التشخيص

قد يراجع الطبيب المُؤشِّرات والأعراض الظاهرة عليكَ لتشخيص مرض الصمام الأبهري، ويُناقش تاريخكَ الطبي، ويُجرِي فحصًا بدنيًّا. قد يسمع الطبيب نبض قلبكَ بسماعة الطبيب؛ لتحديد إذا كنتَ مصابًا بنفخة قلبية، وهو ما يُمكن أن يدلَّ على حالة الصمام الأبهري. قد يُقيِّم حالتكَ طبيب متدرِّب في أمراض القلب (طبيب القلب).

قد يطلب الطبيب إجراء العديد من الفحوصات لتشخيص حالتكَ، وتشمل ما يلي:

  • مخطَّط صدى القلب. يستخدم هذا الفحص الأمواج الصوتية لإعطاء مقاطع فيديو لحركة القلب. أثناء هذا الفحص، سيحمل الاختصاصي جهازًا يشبه العصا (محوِّل الطاقة) على صدرك. قد يستخدم الأطباء هذا الفحص لتقييم حالة حجرات القلب، والصمام الأبهري، وتدفُّق الدم عبر القلب.

    يُساعد هذا الفحص الأطباء على التحقُّق من حالة الصمام الأبهري عن قرب، ومعرفة سبب حالتكَ المرضية ومدى شدتها. كما أنه يُساعد الأطباء على تحديد ما إذا كنتَ مصابًا بحالات مرضية إضافية في صمامات القلب. قد يلجأ الأطباء أيضًا لإجراء تخطيط صدى القلب ثلاثي الأبعاد.

    كما قد يستخدمون نوعًا آخر من تخطيط صدى القلب يُعرَف بتخطيط صدى القلب عبر المَرِيء؛ للحصول على صورة أقرب للصمام الأبهري. في هذا الاختبار، يُدخل الطبيب محوِّل طاقة صغيرًا متصلًا بطرف أنبوب عبر القناة الواصلة بين فمك ومعدتك (المريء).

  • تخطيط كهربية القلب (ECG). في هذا الاختبار، تقيس الأسلاك (المسارات الكهربية) المتصلة بالرفادات الموضوعة على جلدكَ النشاط الكهربي المنبعث من قلبك. يُمكن لتخطيط كهربية القلب (ECG) رصد تضخُّم حجرات قلبكَ، وأمراض القلب، واضطرابات نبض القلب غير الطبيعية.
  • تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية. يساعد تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية طبيبكَ على تحديد ما إذا كان القلب متضخِّمًا أم لا، وهو ما قد يدلُّ على وجود أنواع محدَّدة من إصابات الصمام الأبهري. كما يُمكنه توضيح ما إذا كنتَ مصابًا بتضخم في الأوعية الدموية (الشريان الأبهري) الخارج من القلب أو أي تراكم للكالسيوم على الصمام الأبهري. يُمكن لتصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية أيضًا مساعدة الأطباء في تحديد حالة رئتيك.
  • التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) على القلب. يستخدم التصوير المقطعي المحوسب على القلب سلسلة من الأشعة السينية لتكوين صورة مُفصَّلة للقلب وصمامات القلب. قد يستخدم الأطباء تقنية التصوير هذه لقياس حجم الشريان الأبهري وفحص الصمام الأبهري عن قرب.
  • تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي. يَستخدِم التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للقلب مجالات مغناطيسية قوية وموجات راديو لإنشاء صور تفصيلية لقلبك. قد يُستخدم هذا الفحص لتحديد مدى شدة حالتكَ المرضية ولتقييم حجم الشريان الأبهري.
  • اختبارات الجهد أو اختبارات الإجهاد. تُساعد اختبارات الجهد الأطباء في معرفة مُؤشِّرات وأعراض إصابة الصمام الأبهري أثناء ممارسة الأنشطة البدنية، وقد تُساعد هذه الاختبارات في تحديد مدى شدة حالتك المرضية. في حال عدم قدرتكَ على ممارسة التمرينات، قد تُستخدم الأدوية التي لها تأثير مماثل للتمرينات على القلب.
  • القسطرة القلبية. عادةً لا يُستخدم هذا الاختبار في تشخيص مرض الصمام الأبهري، ولكن يُمكن استخدامه إذا لم تتمكَّن الاختبارات الأخرى من تشخيص الحالة المرضية أو تحديد مدى شدتها.

    أثناء هذا الإجراء، سيدفع الطبيب أنبوبًا رفيعًا (قسطارًا) عبر الوعاء الدموي في ذراعكَ أو في المنطقة الإربية إلى الشريان في القلب، ويحقن الصبغة عبر القسطار لجعل الشريان مرئيًّا على الأشعة السينية. مما يُعطي للطبيب صورة تفصيلية عن شرايين القلب وعن كيفية تأدية قلبكَ لوظائفه. كما يُمكنه قياس الضغط داخل حجرات القلب، والمساعدة في تقييم درجة مرض الصمام الأبهري.

العلاج

يعتمد علاج داء الصمام الأبهري على شدة حالتك المَرَضية، سواء كانت لديك المؤشرات أو الأعراض أم لا، وما إذا كانت حالتك تزداد سوءًا.

إذا كان داء الصمام الأبهري خفيفًا أو معتدلًا أو لم تظهر عليك أعراض، فقد يراقب طبيبك حالتك من خلال مواعيد المتابعة المنتظمة. قد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء تغييرات صحية في نمط الحياة وتناوُل الأدوية لعلاج الأعراض أو تقليل خطر حدوث المضاعَفات.

قد تحتاج في نهاية المطاف إلى الجراحة أو إجراء آخر لترميم الصمام الأبهري المصاب أو استبداله. وفي بعض الحالات، قد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء جراحة حتى إذا لم تظهر عليك الأعراض. إن كنت ستُجري جراحة قلب أخرى، فقد يُجري الأطباء جراحة الصمام الأبهري في الوقت ذاته.

إن كنت مصابًا بداء الصمام الأبهري، ففكِّرْ في الخضوع للتقييم والعلاج في مركز طبي مع فريق متعدد التخصصات من أطباء القلب وغيرهم من الأطباء وفريق طبي مدرب ذي خبرة في تقييم وعلاج أمراض صمام القلب. يمكن لهذا الفريق أن يعمل معك عن كثب لتحديد العلاج الأنسب لحالتك.

عادةً ما تُجرى جراحة ترميم الصمام الأبهري أو استبداله من خلال إحداث قَطْع (شق جراحي) في الصدر. وفي بعض الحالات، قد يُجري الأطباء جراحة القلب الطفيفة التوغُّل، التي تنطوي على استخدام شقوق جراحية أصغر من تلك المستخدَمة في جراحة القلب المفتوح.

تشمل الخيارات الجراحية ما يأتي:

إصلاح الصمام الأبهري

لإصلاح الصمام الأبهري، قد يجري الجراحون عدة أنواع مختلفة من الإصلاحات، بما في ذلك فصل طيات (شرف) الصمامات التي التحمت، أو إزالة أنسجة الصمام الزائدة بحيث يمكن أن تنغلق الشرف بإحكام، أو ترقيع الثقوب الموجودة في الصمام.

يمكن للأطباء إجراء قسطرة باستخدام أنبوب طويل، ورفيع (القسطرة) لإصلاح الصمام ذي الفتحة الضيقة (تضيّق الصمام الأبهري). في هذا الإجراء، الذي يسمى رأب الصمام بالبالون، يدخل الطبيب قِسطارًا مع وجود بالون في طرفه في شريان في الأُربية ويوجهه إلى الصمام الأبهري. ينفخ الطبيب البالون، الذي يُمدد فتحة الصمام. ويُعاد تفريغ البالون من الهواء، وإزالة القِسطار والبالون.

يمكن لهذا الإجراء علاج تضيّق الصمام الأبهري عند الرضع والأطفال. ومع ذلك، فإن الصمام يميل إلى الضيق مرة أخرى في البالغين الذين قاموا بهذا الإجراء، لذلك عادة ما يُنفَّذ فقط في البالغين المرضى مرضًا شديدًا يصعب معه إجراء عملية جراحية أو الذين ينتظرون استبدال الصمام، لأنهم عادة ما يكونون بحاجة إلى إجراءات إضافية لعلاج الصمام الضيق مع مرور الوقت.

قد يستخدم الأطباء أيضًا إجراء قسطرة لإدخال حشوة أو جهاز لإصلاح تسرب في صمام أبهري بديل.

استبدال الصمام الأبهري

استبدال الصمام الأبهري ضروري عادةً لعلاج مرض الصمام الأورطي. يستبدِل طبيبكَ الجرَّاح، خلال عملية استبدال الصمام الأورطي، الصمام المتضرر بآخر ميكانيكي أو صمام من نسيج قلبي من البقر، أو الخنزير، أو الإنسان (صمام نسيجي بيولوجي). من الممكن أحيانًا، في نوع آخر من استبدال الصمام النسيجي البيولوجي، أن يستخدم الصمام الرئوي الخاص بك.

تنتكس الصمامات المصنوعة من الأنسجة البيولوجية بمرور الزمن، وقد تحتاج إلى الاستبدال في نهاية المطاف. سوف يحتاج الأشخاص ذوو الصمامات الميكانيكية إلى تناوُل أدوية مميعة للدم مدى الحياة لمنع تكوُّن الجلطات الدموية. سوف يناقش الطبيب معكَ فوائد ومخاطر كل نوعٍ من أنواع الصمامات، ولِمَ قد يكون أحدها هو المناسب لك.

قد يُجري الأطباء إجراءً أقل توغُّلًا يُعرف بتغيير الصمام الأورطي عبر القسطار (TAVR) لاستبدال الصمام الأورطي الضيق. قد يكون تغيير الصمام الأورطي عبر القسطار (TAVR) خيارًا للمرضى الذين يُعدُّون أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بمضاعفات بسبب تغيير الصمام الأورطي الجراحي.

أثناء تغيير الصمام الأورطي عبر القسطار (TAVR)، يُدخِل الأطباء القسطرة في الرئتين أو الصدر ثم يُوجِّهونها إلى القلب. ثم يُدخَل صمام بديل من خلال القسطرة ويُوجَّه إلى القلب. يُمكن أن تُوسِّع البالون الصمام، أو بعض الصمامات يُمكن أن تتوسَّع ذاتيًّا. عند زراعة الصمام، يُزيل الأطباء القسطرة من أوعيتكَ الدموية.

قد يُجري الأطباء أيضًا إجراءً بالقسطرة لإدخال صمام بديل في الصمام التالف المصنوع من الأنسجة البيولوجية الذي لم يَعُد يعمل بشكل سليم. لا يزال البحث مستمرًّا عن إجراءات قسطرة أخرى لإصلاح الصمامات الأبهرية أو استبدالها.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

سيكون لديكَ مواعيد متابعة منتظمَة مع طبيبكَ؛ ليراقب أي تغيُّرات في حالتك.

قد يقترح طبيبك إدراج العديد من التغييرات في أسلوب حياتك من أجل صحة القلب، وتشمل ما يلي:

  • اتباع نظام غذائي مفيد لصحة القلب. تناوُل مجموعة متنوِّعة من الفاكهة والخضراوات، ومشتقات الحليب قليلة الدسم أو منزوعة الدسم، والدواجن، والأسماك، والحبوب الكاملة. تجنب الدهون المُشبعة والمتحولة والملح والسكر الزائدين.
  • الحفاظ على وزن صحي. اجعلْ هدفكَ الحفاظ على وزن صحي. إذا كنت مصابًا بزيادة الوزن أو السمنة، فقد يوصي الطبيب بخسارة الوزن.
  • ممارسة نشاط بدني منتظم. اهدف إلى تخصيص 30 دقيقة تقريبًا للنشاط البدني، مثل المشي السريع، في روتينك اليومي للياقة.
  • السيطرة على التوتُّر. إيجاد طرق تساعدكَ في السيطرة على التوتُّر من خلال أنشطة الاسترخاء على سبيل المثال، والتأمُّل، وممارسة الأنشطة البدنية، وقضاء الوقت مع الأسرة والأصدقاء.
  • تجنُّب التدخين. إذا كنتَ تُدخِّن، فأقلعْ عن التدخين. اسأل طبيبك عن المصادر التي تساعدك على الإقلاع عن التدخين. ربما يُفيدكَ الانضمام إلى إحدى مجموعات الدعم.

بالنسبة للنساء المصابات بمرض الصمام الأبهري، من المهم التحدُّث مع طبيبكِ قبل أن تُفكِّري في الحمل. يُمكن للطبيب أن يُناقش معكِ الأدوية التي يُمكنكِ تناوُلها بأمان، وما إذا كنتِ تحتاجين إلى الخضوع لإجراء لمعالجة حالة الصمام قبل الحمل.

وعلى الأرجح ستحتاجين إلى البقاء تحت المراقبة الحثيثة من قِبَل طبيبكِ أثناء الحمل. قد يُوصي الأطباء النساء ممن لديهنَّ أمراض الصمام الحادة بعدم الحمل لتجنُّب خطر المضاعفات.

التأقلم والدعم

إذا كنتَ مصابًا بمرض الصمام الأبهري، هاكَ بعض الخطوات التي ستُساعدكَ على التأقلم معه:

  • تناوَلِ الأدوية على النحو الموصوف. تناوَلْ أدويتكَ حسب توجيهاتِ طبيبك.
  • الحصول على الدعم. يساعدك دعم العائلة والأصدقاء على التأقلم مع حالتك الطبية. اسأل طبيبك عن أية مجموعات دعم قد تكون مفيدة لك.
  • حافظْ على نشاطك. اجعلْ هدفكَ الحفاظ على ممارسة النشاط البدني. قد يُعطيكَ طبيبكَ بعض الإرشادات عن مقدار وأنواع التمارين الرياضية المناسبة لك.

التحضير من أجل موعدك الطبي

إذا كنتَ تعتقد أنكَ مُصاب بمرض في الصمام الأبهري، فاحجز موعدًا مع الطبيب. يرد فيما يلي بعض المعلومات للمساعدة في الاستعداد للموعد الطبي المحدد لكَ.

  • كُنْ على علم بقيود ما قبلَ الموعد الطبي. عند حجز موعد طبي، اسأل عما إذا كان هناك أي شيءٍ ينبغي عليكَ فعله مسبقًا.
  • دَوِّن الأعراض التي تشعر بها، بما فيها أي أعراض قد تبدو لكَ أنها ليست ذات صلة بمرض صمام القلب.
  • دوِّنْ معلوماتكَ الشخصية الأساسية، بما فيها التاريخ العائلي لأمراض القلب، وأي ضغوط كبرى أو تغيُّرات مُستجدة تعرضتَ لها في حياتك.
  • اكتبْ قائمة بكل الأدوية، والفيتامينات، والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اصطحبْ أحد أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء معكَ، إن أمكن. فاصطحاب شخص ما معكَ من شأنه أن يساعدكَ في تذكُّر المعلومات التي تتلقَّاها.
  • كن مستعدًّا لمناقشة نظامكَ الغذائي وعاداتكَ في ممارسة الرياضة. إذا كنتَ لا تتناول غذاءً صحيًّا أو لا تمارس التمارين الرياضية، فاستعدَّ للتحدُّث مع الطبيب عن جميع التحدِّيات التي قد تُواجهها عند البَدْء.
  • دوِّن أسئلة لطرحها على طبيبك.

بالنسبة لمرض الصمام الأبهري، تشمل بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي ينبغي عليكَ أن تطرحها على طبيبكَ ما يلي:

  • ما السبب المُرجِّح لظهور الأعراض أو الحالة التي لديّ؟
  • ما الأسباب الأخرى المُحتمَلة للأعراض أو الحالة التي لديّ؟
  • ما الفحوصات التي أحتاج إلى إجرائها؟
  • ما هو أفضل علاج؟
  • ما البدائل للطريقة العلاجية الأوَّليَّة التي تقترحها؟
  • أنا أعاني من حالات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارة هذه الحالات معًا؟
  • هل هناك قيود ينبغي عليَّ الالتزام بها؟
  • هل ينبغي لي استشارة اختصاصي؟
  • إذا كان يتعيَّن عليَّ إجراء عملية جراحية، فأي الجراحين تُوصيني به لجراحة صمام القلب؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل مكافئ للدواء الذي وصفتَه لي؟
  • هل هناك كتيبات أو مطبوعات أخرى يمكنني أخذها معي؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تَنصحني بتصفُّحها؟

لا تتردَّد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى لديك.

ما المُتوقَّع من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة، مثل ما يلي:

  • متى بدأت الأعراض بالظهور؟
  • هل أعراضك مستمرَّة أم عرضية؟
  • ما درجة شدة الأعراض لديك؟
  • ما الذي يُحسّن أعراضك، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يزيد حِدّة أعراضك، إن وُجد؟

مرض الصمام الأورطى - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

07/05/2020
  1. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Aortic valve disease. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 7, 2019.
  2. Buji LM, et al., eds. Valvular heart disease. In: Cardiovascular Pathology. 4th ed. Elsevier Academic Press; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 7, 2019.
  3. Crawford MH, ed. Aortic stenosis. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Cardiology. 5th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Aug. 7, 2019.
  4. Crawford MH, ed. Aortic regurgitation. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Cardiology. 5th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Aug. 7, 2019.
  5. Fuster V, et al., eds. Aortic valve disease. In: Hurst's the Heart. 14th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Aug. 7, 2019.
  6. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. Heart-healthy lifestyle changes. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-healthy-lifestyle-changes. Accessed Aug. 15, 2019.

Diagnosis

To diagnose aortic valve disease, your doctor may review your signs and symptoms, discuss your medical history, and conduct a physical examination. Your doctor may listen to your heart with a stethoscope to determine if you have a heart murmur that may indicate an aortic valve condition. A doctor trained in heart disease (cardiologist) may evaluate you.

Your doctor may order several tests to diagnose your condition, including:

  • Echocardiogram. This test uses sound waves to provide video images of your heart in motion. During this test, specialists hold a wandlike device (transducer) on your chest. Doctors may use this test to evaluate your heart chambers, the aortic valve and the blood flow through your heart.

    This test can help doctors closely look at the condition of the aortic valve, and the cause and severity of your condition. It can also help doctors determine if you have additional heart valve conditions. Doctors may also use a 3-D echocardiogram.

    Doctors may conduct another type of echocardiogram called a transesophageal echocardiogram to get a closer look at the aortic valve. In this test, a small transducer attached to the end of a tube is inserted down the tube leading from your mouth to your stomach (esophagus).

  • Electrocardiogram (ECG). In this test, wires (electrodes) attached to pads on your skin measure the electrical activity of your heart. An ECG can detect enlarged chambers of your heart, heart disease and abnormal heart rhythms.
  • Chest X-ray. A chest X-ray can help your doctor determine whether the heart is enlarged, which can indicate certain types of aortic valve disease. It can also show whether you have an enlarged blood vessel (aorta) leading from the heart or any calcium buildup on the aortic valve. A chest X-ray can also help doctors determine the condition of your lungs.
  • Cardiac computerized tomography (CT) scan. A cardiac CT scan uses a series of X-rays to create detailed images of your heart and heart valves. Doctors may use this imaging technique to measure the size of your aorta and look at your aortic valve more closely.
  • Cardiac MRI. A cardiac MRI uses magnetic fields and radio waves to create detailed images of your heart. This test may be used to determine the severity of your condition and evaluate the size of the aorta.
  • Exercise tests or stress tests. Exercise tests help doctors see whether you have signs and symptoms of aortic valve disease during physical activity, and these tests can help determine the severity of your condition. If you are unable to exercise, medications that have similar effects as exercise on your heart may be used.
  • Cardiac catheterization. This test isn't often used to diagnose aortic valve disease, but it may be used if other tests aren't able to diagnose the condition or to determine its severity.

    In this procedure, a doctor threads a thin tube (catheter) through a blood vessel in your arm or groin to an artery in your heart and injects dye through the catheter to make the artery visible on an X-ray. This provides your doctor with a detailed picture of your heart arteries and how your heart functions. It can also measure the pressure inside the heart chambers.

Treatment

Treatment for aortic valve disease depends on the severity of your condition, whether or not you're experiencing signs and symptoms, and if your condition is getting worse.

If your symptoms are mild or you aren't experiencing symptoms, your doctor may monitor your condition with regular follow-up appointments. Your doctor may recommend you make healthy lifestyle changes and take medications to treat symptoms or reduce the risk of complications.

You may eventually need surgery to repair or replace the diseased aortic valve. In some cases, your doctor may recommend surgery even if you aren't experiencing symptoms. If you're having another heart surgery, doctors may perform aortic valve surgery at the same time.

If you have aortic valve disease, consider being evaluated and treated at a medical center with a multidisciplinary team of cardiologists and other doctors and medical staff trained and experienced in evaluating and treating heart valve disease. This team can work closely with you to determine the most appropriate treatment for your condition.

Surgery to repair or replace an aortic valve is usually performed through a cut (incision) in the chest. In some cases, doctors may perform minimally invasive heart surgery, which involves the use of smaller incisions than those used in open-heart surgery.

Surgery options include:

Aortic valve repair

To repair an aortic valve, surgeons may conduct several different types of repair, including separating valve flaps (cusps) that have fused, removing excess valve tissue so that the cusps can close tightly, or patching holes in a valve.

Doctors may conduct a procedure using a long, thin tube (catheter) to repair a valve with a narrowed opening (aortic valve stenosis). In this procedure, called balloon valvuloplasty, a doctor inserts a catheter with a balloon on the tip into an artery in your arm or groin and guides it to the aortic valve. A doctor then inflates the balloon, which expands the opening of the valve. The balloon is then deflated, and the catheter and balloon are removed.

The procedure can treat aortic valve stenosis in infants and children. However, the valve tends to narrow again in adults who've had the procedure, so it's usually only performed in adults who are too ill for surgery or who are waiting for a valve replacement, as they typically need additional procedures to treat the narrowed valve over time.

Doctors may also use a catheter procedure to insert a plug or device to repair a leaking replacement aortic valve.

Aortic valve replacement

Aortic valve replacement is often needed to treat aortic valve disease. In aortic valve replacement, your surgeon removes the damaged valve and replaces it with a mechanical valve or a valve made from cow, pig or human heart tissue (biological tissue valve). Another type of biological tissue valve replacement that uses your own pulmonary valve is sometimes possible.

Biological tissue valves degenerate over time and may eventually need to be replaced. People with mechanical valves will need to take blood-thinning medications for life to prevent blood clots. Your doctor will discuss with you the benefits and risks of each type of valve and discuss which valve may be appropriate for you.

Doctors may perform a less invasive procedure called transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) to replace a narrowed aortic valve. TAVR may be an option for people who are considered to be at intermediate or high risk of complications from surgical aortic valve replacement.

In TAVR, doctors insert a catheter in your leg or chest and guide it to your heart. A replacement valve is then inserted through the catheter and guided to your heart. A balloon may expand the valve, or some valves can self-expand. When the valve is implanted, doctors remove the catheter from your blood vessel.

Doctors may also conduct a catheter procedure to insert a replacement valve into a failing biological tissue valve that is no longer working properly. Other catheter procedures to repair or replace aortic valves continue to be researched.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

You'll have regular follow-up appointments with your doctor to monitor your condition.

Your doctor may suggest you incorporate several heart-healthy lifestyle changes into your life, including:

  • Eating a heart-healthy diet. Eat a variety of fruits and vegetables, low-fat or fat-free dairy products, poultry, fish, and whole grains. Avoid saturated and trans fat, and excess salt and sugar.
  • Maintaining a healthy weight. Aim to keep a healthy weight. If you're overweight or obese, your doctor may recommend that you lose weight.
  • Getting regular physical activity. Aim to include about 30 minutes of physical activity, such as brisk walks, into your daily fitness routine.
  • Managing stress. Find ways to help manage your stress, such as through relaxation activities, meditation, physical activity, and spending time with family and friends.
  • Avoiding tobacco. If you smoke, quit. Ask your doctor about resources to help you quit smoking. Joining a support group may be helpful.

For women with aortic valve disease, it's important to talk with your doctor before you become pregnant. Your doctor can discuss with you which medications you can safely take, and whether you may need a procedure to treat your valve condition prior to pregnancy.

You'll likely require close monitoring by your doctor during pregnancy. Doctors may recommend that women with severe valve conditions avoid pregnancy to avoid the risk of complications.

Coping and support

If you have aortic valve disease, here are some steps that may help you cope:

  • Take medications as prescribed. Take your medications as directed by your doctor.
  • Get support. Having support from your family and friends can help you cope with your condition. Ask your doctor about support groups that may be helpful.
  • Stay active. Aim to stay physically active. Your doctor may give you recommendations about how much and what type of exercise is appropriate for you.

Preparing for your appointment

If you think you have aortic valve disease, make an appointment to see your doctor. Here's some information to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Be aware of pre-appointment restrictions. When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do beforehand.
  • Write down your symptoms, including any that seem unrelated to heart valve disease.
  • Write down key personal information, including a family history of heart disease, and any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins and supplements you take.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Someone who accompanies you can help you remember information you receive.
  • Be prepared to discuss your diet and exercise habits. If you don't already eat well and exercise, be ready to talk to your doctor about challenges you might face in getting started.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

For aortic valve disease, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms or condition?
  • What are other possible causes for my symptoms or condition?
  • What tests will I need?
  • What's the best treatment?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach you're suggesting?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Are there restrictions I need to follow?
  • Should I see a specialist?
  • If I need surgery, which surgeon do you recommend for heart valve surgery?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions you have.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • When did your symptoms begin?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

Aortic valve disease care at Mayo Clinic

March 08, 2018
References
  1. Problem: Aortic valve stenosis. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/HeartValveProblemsandDisease/Problem-Aortic-Valve-Stenosis_UCM_450437_Article.jsp#.WCn02cnFjVY. Accessed Oct. 31, 2016.
  2. Problem: Aortic valve regurgitation. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/HeartValveProblemsandDisease/Problem-Aortic-Valve-Regurgitation_UCM_450611_Article.jsp#.WCn1DcnFjVY. Accessed Oct. 31, 2016.
  3. What is heart valve disease? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hvd. Accessed Aug. 15, 2016.
  4. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Valvular heart disease. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 16, 2016.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Aortic valve stenosis (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2016.
  6. Nishimura RA, et al. 2014 AHA/ACC guideline for the management of patients with valvular heart disease: A report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines. The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. 2014;148:e1.
  7. Aldea GS. Minimally invasive aortic and mitral valve surgery. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 15, 2016.
  8. Ruiz CE, et al. Transcatheter therapies for the treatment of valvular and paravalvular regurgitation in acquired and congenital valvular heart disease. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2015;66:169.
  9. Getting support. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Caregiver/ReachOut/GettingSupport/Getting-Support_UCM_301847_Article.jsp#.WCn5QdgzXIU.  Accessed Nov. 4, 2016.
  10. Daniels BK. Echo Information Management System. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct 18, 2016.
  11. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 4, 2016.
  12. Clavel MA, et al. The complex nature of discordant severe calcified aortic valve disease grading: New insights from combined Doppler echocardiographic and computed tomographic study. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2013;62:2329.
  13. How can I make my lifestyle healthier? American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/ToolsForYourHeartHealth/Answers-by-Heart-Fact-Sheets-Lifestyle-and-Risk-Reduction_UCM_300611_Article.jsp#.WC9socnFjVY. Accessed Nov. 18, 2016.