هل يمكن أن تزيد غرسات الثدي من صعوبة اكتشاف سرطان الثدي باستخدام صور الثدي الشعاعية؟

إجابة من سانديا بروثي، (دكتور في الطب)

نعم. قد تحجب غرسات الثدي، سواء كانت مملوءة بالمحلول الملحي أو السيليكون، صور الثدي الشعاعية، مما يقلل من قدرة صورة الثدي الشعاعية على اكتشاف سرطان الثدي.

وغالبًا ما توضع غرسات الثدي فوق العضلات (تحت الغدة)، ويمكن للغرسات الموجودة في هذا الموضع أن تحد من قدرة أخصائي الأشعة على تفسير الصورة الشعاعية للثدي حيث لا يمكن عرض جميع أنسجة الثدي. وتقل احتمالية أن تؤثر الغرسات الموضوعة تحت العضلة (تحت الناحية الصدرية) على قدرة أخصائي الأشعة على تفسير صورة الثدي الشعاعية. ومع هذا، توضح الدراسات أن صور الثدي الشعاعية تعد طريقة فعالة لفحص سرطان الثدي لدى النساء اللائي توجد لديهن غرسات في الثدي.

إذا كانت لديك غرسات في الثدي، فيمكنكِ اتخاذ خطوات كي تكون صور الثدي الشعاعية أكثر وضوحًا كما يلي:

  • ابحثي عن منشأة طبية يتردد عليها الكثير من النساء ممن لديهن غرسات في الثدي. اطلبي من الطبيب إحالتكِ إلى عيادة يكون اختصاصي الأشعة فيها خبيرًا في إجراء صور الثدي الشعاعية وتفسيرها للنساء اللائي لديهن غرسات في الثدي.

    اسألي عن مستوى خبرة العاملين بالعيادة عند تحديد موعد زيارتكِ. سيكون من المفيد أن تعرفي أن العيادة توفر تقنيات خاصة لعرض صور الثدي الشعاعية إلى جانب تقنيات صور الثدي الشعاعية العادية من أجل تقييم أنسجة الثدي بشكل أفضل.

  • عرّفي الطبيب بأن لديك غرسات في الثدي أثناء الزيارة. أخبري فريق العمل بالعيادة عن غرسات الثدي عند تحديد موعد الزيارة ومرة أخرى أثناء موعدكِ مع الطبيب.
  • إذا لاحظتِ تغيرات في الثدي أو إذا كانت لديكِ أية مخاوف، فأخبري الطبيب على الفور. سوف يتحدث الطبيب مع اختصاصي الأشعة لتحديد ما إذا كنتِ بحاجة إلى صور إضافية أو إلى إجراء الموجات فوق الصوتية على الثدي.

فهناك خطورة ضئيلة من احتمالية تمزق غرسات الثدي أثناء صور الثدي الشعاعية، ولكن تفوق فوائد الاكتشاف المبكر لسرطان الثدي باستخدام صور الثدي الشعاعية الخطورة المترتبة عليها.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

Can breast implants make it harder to find breast cancer during mammography?

Answers from Sandhya Pruthi, M.D.

Yes. Breast implants, either saline or silicone, can obscure mammogram images, decreasing the ability of mammograms to reveal breast cancer.

Breast implants are most often placed above the muscle (subglandular) and implants in this location can potentially reduce the radiologist's ability to interpret the mammogram because not all the breast tissue can be visualized. Implants placed beneath the muscle (subpectoral) are much less likely to interfere with the radiologist's ability to interpret the mammogram. Still, studies show that mammograms are an effective way to screen for breast cancer in women with breast implants.

If you have breast implants, you can take steps to make your mammogram more successful, such as:

  • Find a facility that sees many women with breast implants. Ask your doctor for a referral to a clinic where radiologists have experience performing and reading mammograms of women with breast implants.

    Ask about the clinic staff's experience when you make your appointment. You'll want to know that the clinic obtains special mammogram views in addition to the standard mammogram images to better evaluate the breast tissue.

  • Speak up about your breast implants at your appointment. When you make your appointment and again when you arrive at your appointment, tell the staff that you have breast implants.
  • If you have noted changes in your breast or if you have concerns, tell your doctor promptly. Your doctor will talk with the radiologist to decide whether you need additional imaging or breast ultrasound.

There's a slight risk that your breast implants may rupture during a mammogram. But the benefits of mammography in the early detection of breast cancer outweigh this risk.

July 19, 2017 See more Expert Answers