治疗

尿布疹的最佳治疗方法是尽量保持宝宝皮肤清洁干燥。即使在家接受治疗,但如果宝宝还是有尿布疹,医生可能会开方:

  • 温和氢化可的松(类固醇)乳膏
  • 抗真菌乳膏,宝宝出现真菌感染时
  • 外用或口服抗生素,宝宝出现细菌感染

只有在宝宝的儿科医生或皮肤科医生建议的情况下才可使用含类固醇的乳膏或软膏,强效类固醇或频繁使用会导致其他问题。

尿布疹通常需要几天才能缓解,皮疹可能会反复出现。即使接受处方治疗,但如果还是有皮疹,医生可能会建议您带宝宝去看皮肤病专家(皮肤科医生)。

生活方式与家庭疗法

一般来说,尿布疹可以在家通过以下方法成功治疗:

  • 保持尿布区域清洁干爽。保持宝宝尿布区域清洁干爽的最好方法就是在尿布湿了或弄脏后立即更换。这意味着在皮疹好转之前,可能需要晚上起床更换尿布。

    轻轻清洁并擦干皮肤后,涂抹乳膏、糊剂或软膏。某些产品,如氧化锌和凡士林,可以很好地保护皮肤不受潮。下次换尿布时,不要完全擦掉该保护层,因为这可能进一步损伤皮肤。如果您确实想把它去掉,可以试着用棉球蘸上矿物油去除。

  • 增加空气流动。为了帮助尿布疹愈合,请尽可能让尿布区域更多地接触空气。以下技巧可能有帮助:
    • 让宝宝在短时间内(例如午睡时)不穿尿布和不涂药膏,让皮肤透透气,一天三次,每次 10 分钟。
    • 避免使用不透气的塑料裤和尿布兜。
    • 使用比平时更大的尿布,直至皮疹消退。
  • 涂抹软膏、糊剂、乳膏或乳液。各种尿布疹药物都是非处方药。具体建议请咨询医生或药剂师。一些流行的非处方药包括 A + D、Balmex、Desitin、Triple Paste 和 Lotrimin(用于酵母菌感染)。

    氧化锌是许多尿布疹产品中的活性成分。通常全天涂抹在皮疹处,以舒缓和保护宝宝的皮肤。不需要太多,薄薄的一层就可以了。必要时,可以在药膏(例如抗真菌药或类固醇)上涂抹该产品。您也可以在最上面涂抹凡士林,这样可以防止尿布粘在乳膏上。

    软膏、糊剂或乳膏的刺激性可能比乳液小。但软膏和糊剂会在皮肤上形成一层屏障,阻挡皮肤接触空气。乳膏则会在皮肤上变干,让空气进入。与医生讨论哪种类型的产品更适合您孩子的皮疹。

    一般情况下,应坚持使用专为婴儿设计的产品。避免食用含有小苏打、硼酸、樟脑、苯酚、苯佐卡因、苯海拉明或水杨酸盐的产品。这些成分可能对婴儿有毒。

  • 每天洗澡。每天给宝宝洗澡,直到皮疹痊愈。使用温水和温和、无香味的肥皂。

替代医学

下列替代治疗适用于部分患者:

  • 金缕梅(冬季开花),一种开花植物。研究显示,涂抹金缕梅制成的软膏有助于尿布疹消退。这项研究纳入了 309 位儿童。
  • 人类母乳。关于在尿布疹上涂抹人类母乳是否优于其他治疗方法的研究结果褒贬不一。有一项研究显示,在尿布疹上涂抹人类母乳是有效且安全的治疗方法。曾有出现尿布疹的婴幼儿接受过 1% 的氢化可的松药膏或人类母乳治疗。这项研究纳入了 141 位婴幼儿。研究显示,人类母乳和单独使用药膏一样有效。

    还有一项研究比较了人类母乳和氧化锌与鱼肝油制成的乳膏的疗效和安全性。曾有出现尿布疹的新生儿接受过乳膏或人类母乳治疗。这项研究纳入了 63 位新生儿。结果显示,乳膏更有效。

  • 金盏花和芦荟。有一项比较芦荟和金盏花治疗儿童尿布疹的研究显示,两种成分都可以有效治疗尿布疹。
  • 黏土洗发水(皂土)。有一项研究显示,黏土洗发水可以有效治疗尿布疹,并且比金盏花起效更快。这项研究纳入了 60 位婴幼儿。
  • 其他物质。此外还尝试过其他天然物质疗法,包括月见草成分制剂和蜂蜜、橄榄油和蜂蜡混合制剂。还需要进一步开展研究来证明这些成分治疗尿布疹的有效性。这些物质中有一些成分可能促发细菌生长。

准备您的预约

通常,尿布疹可以在家中顺利治愈。如果在家治疗数天后皮疹恶化,较为严重或伴有发热,请联系宝宝的医生预约就诊。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

  • 请列出宝宝的体征和症状,并注明持续时间。
  • 请列出有关宝宝医疗状况和食物摄入量的关键信息。例如,您的宝宝最近是否接受过什么疾病治疗或服用过什么药物?宝宝的饮食有变化吗?如果您的宝宝是母乳喂养,也请注意宝宝可能通过母乳接触到的任何药物,以及母亲饮食的变化,例如增加了番茄类食品。
  • 列出所有与宝宝皮肤接触的产品。宝宝的医生需要了解您给宝宝用什么品牌的尿布、洗衣粉、肥皂、乳液、爽身粉和婴儿油。如果您怀疑一种或多种产品可能导致了您宝宝的尿布疹,则不妨在就诊时将这些产品带上,以便医生查阅标签。
  • 列出要向医生咨询的问题。提前列出问题有助于充分利用就诊时间。

关于尿布疹,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 最有可能导致我的宝宝出现皮疹的原因是什么?
  • 还有其他哪些原因?
  • 我可以通过哪些方法来帮助宝宝皮肤愈合?
  • 您会为我的宝宝推荐什么尿布软膏、糊剂、乳霜或乳液?
  • 我应该在什么时候用软膏或糊剂来代替乳霜或乳液?
  • 您是否建议其他治疗方法?
  • 我应该避免给宝宝使用什么产品或成分?
  • 我是否应该避免让宝宝接触某些食物,无论是通过母乳还是通过宝宝的饮食?
  • 您预计我宝宝的症状多久才能改善?
  • 我可以采取哪些措施防止此病复发?
  • 皮疹是其他内部问题的征兆吗?

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问一些问题。请做好回答这些问题的准备,这样有利于更好地安排时间,去详细了解您所关注的任何方面。医生可能会问:

  • 您最开始留意到宝宝出现体征和症状是什么时候?
  • 您的宝宝通常穿什么类型的尿布?
  • 您或您宝宝的照护人员多久给宝宝换一次尿布?
  • 您用什么类型的肥皂和湿巾来清洁宝宝?
  • 您是否给宝宝用过护肤产品,比如乳液、爽身粉、乳霜和油?
  • 宝宝是母乳喂养吗?如果是的话,母亲是否正在服用抗生素?母亲自己的饮食是否有变化?
  • 您给宝宝吃过固体食物吗?
  • 到目前为止,您对宝宝的皮疹尝试过哪些治疗方法?有帮助吗?
  • 您的宝宝最近是否有过任何其他医疗状况,包括任何导致腹泻的疾病?
  • 您的宝宝最近是否服用了新的药物?

在此期间您可以做些什么

在就诊前的这段时间里,避免使用可能引发宝宝皮疹的产品。每次更换尿布后,请用水清洗宝宝的屁股。避免使用含有酒精或香料的肥皂和湿巾。

尽可能增加宝宝不使用尿布的时间,以便他/她的皮肤有机会保持干燥并开始愈合。使用尿布时,应经常更换尿布,并涂上尿布疹软膏、乳液、糊剂或软膏,作为宝宝皮肤和脏尿布之间的屏障。

What you can do

  • List your baby's signs and symptoms, and for how long your baby has had them.
  • List key information about your baby's medical conditions and food intake. For example, has your baby been treated for any illness or given any medications recently? Has the baby's diet changed? If your baby is breastfed also note any medications that might reach the baby through breast milk. Also note changes in the mother's diet, such as an increase in tomato-based foods.
  • List all products that come into contact with your baby's skin. Your baby's health care provider will want to know what brand of wipes, diapers, laundry detergent, soaps, lotions, powders and oils you use for your baby. If you suspect that one or more products may be causing your baby's diaper rash, you may wish to bring them to the appointment so your health care provider can read the label.
  • List questions to ask your health care provider. Creating your list of questions in advance can help you make the most of your time with your health care provider.

Below are some basic questions to ask your health care provider about diaper rash.

  • What is the most likely cause of my baby's rash?
  • What are other possible causes?
  • What can I do to help my baby's skin heal?
  • What diaper ointments, pastes, creams or lotions would you recommend for my baby?
  • When should I use an ointment or paste instead of a cream or lotion?
  • Do you suggest any other treatments?
  • What products or ingredients should I avoid using with my baby?
  • Should I avoid exposing my baby to certain foods, either through breast milk or through my baby's diet?
  • How soon do you expect my baby's symptoms to improve?
  • What can I do to prevent this condition from recurring?
  • Is the rash a sign of some other internal problem?

What to expect from your doctor

Your health care provider is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to talk about in-depth. Your health care provider may ask:

  • When did you first notice your baby's signs and symptoms?
  • What type of diaper does your baby typically wear?
  • How often do you or your baby's child care provider change your baby's diaper?
  • What types of soap and wipes do you use to clean your baby?
  • Do you apply any skin care products to your baby, such as lotions, powders, creams and oils?
  • Is the baby breastfed? If so, is the mother taking antibiotics? Are there any changes to the mother's own diet?
  • Have you introduced your baby to solid foods?
  • What treatments have you tried so far for your baby's rash? Has anything helped?
  • Has your baby recently had any other medical conditions, including any illness that caused diarrhea?
  • Has your baby recently taken any new medications?

Treatment

The best treatment for diaper rash is to keep your baby's skin as clean and dry as possible. If the rash doesn't go away with home treatment, your health care provider might suggest:

  • A mild (0.5% to 1%) hydrocortisone (steroid) cream twice a day for 3 to 5 days
  • An antifungal cream, if your baby has a fungal infection
  • Antibiotic medicine taken by mouth, if your baby has a bacterial infection

A diaper rash might take several days to improve, depending on how severe it is. A rash may come back again and again. If a rash persists even with prescription products, your health care provider may recommend that your baby see a specialist in skin conditions (dermatologist).

Lifestyle and home remedies

Generally, a diaper rash can be treated successfully at home with these practices:

  • Keep the diaper area clean and dry. The best way to keep your baby's diaper area clean and dry is by changing diapers promptly after they are wet or soiled. Until the rash is better, this may mean getting up during the night to change the diaper. Try using disposable diapers that contain an absorbent gel. They draw wetness away from the skin.
  • Rinse your baby's bottom with warm water as part of each diaper change. You can use a sink, tub or water bottle for this purpose. Moist washcloths, cotton balls and baby wipes can aid in cleaning the skin. Be gentle. Use wipes that don't contain alcohol or fragrance. Or use a mild soap or a gentle nonsoap cleanser.
  • Gently pat the skin dry with a clean towel or let it air dry. Don't scrub your baby's bottom. Don't use talcum powder.
  • Apply cream, paste or ointment. After you've gently cleaned and dried the skin, apply a cream, paste or ointment. If the product you applied at the previous diaper change is clean, leave it in place and add another layer on top of it. If you do want to remove it, try using mineral oil on a cotton ball.

    Products with a high percentage of zinc oxide or petroleum jelly work well to protect the skin from moisture. Various diaper rash medications are available without a prescription. Talk to your health care provider or pharmacist for specific recommendations. Some popular products include A + D, Balmex, Desitin, Triple Paste and Lotrimin (for yeast infections).

    Zinc oxide is the active ingredient in many diaper rash products. Such products are usually applied to the rash throughout the day to soothe and protect babies' skin. It doesn't take much – a thin covering will do. The product can be applied over medicated creams, such as an antifungal or a steroid, when needed. You could also apply petroleum jelly on top, which helps keep the diaper from sticking to the paste, ointment or cream.

    Ointments, pastes or creams may be less irritating than lotions. But ointments and pastes create a barrier over the skin and don't allow it to receive air. Creams dry on the skin and allow air through.

    As a general rule, stick with products designed for babies. Avoid items containing baking soda, boric acid, camphor, phenol, benzocaine, diphenhydramine or salicylates. These ingredients can be toxic for babies.

  • Increase airflow. To aid the healing of diaper rash, do what you can to increase air exposure to the diaper region. These tips may help:
    • Let your baby go without a diaper and ointment for short periods of time, such as during naps.
    • Take a break from plastic or tightfitting diaper covers.
    • Use diapers that are larger than usual until the rash goes away.
  • Bathe your baby daily. Until the rash clears up, give your baby a bath each day. Use warm water with mild, fragrance-free soap or a gentle nonsoap cleanser.
  • Stop using products that seem to trigger your baby's rash. Try a different brand of baby wipe, disposable diaper, laundry soap or whatever other product you suspect.

Alternative medicine

The following alternative treatments have worked for some people:

  • Witch hazel (winter bloom), a flowering plant. A study showed that applying an ointment made with witch hazel to diaper rash helped. The study included 309 children.
  • Human breast milk. Results are mixed on whether human breast milk applied to diaper rash is better than other treatments. One study showed that applying breast milk to diaper rash is an effective and safe treatment. Infants with diaper rash were treated with either 1% hydrocortisone ointment or breast milk. The study included 141 infants. Treatment with breast milk was as effective as the ointment alone.

    Another study compared human breast milk with a cream made from zinc oxide and cod liver oil. Newborns with diaper rash were treated with the cream or the breast milk. The study included 63 babies. Treatment with the cream was more effective.

  • Shampoo clay (bentonite). A study showed that shampoo clay was effective in healing diaper rash and that it worked faster than calendula. The study included 60 infants.
  • Other substances. Other natural remedies have been tried, including aloe vera, calendula, bee pollen, beeswax and cod liver oil. Further study is needed to prove their effectiveness for treating diaper rash. Some of these substances may promote bacterial growth.

Preparing for your appointment

Generally, diaper rash can be treated successfully at home. Make an appointment with your baby's health care provider if the rash gets worse despite several days of home treatment, is severe or occurs along with a fever.

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

  • List your baby's signs and symptoms, and for how long your baby has had them.
  • List key information about your baby's medical conditions and food intake. For example, has your baby been treated for any illness or given any medications recently? Has the baby's diet changed? If your baby is breastfed also note any medications that might reach the baby through breast milk. Also note changes in the mother's diet, such as an increase in tomato-based foods.
  • List all products that come into contact with your baby's skin. Your baby's health care provider will want to know what brand of wipes, diapers, laundry detergent, soaps, lotions, powders and oils you use for your baby. If you suspect that one or more products may be causing your baby's diaper rash, you may wish to bring them to the appointment so your health care provider can read the label.
  • List questions to ask your health care provider. Creating your list of questions in advance can help you make the most of your time with your health care provider.

Below are some basic questions to ask your health care provider about diaper rash.

  • What is the most likely cause of my baby's rash?
  • What are other possible causes?
  • What can I do to help my baby's skin heal?
  • What diaper ointments, pastes, creams or lotions would you recommend for my baby?
  • When should I use an ointment or paste instead of a cream or lotion?
  • Do you suggest any other treatments?
  • What products or ingredients should I avoid using with my baby?
  • Should I avoid exposing my baby to certain foods, either through breast milk or through my baby's diet?
  • How soon do you expect my baby's symptoms to improve?
  • What can I do to prevent this condition from recurring?
  • Is the rash a sign of some other internal problem?

What to expect from your doctor

Your health care provider is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to talk about in-depth. Your health care provider may ask:

  • When did you first notice your baby's signs and symptoms?
  • What type of diaper does your baby typically wear?
  • How often do you or your baby's child care provider change your baby's diaper?
  • What types of soap and wipes do you use to clean your baby?
  • Do you apply any skin care products to your baby, such as lotions, powders, creams and oils?
  • Is the baby breastfed? If so, is the mother taking antibiotics? Are there any changes to the mother's own diet?
  • Have you introduced your baby to solid foods?
  • What treatments have you tried so far for your baby's rash? Has anything helped?
  • Has your baby recently had any other medical conditions, including any illness that caused diarrhea?
  • Has your baby recently taken any new medications?