نظرة عامة

تقع الإصابة بنقائل الدماغ عندما تنتشر خلايا سرطانية من موقعها الأصلي إلى الدماغ. يمكن لأي سرطان أن ينتشر إلى الدماغ، لكن الأنواع الأرجح في التسبب في نقائل الدماغ هي: سرطان الرئة، والثدي، والقولون، والكُلى، والورم الميلاني.

تحدث نقائل الدماغ، أو أورام الدماغ الثانوية، لدى 10 إلى 30 بالمائة من البالغين المصابين بالسرطان. وبينما تنمو الأورام الدماغية النقيلية، فإنها تكوّن ضغطًا على النسيج الدماغي المحيط بها، وتغير وظيفته. يمكن أن تسبب نقائل الدماغ عدة علامات وأعراض.

غالبًا ما يتمثل علاج الأشخاص الذين انتقل سرطانهم إلى الدماغ في الجراحة، أو الإشعاع، أو كليهما. في بعض الحالات، يكون العلاج الكيميائي والعلاج المناعي مفيدين. يركز العلاج غالبًا على تقليل الألم والأعراض الناجمين عن السرطان.

الأعراض

تتنوع أورام الدماغ تبعًا لحجم هذه الأورام، وعددها، وموقعها، ومعدّل نموها.

تشمل علامات نقائل الدماغ وأعراضها ما يلي:

  • الصداع، المصاحب في بعض الأحيان بالقيء أو الغثيان
  • التغيرات العقلية، كزيادة مشاكل الذاكرة
  • النوبات
  • الدوخة

متى تزور الطبيب

حدد موعدًا مع الطبيب إذا كنت تعاني علامات وأعراضًا مستمرة تثير قلقك. إذا كنت قد عولجت من السرطان فيما مضى، فأخبر طبيبك عن تاريخك الطبي.

الأسباب

تحدث نقائل الدماغ حين تنتقل الخلايا السرطانية عبر مجرى الدم والجهاز اللمفاوي من الورم الأصلي وتنتشر (تنتقل) إلى الدماغ. وهناك تبدأ في التكاثر. يعرف السرطان النقيلي الذي ينتشر من موقعه الأصلي باسم سرطان أوّلي. على سبيل المثال: يُطلق على السرطان الذي انتقل من الثدي إلى الدماغ اسم سرطان الثدي النقيلي، لا سرطان الدماغ.

هناك عدة نظريات حول أسباب انتشار بعض أنواع السرطان من موقعها الأصلي، وأسباب انتقال بعضها إلى الدماغ. غالبًا ما يتم العثور على نقائل الدماغ من سرطان الرئة في مرحلة مبكرة من المرض، بينما تنشأ النقائل الناجمة من سرطان الثدي في مرحلة متأخرة.

عوامل الخطر

يمكن أن ينتشر أي نوع من السرطان إلى الدماغ. لكن الإصابة بأحد الأنواع التالية تعرضك لخطر أكبر للإصابة بنقائل الدماغ:

  • سرطان الرئة
  • سرطان الثدي
  • سرطان القولون
  • سرطان الكلى
  • الورم الميلاني

Overview

Brain metastases occur when cancer cells spread from their original site to the brain. Any cancer can spread to the brain, but the types most likely to cause brain metastases are lung, breast, colon, kidney and melanoma.

Brain metastases, or secondary brain tumors, occur in 10 to 30 percent of adults with cancer. As the metastatic brain tumors grow, they create pressure on and change the function of surrounding brain tissue. Brain metastases can cause many signs and symptoms.

Treatment for people whose cancer has spread to the brain is often surgery, radiation therapy or both. In some cases, chemotherapy and immunotherapy are helpful. Treatment is often focused on reducing pain and symptoms resulting from the cancer.

Brain metastases care at Mayo Clinic

Symptoms

Brain tumor symptoms vary depending on the tumors' size, number, location and rate of growth.

Signs and symptoms of brain metastases include:

  • Headache, sometimes with vomiting or nausea
  • Mental changes, such as increasing memory problems
  • Seizures
  • Dizziness

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have persistent signs and symptoms that concern you. If you've been treated for cancer in the past, tell your doctor about your medical history.

Causes

Brain metastases occur when cancer cells travel through the bloodstream or the lymph system from the original tumor and spread (metastasize) to the brain. There they begin to multiply. Metastatic cancer that spreads from its original location is known by the name of the primary cancer. For example, cancer that has spread from the breast to the brain is called metastatic breast cancer, not brain cancer.

There are many theories about what causes some cancers to spread and why some cancers travel to the brain. Brain metastases from lung cancer are often found early in the course of the disease, and those from breast cancer develop late.

Risk factors

Any type of cancer can spread to the brain, but having one of the following types of cancer puts you at increased risk of brain metastases:

  • Lung cancer
  • Breast cancer
  • Colon cancer
  • Kidney cancer
  • Melanoma