زوجي يبلغ من العمر 82 عامًا ولا يزال مستمرًا على الغسيل الكلوي منذ عام. وهو ليس مرشحًا جيدًا لزراعة الكلى. فكيف سنعرف إن لم يعد الغسيل الكلوي فعالاً وينبغي عدم استئنافه؟

إجابة من روبرت أولبرايت طبيب عظام

ومن أجل تحديد كفاءة عمل الغسيل الكلوي، يمكن للطبيب المعالج لزوجك فحص الوزن وضغط الدم قبل كل جلسة غسيل كلوي. ومما قد يساعد أيضًا على تقييم كفاءة العلاج، إجراء اختبارات الدم المنتظمة، مثل تلك التي تقيس مستويات اليوريا والكرياتينين، والتقييمات المتخصصة.

إذا لم يقم فريق رعاية مرضى غسيل الكلى بمراجعة حالة زوجك العامة بصفة دورية، فاطلبي المراجعة الطبية. تشمل هذه المراجعات الدورية — التي تسمى اجتماعات فريق الرعاية — مدخلات من زوجك ومنك، وهي تساعد فريق الرعاية على فهم مدى جدوى العلاج .

يمثل الغسيل الكلوي مجرد جزءًا من علاج زوجك. فلا بد أيضًا أن يتكيف مع الأطعمة والمشروبات المحظورة والأدوية التي يتم تناولها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يؤثر الغسيل الكلوي على وقت زوجك ومواعيده؛ فيجب أن يتم تنظيم الأنشطة في مواعيد تتجنب مواعيد العلاج. وقد يصبح زوجك "منهكًا" بعد جلسة الغسيل الكلوي. كما أن ازدياد سوء الصحة والاكتئاب ومضاعفات الغسيل الكلوي قد تؤثر على رغبة زوجك في إكمال العلاج.

وإذا كان زوجكِ يشعر بالإحباط من جانب معين من العلاج أو مشكلة طبية أخرى، فناقشا ذلك مع طبيبه. فقد يكون قادرًا على القيام ببعض تغييرات في خطة العلاج من شأنها تحسين حالته.

وربما يأتي وقت يشعر فيه زوجك برغبته في التوقف عن الغسيل الكلوي. قبل التوقف، قد يوصي فريق رعاية زوجك بالتحدث مع مستشار أو غيره من أخصائيي الصحة العقلية للتأكد من أن قرار التوقف ليس مدفوعًا بالعوامل العاطفية أو الاكتئاب، والتي يمكن معالجتها.

وعلى الرغم من أنه من حق زوجك عدم استئناف العلاج، فمن الضروري مناقشة هذا القرار بعناية مع الأشخاص المقربين والفريق المسؤول عن رعايته كذلك.

With

روبرت أولبرايت طبيب عظام

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

My 82-year-old husband has been on kidney dialysis for a year. He's not a good candidate for a kidney transplant. How will we know when dialysis is no longer working and should be discontinued?

Answers from Robert Albright, D.O.

To determine how well kidney dialysis is working, your husband's doctor can check his weight and blood pressure before and after each session. Regular blood tests, such as those measuring urea and creatinine levels, and other specialized evaluations also help assess the effectiveness of the treatment.

If your husband's dialysis care team doesn't periodically review his overall situation, ask for a review. These periodic reviews — called care team meetings — include input from your husband and you and help the care team understand how well treatment is working.

Kidney dialysis is only part of your husband's treatment. He must also adjust to fluid and dietary restrictions and take medications. In addition, dialysis affects his time and schedule. Activities must be scheduled around the treatments. Dialysis may leave your husband feeling "washed out." Worsening health, depression and complications of dialysis may affect how your husband feels about continuing treatment.

If your husband is frustrated with a specific aspect of his treatment or another medical problem, talk with his doctor. His doctor may be able to make some changes to the treatment plan that could improve his situation.

There may come a time when your husband feels he wants to stop kidney dialysis. Before stopping, your husband's care team may recommend talking with a counselor or other mental health professional to make sure that the decision to stop isn't driven by emotional factors or depression, which can be treated.

Your husband has the right to discontinue treatment, but it's important to discuss the decision carefully with loved ones as well as your husband's care team.

With

Robert Albright, D.O.

March 22, 2017 See more Expert Answers