منذ عدة أشهر، أصيب ابني ببقعة بيضاء صغيرة على جلد ذراعه. وفيما يبدو أنها بدأت في الاتساع. هل ينبغي أن أقلق بشأن بقعة بيضاء على الجلد؟

إجابة من لورنس إي غيبسون، (دكتور في الطب)

بشكل عام، فإن البقع البيضاء على الجلد ليست مدعاة للقلق. يمكن أن يتغير لون الجلد نتيجة لعدة أسباب من بينها:

  • الأكزيما. في بعض الأحيان قد تهيج مساحة صغيرة من الجلد أو تصاب بأكزيما خفيفة، مما يؤدي لظهور بقعة من الجلد بلون أفتح مما حولها (النخالية البيضاء). وهذا شائع في الأطفال المصابين بالحساسية أو الربو أو الأكزيما. قد يوصي طبيب طفلك بوضع مرطبات البشرة فوق المنطقة المصابة من الجلد وتجنب استخدام الصابون الذي يحتوي على نسبة قلوية عالية أو المناسب للبشرة الجافة. قد يصف طبيبك أيضًا كريمًا طبيًا لطيفًا، مثل الهيدروكورتيزون.
  • العدوى الفطرية السطحية. من بين الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى لظهور البقع البيضاء على الجلد هو الإصابة بالعدوى الفطرية السطحية (السعفة المبرقشة). قد يتسبب هذا المرض في أن يبدو لون الجلد إما أفتح أو أغمق من المعتاد. في هذه الحالة، قد يتضمن العلاج كريمًا أو شامبو مضادًا للفطريات.
  • أمراض جلدية أخرى، من بينها الصدفية والبهاق، قد تتسبب أيضًا في ظهور بقعة فاتحة اللون أو بيضاء أو تغير آخر في لون الجلد. وفي كثير من الأحيان، قد تظهر آفات أخرى مماثلة لهذه الأمراض في أجزاء أخرى من الجلد خلال الفحص الطبي. يركز علاج الصدفية على التحكم بمدة نوبات احتدام المرض ومدى شدتها. يمكن أن يكون علاج البهاق أمرًا صعبًا؛ ولذلك فمن الضروري القيام بالتشخيص الصحيح والتفكير في اللجوء إلى العلاجات التي تُصرف بوصفة طبية.

استشر طبيبًا جلديًا لعمل فحص شامل إذا استمرت البقعة البيضاء على ذراع ابنك في الاتساع أو إذا ظهرت بقع بيضاء إضافية في أماكن أخرى.

21/12/2019 See more Expert Answers

Several months ago, my son developed a small white patch on the skin of his arm. It appears to be getting larger. Is a white patch on skin anything to be concerned about?

Answers from Lawrence E. Gibson, M.D.

Generally, a white patch on skin isn't cause for concern. Skin discoloration can be triggered by a number of causes, including:

  • Eczema. Sometimes a small area of skin becomes irritated or develops mild eczema, which results in a patch of skin that's lighter in pigment than is the skin around it (pityriasis alba). This is common in children who have allergies, asthma or eczema. Your son's doctor may recommend applying moisturizer to the affected skin and avoiding harsh or drying soaps. Your doctor might also prescribe a mild medicated cream, such as hydrocortisone.
  • Superficial yeast infection. Another possible cause of a white patch on skin is a superficial yeast infection (tinea versicolor). This condition may cause the skin to look either lighter or darker than usual. In this case, treatment may include antifungal creams or shampoos.
  • Other skin diseases, including psoriasis and vitiligo, also may cause a light or white patch or other discoloration on skin. Most often other lesions typical for these conditions are present elsewhere on examination. Treatment of psoriasis focuses on controlling the length and severity of flare-ups. Treatment of vitiligo can be challenging and therefore a correct diagnosis is required and prescription treatments can be considered.

Consult a dermatologist for an evaluation if the white patch on your son's arm continues to enlarge or if additional white patches appear in other places.

Sept. 13, 2016 See more Expert Answers