sept. 14, 2017.
  6. Kaposi sarcoma treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/soft-tissue-sarcoma/hp/kaposi-treatment-pdq#link/_7_toc. Accessed July 25, 2017.