بعد إعصار مدمر وقع في أرجاء روتشستر في عام 1883، اقترحت Mother Alfred Moes وراهبات سانت فرانسيس بناء مستشفى لمساعدة المرضى والمصابين في جنوب مينيسوتا - بشرط أن يقدم William Worrall Mayo وأبنائه الخدمات الطبية. وقد تمت الموافقة على ذلك، وفي عام 1889 افتتحت مستشفى سانت ماري (Saint Marys Hospital) بعدد 27 سريرًا. وتوسعت باستمرار على مر السنين لتلبية احتياجات ممارسة Mayo Clinic.

وكانت المرافق الملحقة لمبنى ماري براي (Mary Brigh Building) التي تم إنشاؤها في عام 1980من أكبر مشروعات التوسع في المستشفى. وأضافت المرافق الملحقة جناحًا جراحيًا مكونًا من 50 غرفة وأكثر من 100 سرير جديد للعناية المركزة بالمستشفى. في عام 1997، تم الانتهاء من مشروع توسع كبير آخر من خلال إضافة المزيد من أسرة العناية المركزة ومختبر القلب (Cardiac Laboratory) الموسع ومستشفى Mayo أويجينيو ليتا للأطفال (Mayo Eugenio Litta Children's Hospital).

في عام 1986، قامت Mayo Clinic، مستشفى ميثوديست، روتشستر ومستشفى سانت ماري بدمج عملياتهم في قبضة مجلس إدارة واحد لخدمة احتياجات مرضى Mayo بفعالية أكثر. وكجزء من هذا الاتفاق، تم إنشاء مجلس رعاية (Sponsorship Board) خاص لضمان استمرار القيم الروحانية التي تشكل جزءًا لا يتجزأ من تاريخ المستشفى.

في عام 2014، أصبحت مستشفى روتشستر ميثوديست (Rochester Methodist Hospital) ومستشفى سانت ماري (Saint Marys Hospital) مستشفى واحدة معتمدة لتعكس بشكل أفضل ممارسة مستشفى Mayo المتكاملة. ونتيجةً لذلك، يشار إلى مجمع سانت ماري ( Saint Marys Campus) في روتشستر الآن باسم مستشفى Mayo Clinic، مجمع سانت ماري (Saint Marys Campus).

History of Mayo Clinic Hospital, Saint Marys Campus

After a devastating tornado ripped through Rochester in 1883, Mother Alfred Moes and the Sisters of Saint Francis proposed building a hospital to aid the sick and injured in Southern Minnesota — on the condition that William Worrall Mayo and his sons provide the medical service. They agreed, and in 1889 Saint Marys Hospital opened with 27 beds. It expanded continually over the years to meet the needs of the Mayo Clinic practice.

One of the hospital's largest expansion projects was the Mary Brigh Building additions in 1980. The addition added a 50-room surgical suite and more than 100 new intensive care beds to the hospital. In 1997, another major expansion was completed with the addition of more intensive care beds, an expanded Cardiac Laboratory and the Mayo Eugenio Litta Children's Hospital.

In 1986, Mayo Clinic, Rochester Methodist Hospital and Saint Marys Hospital integrated their operations under one governing board to more efficiently serve the needs of Mayo patients. As a part of that agreement, a special Sponsorship Board was created to ensure that the spiritual values integral to the hospital's history are perpetuated.

In 2014, Rochester Methodist Hospital and Saint Marys Hospital became a single licensed hospital to better reflect Mayo's integrated hospital practice. As a result, the Saint Marys Campus in Rochester is now referred to as Mayo Clinic Hospital, Saint Marys Campus.