诊断

根据您的情况,失眠的诊断和病因查找可能包括:

  • 体格检查。如果失眠的原因不明,医生可能会对您进行体格检查,以检查您是否有与失眠相关的医学问题的体征。有时,医生也会进行血液检测,以检查甲状腺问题或其他可能与睡眠不良有关的疾病。
  • 睡眠习惯评估。除了询问与睡眠有关的问题,医生可能会让您完成一份问卷,以确认您的睡眠-觉醒模式和日间嗜睡程度。您也可能需要记录几周的睡眠日记。
  • 睡眠研究。如果无法弄清您失眠的原因,或者您有其他睡眠障碍的体征,如睡眠呼吸暂停或不宁腿综合征,您可能需要在睡眠中心过一晚。您将接受多项检查,以监测和记录您在睡眠时的各种身体活动,包括脑电波、呼吸、心跳、眼球运动和身体运动。

治疗

许多人通过改变睡眠习惯,并解决压力、疾病或药物等可能与失眠有关的问题,即可恢复安稳的睡眠。如果这些方法不奏效,您的医生可能会建议采用认知行为疗法、药物治疗或结合两者来帮助放松和睡眠。

失眠认知行为疗法

失眠认知行为疗法(CBT-I)有助于您控制或消除使您保持清醒的消极想法和行为,并且通常会被推荐作为失眠人群的首选治疗方案。与安眠药相比,失眠认知行为疗法通常也能发挥同等作用或更加有效。

失眠认知行为疗法的认知部分会教您方法,灌输改变影响您睡眠能力的信念。它可以帮助您控制或消除让您保持清醒的消极想法和焦虑。您可能因为太过焦虑无法入睡而导致失眠,而这种治疗会有助于消除您可能出现的这种情况。

失眠认知行为疗法的行为部分可帮助您养成良好的睡眠习惯,避免一些不利于睡眠的行为。可供使用的策略包括:

  • 刺激控制疗法。这种方法有助于消除会导致大脑干扰睡眠的因素。例如,您可以养成固定的就寝时间和起床时间,并且不要午睡,床只能用来睡觉和与伴侣共享“浪漫时刻”,如果您无法在 20 分钟内入眠,就离开卧室,只有在困了的时候才回到卧室。
  • 松弛技术。渐进式的肌肉放松、生物反馈和呼吸练习都可以用于缓解睡前焦虑。练习这些技巧可以帮助您控制呼吸、心率缓解肌肉紧张平复情绪,并让您保持放松。
  • 限时睡眠。这种治疗减少您躺在床上的时间,避免白天的小睡,剥夺部分睡眠使您在第二天晚上感觉更加疲惫。但一旦睡眠有所改善,您上床休息的时间也会逐渐增加。
  • 保持被动清醒。这种治疗习得性失眠的方法也被称为矛盾意向疗法,其目的是让您躺在床上并尽量保持清醒而不是希望能够睡着,以此来减少您对无法入睡的担忧和焦虑。
  • 光照治疗。如果您入睡太早,然后又太早醒来,则可以利用光照将生物钟往后推。您可以在一年中晚上室外光线较暗的时候外出,或者您也可以利用光疗箱。向医生寻求相关建议。

医生可能会推荐与您的生活方式和睡眠环境有关的其他策略,帮助您养成能够促进良好睡眠以及保持白天清醒的习惯。

处方药

处方安眠药可以帮助您入睡、保持睡眠或者两者兼有。医生通常不建议持续数周依赖处方安眠药,但一些药物获批准长期使用。

例如:

  • 右佐匹克隆(Lunesta)
  • 雷美替胺(Rozerem)
  • 扎勒普隆(Sonata)
  • 唑吡坦(Ambien、Edluar、Intermezzo、Zolpimist)

处方安眠药可能有副作用,例如引起白天昏昏沉沉和增加跌倒的风险或者它们可能有成瘾性,因此向医生咨询这些药物和其他可能的副作用。

非处方安眠药

非处方睡眠药物含有可使您昏昏欲睡的抗组胺药,不适用于常规用途。服用这些药物之前,请先咨询医生,因为抗组胺药可能会引起副作用,例如白天嗜睡、头晕、神志不清、认知能力下降和排尿困难,这在老年人中可能会更严重。

生活方式与家庭疗法

无论年龄多大,失眠通常都是可医治的。关键在于改变您白天和睡觉时的习惯。以下建议可能会有所帮助。

基本技巧:

  • 保持规律作息。每天保持固定的就寝时间和起床时间,周末也不例外。
  • 保持活跃。规律活动有助于促进良好的夜间睡眠。至少在睡前几个小时安排锻炼活动,避免刺激性活动。
  • 检查药物。如果您定期服用药物,请咨询您的医生并查看这些药物是否会导致您失眠。此外,还要检查 OTC 药品的标签,确认是否含有咖啡因或其他兴奋剂,比如伪麻黄碱。
  • 避免或限制打盹。打盹会让您在晚上更难入睡。若无法严格做到,尽量将打盹时间限制在 30 分钟以内并且下午 3 点以后不要打盹。
  • 避免或限制摄入咖啡因和酒精,不要使用尼古丁。所有这些物质都会让您更难入睡,并且其效果可以持续数小时。
  • 不要忍受疼痛。如果疼痛的状况持续困扰着您,请向您的医生咨询能够在睡觉时有效控制疼痛的止痛药。
  • 睡前不要大吃大喝。睡前来点小吃不错,可能有助于避免胃灼热。睡前少喝水,减少起夜的次数。

睡觉时:

  • 让您的卧室足够舒适。卧室仅用于性生活或睡觉。保持房间黑暗、安静且温度适宜。收起卧室的所有钟表,包括手表和手机,这样就不用担心当下时间。
  • 设法让自己放松。躺在床上后,试着将所有烦恼和计划放在一边。睡前洗个热水澡或者做个按摩有助于轻松入睡。营造放松的就寝仪式,比如热水澡、阅读、轻音乐、呼吸练习、瑜伽或祷告等。
  • 避免努力尝试睡觉。您越努力想睡觉,您就越清醒。在其他房间读书,直到昏昏欲睡,然后上床睡觉。感到困意之前,不要过早上床。
  • 不困的时候就起床。保持足够睡眠,睡醒就起床。不想睡觉的时候就不要赖在床上。

替代医学

很多患者从不会因为失眠而就诊,他们会试着自己解决失眠问题。有些患者会尝试各种疗法,尽管其中很多疗法并未证实安全有效,例如:

  • 褪黑素。此类非处方(OTC)补充剂产品被市场宣传为有助于改善失眠。一般认为持续数周使用褪黑素是安全的,但并没有令人信服的证据表明褪黑素能够有效治疗失眠,而且尚不清楚长期使用是否安全。
  • 缬草。这种膳食补充剂被作为助眠产品出售,因为它具有一定的镇定作用,但未经过充分研究。请在尝试使用缬草前咨询您的医生。虽然尚不清楚是否为缬草所致,但一些大剂量或长期使用缬草的患者有肝受损的情况。
  • 针刺疗法。确实有证据表明针刺疗法也许对失眠患者有益,但还需要更多研究加以证实。如果您选择接受常规治疗的同时尝试针刺疗法,请咨询您的医生,以了解如何找到一名合格的执业针灸师。
  • 瑜伽或太极。有研究表明,经常做瑜伽或太极有助于提高睡眠质量。
  • 冥想。一些小型研究发现,在接受常规治疗的同时进行冥想可能有助于改善睡眠与减轻压力。

使用植物性和膳食助眠产品时的注意事项

由于美国食品药品监督管理局不会命令厂商在推销膳食助眠补充剂产品前出具产品效果或安全性证明,因此,请在服用任何草本补充剂或其他非处方药品前咨询您的医生。有些产品本身可能有害,还有一些在与其他特定药物一起使用时可能有害。

Caution about herbal and dietary sleep aids

The Food and Drug Administration does not order manufacturers of dietary supplements and sleep aids to show that they work and are safe. Talk with your doctor before taking any products available without a prescription. Some products can be harmful, and some can cause harm if you're taking certain medicines.

准备您的预约

如果您存在睡眠问题,可以先咨询您的初级保健医生。询问是否需要提前做准备,例如写睡眠日记。如果可能,让您的伴侣陪同就诊。医生可能需要与您的伴侣交谈,以了解您的睡眠时间和睡眠质量。

您可以做什么

列出以下内容,做好就诊准备:

  • 写下您目前的症状,包括看似与您的约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 个人信息,包括新出现或持续存在的健康问题、主要压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 您正在服用的所有药物、非处方药、维生素、草药或其他补充剂及其剂量。告诉医生您为了促进睡眠而服用的任何药物。
  • 需要向医生咨询的问题,以充分利用就诊时间。

要向医生咨询的基本问题包括:

  • 我的失眠可能是什么因素所致?
  • 最佳治疗方案是什么?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能同时管理好这些疾病?
  • 我是否应该去睡眠专科门诊就医?我的保险能报销治疗费用吗?
  • 有没有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷资料?
  • 您推荐哪些网站?

就诊时可以随时询问其他问题。

医生可能做些什么

您的医生可能会询问您如下一些问题。

关于您的失眠:

  • 您出现入睡困难的频率如何?什么时候开始失眠的?
  • 需要多久您才能入睡?
  • 您打鼾或因呼吸堵塞而醒来吗?
  • 您夜间要醒来多少次?需要多久您才能重新入睡?
  • 当无法睡眠时,您有什么反应?
  • 您已试过哪些改善睡眠的方法?

关于您一天的情形:

  • 您醒来时是否感觉精神?或者您白天累吗?
  • 安静地坐着或开车时您是否打瞌睡或难以保持清醒?
  • 您白天打盹吗?
  • 您在晚上一般会吃什么和喝什么?

关于您的就寝时间:

  • 您的就寝时间是怎么安排的?
  • 您目前睡前是否服用任何药物或安眠药?
  • 您什么时间睡觉和醒来?周末有没有不同?
  • 您一晚睡多少个小时?

关于可能影响您睡眠的其他问题:

  • 您最近经历过任何压力事件吗?
  • 您是否抽烟或饮酒?
  • 您有睡眠障碍家族史吗?
  • 您经常服用什么药物?

Diagnosis

Depending on your situation, the diagnosis of insomnia and the search for its cause may include:

  • Physical exam. If the cause of insomnia is unknown, your doctor may do a physical exam to look for signs of medical problems that may be related to insomnia. Occasionally, a blood test may be done to check for thyroid problems or other conditions that may be associated with poor sleep.
  • Sleep habits review. In addition to asking you sleep-related questions, your doctor may have you complete a questionnaire to determine your sleep-wake pattern and your level of daytime sleepiness. You may also be asked to keep a sleep diary for a couple of weeks.
  • Sleep study. If the cause of your insomnia isn't clear, or you have signs of another sleep disorder, such as sleep apnea or restless legs syndrome, you may need to spend a night at a sleep center. Tests are done to monitor and record a variety of body activities while you sleep, including brain waves, breathing, heartbeat, eye movements and body movements.

Treatment

Changing your sleep habits and addressing any issues that may be associated with insomnia, such as stress, medical conditions or medications, can restore restful sleep for many people. If these measures don't work, your doctor may recommend cognitive behavioral therapy, medications or both, to help improve relaxation and sleep.

Cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia

Cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) can help you control or eliminate negative thoughts and actions that keep you awake and is generally recommended as the first line of treatment for people with insomnia. Typically, CBT-I is equally or more effective than sleep medications.

The cognitive part of CBT-I teaches you to recognize and change beliefs that affect your ability to sleep. It can help you control or eliminate negative thoughts and worries that keep you awake. It may also involve eliminating the cycle that can develop where you worry so much about getting to sleep that you can't fall asleep.

The behavioral part of CBT-I helps you develop good sleep habits and avoid behaviors that keep you from sleeping well. Strategies include, for example:

  • Stimulus control therapy. This method helps remove factors that condition your mind to resist sleep. For example, you might be coached to set a consistent bedtime and wake time and avoid naps, use the bed only for sleep and sex, and leave the bedroom if you can't go to sleep within 20 minutes, only returning when you're sleepy.
  • Relaxation techniques. Progressive muscle relaxation, biofeedback and breathing exercises are ways to reduce anxiety at bedtime. Practicing these techniques can help you control your breathing, heart rate, muscle tension and mood so that you can relax.
  • Sleep restriction. This therapy decreases the time you spend in bed and avoids daytime naps, causing partial sleep deprivation, which makes you more tired the next night. Once your sleep has improved, your time in bed is gradually increased.
  • Remaining passively awake. Also called paradoxical intention, this therapy for learned insomnia is aimed at reducing the worry and anxiety about being able to get to sleep by getting in bed and trying to stay awake rather than expecting to fall asleep.
  • Light therapy. If you fall asleep too early and then awaken too early, you can use light to push back your internal clock. You can go outside during times of the year when it's light outside in the evenings, or you can use a light box. Talk to your doctor about recommendations.

Your doctor may recommend other strategies related to your lifestyle and sleep environment to help you develop habits that promote sound sleep and daytime alertness.

Prescription medications

Prescription sleeping pills can help you get to sleep, stay asleep or both. Doctors generally don't recommend relying on prescription sleeping pills for more than a few weeks, but several medications are approved for long-term use.

Examples include:

  • Eszopiclone (Lunesta)
  • Ramelteon (Rozerem)
  • Zaleplon (Sonata)
  • Zolpidem (Ambien, Edluar, Intermezzo, Zolpimist)

Prescription sleeping pills can have side effects, such as causing daytime grogginess and increasing the risk of falling, or they can be habit-forming, so talk to your doctor about these medications and other possible side effects.

Over-the-counter sleep aids

Nonprescription sleep medications contain antihistamines that can make you drowsy, but they're not intended for regular use. Talk to your doctor before you take these, as antihistamines may cause side effects, such as daytime sleepiness, dizziness, confusion, cognitive decline and difficulty urinating, which may be worse in older adults.

Lifestyle and home remedies

No matter what your age, insomnia usually is treatable. The key often lies in changes to your routine during the day and when you go to bed. These tips may help.

Basic tips:

  • Stick to a sleep schedule. Keep your bedtime and wake time consistent from day to day, including on weekends.
  • Stay active. Regular activity helps promote a good night's sleep. Schedule exercise at least a few hours before bedtime and avoid stimulating activities before bedtime.
  • Check your medications. If you take medications regularly, check with your doctor to see if they may be contributing to your insomnia. Also check the labels of OTC products to see if they contain caffeine or other stimulants, such as pseudoephedrine.
  • Avoid or limit naps. Naps can make it harder to fall asleep at night. If you can't get by without one, try to limit a nap to no more than 30 minutes and don't nap after 3 p.m.
  • Avoid or limit caffeine and alcohol and don't use nicotine. All of these can make it harder to sleep, and effects can last for several hours.
  • Don't put up with pain. If a painful condition bothers you, talk to your doctor about options for pain relievers that are effective enough to control pain while you're sleeping.
  • Avoid large meals and beverages before bed. A light snack is fine and may help avoid heartburn. Drink less liquid before bedtime so that you won't have to urinate as often.

At bedtime:

  • Make your bedroom comfortable for sleep. Only use your bedroom for sex or sleep. Keep it dark and quiet, at a comfortable temperature. Hide all clocks in your bedroom, including your wristwatch and cellphone, so you don't worry about what time it is.
  • Find ways to relax. Try to put your worries and planning aside when you get into bed. A warm bath or a massage before bedtime can help prepare you for sleep. Create a relaxing bedtime ritual, such as taking a hot bath, reading, soft music, breathing exercises, yoga or prayer.
  • Avoid trying too hard to sleep. The harder you try, the more awake you'll become. Read in another room until you become very drowsy, then go to bed to sleep. Don't go to bed too early, before you're sleepy.
  • Get out of bed when you're not sleeping. Sleep as much as you need to feel rested, and then get out of bed. Don't stay in bed if you're not sleeping.

Alternative medicine

Many people never visit their doctor for insomnia and try to cope with sleeplessness on their own. Although in many cases safety and effectiveness have not been proved, some people try therapies such as:

  • Melatonin. This over-the-counter (OTC) supplement is marketed as a way to help overcome insomnia. It's generally considered safe to use melatonin for a few weeks, but no convincing evidence exists to prove that melatonin is an effective treatment for insomnia, and the long-term safety is unknown.
  • Valerian. This dietary supplement is sold as a sleep aid because it has a mildly sedating effect, although it hasn't been well-studied. Discuss valerian with your doctor before trying it. Some people who have used high doses or used it long term may have had liver damage, although it's not clear if valerian caused the damage.
  • Acupuncture. There's some evidence that acupuncture may be beneficial for people with insomnia, but more research is needed. If you choose to try acupuncture along with your conventional treatment, ask your doctor how to find a qualified practitioner.
  • Yoga or tai chi. Some studies suggest that the regular practice of yoga or tai chi can help improve sleep quality.
  • Meditation. Several small studies suggest that meditation, along with conventional treatment, may help improve sleep and reduce stress.

Caution regarding herbal and dietary sleep aids

Because the Food and Drug Administration does not mandate that manufacturers show proof of effectiveness or safety before marketing dietary supplement sleep aids, talk with your doctor before taking any herbal supplements or other OTC products. Some products can be harmful and some can cause harm if you're taking certain medications.

Preparing for your appointment

If you're having sleep problems, you'll likely start by talking to your primary care doctor. Ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as keep a sleep diary. Take your bed partner along, if possible. Your doctor may want to talk to your partner to learn more about how much and how well you're sleeping.

What you can do

Prepare for your appointment by making a list of:

  • Any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for the appointment.
  • Personal information, including new or ongoing health problems, major stresses or recent life changes.
  • All medications, other-the-counter medications, vitamins, and herbal or other supplements that you're taking, including dosages. Let your doctor know about anything you've taken to help you sleep.
  • Questions to ask your doctor to make the most of your appointment time.

Basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my insomnia?
  • What's the best treatment?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Should I go to a sleep clinic? Will my insurance cover it?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can have?
  • What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor may ask you several questions, such as those below.

About your insomnia:

  • How often do you have trouble sleeping, and when did the insomnia begin?
  • How long does it take you to fall asleep?
  • Do you snore or wake up choking for breath?
  • How often do you awaken at night, and how long does it take you to fall back to sleep?
  • What is your response when you can't sleep?
  • What have you tried to improve your sleep?

About your day:

  • Do you feel refreshed when you wake up, or are you tired during the day?
  • Do you doze off or have trouble staying awake while sitting quietly or driving?
  • Do you nap during the day?
  • What do you typically eat and drink in the evening?

About your bedtime routine:

  • What is your bedtime routine?
  • Do you currently take any medications or sleeping pills before bed?
  • What time do you go to bed and wake up? Is this different on weekends?
  • How many hours a night do you sleep?

About other issues that may affect your sleep:

  • Have you experienced any stressful events recently?
  • Do you use tobacco or drink alcohol?
  • Do you have any family members with sleep problems?
  • What medications do you take regularly?