ما هو الحزن؟

أحيانًا ما يكون الحزن شعورًا مربكًا ينتاب الكثيرين بغض النظر عما إذا كان حزنهم ناتجًا عن فقدان حبيب، أو تشخيص إصابتهم أو أحد أحبائهم بمرض عضال.

وربما يجد الشخص نفسه فاقدًا للحس وشاعرًا بالانعزال عن الحياة اليومية وغير قادر على أداء مهام يومه العادية فضلاً عن الشعور بأنه مكبّل بالخسارة.

وهذا الشعور بالحزن رد فعل طبيعي للفقد. الحزن كذلك تجربة عامة وشخصية. وتتفاوت تجربة كل فرد مع الحزن وتتأثر بطبيعة ما فقده. ومن الأمثلة على تجارب الفقد وفاة أحد الأحباب أو انتهاء علاقة شخصية مهمة أو فقدان وظيفة أو فقدان شيء ما بسبب سرقة أو فقدان الاستقلالية بسبب الإعاقة.

يوصي الخبراء من يشعرون بالحزن أن يدركوا أنهم لا يمكنهم السيطرة الكاملة على الأمر وأن عليهم الاستعداد للتعامل مع مراحل الحزن المختلفة. قد يساعد المرء كذلك فهمه سبب معاناته، وكذلك الحديث مع الآخرين ومحاولة حل المشكلات التي تسبب ألمًا عاطفيًا شديدًا مثل الشعور بالذنب بسبب وفاة أحد الأحباب.

قد يستمر الحداد لعدة شهور أو حتى سنوات. وعمومًا ينطفئ الألم تدريجيًا بمرور الوقت ومع تكيّف الشخص المكلوم مع الحياة دون من فقده من أحبائه أو مع خبر تشخيص الإصابة بمرض عضال أو مع إدارك أن أحد أحبابه قد يموت.

إذا كنت غير متأكد مما إذا كانت مرحلة الحزن التي أنت فيها طبيعية أم لا، فاستشر اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية المتابع لحالتك. قد تفيد المساعدة الخارجية من يرغبون في التعافي من الحزن وتقبُّل فكرة الموت أو التشخيص بمرض عضال.

What is Grief?

Grief is a strong, sometimes overwhelming emotion for people, regardless of whether their sadness stems from the loss of a loved one or from a terminal diagnosis they or someone they love have received.

They might find themselves feeling numb and removed from daily life, unable to carry on with regular duties while saddled with their sense of loss.

Grief is the natural reaction to loss. Grief is both a universal and a personal experience. Individual experiences of grief vary and are influenced by the nature of the loss. Some examples of loss include the death of a loved one, the ending of an important relationship, job loss, loss through theft or the loss of independence through disability.

Experts advise those grieving to realize they can't control the process and to prepare for varying stages of grief. Understanding why they're suffering can help, as can talking to others and trying to resolve issues that cause significant emotional pain, such as feeling guilty for a loved one's death.

Mourning can last for months or years. Generally, pain is tempered as time passes and as the bereaved adapts to life without a loved one, to the news of a terminal diagnosis or to the notion that someone they love may die.

If you're uncertain about whether your grieving process is normal, consult your health care professional. Outside help is sometimes helpful to people trying to recover and adjust to a death or diagnosis of a terminal illness.