لقد سمعت أنه قد يكون فيتامين سي علاجًا بديلًا لمرض السرطان. ماذا يمكنك أن تخبرني عنه؟

إجابة من تيموثي جيه موينيهان، (دكتور في الطب)

بدء الاهتمام باستخدام جرعات كبيرة جدًا من فيتامين سي كعلاج للسرطان لوقت يرجع للسبعينيات، عندما تم اكتشاف أن بعض خصائص الفيتامين قد تكون سامة بالنسبة للخلايا السرطانية. وقد كانت نتائج الأبحاث الأولية التي تم إجرائها على الإنسان واعدة، ولكن فيما بعد تم اكتشاف أن تلك الأبحاث كانت معيبة.

لم تجد التجارب اللاحقة التي تم تصميمها جيدًا، والعشوائية، والمراقبة على فيتامين سي ومرض السرطان أي فائدة علاجية من هذا النوع. وبرغم من عدم توافر الأدلة، لايزال ممارسو الطب البديل يوصون بجرعات كبيرة من فيتامين سي لعلاج السرطان.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، تم اكتشاف تأثيرات لفيتامين سي الذي يُحقَّن من خلال الوريد (بالوريد) تختلف عن تأثيرات فيتامين سي الذي يأخذ على شكل أقراص. وقد عزز ذلك من تجديد الاهتمام باستخدام فيتامين سي كعلاج لمرض السرطان.

لايزال لا يوجد دليل على أن فيتامين سي وحده يمكن أن يعالج السرطان، ولكن يقوم الباحثون بدراسة ما إذا يقوم بتعزيز فاعلية علاجات السرطان الأخرى أم لا، مثل العلاج الكيميائي والعلاج الإشعاعي.

لا توجد حتى الآن تجارب سريرية جيدة ومراقبة تظهر تأثيرًا كبيرًا لفيتامين سي على مرض السرطان، ولكن بعض الدراسات تشير بالفعل إلى انخفاض معتدل في الآثار الجانبية الخاصة ببعض علاجات السرطان المحددة عندما يتم الدمج بين العلاج القياسي وجرعة عالية من فيتامين سي الرابع. حتى يتم الانتهاء من التجارب السريرية، من السابق لأوانه تحديد الدور الذي قد يلعبه فيتامين سي الذي يُحقَّن من خلال الوريد في علاج مرض السرطان.

June 11, 2019

I've heard that vitamin C might be an alternative cancer treatment. What can you tell me about it?

Answer From Karthik Giridhar, M.D.

Interest in using very high doses of vitamin C as a cancer treatment began as long ago as the 1970s when it was discovered that some properties of the vitamin may make it toxic to cancer cells. Initial studies in humans had promising results, but these studies were later found to be flawed.

Subsequent well-designed, randomized, controlled trials of vitamin C in pill form found no such benefits for people with cancer. Despite the lack of evidence, some alternative medicine practitioners continue to recommend high doses of vitamin C for cancer treatment.

More recently, vitamin C given through a vein (intravenously) has been found to have different effects than vitamin C taken in pill form. This has prompted renewed interest in the use of vitamin C as a cancer treatment.

There's still no evidence that vitamin C alone can cure cancer, but researchers are studying whether it might boost the effectiveness of other cancer treatments, such as chemotherapy and radiation therapy, or reduce treatment side effects.

There are still no large, controlled clinical trials that have shown a substantial effect of vitamin C on cancer, but some preliminary studies do suggest there may be a benefit to combining standard treatments with high-dose IV vitamin C. Until clinical trials are completed, it's premature to determine what role vitamin C may play in the treatment of cancer.

With

Karthik Giridhar, M.D.

Feb. 27, 2020