لا بد أنه قد سمعت هنا وهناك عن طعام أو دواء أو طريقة أخرى يدّعي مروجوها أنها تقي من مرض فيروس كورونا 2019 (كوفيد 19) أو تعالجه. ومع أن الانجرار وراء منتجات أو طرق مريبة قد يكون أمرًا مغريًا بهدف الحفاظ على الصحة في ظل هذه الجائحة، فإنه من غير المرجح على الإطلاق أن تكون فعالة، وقد تسبب ضررًا جسيمًا لمستخدمها.

رغم استمرار الباحثين بدراسة العديد من العلاجات واللقاحات المحتملة لكوفيد 19، لم تكتمل الفحوصات المصممة للتحقق من سلامتها أو فعاليتها حتى الآن. أي ادعاءات تنص على قدرة دواء معين أو مكمل عشبي أو مادة أخرى على الوقاية من عدوى كوفيد 19 أو علاجه هي ادعاءات باطلة. ولا تزال المعلومات الخاطئة مستمرة في الانتشار حول طرق علاج كوفيد 19.

فيما يلي بعض المواد والمنتجات التي تم الترويج لها كطرق للوقاية من عدوى فيروس كوفيد 19 أو علاجه، بالإضافة إلى رأي العلم بها:

  • لقاحات التهاب الرئة والإنفلونزا. لا يوجد حاليًا لقاح للوقاية من فيروس كوفيد 19. فاللقاحات المضادة للالتهاب الرئوي، مثل لقاح المكورات الرئوية، لا تقي من فيروس كوفيد 19. وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة للقاح الإنفلونزا، فلن يقيك من فيروس كوفيد 19.
  • محلول الأنف الملحي. لا يوجد دليل على أن شطف الأنف بمحلول ملحي يقي من الإصابة بعدوى فيروس كوفيد 19.
  • درجات الحرارة المرتفعة. لا يقي التعرض لأشعة الشمس أو لدرجات حرارة تزيد عن 77 فهرنهايت (25 درجة مئوية) من فيروس كوفيد 19 ولا يعالجه. ويمكن أن تصاب بفيروس كوفيد 19 حتى في الأجواء المشمسة والحارة والرطبة. ولا يقي الاستحمام بماء ساخن من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19. إذْ تبقى درجة حرارة الجسم الطبيعية كما هي، بغض النظر عن درجة حرارة الحمام أو الدش.
  • درجات الحرارة المنخفضة. لا يمكن للطقس البارد والثلج أن يقتلا فيروس كوفيد 19.
  • المضادات الحيوية. تقتل المضادات الحيوية البكتيريا، وليس الفيروسات. ومع ذلك، قد يتم إعطاء المضادات الحيوية للمرضى الذين أُدخِلوا للمستشفى بسبب كوفيد 19 في حال أصيبوا أيضًا بعدوى بكتيرية.
  • رش الكحول والكلور. إن رش الكحول أو الكلور (المبيض) على جسمك لن يقتل الفيروسات التي دخلت جسمك. كما يمكن لهذه المواد أن تضر بعينيك وفمك وملابسك.
  • تناوُل الكحول. لن يقيك تناول الكحول من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19.
  • الثوم. لا يوجد دليل على أن أكل الثوم يحمي من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19.
  • مصباح التعقيم بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية (UV). يمكن استخدام الأشعة فوق البنفسجية كمطهر للأسطح. ولكن لا تَستخدم مصباح الأشعة فوق البنفسجية لتعقيم يديك أو مناطق أخرى من جسمك. يمكن للأشعة فوق البنفسجية أن تسبب تهيج الجلد.
  • شبكات الاتصال من الجيل الخامس (5G). لن يقيك تجنُب شبكات اتصال الجيل الخامس من الإصابة بعدوى كوفيد 19. لا يمكن للفيروسات الانتقال عبر موجات الراديو وشبكات الهواتف الخلوية. ينتشر فيروس كوفيد 19 في العديد من البلدان التي تفتقر إلى شبكات الاتصال من الجيل الخامس.
  • المطهرات. عند وضعها على الأسطح، يمكن للمطهرات المساعَدة على قتل الجراثيم، مثل فيروس كوفيد 19. ومع ذلك، لا تَستخدم المطهرات على جسمك، ولا تحقنها في جسمك، ولا تبتلعها. يمكن للمطهرات أن تهيج الجلد وأن تكون سامة إذا ابتُلعت أو حُقنت في الجسم.
  • المكملات الغذائية. يتناول العديد من الأشخاص فيتامين C أو فيتامين D أو الشاي الأخضر أو أخيناسيا (القنفذية) أو مكملات الزنك لتقوية جهازهم المناعي. في حين أن هذه المكملات قد تؤثر على وظائف المناعة لديك، إلا أن الأبحاث لم تُثْبِتْ قدرتها على وقايتك من المرض. وبالنسبة للفضة الغَرَوانية (colloidal silver)، وهي إحدى المكمّلات التي يتم ترويجها كعلاج لفيروس كوفيد 19، فإنها لا تُعتبر آمنة أو فعالة في علاج أي مرض.

في الولايات المتحدة، تحاول إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) إزالة المنتجات المضللة من رفوف المتاجر التقليدية والإلكترونية. ومسؤوليتك كمتسوّق أن تتذكر أن الادعاءات الموجودة ليست بديلاً عن الأدلة العلمية. أيضًا، قليل من الأمراض فقط قابلة للعلاج السريع، لذا احذر من أي منتج يدعي أنه يقدم علاجًا سريعًا. يُرجَّح أن تكون العلاجات الموصوفة بالخارقة والتي يدعي مُرَوِّجُوها أنها تحتوي على مكوِّن سِرّي مجرد علاجاتٍ مزيفة.

إذا كان لديك سؤال حول طريقة معينة للوقاية من عدوى كوفيد 19 أو علاجه، فتحدث إلى طبيبك. لطرح سؤال حول أحد أدوية كوفيد 19، يمكنك الاتصال بالصيدلي في منطقتك أو قسم معلومات الأدوية التابع لإدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA).

هناك خطوات يمكنك اتخاذها لتقليل خطر الإصابة بالعدوى. توصي منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ومراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) في الولايات المتحدة باتباع الاحتياطات التالية للوقاية من كوفيد 19مرض فيروس كورونا 2019:

  • تجنب حضور الفعاليات والتجمعات الكبيرة.
  • تجنب المخالطة اللصيقة (ضمن مسافة 6 أقدام أو 2 متر) مع أي شخص مريض أو لديه أعراض.
  • الزم منزلك قدر الإمكان، وحافظ على وجود مسافة بينك وبين الآخرين (ضمن 6 أقدام أو 2 متر) إذا كان كوفيد 19 منتشرًا في مجتمعك، خاصة إذا كنت معرضًا بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بدرجة حادة من المرض. ضع في اعتبارك أن بعض الأشخاص قد يكونون مصابين بكوفيد 19 ويمكن أن ينقلوه للآخرين، حتى إذا لم تكن لديهم أعراض أو لم يعرفوا أنهم مصابون به أصلًا.
  • اغسل يديك كثيرًا بالماء والصابون لمدة 20 ثانية على الأقل، أو استخدم مطهرًا يدويًا يحتوي على الكحول بنسبة 60٪ على الأقل.
  • ارتدِ غطاء وجه قماشي في الأماكن العامة، مثل محلات البقالة، حيث يصعب تجنب المخالطة اللصيقة بالآخرين، خاصة إذا كنت في منطقة تشهد انتشارًا محليًا للمرض. ولا تَستخدِم سوى الكمامات القماشية غير الطبية — أما بالنسبة للكمامات الجراحية وكمامات N-95، فيجب أن يَقتصر استخدامُها على مزودي الرعاية الصحية.
  • يجب تغطية الفم والأنف بالمرفق أو بمنديل عند السعال أو العطس. كما يجب التخلص من المناديل المستعملة ثم غسل اليدين أو استخدام معقم يدوي.
  • تجنب لمس عينيك وأنفك وفمك.
  • تجنب مشاركة الأطباق وأكواب الشرب وأغطية الفراش والأدوات المنزلية الأخرى إذا كنت مريضاً.
  • نظف يوميًا الأسطح التي تُلْمَسُ بكثرة.
  • إذا كنت مريضًا فالزم منزلك ولا تذهب للعمل أو المدرسة أو الجامعة، وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة للأماكن العامة، إلا إذا كان ذلك بهدف الحصول على رعاية طبية. وتجنب استخدام وسائل النقل العام إذا كنت مريضًا.
  • قبل أن تسافر، تحقق أولاً من مواقع الإنترنت الخاصة بمراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها في الولايات المتحدة (CDC) ومنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) للاطلاع على النصائح و آخر المستجدات.
June 11, 2020

Chances are you've heard about a food, drug or other method that claims to prevent, treat or cure coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). But while it might be tempting to use a questionable product or method to stay healthy during the pandemic, it's extremely unlikely to work and might cause serious harm.

Currently, no cure is available for COVID-19. Researchers are testing a variety of treatments. But misinformation continues to circulate about ways to prevent infection with the COVID-19 virus or treat COVID-19.

Here's what the science says:

  • Pneumonia and flu vaccines. Vaccines against pneumonia, such as the pneumococcal vaccine, don't provide protection against the COVID-19 virus. The flu shot also won't protect you against the COVID-19 virus. However, annual flu vaccinations are recommended for everyone age 6 months and older.
  • Saline nasal wash. There is no evidence that rinsing your nose with saline protects against infection with the COVID-19 virus.
  • High temperatures. Exposure to the sun or to temperatures higher than 77 F (25 C) doesn't prevent the COVID-19 virus or cure COVID-19. You can get the COVID-19 virus in sunny, hot and humid weather. Taking a hot bath also can't prevent you from catching the COVID-19 virus. Your normal body temperature remains the same, regardless of the temperature of your bath or shower.
  • Low temperatures. Cold weather and snow also can't kill the COVID-19 virus.
  • Antibiotics. Antibiotics kill bacteria, not viruses. However, people hospitalized due to COVID-19 might be given antibiotics because they also have developed a bacterial infection.
  • Alcohol and chlorine spray. Spraying alcohol or chlorine on your body won't kill viruses that have entered your body. These substances also can harm your eyes, mouth and clothes.
  • Drinking alcohol. Drinking alcohol doesn't protect you from the COVID-19 virus.
  • Garlic. There's no evidence that eating garlic protects against infection with the COVID-19 virus.
  • Ultraviolet (UV) disinfection lamp. Ultraviolet light can be used as a disinfectant on surfaces. But don't use a UV lamp to sterilize your hands or other areas of your body. UV radiation can cause skin irritation.
  • 5G mobile networks. Avoiding exposure to or use of 5G networks doesn't prevent infection with the COVID-19 virus. Viruses can't travel on radio waves and mobile networks. The COVID-19 virus is spreading in many countries that lack 5G mobile networks.
  • Disinfectants. When applied to surfaces, disinfectants can help kill germs such as the COVID-19 virus. However, don't use disinfectants on your body, inject them into your body or swallow them. Disinfectants can irritate the skin and be toxic if swallowed or injected into the body. Also, don't wash produce with disinfectants.
  • Supplements. Many people take vitamin C, zinc, green tea or echinacea to boost their immune systems. But these supplements are unlikely to affect your immune function or prevent you from getting sick. The supplement colloidal silver, which has been marketed as a COVID-19 treatment, isn’t safe or effective for treating any disease. Oleandrin, an extract from the toxic oleander plant, is poisonous and shouldn’t be taken as a supplement or home remedy.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has been working to remove misleading products from store shelves and online marketplaces. In the meantime, remember that testimonials aren't a substitute for scientific evidence. Also, few diseases can be treated quickly, so beware of quick fixes. A miracle cure that claims to contain a secret ingredient is likely a hoax.

If you have a question about a method for treating COVID-19 or preventing infection with the COVID-19 virus, talk to your doctor. To ask a question about a COVID-19 medication, you can call your local pharmacist or the FDA's Division of Drug Information.

There are steps you can take reduce your risk of infection. When possible, get a COVID-19 vaccine. If you’re fully vaccinated, you can return to doing activities you might not have been able to do because of the pandemic, including not wearing a mask or social distancing in any setting — except where required by a rule or law.

If you haven’t had a COVID-19 vaccine, the World Health Organization (WHO) and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommend following these precautions for avoiding COVID-19:

  • Avoid close contact (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters) with anyone who is sick or has symptoms.
  • Keep distance between yourself and others (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters), especially if COVID-19 is spreading in your community, especially if you have a higher risk of serious illness. Keep in mind some people may have COVID-19 and spread it to others, even if they don't have symptoms.
  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol.
  • Wear a face mask in indoor public spaces and outdoors where there is a high risk of COVID-19 transmission, such as at a crowded event or large gathering. Further mask guidance differs depending on whether you are fully vaccinated or unvaccinated. Surgical masks may be used if available. N95 respirators should be reserved for health care providers.
  • Cover your mouth and nose with your elbow or a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw away the used tissue and wash your hands or use hand sanitizer.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth.
  • Avoid sharing dishes, glasses, bedding and other household items if you're sick.
  • Clean and disinfect high-touch surfaces daily.
  • Stay home from work, school and public areas if you're sick, unless you're going to get medical care. Avoid taking public transportation if you're sick.
May 18, 2021