التشخيص

تتضمن الاختبارات والإجراءات المُستخدمة لتشخيص انسداد الأمعاء ما يلي:

  • الفحص البدني. سيسألكَ الطبيب عن تاريخكَ الطبي والأعراض التي لديك. كما سيُجري فحصًا بدنيًا لتقييم حالتك. قد يشك الطبيب في انسداد الأمعاء إذا كان بطنك منتفخًا أو طريًا أو إذا كانت توجد كتلة في بطنك. وقد يستمع إلى أصوات الأمعاء باستخدام سماعة طبية.
  • الأشعة السينية. لتأكيد تشخيص انسداد الأمعاء، قد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء أشعة سينية على البطن. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن رؤية بعض انسدادات الأمعاء باستخدام الأشعة السينية القياسية.
  • التصوير المقطعي المحوسب. يجمع التصوير المقطعي المحوسب سلسلة من صور الأشعة السينية التي أُخذت من زوايا مختلفة لإنشاء صور مقطعية. وتعد هذه الصور أكثر تفصيلاً من الأشعة السينية القياسية، ومن المرجح أن تُظهر انسداد الأمعاء.
  • التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية. عندما يحدث انسداد الأمعاء عند الأطفال، غالبًا ما يكون التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية النوع المفضل من التصوير. وفي الأطفال الأصغر سنًا المصابين بالانغلاف، عادةً ما يُظهر التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية "عين الثور"، التي تمثل التفاف الأمعاء حول بعضها.
  • حقنة الهواء أو الباريوم الشرجية. تساعد حقنة الهواء أو الباريوم الشرجية على تحسين جودة تصوير القولون. وقد يوصي الطبيب بها لاكتشاف أسباب الانسداد المشكوك فيها. فخلال الإجراء، سيُدخل الطبيب الهواء أو الباريوم السائل في القولون من خلال المستقيم. بالنسبة إلى الانغلاف عند الأطفال، يمكن بالفعل أن تحل حقنة الهواء أو الباريوم الشرجية المشكلة في معظم الأوقات، وحينها لا داعي لأي علاج آخر.

العلاج

يعتمد علاج الانسداد المعوي على سبب الحالة لديك، لكنه يتطلب دخول المستشفى بشكل عام.

دخول المستشفى لتحقيق استقرار الحالة

عند الوصول إلى المستشفى، يعمل الأطباء على جعل حالتك تستقر حتى تتمكن من الخضوع للعلاج. وقد تتضمن هذه العملية ما يلي:

  • إدخال أنبوب وريدي في أحد أوردة الذراع لنقل المحاليل إلى الجسم
  • وضع أنبوب عبر الأنف يصل إلى المعدة (أنبوب أنفي معدي) لشفط الهواء والسوائل والتخلص من الانتفاخ في البطن
  • وضع أنبوب رفيع مرن (أنبوب قسطرة) في المثانة لتصريف البول وجمعه لتحليله

علاج الانغلاف

يتم استخدام حقنة شرجية هوائية أو بالباريوم كإجراء تشخيصي، وكعلاج للأطفال المصابين بالانغلاف. إذا كانت الحقنة الشرجية فعالة، فلن تحتاج إلى المزيد من العلاج عادةً.

علاج الانسداد الجزئي

إذا كنت تعاني من انسداد يمكن من خلاله لبعض الطعام والسوائل أن تمرّ عبره (انسداد جزئي)، فإنك قد لا تحتاج إلى المزيد من العلاج بعد استقرارك. ويمكن أن يوصي طبيبك بنظامٍ غذائيٍّ خاصٍّ قليل المحتوى من الألياف، بحيث يكون من الأسهل على أمعائك المسدودة جزئيًا معالجته. وإذا لم يزل الانسداد من تلقاء نفسه، فإنّك قد تحتاج إلى الجراحة للتخفيف منه.

علاج الانسداد الكلي

في حال انسداد الأمعاء بالكامل فلا يستطيع أي شيء المرور فيها، ستحتاج عادةً إلى إجراء جراحة لتخفيف الانسداد. وسيعتمد الإجراء الجراحي الذي تخضع له على سبب الانسداد والجزء المصاب من الأمعاء. وتشمل الجراحة عادةً استئصال الانسداد، بالإضافة إلى أي جزء ميت أو تالف من الأمعاء.

أو بدلاً من ذلك، ربما يوصي الطبيب بعلاج الانسداد بواسطة دعامة معدنية ذاتية التمدد. حيث يتم إدخال الأنبوب الشبكي السلكي داخل الأمعاء من خلال منظار داخلي يتم تمريره عبر الفم أو القولون. ويعمل الأنبوب على فتح الأمعاء بالقوة حتى يمكن التخلص من الانسداد.

وبوجه عام، يتم استخدام الدعامات لعلاج الأشخاص المصابين بسرطان القولون أو لتوفير الراحة المؤقتة للأشخاص الذين تشكل الجراحة الطارئة خطرًا بالغًا عليهم. ورغم ذلك، قد تظل بحاجة إلى إجراء الجراحة حتى بعد استقرار حالتك.

علاج الانسداد الزائف

إذا حدد طبيبك أن مؤشرات المرض والأعراض ناجمة عن انسداد زائف (عِلَّوص شللي)، فقد يراقب حالتك لمدة يوم أو يومين في المستشفى، ويعالج السبب إذا كان معروفًا. ويمكن أن يتحسن العِلَّوص الشللي دون علاج. وخلال هذه الفترة، من المرجح أن يُقدَّم لك الطعام عبر أنبوب أنفي أو من خلال الوريد للوقاية من سوء التغذية.

إذا لم يتحسن العِلَّوص الشللي من تلقاء نفسه، فقد يصف لك الطبيب دواءً يسبب انقباضات عضلية للمساعدة على انتقال الطعام والسوائل من خلال الأمعاء. وإذا كان العِلَّوص الشللي ناجمًا عن مرض أو دواء، فسيعالج الطبيب المرض الكامن أو يخبرك بالتوقف عن تناول الدواء. وفي حالات نادرة، تكون الجراحة ضرورية لاستئصال جزء من الأمعاء.

في الحالات التي يكون فيها القولون متضخمًا، يمكن أن يمنحك علاج يُدعى "تخفيف الضغط" شعورًا بالراحة. ويمكن إجراء تخفيف الضغط عن طريق تنظير القولون، وهو إجراء يدخل الطبيب خلاله أنبوبًا رفيعًا داخل فتحة الشرج ويوجّه إلى القولون. كما يمكن إجراء تخفيف الضغط قبل الجراحة.

للمزيد من المعلومات

الاستعداد لموعدك

ويعتبر انسداد الأمعاء عادةً بمثابة حالة طبية طارئة. ونتيجة لذلك، قد لا يكون لديك الكثير من الوقت من أجل الإعداد لموعد. إذا كان لديك وقت قبل الموعد، فقم بإعداد قائمة بالعلامات والأعراض حتى تتمكن من الإجابة عن أسئلة الطبيب بشكل أفضل.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة، بما في ذلك:

  • متى بدأت تعاني ألم البطن أو غيره من الأعراض؟
  • هل ظهرت الأعراض بشكل مفاجئ أو هل ظهرت لديك أعراض مثل هذه من قبل؟
  • هل الألم لديك مستمر؟
  • هل عانيت من الغثيان والقيء والحمى والدم في البراز أو الإسهال أو الإمساك؟
  • هل خضعت للجراحة أو للإشعاع في بطنك؟
20/01/2021
  1. Feldman M, et al., eds. Intestinal obstruction. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 7, 2020.
  2. Intestinal obstruction. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/acute-abdomen-and-surgical-gastroenterology/intestinal-obstruction#. Accessed Dec. 7, 2020.
  3. Kliegman RM, et al. Ileus, adhesions, intussusception, and closed-loop obstructions. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 10, 2020.
  4. Intestinal pseudo-obstruction. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/intestinal-pseudo-obstruction. Accessed Dec. 10, 2020.
  5. Catena F, et al. Bowel obstruction: A narrative review for all physicians. World Journal of Emergency Surgery. 2019; doi:10.1186/s13017-019-0240-7.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Intussusception. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Song LM, et al. NSAIDs: Adverse effects on the distal small bowel and colon. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 14, 2020.
  8. Rajan E (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 11, 2020.

Diagnosis

Tests and procedures used to diagnose intestinal obstruction include:

  • Physical exam. Your doctor will ask about your medical history and your symptoms. He or she will also do a physical exam to assess your situation. The doctor may suspect intestinal obstruction if your abdomen is swollen or tender or if there's a lump in your abdomen. He or she may listen for bowel sounds with a stethoscope.
  • X-ray. To confirm a diagnosis of intestinal obstruction, your doctor may recommend an abdominal X-ray. However, some intestinal obstructions can't be seen using standard X-rays.
  • Computerized tomography (CT). A CT scan combines a series of X-ray images taken from different angles to produce cross-sectional images. These images are more detailed than a standard X-ray, and are more likely to show an intestinal obstruction.
  • Ultrasound. When an intestinal obstruction occurs in children, ultrasound is often the preferred type of imaging. In youngsters with an intussusception, an ultrasound will typically show a "bull's-eye," representing the intestine coiled within the intestine.
  • Air or barium enema. An air or barium enema is basically enhanced imaging of the colon that may be done for certain suspected causes of obstruction. During the procedure, the doctor will insert air or liquid barium into the colon through the rectum. For intussusception in children, an air or barium enema can actually fix the problem most of the time, and no further treatment is needed.

Treatment

Treatment for intestinal obstruction depends on the cause of your condition, but generally requires hospitalization.

Hospitalization to stabilize your condition

When you arrive at the hospital, the doctors will first work to stabilize you so that you can undergo treatment. This process may include:

  • Placing an intravenous (IV) line into a vein in your arm so that fluids can be given
  • Putting a nasogastric tube through your nose and into your stomach to suck out air and fluid and relieve abdominal swelling
  • Placing a thin, flexible tube (catheter) into your bladder to drain urine and collect it for testing

Treating intussusception

A barium or air enema is used both as a diagnostic procedure and a treatment for children with intussusception. If an enema works, further treatment is usually not necessary.

Treatment for partial obstruction

If you have an obstruction in which some food and fluid can still get through (partial obstruction), you may not need further treatment after you've been stabilized. Your doctor may recommend a special low-fiber diet that is easier for your partially blocked intestine to process. If the obstruction does not clear on its own, you may need surgery to relieve the obstruction.

Treatment for complete obstruction

If nothing is able to pass through your intestine, you'll usually need surgery to relieve the blockage. The procedure you have will depend on what's causing the obstruction and which part of your intestine is affected. Surgery typically involves removing the obstruction, as well as any section of your intestine that has died or is damaged.

Alternatively, your doctor may recommend treating the obstruction with a self-expanding metal stent. The wire mesh tube is inserted into your colon via an endoscope passed through your mouth or colon. It forces open the colon so that the obstruction can clear.

Stents are generally used to treat people with colon cancer or to provide temporary relief in people for whom emergency surgery is too risky. You may still need surgery, once your condition is stable.

Treatment for pseudo-obstruction

If your doctor determines that your signs and symptoms are caused by pseudo-obstruction (paralytic ileus), he or she may monitor your condition for a day or two in the hospital, and treat the cause if it's known. Paralytic ileus can get better on its own. In the meantime, you'll likely be given food through a nasal tube or an IV to prevent malnutrition.

If paralytic ileus doesn't improve on its own, your doctor may prescribe medication that causes muscle contractions, which can help move food and fluids through your intestines. If paralytic ileus is caused by an illness or medication, the doctor will treat the underlying illness or stop the medication. Rarely, surgery may be needed to remove part of the intestine.

In cases where the colon is enlarged, a treatment called decompression may provide relief. Decompression can be done with colonoscopy, a procedure in which a thin tube is inserted into your anus and guided into the colon. Decompression can also be done through surgery.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Preparing for your appointment

Intestinal obstruction is usually a medical emergency. As a result, you may not have much time to prepare for an appointment. If you have time before your appointment, make a list of your signs and symptoms so that you can better answer your doctor's questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • When did you begin experiencing abdominal pain or other symptoms?
  • Did your symptoms come on all of a sudden or have you had symptoms like these before?
  • Is your pain continuous?
  • Have you experienced nausea, vomiting, fever, blood in your stool, diarrhea or constipation?
  • Have you had surgery or radiation in your abdomen?
Aug. 19, 2017
References
  1. Feldman M, et al. Intestinal obstruction. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 10, 2015.
  2. Glancy DG. Intestinal obstruction. Surgery. 2014;34:204.
  3. Kitagawa S, et al. Intussusception in children. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 10, 2015.
  4. Intestinal pseudo-obstruction. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/digestive-diseases/intestinal-pseudo-obstruction/Pages/facts.aspx. Accessed Sept. 17, 2015.
  5. Ileus. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/acute-abdomen-and-surgical-gastroenterology/ileus. Accessed Sept. 18, 2015.