ما هو الفيروس المعوي D68 وكيف يمكن حماية الأطفال من الإصابة به؟

إجابة من جيمس أم ستيكلبيرغ، (دكتور في الطب)

الفيروس المعوي D68، والذي يُسمى أيضًا EV-D68، هو فيروس يمكن أن يسبب عدوى مماثلة للزكام. ويمكن في بعض الحالات أن يسبب مشكلات خطيرة في التنفس.

وينتشر الفيروس المعوي D68 عندما يسعل المصاب بالفيروس أو يعطس أو يلمس الأسطح التي يلمسها الآخرون. رغم من أن البالغين يمكن أن يصابوا بالفيروسات المعوية، يصيب الفيروس المعوي D68 الأطفال غالبًا. قد تتضمن هذه العلامات والأعراض الخفيفة:

  • الحُمّى
  • سيَلان الأنف
  • العُطاس
  • السعال
  • ألمًا في الجسم والعضلات

قد تتضمن العلامات والأعراض الشديدة ما يلي:

  • أزيز الصدر
  • صعوبة في التنفس

الأطفال المصابون بالربو أكثر عرضة لمشكلات التنفس في حال أصابتهم العدوى.

وفي حالات نادرة، يمكن أن يصاب الأطفال المصابون بالفيروس المعوي D68 مشكلات في العضلات. يمكن أن تَضعف العضلات أو تتوقف عن العمل مؤقتًا (الشلل الحاد). الخبراء غير متيقنين من علاقة الفيروس المعوي D68 بضعف العضلات، ولكن ينصحون الأهل بالاتصال بالطبيب إذا لم يمشِ الطفل بشكل صحيح أو أصابه ضعف مفاجئ في الذراع أو الساق.

في حالة الشك في إصابة الطفل بالفيروس المعوي D68، ينبغي الاتصال بطبيبه. رغم عدم وجود علاج محدد، قد ينصح طبيب الطفل بطرق يمكن من خلالها تخفيف الأعراض. ينبغي الاتصال بالطبيب على الفور إذا أصيب الطفل بصعوبة التنفس أو إذا لم تتحسن أعراضه أو تفاقمت.

لا يوجد لقاح للوقاية من الفيروس المعوي D68. مع ذلك، يمكن للخطوات التالية أن تساعد في حماية الطفل والوقاية من انتشار العدوى:

  • غسل اليدين جيدًا بالماء والصابون.
  • تجنب لمس العين أو الفم أو الأنف.
  • تجنب مخالطة المصابين بالمرض عن قرب.
  • تغطية الفم والأنف في أثناء السعال أو العطاس بمنديل ورقي أو بكُم القميص.
  • تنظيف وتعقيم الأسطح التي تُلمَس بكثرة، مثل مقابض الأبواب والدرابزين والألعاب.
  • البقاء في المنزل دون الذهاب إلى المدرسة أو العمل أو دار رعاية الأطفال في حالة المرض.

إذا كان الطفل مصابًا بالربو، ينبغي التأكد من أن خطة التعامل مع الربو محدّثة وأنه يتناول الأدوية المطلوبة وفق توجيهات الطبيب. ينبغي طلب الرعاية الطبية إذا أصيب الطفل بأزيز في الصدر أو صعوبة في التنفس ولم يتحسن رغم تناول الأدوية التي وصفها الطبيب. احرص على أخذ اللقاح المضاد للإنفلونزا عند توفره.

04/09/2020 See more Expert Answers

What is enterovirus D68 and how can I protect my child from it?

Answers from James M. Steckelberg, M.D.

Enterovirus D68 (EV-D68) is a virus that can cause an infection similar to the common cold. In some cases, it can cause serious breathing problems.

Enterovirus D68 spreads when a person who is sick with the virus coughs, sneezes or touches a surface that is touched by others. Although adults can get infected with enteroviruses, enterovirus D68 most commonly affects children. Mild signs and symptoms may include:

  • Fever
  • Runny nose
  • Sneezing
  • Cough
  • Body and muscle aches

Severe signs and symptoms may include:

  • Wheezing
  • Difficulty breathing

Children with asthma who become infected may be more likely to have serious breathing problems.

In rare cases, children infected with enterovirus D68 may have problems with their muscles. The muscles can become weak or stop working temporarily (acute paralysis). Experts are unsure whether enterovirus D68 is linked to muscle weakness, but they recommend that parents contact a doctor if their child isn't walking correctly or develops sudden weakness in an arm or leg.

If you suspect your child might have enterovirus D68, contact his or her doctor. Although there is no specific treatment, your child's doctor might have advice about how to ease your child's symptoms. Call the doctor immediately if your child is having trouble breathing or if his or her symptoms don't improve or get worse.

There is no vaccine against enterovirus D68. However, the following steps may help protect your child and prevent the spread of infection:

  • Wash hands often with soap and water.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, mouth and nose.
  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Cover coughs and sneezes with a tissue or shirt sleeve.
  • Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces, such as doorknobs, stair rails and toys.
  • Stay home from school, work or child care if you are sick.

If your child has asthma, make sure the asthma action plan is up to date and that he or she takes prescribed medications as directed. Seek medical care if your child develops wheezing or difficulty breathing that doesn't improve with prescribed medications. Get a flu vaccine when it's available.

Sept. 12, 2017 See more Expert Answers