Mayo Clinic Leadership

The officers and directors of Mayo Clinic are elected by the Board of Trustees to assist them in overseeing and conducting the activities of Mayo Clinic.

The Officers are:

Samuel A. Di Piazza Jr.

  • Chair, Board of Trustees
  • Samuel A. Di Piazza Jr. joined the board in 2010 and has been chair since February 2014.
  • University of Alabama; University of Houston. Retired global CEO of PricewaterhouseCoopers International Limited; 36-year career at PwC with multiple leadership positions, including chairman and senior partner and member, Global Leadership Team; recipient of Ellis Island Medal of Honor and the INROADS Leadership Award; internationally recognized author and commentator in fields such as corporate reporting, transparency, anti-corruption and sustainable development; active with many humanitarian initiatives, including Junior Achievement Worldwide, Big Brothers Big Sisters of New York City, St. Patrick's Cathedral, National September 11 Memorial and Museum, and New York Ballet.

John H. Noseworthy, M.D.

  • CEO and President
  • John H. Noseworthy, M.D., joined the board in 2009.
  • Dalhousie University; Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; University of Western Ontario; Harvard Medical School; Professor of Neurology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine; Consultant, Department of Neurology, 1992-present; Department Chair, 1997-2006; Editor-in-Chief, Neurology, 2007-2009; Vice Chair, Mayo Clinic Rochester Executive Board, 2006-2009; Medical Director for Development, 2006-2009. President and CEO, Mayo Clinic, 2009-present.
Gianrico Farrugia

Gianrico Farrugia, M.D.

  • Vice President, Mayo Clinic and CEO, Mayo Clinic Florida
  • Gianrico Farrugia, M.D., joined the board in 2015.
  • St. Aloysius College in Malta; M.D. degree at University of Malta and Medical School. Completed internship at St. Luke's University Hospital in Malta and internship and residency in internal medicine at Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. Completed fellowship in gastroenterology at Mayo Graduate School of Medicine.
  • Dr. Farrugia became CEO of Mayo Clinic in Florida in August 2014. Over 26 years with Mayo Clinic as a physician jointly appointed in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Department of Internal Medicine, and in the Department of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota. Previously served as Director of the Center for Individualized Medicine and as associate medical director of the Center for Innovation at Mayo Clinic. Holds academic rank of professor of medicine and physiology and has full faculty privileges in biomedical engineering at Mayo Graduate School.

Jeffrey W. Bolton

  • CAO and Vice President
  • Jeffrey W. Bolton joined the board in 2011.
  • Pennsylvania State University; University of Pittsburgh
  • Contract Administrator, City of Pittsburgh, 1979-1981; Planning/Financial Analysis, University of Pittsburgh, 1981-1984; Carnegie Mellon University, 1984-2002 — various positions including Vice President for Business and Planning and CFO, 1998-2002; Mayo Foundation, Chief Financial Officer and Chair, Department of Foundation Finance, 2002-2013. Vice President, Administration and CAO, 2013-present.

Wyatt W. Decker, M.D.

  • Vice President
  • Wyatt W. Decker, M.D., joined the board in 2011.
  • University of California; M.D., Mayo Medical School; Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education; Denver Health and Hospitals; M.B.A., Northwestern University.
  • Chair, Mayo Clinic Department of Emergency Medicine, 2000-2008. CEO of Mayo Clinic in Arizona, 2011-present.
Kedrick D. Adkins, Jr.

Kedrick D. Adkins, Jr.

  • CFO
  • Kedrick Adkins has been CFO since 2014.
  • University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Accenture 1976-2007 various positions including Global Chief Diversity Officer and Country Managing Director, US Operations. Trinity Health, President of Integrated Services 2007-2013; CHE-Trinity, Inc., Executive Vice President and President of Integrated Services, 2013-2014.

Jonathan J. Oviatt

  • CLO and Secretary
  • Jonathan J. Oviatt has been Secretary since 2002.
  • American University; Augustana College; University of Minnesota
  • Moss & Barnett (Minneapolis, MN), 1982-1991
  • Chief Legal Officer, Mayo Clinic Legal Department, 1991-present; Department Chair, 2002-present
  • Primary practice areas: Nonprofit institutions, business law, commercial real estate, tax planning.

Harry N. Hoffman

  • Treasurer
  • Harry N. Hoffman has been Treasurer since 2003.

Sherry L. Hubert

  • Assistant Secretary
  • Sherry L. Hubert has been Assistant Secretary since 2003.

Paula E. Menkosky

  • Assistant Secretary
  • Paula E. Menkosky has been Assistant Secretary since 2013.

William A. Brown

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • William A. Brown has been Assistant Treasurer since 2010.

James R. Francis

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • James R. Francis has been Assistant Treasurer since 2004.

Jeffrey R. Froisland

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • Jeffrey R. Froisland has been Assistant Treasurer since 2007.

Paul A. Gorman

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • Paul A. Gorman has been Assistant Treasurer since 2011.

Ricky J. Haeflinger

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • Ricky J. Haeflinger has been Assistant Treasurer since 2011.

Mary J. Hoffman

  • Assistant Treasurer
  • Mary J. Hoffman has been Assistant Treasurer since 2002.