诊断

若要诊断短肠综合征,您的医生可能会建议您进行血液或粪便检查,以测量您的营养水平。其他检查可能包括影像学检查,例如使用造影剂的 X 线检查(钡剂 X 线)、计算机断层成像(CT)扫描、磁共振成像(MRI)以及 CTMR 小肠造影,这些检查可以发现肠梗阻或病变。

治疗

短肠综合征的治疗方案取决于您的小肠的哪些部分受到了影响、结肠是否完整以及您的偏好。

对短肠综合征的治疗可能包括:

  • 营养疗法。小肠综合征患者需要遵循特定饮食要求,并服用营养补充剂。有些人可能需要通过静脉(肠外营养)或饲管(肠内营养)方式获得营养,以防止营养不良。
  • 药物。除营养支持外,医生可能会建议使用有助于管理短肠综合征的药物,例如有助于控制胃酸、减少腹泻、改善术后肠道吸收的药物。
  • 手术。医生可能会建议患有短肠综合征的儿童和成人接受手术。手术类型包括减缓营养物质通过肠道的手术、延长肠道的手术(自体胃肠道重建),以及小肠移植(SBT)。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Jan. 06, 2022
  1. Ferri FF. Short bowel syndrome. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  2. Kliegman RM, et al. Chronic diarrhea. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  3. Short bowel syndrome. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/short-bowel-syndrome. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  4. Short bowel syndrome. International Foundation for Gastrointestinal Disorders. https://www.iffgd.org/other-disorders/short-bowel-syndrome.html. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  5. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 14, 2019.

Diagnosis

To diagnose short bowel syndrome, your doctor may recommend blood or stool tests to measure nutrient levels. Other tests may include imaging procedures, such as an X-ray with a contrast material (barium X-ray), computerized tomography (CT) scan, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and CT or MR enterography, that can show obstructions or changes to the intestines.

Treatment

Your treatment options for short bowel syndrome will depend on what parts of your small intestine are affected, whether your colon is intact and your own preferences.

Short bowel syndrome treatment may include:

  • Nutritional therapy. People with small bowel syndrome will need to follow a special diet and take nutritional supplements. Some people may need to get nutrition through a vein (parenteral nutrition) or a feeding tube (enteral nutrition) to prevent malnutrition.
  • Medications. In addition to nutritional support, your doctor may recommend drugs to help manage short bowel syndrome, such as medications to help control stomach acid, reduce diarrhea or improve intestinal absorption after surgery.
  • Surgery. Doctors may recommend surgery for children and adults with short bowel syndrome. Types of surgery include procedures to slow the passage of nutrients through the intestine or a procedure to lengthen the intestine (autologous gastrointestinal reconstruction), as well as small bowel transplantation (SBT).

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Short bowel syndrome care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 31, 2019
  1. Ferri FF. Short bowel syndrome. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  2. Kliegman RM, et al. Chronic diarrhea. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  3. Short bowel syndrome. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/short-bowel-syndrome. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  4. Short bowel syndrome. International Foundation for Gastrointestinal Disorders. https://www.iffgd.org/other-disorders/short-bowel-syndrome.html. Accessed Nov. 18, 2019.
  5. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 14, 2019.