Nerve cell (neuron)


Each nerve cell (neuron) consists of four basic components: a neuron cell body, a nucleus, a major branching fiber (axon) and numerous smaller branching fibers (dendrites). Nerve cells communicate with adjacent nerve cells at contact points called synapses. Poliovirus can damage or destroy nerve cells that carry messages between the brain and muscles.