هل يحتاج العذارى إلى لطاخة عنق الرحم؟

توصي معظم مؤسسات الرعاية الصحية النساء ببدء اختبار لطاخة عنق الرحم بانتظام في سن 21. إذا كنتِ عذراء، — وهو ما يعني أنك لم تقومي بعلاقة جنسية (مهبلية)، — فقد يكون خطر إصابتك بسرطان عنق الرحم منخفضًا، ولكن لا يزال بإمكانك النظر في الاختبار.

الغرض من لطاخة عنق الرحم هو جمع الخلايا من عنق الرحم، وهو الطرف السفلي من الرحم. يمكن للخلايا التي تم جمعها في لطاخة عنق الرحم أن تكشف عمَّا إذا كنتِ مصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم أو يمكنها الكشف عن الخلايا المشكوك في أمرها التي تشير إلى احتمالية إصابتك بسرطان عنق الرحم.

في معظم الحالات، يحدث سرطان عنق الرحم بسبب العدوى المنقولة جنسيًا والتي تُسمى فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (HPV). إذا لم تقم بأي نوع من الجماع الجنسي، فمن غير المحتمل أن يكون لديك فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (HPV). ومع ذلك، هناك عوامل خطر أخرى للإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم، مثل تاريخ العائلة والتدخين، لذلك تحدثي مع طبيبك إذا كان لديكِ مخاوف.

حتى يكون فحص سرطان عنق الرحم فعّالاً، فإن العديد من المنظمات توصي بالخضوع للطاخة عنق الرحم الأولية عند سن 21. ناقشي مع طبيبكِ متى عليك أن تبدئي فحص سرطان عنق الرحم. بالتعاون معًا، يمكنك تحديد الأفضل لك في موقف مُعين.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Do virgins need Pap smears?

Answers from Shannon K. Laughlin-Tommaso, M.D.

Most health care organizations recommend women begin regular Pap testing at age 21. If you're a virgin — meaning you haven't had sexual (vaginal) intercourse — you may have a low risk of cervical cancer, but you can still consider testing.

The purpose of a Pap smear is to collect cells from your cervix, which is the lower end of your uterus. The cells collected in a Pap smear can detect if you have cervical cancer or suspicious cells that indicate you may develop cervical cancer.

In most cases, cervical cancer is caused by a sexually transmitted infection called human papillomavirus (HPV). If you've never had any type of sexual intercourse, you're unlikely to have HPV. However, there are other risk factors for developing cervical cancer, such as family history and smoking, so talk to your doctor if you have concerns.

For effective cervical cancer screening, many organizations recommend an initial Pap smear at age 21. Discuss when to begin cervical cancer screening with your doctor. Together you can decide what's best for your particular situation.

With

Shannon K. Laughlin-Tommaso, M.D.

Jun. 12, 2014 See more Expert Answers