لقد قرأت أن المكمل الغذائي، أسيتل-إل-كارنيتين، قد يخفف التعب المرتبط بالتصلب المتعدد. فهل هذا حقيقي؟

إجابة من جيري دبليو سوانسون، (دكتور في الطب)

لا توجد في الوقت الحالي أدلة كافية لمعرفة ما إذا كان الأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين يساعد على تحسين التعب المصاحب للتصلب المتعدد أم لا. ولكن الأمر يحتاج لمزيد من الدراسة.

الأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين هو شكل من أشكال الحمض الأميني، إل-كارنيتين، الموجود في جميع خلايا الجسم تقريبًا. ويؤدي هذا الحمض الأميني دورًا حاسمًا في إنتاج الطاقة من الأحماض الدهنية طويلة السلسلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن إل-كارنيتين يزيد من نشاط خلايا عصبية معينة في الجهاز العصبي المركزي.

يعد التعب أحد الأعراض الشائعة لدى الأشخاص المصابين بالتصلب المتعدد. إلا أنه لا يُعرف سبب التعب بشكل تام.

أما من حيث علاج التعب بالأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين، فهناك بعض الدراسات التي تشير إلى أن هذه المكملات الغذائية قد تخفف من التعب المرتبط بالتصلب المتعدد لدى الأشخاص الذين لديهم مستوى منخفض من إل-كارنيتين في الدم.

كما كشف بحث آخر أن الأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين يعمل بشكل أفضل من بعض الأدوية المستخدمة في علاج التعب. ولكن هناك دراسات أخرى قد توصلت إلى نتائج غير حاسمة تشير إلى أن للأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين فائدة محتملة في علاج التعب المرتبط بالتصلب المتعدد، ولكن ذلك ليس بشكل بالغ إحصائيًا.

على الرغم من أن الأسيتل-إل-كارنيتين تصاحبه آثار جانبية قليلة أو خفيفة، فإنه يمكن أن يعيق عمل الأدوية المضادة للتخثر وأدوية أخرى. لذا، إذا قررت تجربة أسيتل-إل-كارنيتين أو أي مكمل غذائي آخر، فاحرص على التحدث إلى طبيبك أولاً.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

I've read that the dietary supplement acetyl-L-carnitine may reduce fatigue in multiple sclerosis. Is this true?

Answers from Jerry W. Swanson, M.D.

Currently, there isn't enough evidence to know whether acetyl-L-carnitine helps improve fatigue associated with multiple sclerosis (MS) or not. More study is needed.

Acetyl-L-carnitine is a form of L-carnitine, an amino acid that is found in nearly all cells of the body. L-carnitine plays a critical role in the production of energy from long-chain fatty acids. In addition, it increases the activity of certain nerve cells in the central nervous system.

Fatigue is a common symptom in people with multiple sclerosis. But the cause of the fatigue isn't well-understood.

As for treating fatigue with acetyl-L-carnitine, some studies have suggested that supplements could ease MS-related fatigue in people with low blood levels of L-carnitine.

Other research found that acetyl-L-carnitine works better than certain medications used to treat fatigue. But additional studies have had inconclusive results, showing a possible, but not statistically significant, benefit to acetyl-L-carnitine in MS-related fatigue.

Although acetyl-L-carnitine generally has few or mild side effects, it can interfere with blooding-thinning medications and other drugs. So, if you decide to try acetyl-L-carnitine or any other dietary supplement, be sure to talk with your doctor first.

July 30, 2015 See more Expert Answers