لقد تم تشخيصي بمرض التصلب المتعدد (MS). هل يمكنني ممارسة الرياضة؟

قد تجعل الأعراض الشائعة للتصلب المتعدد، مثل التعب والضعف وسوء التناسق، ممارسة الرياضة في المستقبل أمرًا شاقًا. ومع ذلك، تشير الدراسات إلى أن فوائد ممارسة الرياضة تفوق كثيرًا التحديات لدى الأشخاص المصابين بالتصلب المتعدد — طالما وضعت في اعتبارك عدم الإفراط فيها وأن التوسط ضروري.

إذا كنت مصابًا بالتصلب المتعدد، فاستشر طبيبك قبل البدء في أي روتين. بالنسبة للشخص المصاب بالتصلب المتعدد، فإن ممارسة الرياضة بشكل مفرط للغاية يمكنها أن تسبب تعبًا وإصابة شديدين وتفاقمًا في الأعراض. على الرغم من أن التمارين الهوائية المنتظمة يمكن أن تزيد القوة والتوازن، وتقوم بتحسين التحكم في المثانة والأمعاء، والحد من التشنج المرتبط بالتصلب المتعدد، إلا أنها يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية في حالة عدم ممارستها بأسلوب أقل قوة.

قد تعاني من تنميل أو وخز أو تشوش الرؤية عند البدء في ممارسة الرياضة. ويرجع ذلك إلى ارتفاع درجة حرارة الجسم الأساسية الناتجة عن الإجهاد. وستخف الأعراض عادة عندما يبرد جسمك. يمكنك إدارة درجة حرارة جسمك أثناء ممارسة الرياضة باستخدام طوق تبريد أو أي جهاز آخر.

ويمكن لاختصاصي العلاج الطبيعي أو مدرب اللياقة البدنية الذي لديه دراية بالتصلب المتعدد أن يساعدك على وضع روتين يناسب قدراتك ويعالج مشكلات، مثل درجة حرارة الجسم وضعف التوازن والتعب والتشنج. وقد يساعدك أيضًا في رصد معدل النبض والتنفس لمساعدتك على الترفق بنفسك، وتجنب الإجهاد المفرط. ويمكن لممارسة الرياضة في بركة السباحة، مثل التمارين الهوائية المائية، أن يساعدك أيضًا على التوازن وبالتالي يقلل من خطر السقوط.

يمكن لأي شخص مصاب بالتصلب المتعدد أن يضبط روتينًا لممارسة الرياضة لتلبية احتياجاته. فقط تذكر أن تعمل في نطاق قدراتك وأن تتجنب الإفراط.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

I've been diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS). Is it okay to exercise?

Answers from Douglas M. Peterson, M.D.

Common symptoms of MS, such as fatigue, weakness and poor coordination, may make the prospect of exercise daunting. However, studies show that the benefits of exercise far outweigh the challenges for people with MS — as long as you remember not to overdo it and that moderation is essential.

If you have MS, check with your doctor before starting a routine. For someone with MS, exercise that's too aggressive can bring on severe fatigue and injury and exacerbate symptoms. Though regular aerobic exercise can increase strength and balance, improve bowel and bladder control, and decrease spasticity related to MS, it can backfire if you don't take a gentler approach.

You may experience numbness, tingling or blurred vision when you start to exercise. This is due to a rise in core body temperature resulting from exertion. Typically, symptoms will ease as your body cools down. You can manage your body temperature while you exercise with a cooling collar or other device.

A physical therapist or fitness instructor familiar with MS can help create a routine that fits your capabilities and addresses issues such as body temperature, poor balance, fatigue and spasticity. He or she can also assist in monitoring your pulse and breathing rate to help you pace yourself and avoid overexertion. Pool exercise, such as water aerobics, also may help with balance and, therefore, reduce your risk of falls.

Anyone with MS can modify an exercise routine to meet his or her needs. Just remember to work within your range of ability and not to overdo it.

June 07, 2017 See more Expert Answers