هل تسبب جميع أدوية الاضطراب ثنائي القطب زيادة الوزن؟

يمكن علاج الاضطراب ثنائي القطب بعدة أدوية. يمكن أن تؤدي بعض هذه الأدوية إلى زيادة شهيتك أو يتسبب في تغيرات في عملية الأيض تؤدي إلى زيادة الوزن.

ويختلف حدوث الزيادة في الوزن أو آثار جانبية نتيجة تناول دواء معين من شخص لآخر. كذلك، تختلف فاعلية الأدوية في علاج أعراض الاضطراب ثنائي القطب من شخص لآخر. ونظرًا لهذا، فإن إيجاد أفضل دواء لعلاج الأعراض لديك قد يتطلب بعض التجارب والإخفاقات.

تتضمن أدوية الاضطراب ثنائي القطب عقاقير تثبيت الحالة المزاجية ومضادات الذهان ومضادات الاكتئاب.

  • عقاقير تثبيت الحالة المزاجية تستخدم لعلاج الاضطراب ثنائي القطب، ومنها الليثيوم (الليثوبيد) وحمض الفالبرويك (ديباكين) وثنائي فالبروكس الصوديوم (ديباكوت) والكاربامازيبين (تيجريتول، وإيكويترو وغيرهما) واللاموتريجين (لاميكتال). تُعرف كل هذه الأدوية بأنها تزيد من خطورة زيادة الوزن ما عدا اللاموتريجين .
  • مضادات الذهان توصف لعلاج الاضطراب ثنائي القطب، ومنها الأولانزابين (زيبريكسا) والريسبيريدون (ريسبيردال) والكويتيابين (سيروكويل) والأريبيبرازول (أبيليفي) والزيبراسيدون (جيودون) واللوراسيدون (لاتودا) وكاريبرازين (فرايلار) والأسينابين (سافريس). يبدو أن أدوية الأريبيبرازول والزيبراسيدون واللوراسيدون والكاريبرازين محايدة أكثر من غيرها فهي لا تسبب زيادة أو نقصان في الوزن، ولكن قد يختلف هذا من شخص لآخر.
  • يمكن استخدام مضادات الاكتئاب مع عقاقير توازن الحالة المزاجية أو مضادات الذهان لعلاج الاضطراب ثنائي القطب، رغم أن مضادات الاكتئاب قد تسبب بمفردها هوسًا أوتغيرًا سريعًا في المزاج لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب ثنائي القطب. وعلى الأرجح قد تتسبب بعض مضادات الاكتئاب في زيادة الوزن بشكل أكبر عن غيرها، ولكن قد يختلف هذا من شخص لآخر. إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة، فتحدث إلى أخصائي الرعاية النفسية.
  • يعمل الدواء الذي يجمع بين مضاد الاكتئاب ومضاد الذهان بمثابة معالج للاكتئاب كما يحافظ على توازن الحالة المزاجية. ويجمع دواء سيمبياكس بين الفلوكسيتين المضاد للاكتئاب والأولانزابين المضاد للذهان ويصحبه زيادة في الوزن.

وتقل احتمالية تسبب بعض هذه الأدوية في زيادة الوزن عند تناولها بمفردها، ولكن يحتاج العديد من الأشخاص إلى أكثر من دواء واحد للسيطرة على أعراض الاضطراب ثنائي القطب. ربما يتعذر تجنب بعض حالات زيادة الوزن عند تناول أدوية الاضطراب ثنائي القطب.

إذا كانت زيادة الوزن تسبب لك مشكلة، فاطلب من أخصائي الرعاية النفسية نصيحة حول أساليب السيطرة على الأمر. وقد يكون من المفيد اتباع نظام غذائي صحي والمداومة على النشاط البدني والحصول على استشارات نفسية (العلاج النفسي).

استمر في التعاون مع أخصائي الرعاية النفسية لمعرفة أفضل طريقة للسيطرة على أعراض الاضطراب ثنائي القطب والتحكم في وزنك.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Do all bipolar medications cause weight gain?

Answers from Daniel K. Hall-Flavin, M.D.

Bipolar disorder can be treated with a number of medications. Some of these medications can increase your appetite or cause changes in metabolism leading to weight gain.

Whether a certain medication will cause weight gain or other side effects varies from person to person. Also, how well the medication works to treat bipolar disorder symptoms differs among individuals. Because of this, finding the medications that best treat your symptoms may require some trial and error.

Medications for bipolar disorders include mood stabilizers, antipsychotics and antidepressants.

  • Mood stabilizers used to treat bipolar disorder include lithium (Lithobid), valproic acid (Depakene), divalproex sodium (Depakote), carbamazepine (Tegretol, Equetro) and lamotrigine (Lamictal). All of these medications are known to increase the risk of weight gain except lamotrigine.
  • Mood-stabilizing antipsychotics commonly prescribed for bipolar disorder include olanzapine (Zyprexa), risperidone (Risperdal), quetiapine (Seroquel), aripiprazole (Abilify), ziprasidone (Geodon), lurasidone (Latuda) and asenapine (Saphris). It appears that aripiprazole, lurasidone and ziprasidone are more weight neutral than the others, but that can vary from person to person. Some of these medications cause weight gain when taken alone, but many people need more than one medication to control symptoms.
  • Certain antidepressants for bipolar disorder may be more likely to cause weight gain than others, but this can vary from person to person. Talk with your psychiatric care provider if you have concerns.
  • Antidepressant-antipsychotic. The medication Symbyax combines the antidepressant fluoxetine and the antipsychotic olanzapine. It works as a depression treatment and a mood stabilizer. Symbyax is approved by the Food and Drug Administration specifically for the treatment of depressive episodes associated with bipolar I disorder.

Some weight gain may be inevitable when taking medications to control your bipolar symptoms. If weight gain is an issue, ask your psychiatric care provider for advice on strategies to manage it. Healthy eating, keeping physically active and getting psychological counseling (psychotherapy) can all help.

Continue to work with your provider to find the best way to keep your bipolar symptoms and your weight under control.

Feb. 25, 2015 See more Expert Answers